[X]

9
Helpful
Votes

Applebees Complaint - Overly seasoned steak

Review by Best Papa on 2010-11-23
ROSEBURG, OREGON -- My wife and I invited our daughter to dinner with us at Applebee's in Roseburg, Oregon. We had a forty dollar gift card. Both my daughter and I ordered steak. Both our steaks were so overly seasoned we had to send hers back. Hers had a cheese sauce over it which put it over the top with a salty seasoning. The steak itself was nice and tender, but what the cook did to it just ruined a good piece of meat. After sending back the original steak because of being too salty, the replacement steak was just as bad, so we just gave up and left. The Caesar salad was excellent, and the service was good. The waitress informed the young female manager and she was very nice in trying to accommodate us. However she didn't get much support from the kitchen.
Comments:14 Replies - Latest reply on 2010-11-24
Posted by Alain on 2010-11-23:
A fair and objective review. Sounds like the chef may have been inexperienced.
Posted by fast327 on 2010-11-23:
Sounds like what has happened to us at the Longhorn steak house. We have learned to order our steaks "without the prarie dust" and they are very good.
Posted by Anonymous on 2010-11-23:
The last time, about 2 years ago, I ate at applebees the steaks were all very very salty. We said something to our waitress and her response was " that's how we season them".
very good review by OP
Posted by Starlord on 2010-11-23:
This is why Gordon Ramsay harangues the contestants on Hell's Kitchen to taste the food they are preparing. Makes sense to me.
Posted by Anonymous on 2010-11-23:
Good review. Very well written. But the OP never states that the management agreed with them or condemned the chef for cooking the steaks in that manner, only that they were "nice in trying to accomodate us". That leads me to believe that perhaps that's just the way they prepare them at that restaurant. If I were cooking them, it'd be to my taste, but since I'm not, I have to hope they cook it like I do. Sometimes it takes the initial visit to a restaurant to taste how they cook their food. Future visits are always better, since you are prepared and know what to ask them to do and not to do. But you'll never know until you try them the first time! That's always part of the fun for my wife and I. We enjoy trying out new restaurants in town, to see how they each prepare food. The first time they'll prepare it "their" way. The second visit they'll prepare it "your" way.
Posted by Anonymous on 2010-11-23:
If I want a good steak dinner, I dont think I would go to an applebees. Applebees is on the lower end of the restaurant chains when it comes to good food. I like applesbees, when I want a decent inexpensive meal.
Posted by Anonymous on 2010-11-23:
I have always get the house sirloin at Applebees they manage not to screw that one up.(VH)
Posted by madconsumer on 2010-11-23:
"The waitress informed the young female manager and she was very nice in trying to accommodate us. However she didn't get much support from the kitchen."

sounds like the manager tried to accomodate you. hopefully this wont make future visits limited.

very helpful.
Posted by Anonymous on 2010-11-23:
I'm a sucker for Applebee's Quesadilla burger. Mmmmmm...just thinking about it now is making me hungry.
Posted by raven2010 on 2010-11-23:
I like this review---factual, well written and non-emotional.
Posted by trmn8r on 2010-11-23:
As Prince-Caesar pointed out, Applebee's is comfortably positioned near the bottom of the restaurant chain world.

I would only order a steak out at a really nice restaurant, where I would expect to pay a lot for it. I eat steak at home usually. I don't eat at Applebee's anymore, and I don't miss it at all. They have really young people working there, and the menu is quite limited. There were a few salads I used to enjoy.
Posted by ok4now on 2010-11-24:
Ordering a steak at Applebee's is asking for trouble. You're lucky to get a decent hamburger there. I have given this chain restaurant many chances at numerous locations. They always fall short. Inferior food quality, mediocre service, dirty bathrooms etc. Poorly managed with mostly kids working there. I vote with my wallet and frequent local restaurants that have earned my business. Applebee's has lost me as a customer and I refuse to return. Prince-Caesar nailed it. They are at the bottom of chain restaurants.
Posted by Amarie4 on 2010-11-24:
An Applebees house sirloin (or im sure any other AB's steak) will tast the same. All come pre-seasoned and infused with a solution that contains a high amount of sodium.
Posted by Alain on 2010-11-24:
If I'm really in the mood for a good steak when I'm going out, I'll go to a local steak house and get it cooked to order. I will spend more, but I will get what I want.

Your Name:
(displayed with your comment)
Your E-mail:
(required)

Your Experience/Advice:
Check spelling


By clicking submit you agree that you have read and accept the Terms of Service & Privacy Policy.


Note: All comments are reviewed by a moderator before being published. Please be sure to read our guidelines before commenting.