1
Helpful
Votes

Jewish Hospital Complaint - Messed Up Surgery

Review by HOGRIDER82 on 2011-01-07
MY MOTHER FELL AND BROKE HER HIP AND WENT TO ST MARYS HOSP AND THEY SENT HER TO JEWISH BECAUSE SHE NEEDED BY PASS SURGERY BEFORE THEY COULD OPERATE ON HER HIP
WELL THE HEART SURGERY WENT PERFECT SO IN LESS THAN A WEEK THEY DID THE
HIP SURGERY AND MY MOTHER HAS NEVER TOUCHED THE FLOOR SINCE.

I HAVE TRIED TO FILE A CLAIM BUT NO LAWYER WILL TAKE THE CLAIM AS THIS IS MAL PRACTICE AND NOT A DEFECTIVE HIP. MAY I ADD THAT THIS SURGERY WAS DONE BY JEWISH HOSPITAL SURGEONS THESE SURGEONS DO NOT HAVE AN OFFICE THEY WORK FOR JEWISH.
SO THEY ARE THE RESPONSIBLE PARTY FOR MY MOTHER NOT BEING ABLE TO WALK OR STAND
Comments:18 Replies - Latest reply on 2011-01-07
Posted by Skye on 2011-01-07:
If it's malpractice, then why won't a lawyer touch it? Call your local bar association for some malpractive attorney's, who may be able to help you. A lawyer will be able to tell you if you have a claim or not. If no no lawyer wants to touch it, it may be because there is nothing to file a claim against.

I wish your mom the best, and I hope she improves. I understand your concern and frustration.
Posted by PepperElf on 2011-01-07:
I'm not sure what the problem was.

Are you complaining that the other hospital required the heart surgery first?

I mean... if her heart needed bypass surgery it would come first. An operation on a broken hip could provide enough cardiovascular stress to cause further heart damage.


As for "Defective hips" - there's a train of thought that many people don't fall and break a hip ... but that the hip beaks and makes them fall.

at any rate I'm glad she's doing better with both a healthy heart and a fixed hip.

Posted by momsey on 2011-01-07:
I'm a little confused too. When you say she "has never touched the floor since" does that mean she's not able to walk? Was the hip surgery unsuccessful?
Posted by PepperElf on 2011-01-07:
O? I thought it meant that she hadn't fallen again and the surgery was successful.

Either that or she'd taken up flying.
Posted by momsey on 2011-01-07:
Oh! You could take it that way too. That's why it's confusing. I don't see a problem if the hip surgery went fine and she made it clear in the review that the heart surgery went "perfect."
Posted by PepperElf on 2011-01-07:
Indeed. Yet it's the Jewish hospital the complaint is directed towards.


*boggle*
Posted by Skye on 2011-01-07:
I think it would be helpful if the op posted what the hospital did, that is causing him to look for an attorney. Is it the hip, the doctor or the Jewish hospital this complaint is directed at.
Posted by Anonymous on 2011-01-07:
I would think at the bare minimum the OP should have included the name of the 'Jewish Hospital'. Also I'm almost offended by the use of the term 'Jewish Hospital' in the first place. All that aside though I gotta 100% agree with Skye on this one.
Posted by momsey on 2011-01-07:
Just wondering why you'd be almost offended by the use of the term "Jewish Hospital." Google Jewish Hospital, there are a lot of hospitals that are called that.
Posted by Anonymous on 2011-01-07:
Why are you not almost offended?
Posted by momsey on 2011-01-07:
Because the way it's written, that's what the hospital is called. Are you offended by "St. Mary's Hospital?"
Posted by Anonymous on 2011-01-07:
Exactly.
Posted by momsey on 2011-01-07:
Say what?
Posted by Anonymous on 2011-01-07:
Are you upset because she still can't walk? A broken hip takes time to heal. The older you are, the longer it will take the body to heal. I imagine they will also require physical therapy, which is normal after this type of injury
Posted by PepperElf on 2011-01-07:
Little - plus there's been some studies that suggest it's just the opposite...

instead of "falling and breaking a hip" that it may be "breaking a hip and falling".

so if a hip already has weak bones it may take time to recover
Posted by Starlord on 2011-01-07:
If the OP had let off the caqps and named the hospital, such as Mount Sinai, I think someone would have been less offended. But this is an emotional time, and people tend not to remember complicated names they are unfamiliar with. I agree that there is not enough information here to base advice on. I had a Total Knee Replacement after having my knee broken in a fight with a former Marine on PCP, as well as five surgeries to try to correct the damage. I was made to begin walking the halls within an hour of coming out of the anasthetic, dragging my IV machine and drip rig, 'candy' (morphine) machine, drain, all while using crutches. I would much rather have remained in bed on the CPM machine that exercised my leg for me.
Posted by momsey on 2011-01-07:
Seriously, it's very possible that Jewish Hospital is what it's called. Not just what the OP is referring to it as because there are a lot of Jews there or something.

Example (from just googling "Jewish Hospital") and this might be where the OP's mom was, since it's Jewish Hospital & St. Mary's.

http://www.jhsmh.org/Locations/Jewish-Hospital-Rudd-Heart-and-Lung-Center.aspx
Posted by Anonymous on 2011-01-07:
There is a place called Jewish Hospital. At my last job, I did lots of pre-certs for them

Your Name:
(displayed with your comment)
Your E-mail:
(required)

Your Experience/Advice:
Check spelling


By clicking submit you agree that you have read and accept the Terms of Service & Privacy Policy.


Note: All comments are reviewed by a moderator before being published. Please be sure to read our guidelines before commenting.