5
Helpful
Votes

Special Kitty Compliment - Cats Gotta Poo Too - Walmart Cat Litter

Review by MDSasquatch on 2011-02-04
I have two cats at home and both are very fond of the litter box I set up for them. In the past, we always used the scoopable litter because we thought it was better (not cheap). Scoopable litter is very high maintenance and will quickly become unusable and odoriferous if not scooped and replenished daily.

I now use Walmart's Special Kitty in the red bag. The bag cost less than $3, last at least a week, completely eliminates the odor, makes far less mess around the box and very easy to clean. Best cat litter decision I ever made.
Comments:18 Replies - Latest reply on 2011-02-05
Posted by NanS123 on 2011-02-04:
Thanks for the tip, I have 3 cats so I'm going to check it out.
Posted by MDSasquatch on 2011-02-04:
I also use COSTCO's heavy-duty outdoor garbage bags as a liner. When I change the litter, I just grab the end and pull it back over itself inside out; thus, bagging all the mess.
Posted by Anonymous on 2011-02-04:
Nice review. I don't have cats, but I do appreciate your hot pic.
Posted by Skye on 2011-02-04:
Good review for cat parents.

I agree, your photo is HOT!
Posted by MRM on 2011-02-04:
Ladies Ladies, you all are staring too hard at the photo!!
Posted by Anonymous on 2011-02-04:
Let me echo great review and hot pic. You did good man.
Posted by momsey on 2011-02-04:
Seriously, I had no idea that MDS was so handsome.

I do not shop at Wal Mart, so I won't buy this product, but I'm always looking for the perfect solution to the nastiness that is cat litter.
Posted by Mrs. V on 2011-02-04:
Thanks for the review! I'll give this a try ^_^
Posted by MDSasquatch on 2011-02-04:
I think any 100% clay cat litter will do the trick; Walmart just happens to be the cheapest place I have found it
Posted by GenuineNerd on 2011-02-04:
When I had a cat, I preferred the old-fashioned clay kitty litter over the fine scoopable kind. The clay litter does seem to hold down odor longer and absorb urine better. To sum it up...when your cat goes s---, it won't quit...when your cat goes p---, it can't miss.
Posted by Anonymous on 2011-02-04:
Best cat litter decision I ever made was to eliminate cat litter and install a small pet door for my mother's cat.
Posted by Nohandle on 2011-02-04:
Nice recommendation MD. I've had a pet door for years ript and it's great for the dog. A cat can climb a fence in a minute so that needs to be taken into consideration.
Posted by Anonymous on 2011-02-04:
Don't get me started on cats and fences Nohandle, lol! I'm still stewing over that one.
Posted by Nohandle on 2011-02-04:
I can't remember when I didn't have a cat and dog both until recently. A pet door is the finest thing ever invented. It's when someone doesn't care for cats and yours is out they might just make a point. It will probably be a while, if ever, before I get another cat and I love cats.
Posted by Anonymous on 2011-02-04:
I don't have a problem with cats until someone has a problem with my dogs eating them when they end up over my fence.
Posted by Nohandle on 2011-02-04:
ript, but your Mommie loves cats. Have a heart here. lol
Posted by clutzycook on 2011-02-04:
Good review! I have self-cleaning litterboxes, so I have to use clumping litter, but I'm glad you found something that works for you. Cleaning the litterbox is nasty work no matter what method you use. I'm seriously contemplating getting preggo again just so Hubby has to do it for the next year, LOL.
Posted by Alain on 2011-02-05:
I appreciate the tip. The photo reminds me of someone in D.C., but I can't quite remember who.

Your Name:
(displayed with your comment)
Your E-mail:
(required)

Your Experience/Advice:
Check spelling


By clicking submit you agree that you have read and accept the Terms of Service & Privacy Policy.


Note: All comments are reviewed by a moderator before being published. Please be sure to read our guidelines before commenting.