[X]
Feedburner count

1
Helpful
Votes

Rhode Island Family Court Complaint - Back room divorces conducted in chambers "Its Illegal"!

Review by BDAYPARTIESRI on 2011-02-25
PROVIDENCE, RHODE ISLAND -- Family Court is or was conducting divorce's in the back room chambers! Has this happened to you? Well it did to me, in Decemember of 2009 by the Chief Judge. At the time I didn't know what was going on, all I knew was my attorney who got paid $15,000.00 by my mother to get my children and my half of a 7 year marriage to my e-x, rushed me into the back room chambers and conducted an illegal divorce that is supost to be conducted in open court. It was all illegal and all conducted by politician and I'm sure they were all paid off very well. How long has this gone on? Open Court is open for a reason, so this very thing does not happen. My E-X, his attorney, my attorney, The Guardian Ad Litem, my attorney and the Chief Judge all took part in this illegal divorce, throwing me the stay at home mother of 2 minor children (2 and 5 years old) out of the marital home. My ex was awarded everything, The house, the cars, the Business; Scott's Garage, the IRA'S, the timeshares, the boat, the equity in the house, all the additions to the house, the retirement, all the marital assets, and even my personsal assets, HE EVEN GOT THE CHILDREN! He works full time, so my kids are either with the grandparents, babysitter's or girlfriend! HOW DOES THIS HAPPEN? FAMILY COURT? BEST INTEREST OF THE CHILDREN?

From a 7 year marriage, I got $3200.00 for a car, 10 1/2 months rent, 1 year of medicial coverage and 1 hour a week with my children, and a bill for $97,000.00 from my attorney, after I went to the disciplinary board on him, of course they did nothing. WHY? Because I didn't have the money his family did to pay off the right people.

My case is in the Supreme Court now, February 2011, I'm fighting for this wrong to be righted, I just want my half, what is rightfully mine, and of course my children. I have done nothing wrong to my children but love them. They even want me to pay child support, thats crazy right? I haven't had a job since 2003. Well this is all true and it happened to me, lets hope it doesn't happen to you. If it did please contact me. I'm sure this has gone on for many, many years and I'm going to make damn sure they don't get away with it.

Please pray for me and my children and pray the Supreme Court obey's the law, unlike the Family Court.
Comments:21 Replies - Latest reply on 2011-02-26
Posted by tnchuck100 on 2011-02-25:
"Justice" is an expensive commodity in this country. It comes down to who can afford the most "justice".

It stinks. Good luck.
Posted by ok4now on 2011-02-25:
Wow!! This back room deal cost you dearly. It sounds like Scott knew the right people and had deep pockets to make sure he came out on top. Justice for a price. Then after he offers you peanuts he has the gaul to take the children away and demand that you pay child support with no income? This is ugly. When I divorced my ex-wife I cut her a very generous check and she was well compensated. We were adult about it and didn't try to back stab each other. Hopefully the Supreme Court will see this injustice and rule in your favor. Good luck.
Posted by FlShopper on 2011-02-25:
It's not crazy for the non-custodial parent to pay child support. It's standard procedure.
If you feel you were taken advantage of, hopefully it can all be straightened out and a more equitable agreement can be reached.
Good luck.
Posted by Venice09 on 2011-02-26:
If ever I wanted to hear both sides of a story, this is it.
Posted by raven2010 on 2011-02-26:
Here in Franklin county Ohio, you can request that your divorce proceeding be moved to a private judge.

The proceedings are then conducted in judges chambers. It's perfectly legal here not to have your divorce conducted in open court.
Posted by Venice09 on 2011-02-26:
I thought the same thing, raven. But wouldn't both parties have to agree? Perhaps the OP's attorney agreed without his client's knowledge or permission.
Posted by raven2010 on 2011-02-26:
not sire venice---I know someone who did it here. They simply had their attorney made a motion like any other motion. The presiding judge approved the motion and the case went behind closed doors. I don't recall if the other party agreed or protested the motion.

I dug around a bit and found a few articles about Rhode island using retired judges as private judges.
Posted by Venice09 on 2011-02-26:
I'd rather have my divorce proceeding behind closed doors than in open court, as long as nothing was done behind my back.
Posted by momsey on 2011-02-26:
If I were you, I'd take down this "review" and especially the picture of your children. I doubt it will help your case.
Posted by jktshff1 on 2011-02-26:
$97,000.00 for your attorney????? Moving a divorce case, to private chambers is not illegal, nor a crime.
Posted by Anonymous on 2011-02-26:
I'm divorced and never saw the inside of a court. Everything was done in chambers and this was YEARS ago. I didn't even see my ex-husband when I did it - he was in chambers on a separate day. My sis got divorced recently and I went as a witness. Again, no open court - an appt in chambers with her husband and the judge. I served as a witness in my bosses divorce. Chambers again. I tend to think it is the norm now.

If you were a SAHM and are now divorced, I think one would expect to have to seek gainful employment and support themselves. Part of the income from that should be contributed to the support and upkeep of your children - no matter who has custody of them. No surprise there.

Your case sounds funky. I hope you are granted some relief from it, stay on top of things and don't entrust too much to your legal team. Read EVERYTHING and watch what you sign your name to.
Posted by raven2010 on 2011-02-26:
OP, I think you need to remove the name of your exhusbands business from this review
Posted by Venice09 on 2011-02-26:
Yeah, momsey's got the right idea. This whole thing should be taken down.
Posted by Anonymous on 2011-02-26:
This sounds terrible. From experience I can tell you that others are correct in telling you to take down your post, especially your children's photo. Your ex could use this post against you in court.
Posted by trmn8r on 2011-02-26:
I agree that the pics of the children should be removed. They are darned cute though.
Posted by yoke on 2011-02-26:
Don't both parties have to agree to the terms? Did the OP have to sign the divorce papers if she did not agree?
As for the child support, there is NO reason the OP should not pay. She can get a job and support her children. Had she gotten custody she would be expecting the father to pay child support.

I would like to hear the other side of the story. Never heard of a mom only getting one hour a week of visitation unless there was a good reason.
Posted by raven2010 on 2011-02-26:
yoke, no both parties do not have to agree in a divorce. The judge decides and everyone has to follow whatever the judge puts in the divorce decree.

You can go back and appeal, renegotiate, etc, if you want, but there is no guarantee the original order will be modified.

In a dissolution vs divorce, yes, both parties must agree.
Posted by Skye on 2011-02-26:
Sometimes, some judges do not grant a divorce on the first try. Many times they tell the couple, to really think it over, and then he makes them come back in six weeks.

This is what a judge did to a friend of mine. She wanted a divorce, and the judge would not grant it right away. Finally, after six weeks, they went back into court, and he granted it.
Posted by Skye on 2011-02-26:
There are many details missing from this review. The op basically received nothing, and is now left homeless and was not awarded even fifty percent custody of the children, assets, etc.


I'm thinking drugs are involved, but I am not accusing her of being on drugs. This is so personal, I don't even know why it's on a public forum.
Posted by yoke on 2011-02-26:
Thanks for the info Raven.
Something does not sound right with this divorce. No judge would do this unless there was a reason.
Posted by yoke on 2011-02-26:
The OP praises a criminal lawyer in her recomendations. Sounds like we have not heard everything

Your Name:
(displayed with your comment)
Your E-mail:
(required)

Your Experience/Advice:
Check spelling


By clicking submit you agree that you have read and accept the Terms of Service & Privacy Policy.


Note: All comments are reviewed by a moderator before being published. Please be sure to read our guidelines before commenting.