[X]

1
Helpful
Votes

The History Channel Complaint - The History Channel - Programming

Review by nuparadigm on 2010-12-18
The History Channel is incomplete, one-sided and extremely superficial concerning the historical and faith-based events and facts it presents.

A politically correct entity, The History Channel panders to the most base fears of humans (that of extinction) by repeatedly programming shows based upon academically shaky conjecture (the Mayan calendar and "doomsday"). It fills-in the gaps with pop Sociology (Pawn Stars, Ax Men, Ice Road Truckers) and rounds-out the programming with revisionist and utterly bogus and romanticized accounts of American History (the causes of the War Between the States, the conflicts of American Westward Expansion and the War of 1812).

In is "historical" presentation of faith-based historical paradigms, The History Channel resorts to the use of "experts" such as Benny Hinn.

I teach History at the university level and frequently remind my students that The History Channel is to History as People Magazine is to fine literature.
Comments:11 Replies - Latest reply on 2014-03-01
Posted by Anonymous on 2010-12-18:
Yep. It's just TV. Nearly everything on television is false, including reality shows.
Posted by madconsumer on 2010-12-18:
i find the science channel enjoyable. there are some programs i do not like, but i switch to a different channel that has something i like.
Posted by Anonymous on 2010-12-18:
Entertainment.
Posted by werelucky on 2010-12-18:
A lot of people also thing that faith based stories based on the biggest selling work of fiction are just as silly. There are more 'facts' with the history that THC shows than found on stories you have to believe on faith, and absolutely not one fact.

If you don't like it, turn the channel
Posted by Anonymous on 2010-12-18:
Academic institution books on history are also woefully inaccurate representations for the most part, being no more than another self serving political brain washing mechanism.
Posted by jktshff1 on 2010-12-18:
ript means a one sided political statement, similar to quite a few "professors" in our education system.
Posted by leet60 on 2010-12-18:
The History Channel, like any broadcast network is more interested in what "sells" advertising than what may be historically or scientifically accurate.
Posted by PepperElf on 2010-12-18:
I like Pawn Stars. it beats prime time at least.
Posted by Anvicuth on 2010-12-21:
Where does Myth Busters fit into this painting of fear, sociology and bogus romanticized wars? I'm curious...
Posted by Alain on 2010-12-21:
Of course the History Channel has bias! If they didn't make their shows entertaining they would not be able to sell advertising and stay on the air. It does use facts, though. Part of your job as a professor is to teach your students how to separate the facts from opinion.
Posted by adam on 2014-03-01:
THIS SHOULD NOT BE CALLED HISTORY CHANNEL I WILL WATCH MORE OF
OASIS CHANNEL
DISCOVERER CHANNEL
AS THEY ARE WAY MORE ENTERTAINING

Your Name:
(displayed with your comment)
Your E-mail:
(required)

Your Experience/Advice:
Check spelling


By clicking submit you agree that you have read and accept the Terms of Service & Privacy Policy.


Note: All comments are reviewed by a moderator before being published. Please be sure to read our guidelines before commenting.