12
Helpful
Votes

TRESemme Complaint - TRESemme FreshStart Dry Shampoo, Don't Waste Your Money...

Review by DebtorBasher on 2011-02-25
I hate having to wash my hair so much, because the Italian in me caused me to have somewhat oily hair...I don't like to wash it too much because I don't want to dry it out or damage it. So, I thought I'd try the new TRESemme FreshStart Dry Shampoo. They advertise that it is great to use between shampoos.

I finally decided to give it a try. I hesitantly paid the $4.49 for the 5.7 oz spray.

I thought I'd try one of those commercial tests...and I parted my hair like a Woodstock Hippie, right down the center and used the product on half of my hair.

After following the directions, spray, wait two minutes then brush...the results were not as advertised on TV. Instead, the half of the hair that I used the product on, ended up full of static and half my hair was flying in all directions while the untreated half laid flat. After I finally got my hair to stop waving airplanes into Hopkins Airport, I found that it looked just the same as the untreated side, laying flat and looking a bit oily.

I don't recommend this product to anyone...all it does is make your hair smell good...but it doesn't make it look as if it was just shampooed.

I was really disappointed in this product because I've used other TRESemme products and have been very happy with them.

Two thumbs down...
Comments:36 Replies - Latest reply on 2011-02-26
Posted by DebtorBasher on 2011-02-25:
Has anyone tried a dry shampoo that works? Please let me know....Thanks...
Posted by momsey on 2011-02-25:
Good review! I used to have super oily hair and couldn't go any more than a day without washing it or else it would look like I brushed my hair with a pork chop. Apparently, babies steal all the moisture out of my body, and I can now go easily for more than two days without looking too hideous. So that's my suggestion - go get knocked up.
Posted by DebtorBasher on 2011-02-25:
Great advice Momsey....
Heeeeeey Stewwwwwwwwwie!!!
Posted by Anonymous on 2011-02-25:
Great review Basher. At the present I have no hair on my head but when I do again I'll keep in mind to avoid this product.

Two thumbs up.
Posted by Anonymous on 2011-02-25:
I won't even tell you how much I spend on hair products..lol! Isn't it Tresemme that claims to be just as good as the high end salon products but for a fraction of the cost? Obviously they aren't, you should get your money back, DB!

Posted by DebtorBasher on 2011-02-25:
I'm seriously thinking about returning the product as a 'dud'. I even have the receipt!!!
Posted by karleebarlee on 2011-02-25:
Have you tried something like head and shoulders? I think it's made for oily hair. I used to use it because I heard it was good for any kind of hair, but it dried my hair out too much. I can go for about a week without washing my hair and it won't get oily so I have to be careful with anything that would dry it out even more.
Posted by DebtorBasher on 2011-02-25:
No, I haven't Karlee...because when I asked about it in the salon, they said Head and Shoulders is for dry flaky hair, not oily hair. They said it would be like putting more oil on my hair.
My regular shampoo I use all the time is White Rain.
Posted by Anonymous on 2011-02-25:
Try massaging your scalp if it's oily. There's no need to spend loads of money on fancy salon shampoo scalp treatments for oily hair. All you have to do is massage your scalp for three to five minutes with your regular shampoo and rinse. Repeat this process, and leave the shampoo on for five minutes before rinsing.

Posted by Mrs. V on 2011-02-25:
DB, I know this will sound strange, but all you need is some talcum powder or baby powder.

Put some on your hands, rub it though your hair (work on the oily areas the most). Let it sit for about 10 to 15 mins and then brush it out.

This is what I do when I go camping and can't wash my hair.

It works fairly well and is good for a quick fix.

You can look this up on google for other ideas and powders that can be used.
Posted by DebtorBasher on 2011-02-25:
Thanks guys...I never used anything special, I just always washed my hair, but there are those times when I want to just take a quick run to the store and not have to wash my hair before I go...so, I just hope I don't bump into anyone who knows me...LOL!
Posted by Mrs. V on 2011-02-25:
Oh, forgot to say, powders with cornstarch are better to use.
Posted by Mrs. V on 2011-02-25:
DB, I know this will sound strange, but all you need is some talcum powder or baby powder.

Put some one your hands, rub it though your hair (work on the oily areas the most). Let it sit for about 10 to 15 mins and then brush it out.

This is what I do when I go camping and can't wash my hair.

It works fairly well and is good for a quick fix.

You can look this up on google for other ideas and powders that can be used.
Posted by trmn8r on 2011-02-25:
little may want to try this on her purse, if it makes things smell good.

Good review by the way. Really very helpful.
Posted by Mrs. V on 2011-02-25:
Now why on earth did it post my comment twice?
Posted by DebtorBasher on 2011-02-25:
It does have a nice smell to it..
Posted by jktshff1 on 2011-02-25:
Coming from a "partially" bald old fat man...Good Post and info.
Posted by Anonymous on 2011-02-25:
I'm not an expert on shampoos but good review DB.
Posted by Ytropious on 2011-02-25:
I've been meaning to try this stuff because I too hate washing my hair. Luckily I can go several days before my hair starts to look oily. The less you wash your hair the more your scalp gets used to it and stops being so oily. So for people who wash every day, stopping for a day or 2 will have terrible results. I don't wash my hair more then 3x a week usually. I attribute that to why I never have split ends and my hair is generally healthy looking.

Anyway...I've heard a lot of mixed reviews. This is why I've hesitated to buy it. Maybe it's not for all hair types or oil levels? Gotta be some reason why the reviews are so polarized. Either it works for them or it doesn't.
Posted by DebtorBasher on 2011-02-25:
Well, the can I bought says, "For oily/straight to Normal Hair"

When I was working outside my home, I washed it every other day...now I wash it twice a week...it's the in between sometimes that just need a little attention...not something I'd use regularly, but in the winter months, I get strange looks when I go outside and my hair is frozen...I hate using a hair dryer.
Posted by Ytropious on 2011-02-25:
I saw that there was normal/oily hair dry shampoo, and then foam for curly hair. I wonder if the amount of oil matters for how well it works? Does it work better on super oily hair, or hair with very little oil? I would imagine there's some sort of difference in results. I recently discovered I could use my hair straightener on slightly dirty hair and it results in a wearable style.
Posted by DebtorBasher on 2011-02-25:
I don't know...maybe I'll just shave my head bald.
Posted by old fart on 2011-02-25:
Good idea Basher... I shave what little scraps of hair so it's shiny and completely bald.. saves money going to the barber at $15 a trip.
Posted by old fart on 2011-02-25:
Someone just gave me a "helpful" vote... I wonder who,... probably someone equally bald!
Posted by karleebarlee on 2011-02-25:
i'm not sure who said it, but i've heard baby powder and the like, too. if you put just enough on that you can rub in without seeing white powder in your hair (which could be awkward haha) then i've heard it works well in a pinch.
Posted by Anonymous on 2011-02-25:
Like jc, I spend a lot on hair products that I like--all recommended by my hair stylist. I am hooked on Kerastase products right now. Even though I pay a lot, each bottle does last several months so I don't mind.

I wash my hair every day with no ill effects (and it isn't oily). You may find you won't have to wash it every day with the right formula.
Try another shampoo that is for oily hair. Sometimes you just have to experiment. If you can find sample bottles, buy those until you know which one works best. Another tip is to switch up your shampoos. If you use the same one for over 3 months, your hair gets used to it and it doesn't seem to work as well.

I do have a friend that raves about her dry shampoo. If I think about it when I see her, I'll ask.
Posted by Anonymous on 2011-02-25:
I've tried Fredric Fekkai's dry shampoo and loved it! Its a bit pricey-$17 but lasts a long time. I received a 1oz sample and I got atleast 15 uses out of it. Oscar Blandi is supposed to be the best though. Both can be purchased at Sephora!
Posted by DebtorBasher on 2011-02-25:
I'll check all the recommendations out...thanks!
Posted by Anonymous on 2011-02-25:
Basher, just shave your head. Problem solved. No more oily hair
Posted by Anonymous on 2011-02-25:
Sinead O'Connor rocked that look.
Posted by Alain on 2011-02-26:
Good review! I use Hartz Mountain, myself. I have a bunch left over from when the dog was alive.
Posted by CrazyRedHead on 2011-02-26:
My hair is very long and straight, almost to my waist and if I go more than one day without washing it it gets stringy and icky looking. I fixed that and went and got a perm/body wave and it is much better and doesn't look as limp. I don't like washing my hair to much as it is fine and dries it out and looks like I'm holding one of those electric orbs. I never did hold much stock in dry shampoos and will steer clear of this one especially. I also use TRESemme shampoo and really do like it.
Posted by Venice09 on 2011-02-26:
I once used a dry shampoo years and years ago, and the result was awful. Sounds like there hasn't been much improvement.

CrazyRed, body waves are great for straight, fine hair, especially if it's on the oily side. You don't have to wash your hair every day for it to look good. My daughter has long straight fine hair, and I've been trying to convince her to get a body wave for years.

Helpful review. Thanks, DB.
Posted by Anonymous on 2011-02-26:
DB, here you go. Ratings and everything.

http://www.sleekhair.com/dry-shampoo.html
Posted by DebtorBasher on 2011-02-26:
My hair is also long...down to m butt...but it's a thicker hair, not fine. Thanks for the great advice Alain...ahem.
Thanks Sing...
Posted by DebtorBasher on 2011-02-26:
Well...I returned the product to the store today and got my money back.

Your Name:
(displayed with your comment)
Your E-mail:
(required)

Your Experience/Advice:
Check spelling


By clicking submit you agree that you have read and accept the Terms of Service & Privacy Policy.


Note: All comments are reviewed by a moderator before being published. Please be sure to read our guidelines before commenting.