Angie's List Informative - Why Angie's List - Consumer Reviews

Review by CoonCatOne on 2011-03-21
INDIAPOLIS, INDIANA -- I looked into Angie's List. It seemed to me to be expensive. I couldn't see the reviews so I don't know if they cover businesses in my area. I see reviewers recommending use of Angie's List. I would welcome advice from those of you who use this service. Were you able to find local companies? Did the reviews turn out to be accurate? I wonder why we don't just use my3cents? My3cents does not seem to be overly encumbered by the influence of businesses.
Comments:10 Replies - Latest reply on 2011-03-21
Posted by MDSasquatch on 2011-03-21:
I cannot recall ever using Angie's List, there are too many options out there to pay any amount for exposure on the web.
Posted by trmn8r on 2011-03-21:
I don't know why you call out my3c as a single alternative. There are numerous consumer feedback sites, as well as reviews found on other websites (a few examples I use are Amazon, CNET).

IMO, there is no one source that could cover all my needs. I don't know anything about Angie's List - it is unique in charging a fee, and there must be a reason people use it.
Posted by Anonymous on 2011-03-21:
I actually used Angie's List to find a good reputable contractor for my remodel. It wasn't that expensive considering the thousands of dollars I will be spending on my remodel. I had this contractor in mind to begin with, but I felt more satisfied after reading all the comments from local customers who were very happy. For small items I might not bother, but I'm not new to the remodeling game and have made errors in judgement in the past. So far, everything I read has been true, so I would definitely use Angie's List again. It's a great option for local contractors of any sort.
Posted by trmn8r on 2011-03-21:
Great example, sing. Makes sense to me. And it wouldn't cost that much if you only used it for 1-2 months. As I understand it, you pay monthly?
Posted by Anonymous on 2011-03-21:
trmn8r, it was $29 for a year membership. They also offer a 100% money back guarantee. I don't know what the guarantee involves, since I've not had to question anything I've read on the site.
Posted by trmn8r on 2011-03-21:
Oh, that makes sense. I saw monthly fees quoted somewhere. That's a good deal for someone in your situation. When you need a contractor, and don't know whom to call or want more info (like you) it sounds like a great idea. We got a gutter installer once, thinking "how bad could they be?" and found out!

I see that their fee varies depending on your location.
Posted by saj80 on 2011-03-21:
Does Angie's list also post negative comments regarding contractors who they recommend? If not, then relying on a contractor with good reviews is irrelevant.
Posted by trmn8r on 2011-03-21:
"Angie's List grades companies using a report-card-style A through F scale based on consumer reviews.[2] Revenue for Angie's List comes from fees paid by its members and from advertising. It claims to accept advertising from only companies that have a "B" rating or higher.[9] Not all reports submitted by members are used in establishing a company's rating, as Angie's List employees "are skilled at picking out would-be saboteurs" who would distort a company's rating by submitting a negative review.[10]

Although all of the member-provided ratings and reviews, once published, are viewable by other members, Angie's List currently offers no provision to allow members to publish a review of the Angie's List service itself."
Posted by Ytropious on 2011-03-21:
Angie's list only exists to basically extort money from businesses and people. It sucks, but these days anyone can start a website and become an entrepreneur. It's like all these daily deal websites. Step 1, start crappy website, step 2, charge businesses to give them grace of having a coupon on your website, step 3, profit having done little of anything.
Posted by CoonCatOne on 2011-03-21:
Nice way of describing the situation, Ytropious!

Your Name:
(displayed with your comment)
Your E-mail:
(required)

Your Experience/Advice:
Check spelling


By clicking submit you agree that you have read and accept the Terms of Service & Privacy Policy.


Note: All comments are reviewed by a moderator before being published. Please be sure to read our guidelines before commenting.