Voyages of Discovery Complaint - Notorious Accused Pedophile Priest Allowed Onboard

Review by RRGrain on 2011-01-01
FORT LAUDERDALE, FLORIDA -- Our family was horrified to learn that the most notorious pedophile priest from the LA Archdiocese was confirmed on the Discovery Grand South American sailing from Barbados on January 3, 2011. The Chairman of the company was contacted in early December with a complaint and concern for passenger safety, and he wrote back that "we would be unable to prevent any passenger boarding our vessel unless their behaviour at the time of boarding causes concern." How does this situation--having this man in a confined area in close proximity to elderly women and children not a cause for concern.

Families of passengers and the passengers themselves deserve to know that the cruise line, Voyages of Discovery, have their safety and well-being as their #1 priority. We are hugely disappointed at the response from the cruise line, and will let you decide for yourself whether this is the kind of company with which you want to do business knowing the person you are sitting next to at the captain's dinner may be one of the most notorious accused pedophile priests in America.
Comments:11 Replies - Latest reply on 2011-01-02
Posted by Inat on 2011-01-01:
hmmm... this is a quandry. Not sure if cruise ships not flying under the US flag have the ability to do background checks on each passenger. I'm not even sure if the accused (is he convicted or just accused?) could be prohibited via restraining orders to travel on a cruise ship. Just wondering... but how was it confirmed that he was on the cruise?
Posted by Anonymous on 2011-01-01:
Keep a close eye on your elderly women and children.
Posted by Anonymous on 2011-01-01:
How did you find out this guy was on the cruise to begin with? This is a free country. If he paid for his crime, and no where does it say he's not allowed on a cruise, then I dont know what you expect the cruise line to do. It sounds like it could be a huge legal problem for the cruise line. If you are that upset and concerned by it, I suggest you contact the cruiseline and cancel or reschedule for another cruise.
Posted by trmn8r on 2011-01-01:
You say to leave it up to the individual to decide. I would have no reservation of going on this or any cruise with this company.

On the other hand, I would feel a LOT differently if the cruise company was assisting in meting out justice against potential passengers.

The only quandary I see is the individual traveler's, to determine if they are big enough to rise above their inner fear of the unknown.
Posted by Nohandle on 2011-01-01:
As has been asked, how did you determine this individual would be on your cruise? What about the backgrounds of the other passengers? Was that checked out as well? Just curious.
Posted by leet60 on 2011-01-01:
If the "offender" is convicted and registered as a sex offender it is highly likely that he has been ordered by the court not to be in areas where children are present. If this is so the law was violated if he was near one of the children's play areas.

I agree that it is unlikely that the cruise line does not do background checks on their passengers, and even though they were notified have no legal standing to do so.

The OP, in my opinion, should have notified the local authorities to let them determine if the individual should be allowed to be present around groups of children.
Posted by Inat on 2011-01-01:
hmm...leet, i wonder if US laws apply to a ship flying under another flag?
Posted by madconsumer on 2011-01-01:
inat, any ship in territory waters are ruled by that territory.
Posted by olie on 2011-01-01:
If you know who the guy is--why not just keep your small children away from him?

And, since when does a pedophile prey on elderly women? There seems to be a paradox here.
Posted by Skye on 2011-01-01:
I'm am not defending a pedophile, but your review says he was ACCUSED. He may not even be guilty of the alleged crimes you say he is accused of.

"Notorious Accused Pedophile Priest Allowed Onboard".
Posted by unhappy999 on 2011-01-02:
Aren't you going to be with your kids the whole time or have them in some cruise activity where they are supervised by cruise personnel? Even if someone with this history was on the ship, why/how would he get to be alone with your kids or anyones kids? Even if my kids were older, I would not feel comfortable allowing them to go around alone on a cruise ship with so many people. You don't know the background of everyone else on the cruise either.

Your Name:
(displayed with your comment)
Your E-mail:
(required)

Your Experience/Advice:
Check spelling


By clicking submit you agree that you have read and accept the Terms of Service & Privacy Policy.


Note: All comments are reviewed by a moderator before being published. Please be sure to read our guidelines before commenting.