[X]
Feedburner count

8
Helpful
Votes

Checks in the Mail Compliment - Personal checks - great job!

Review by momsey on 2011-02-08
A few months ago, I wrote a complaint review because my bank charged me over $27 for one box of plain personal checks. I returned them to the bank and they returned my fee. Of course, being me, I dragged my feet about ordering checks another way, and two weeks ago, I realized I had ONE check left. I use checks fairly often; it's how I pay for my son's daycare tuition, my property taxes were due within the week and I also have a loan I write checks for.

So, on January 25, I finally bit the bullet and ordered a box of checks from Checks in the Mail. My estimated date of delivery was February 10. Not good for me, since I had several checks that needed to written prior to that. But it was my own fault and I figured I'd just go to the bank and have them issue me checks for what I needed.

I was so happy to receive the box of checks on February 1! That was exactly a week from the day I ordered them and a full 9 days before they were estimating that I'd receive them. They looked nice (we got National Monuments checks) and all the information was right. I've used two so far, and so far, both have gone through smoothly.

Oh, and even with paying extra to be able to track the package, they were cheaper than what the bank charged me. Boo yah!
Comments:11 Replies - Latest reply on 2011-03-06
Posted by FlShopper on 2011-02-08:
I've been ordering from CITM for years. Always satisfied with the price and with the service I receive.
Good review!
Posted by MJGoldfarb on 2011-02-08:
Agreed!! FOUR boxes of checks from this company cost less than ONE box from a bank. Service was fast too!
Posted by Obsfucation on 2011-02-08:
One caution: when you order checks from a third party (and this is no reflection on CITM, I am not familiar with them) the printing of the magnetic characters is often sub standard. This results in mis-reads at the Fed. When this happens, they will charge the bank for manual handling. Commonly the bank will pass this charge on to you, and it can be substantial.
When you order checks through the banks, you don't face this risk. It isn't a major concern, until it happens to YOU!
Posted by Anonymous on 2011-02-08:
Don't let debbie downer scare you that never happens to anybody.

Great review Momsey!
Posted by Obsfucation on 2011-02-08:
One thing you can always count on here is LR will lay his cloud of ignorant bloviating on EVERY post. You never let us down LR, keep that electronic diarrhea coming right on.
Posted by Anonymous on 2011-02-08:
Flame bait somebody else Ken this little fishy aini't biting.

BTW what I said is true. It seldom to never happens and you know it.
Posted by momsey on 2011-02-08:
Honestly, I've never heard of that happening, except for warnings from people on this site. No stories of it actually happening. I've had custom checks before and never had that problem.
Posted by azRider on 2011-02-08:
actually I have had this happen to me. Ordered some checks from them and the bank reader could not decode the numbers on the the check. the micr ink was to light. It only happened one time with one box out of several I used, but it can happen. I did not have to much issue, the bank just was not happy and sent me a letter telling me how great it was if I got them from them. well that don't matter any more. I pay bills on-line now, and use my debt card for most everything else. I have not written a check in over a year.
Posted by Anonymous on 2011-02-08:
momsey, I've been using this company for years (I'm going to guess 10), and have never had one problem with them either (or with my checks being held or hard to read). They have always had great service too!

Thanks for passing on the info for others that are getting ripped off by their banks.
Posted by old fart on 2011-02-08:
My credit union doesn't charge me for checks...
Posted by ok4now on 2011-03-06:
I was a little skeptical of this company. They advertise heavily with dirt cheap prices. Checked out their website which offers a wide variety of different check formats, optional logos and security features. I ordered four boxes with a few extras for $18.00. This included the shipping & handling!!! They keep in contact with you by email letting you know that status of your order. As promised I had the checks in a week. Arrived as advertised and the magnetic characters worked perfectly. I will definitely order from them again. Recommended.

Your Name:
(displayed with your comment)
Your E-mail:
(required)

Your Experience/Advice:
Check spelling


By clicking submit you agree that you have read and accept the Terms of Service & Privacy Policy.


Note: All comments are reviewed by a moderator before being published. Please be sure to read our guidelines before commenting.