1
Helpful
Votes

Ford Automotive Company Complaint - Gas Mileage - Econoline 150

Review by 2244 on 2005-04-30
MEDFORD, NEW YORK -- The Ford dealorship , van manual and Ford company all state the following . Gas mileage can't be computed until the van has 6,000 miles . Well after 39,000 miles I get the same results 10 to 11 miles per gallon , this is with a Econoline E150 Van with a V6 engine . When I contacted the manufacturer on the telephone they said to contact the dealer and when I contacted the dealer they said 10 to 11 liles per gallon was correct . The window sticker when I baught the van stated 13 to 15 miles per gallon . I guess someone lied at Ford !
Comments:9 Replies - Latest reply on 2005-05-06
Posted by tpebop on 2005-04-30:
If you would have read the sticker on the window you would have seen that is an estimate, actual feul economy may differ. Try using premium gas and frequent feul injector cleaner ect. it will cost more but hey you will get that milage you want
Posted by ChuhBaca on 2005-05-02:
First, Premium fuel isn't going to help with gas mileage. Go with the octane specified in your owner's manual. The only time it would be good to use a higher octane would be if you notice detonation (usually occurs in warmer temperatures). Otherwise I think your stuck with that gas mileage. Especially if your loading the van at all. That little v-6 has to work a lot harder. It isn't uncommon at all to experience worse gas mileage with a smaller engine when it comes to trucks.
Posted by Anonymous on 2005-05-02:
You're right Chuh. Using a higher octane fuel will foul up the spark plugs, so in the long run you will lose M.P.G.'s.
Posted by Slimjim on 2005-05-03:
I've heard the theory that higher octane burns hotter and faster, hence "sometimes" worse mileage. I think it depends on the engine. I had a Navigator that called for 91+ but I used the 89 because I have saw much better mileage from the lesser gas, with no pinging.
Posted by tpebop on 2005-05-03:
Higher octane higher temp usauly + higher efeciency this is not always true but could increase tire pressure to max safe level should help that and wash and wax less wind resistance
Posted by Slimjim on 2005-05-04:
Ah biz, slamming people without checking first with your friend Mr. Google. I took the liberty of helping you out, and believe me, there were plenty more. http://www.gwguldinsauto.com/gas.html or http://www.cartalk.com/content/columns/Archive/1997/June/13.html
Posted by Anonymous on 2005-05-04:
Biz, why don't you have Softback, 'Google' up some info? I know first hand that using a higher octane fuel than recommended will cause a carbon build up on the spark plugs and will cause them to misfire. Maybe your buddy tax/tx can get someone from the D.O.T. to eloborate. HA! Mr. Bizwrench.
Posted by ChuhBaca on 2005-05-04:
The higher the octane, the more resistant the fuel is to ignition. If you fill your car with fuel that is below the octane level recommended by the manufacture, you may notice a knock coming from your engine (especially on hot days). This is because the lower octane is igniting before the spark fires. This tries to force the piston back down while it shoud be compressing, which causes the engine knock.
If you go to a higher octane fuel, you will notice that under the same conditions, the knock will be not be present, or greatly reduce.
If you put too high of octane fuel, it may not burn completely.
Posted by IintheSky on 2005-05-06:
The gasoline rating on almost all vehicles are very unrealistic. In order to get anywhere near these ratings one has to: be the single occupant of the vehicle (and probably not weight much over 150 pounds), be driving under ideal circumstances such as "drifting under gear" away from an intersection, and also factors such as "no load" from something such as the A/C. Perhaps the milage standards need reviewed as well.

Your Name:
(displayed with your comment)
Your E-mail:
(required)

Your Experience/Advice:
Check spelling


By clicking submit you agree that you have read and accept the Terms of Service & Privacy Policy.


Note: All comments are reviewed by a moderator before being published. Please be sure to read our guidelines before commenting.