5
Helpful
Votes

Jose Ole Chimmichangas Complaint - Health warning due to poor quality control

Review by Big Russ on 2011-02-16
I purchase the Jose Ole chimichangas for my vending business from various Sams Clubs in the area. 18 to a box. Invariably, there are at least 4-5 plastic packages that are not sealed, at least 1/2 open on the end. Lately, it has been 100% opened and unusable.
You can see where the heat seal only goes part way across.
This has been ongoing for last 5 years. I have complained to 4 different Sams Clubs, called the 800 number for Jose Ole several times. And all they say is "Thanks for calling, we will look into it". Sams returns my money for each bad box, but they can do little about problem except to pass the complaint along.
I know you are probably saying to just quit buying them, but my customers have requested them and I believe in customer service first.
So, the next time you buy a Jose Ole chimichanga, take a look at the end of the package and inspect the chimichanga carefully to make sure you are not eating something you did not know about.
Comments:7 Replies - Latest reply on 2011-02-17
Posted by Skye on 2011-02-16:
It would help others if you posted the location.
Posted by momsey on 2011-02-16:
What location do you need, Skye?

Good review.
Posted by madconsumer on 2011-02-16:
to the poster, did you call the manufacturer? often times if things like this get past QC, the only time they find out is when they are told about it.

also, if you are using products NOT LABELED FOR INDIVUAL SALE, and are vending them, that is illegal.
Posted by jktshff1 on 2011-02-16:
I agree with momsey, it's the product, not the location. VH
Posted by Starlord on 2011-02-17:
Mad, when we had our hot dog stand, we bought our dogs and sausages from whoever had the lowest price for the product. We taste tested everything, and the only regular dogs our customers would accept were Safeway dogs. The county health department had a complete list of the products we used and where we got them, and we never had one moment's trouble with them. The only rule as far as food preparation was that it had to be prepared on site, not at home and transported. Maybe the laws are different in other parts of the country, but that was where we lived.
Posted by Big Russ on 2011-02-17:
They are from Northern Indiana/ Southern Michigan, and yes they are labeled for individual sales madconsumer. And yes, I have called Jose Ole several times as stated in complaint.
Posted by Starlord on 2011-02-17:
Ahhh, Big Russ, I know that area well, having been born and raised in Indy. Good luck.

Your Name:
(displayed with your comment)
Your E-mail:
(required)

Your Experience/Advice:
Check spelling


By clicking submit you agree that you have read and accept the Terms of Service & Privacy Policy.


Note: All comments are reviewed by a moderator before being published. Please be sure to read our guidelines before commenting.