[X]

1
Helpful
Votes

Police Dept - Berks County, Wernersville, Pa Complaint - Cop That Don't Know His Own Laws

Review by jhny11735 on 2010-12-18
WERNERSVILLE, PENNSYLVANIA -- I just recently put a car on the road in PA... EVERYONE keeps telling me that I have 10 days to get it inspected.. the cop didn't think so, and gave me a ticket??

WHY?
Comments:11 Replies - Latest reply on 2010-12-19
Posted by leet60 on 2010-12-18:
I would go to court for this ticket. The PA vehicle code states:

"Newly-purchased vehicles.--Newly-purchased vehicles may be driven without a current inspection certificate for ten days after sale or resale or entry into this Commonwealth, whichever occurs later."
Posted by Anonymous on 2010-12-19:
Was this a newly purchased vehicle?
Posted by jhny11735 on 2010-12-19:
yes it was newly purchased.
Posted by bob932304 on 2010-12-19:
Did it happen to have an expired inspection sticker? I think it would be better to have no sticker than an expired one. BUT, from a PennDOT Fact Sheet.

http://www.dmv.state.pa.us/pdotforms/fact_sheets/fs-buysell.pdf

From PennDOT: INSPECTION
In order to maintain safe highways, the once-a-year safety inspection system requires that all used vehicles are inspected within
10 days of sale unless a valid inspection sticker is displayed on the vehicle. The buyer is responsible to have the car inspected,
which can be done at any Pennsylvania certified inspection station. If the vehicle is registered in an area of the commonwealth
participating in the Emissions Inspection Program, the vehicle will also be required to have an emissions inspection
Posted by madconsumer on 2010-12-19:
having lived in a state with an inspection, the friends are wrong. the inspection must occur before the vehicle is on the road.

did you find where the state law stated differently?
Posted by tnchuck100 on 2010-12-19:
madC, did you not read bob's comment? Be reasonable. The inspectors will not come to where the vehicle is. It must be driven to the inspection station. To do so the vehicle must be placed on the road to get there without an inspection.
Posted by Anonymous on 2010-12-19:
True, Chuck.
Posted by jktshff1 on 2010-12-19:
leet's post said it all. You had 10 days. But, if you did not have written proof of the purchase date available for the office to see, that would explain the ticket. Just not enough info. Go to court, but be ready to back up your claims.
Posted by Nohandle on 2010-12-19:
Different scenario but this would bring to mind someone purchasing a vehicle and being given a ticket for no license plate when they were driving over to purchase one. I also wonder if you had the proper paperwork in your vehicle to prove you had owned the vehicle 10 or less days.
Posted by trmn8r on 2010-12-19:
Did you present a temporary title/registration issued by a PA title agency, and dated within 10 days of the traffic stop? If so, did the officer explain why he was giving you a ticket for failure to inspect when you understood that you had 10 days to do so?
Posted by Anonymous on 2010-12-19:
Go to court and you will most likely have it dismissed. I have the feeling your other paperwork may not have been up to snuff (ex: new registration so cop could see car was just purchased) or the policeman smoked crack. Hard to say... Tip for the future, have the previous owner inspect the vehicle. I would never buy a vehicle without knowing at bare minimum that it could pass inspection. Good luck in court!

Your Name:
(displayed with your comment)
Your E-mail:
(required)

Your Experience/Advice:
Check spelling


By clicking submit you agree that you have read and accept the Terms of Service & Privacy Policy.


Note: All comments are reviewed by a moderator before being published. Please be sure to read our guidelines before commenting.