[X]

12
Helpful
Votes

Department of Revenue Compliment - The easiest drivers license renewal I ever had to do!

Review by Skye on 2011-04-08
COLORADO -- My drivers license expires on Sunday, April 10th, 2011. I needed to renew it, and was going to go to the Department of Motor Vehicles yesterday. Before getting ready to go, I looked up the hours, because I wanted to get there as early as possible.

While looking on line, I saw they have a feature, which allows you renew on line. I decided to check into it, and so glad I did. I was able to do my drivers license renewal in less then 5 minutes. They made it so easy! They asked a few questions, such as, if I had moved, has my drivers license been suspended and if I have any outstanding tickets. My answer was no to all three, and the site allowed me to proceed to the next step, which was to verify my current address and phone number. After that, the payment screen came up, and I paid for my renewal. It was a total of $22.24. Twenty one dollars for the license renewal fee, plus a processing fee of $1.24. Believe me, it saved me time and gas, doing it on line. After my payment was processed, I then printed out my receipt which showed I renewed and paid on line. I'll use this in place of my license, along with my soon to be expired drivers license, until my new one arrives in the mail, which according to the site, will be in 30 days or less. As for the photo, they'll just use the same photo they already have, on my new drivers license.

I highly recommned renewing your drivers license on line, when your time comes up for renewal.

The State of Colorado just made it as easy as it will probably ever get, for renewing on line!
Comments:48 Replies - Latest reply on 2012-01-10
Posted by Anonymous on 2011-04-08:
That sounds really cool. In Colorado how long between renewals?

Great review!
Posted by FlShopper on 2011-04-08:
The last two times I renewed my d/l I did it online. Definitely makes life easier.
Posted by Anonymous on 2011-04-08:
I cant do mine online because I have a CDL. They like to make life difficult for us CDL drivers.
Posted by Anonymous on 2011-04-08:
We also have that here in Virginia but I think you can only do it once every other time because they want a fresh picture. They instituted fees for counter services that have definitely reduced the lines at DMV.
Posted by Anonymous on 2011-04-08:
I like the ease and convenience of online renewal also.
Posted by MRM on 2011-04-08:
I, too, renew my license online and they put the same picture that I had since I was in high school! I'll renew my license in 2013.
Posted by Skye on 2011-04-08:
LR, for me, it was 9 years from my last renewal. It's different for different age groups, between renewals.

Prince, my brother in law has his CDL, and I know he cannot do it on line, because he has to go down to the DVM to take the test. It's not an option for everyone to renew on line, but for those of us who can, I say do it!
Posted by Anonymous on 2011-04-08:
I renewed mine online, here in VA, as well. I really hate the DMV, more than most people..I almost got arrested there once.
Posted by MRM on 2011-04-08:
How did you almost got arrested at DMV, unslated?
Posted by Skye on 2011-04-08:
I know how you feel unslated. I hated the DMV in NY, it was the last place anyone would EVER want to go.

Can you tell us why you were arrested :)
Posted by Anonymous on 2011-04-08:
Apparently, you are supposed to NOT threaten people...lol
Posted by Anonymous on 2011-04-08:
I don't have to renew my license til 2046
Posted by MRM on 2011-04-08:
AH HA! no wonder you had a nic named "HotHead"!
Posted by Anonymous on 2011-04-08:
The DMV here is South carolina in actually not bad at all. They have a lot of employees and the lines go pretty quick. you can sit down and wait for your number to be called, rather than standing in a huge line like I had to do when I lived in PA.
Posted by jktshff1 on 2011-04-08:
I did mine on line this year...worked great.
Posted by momsey on 2011-04-08:
That's awesome, I wonder if they do that in NJ? I wouldn't mind keeping my current photo for another four years.
Posted by jktshff1 on 2011-04-08:
Because I'm over 60, I don't have to have a photo on my license. That being said, it's on my gun permit.
Posted by Anonymous on 2011-04-08:
Jktshff1, you have to have a photo on your gun permit?
Posted by jktshff1 on 2011-04-08:
Yep, I don't have a problem with that.
Only reason I did not get one on my DL was the wait in line to do it.
Posted by momsey on 2011-04-08:
Wonder why people over 60 don't have to have a photo? Wonder if that's for all states? Trying to spare them the agony of going to the DMV?
Posted by Anonymous on 2011-04-08:
Jkt, I'm just required to have a photo ID with my permit. But, I guess your way works :)
Posted by Anonymous on 2011-04-08:
I have a HUGE problem with gun permits. Gun ownership is one of them natural rights bestowed upon us by our creator. A gun permit is an insult to that right. SLAVES
Posted by SteveWiginowski on 2011-04-08:
The DMV in CA was pretty good (when getting a license in a new state). I would get in a long line (100+ people) on Saturday morning and would be in and out of there in about an hour.

In PA, it's a different story. I've gone in on a Saturday to get a PA license. Online it says that I would need 2 legals document and it gave examples such as a birth certificate, social security card, passport, or marriage certificate. So I go in with my wife and we take a number (first mistake). There are about 25 people in front of us (number wise) and we were sitting there for about 90 minutes before we were finally called. We explain that we need to get PA licenses. The lady asks which one of us, we tell her both of us. She says she will only help one of us because we only have one number. I understand that there is some logic to that, so tell my wife to go and I'll come back another weekend.

My wife sits down and the lady asks for the two legal documents. She brings out the marriage certificate and social security card. The lady then says that the marriage certificate doesn't work. We cite the website's instructions, but to no avail. She refuses to do anything futher. We had to come back another time and wait again.
Posted by jktshff1 on 2011-04-08:
You know my stance, but defense of one's life, family and property are the natural rights whether it be with spears and stones or fists and guns Luckily in TN you can purchase and have as many guns as you want without having to get a permit, after a background check, which I think is reasonable. While very 2A (and my various statements on this site show that) I wish there was another way to insure someone has the proper training and skills, with a clean background other than being forced to get a permit and go thru the classes.
Posted by trmn8r on 2011-04-08:
The picture seems like it would be a sticking point in some states, in allowing people to renew online.

Skye, if I didn't know better, you sound like a shill working for the DMV. Honestly, who writes compliments to the DMV about their procedures?

But I do know better. Great review, but not convincing enough to make me move to Colorado.
Posted by trmn8r on 2011-04-08:
Steve -> Oh yeah, that't what I am used to. Aren't they just the most charming and helpful agency you've ever dealt with? It's like living in the Dark Ages here.
Posted by Anonymous on 2011-04-08:
That's nice! When I lived in VA, near the DC area, I got used to waiting in line for the day!

Here in LA, I went in to get a LA license and it was a breeze and I was in and out within 20 minutes.

I will see if we have an online option for when I have to renew it. Thank you!
Posted by Starlord on 2011-04-08:
Skye, I love reading your posts, but this one begs the question, what does the Department of Revenue have to do with your driver's license? Keep your posts coming.
Posted by Skye on 2011-04-08:
Here is the website Starlord. I was not able to change my title to just the motor vehicle department, but once you see where I found my driver license information, you'll understand why I keep calling it the department of revenue. Thats what it listed under.

http://www.colorado.gov/cs/Satellite?c=Document_C&cid=1186476452033&pagename=Revenue-MV%2FDocument_C%2FRMVAddLink
Posted by DebtorBasher on 2011-04-08:
I always hear people complain about having to wait so long at these places but I have never encountered a long wait. I just walk in and there is usually less than five people there anytime I've gone. In fact, the last time I went, I walked right up to the counter...didn't even have to 'pick a number' and I was outta there in less than five minutes. Maybe it's because we have several of them scattered around so, they are not crowded...but doing it online would be great for those who can't get out in the winter time, or for any other reason.

Thanks for the heads up Skye...

Oh wait...one question...what do you do about your tags? If you're pulled over for expired tags, will they accept your reciept as proof of renewal and then they mail the tags to you?
Posted by Anonymous on 2011-04-08:
I'll be 70 by the time my license expires and my drivers licence pic was taken when I was 16 lol
Posted by DebtorBasher on 2011-04-08:
Hey, if they allow you to continue using the same photo...Man-O-Man...I can be 28 years old forever!!!
Posted by Anonymous on 2011-04-08:
Yeah maybe i'll update it when I turn 30. I hate going to my DMV.
Posted by Anonymous on 2011-04-08:
Wally, AZ licenses expire when you're 65
Posted by Anonymous on 2011-04-08:
Oh yeah mine expires 2051.
Posted by madconsumer on 2011-04-08:
had you been in TN, it would never be this easy. i renewed my dl, and i had to prove my address, provide my birth certificate, and and my last pay stubs. apparently, TN has went to this new 'verification' system for all licenses under 10 years of residence. yet there was a recent news report where an illegal was able to purchase his DL and get it renewed in 30 minutes, no proof of nothing.
Posted by Skye on 2011-04-08:
MC, that's what they wanted if I went in person. On the website it says as of April 4, 2011, l would have to provide proof of residence, proof I'm a citizen. I had all my necessary paperwork ready to take with me, then I saw the on line option. I was like, there has to be a catch, but there wasn't and it was smooth sailing.
Posted by Nohandle on 2011-04-09:
In this state a DL has to be renewed every 4 years. You must physically show up because a new photo has to be taken right then and there. If renewing, if memory serves, no additional information is required over and above providing your current license and verifying your address etc has not changed. You are provided with a temporary paper license (with your new photo) to be used until your new license arrives in the mail. If your license has expired good luck because you start from square one.
Posted by Alain on 2011-04-09:
Good review and perhaps an indication that, in some areas, governments are improving.
Posted by Venice09 on 2011-04-09:
We have five year renewals here in New York. Last time I did it through the mail. I've had the same photo for the last 15 to 20 years. I don't even remember. I did have to get an eye exam, so I just went over to Walmart (yes, Walmart!), read the eye chart and the doctor signed off. No charge.
Yay, Walmart!
Posted by Skye on 2011-04-09:
Venice, I always renewed my license in NY, and NEVER had the option of doing it on line, because it did not exist. I still have my last license from NY, and I had to renew every 4 years. NY motor vehicles were the devils playground, and the worst was going to Hauppauge.

When I just renewed on line, I had to sign an afadavit, that I've had an eye exam within the last 3 years, which I have, just last year, bought new contact lenses.

If only everything else in life was as easy as the renewal I just did! One can dream...

Posted by Venice09 on 2011-04-09:
Skye, I think I might be banned from the DMV in Orange County, NY.. haha! I had such a horrible experience with them years ago that I thought I was going to get arrested. They are the most ignorant, arrogant people I have ever encountered. Even the County Clerk agrees!

I renewed mine through the mail four years ago, so I guess I'm up for renewal next year. I don't even know if doing it online is an option now. I guess I'll find out when I receive my renewal notice. I hope I won't need a new picture and that I will pass the eye exam again. I should go over to Walmart and memorize the eye chart when no on is looking, just in case. ;)
Posted by Skye on 2011-04-09:
Oh yes, memorize the eye chart! My eye doctor told me, that many times patients who cannot pass the DMV eye test, but pass his, because he said sometimes their eye charts that you look into, are not set for human eyes, meaning they are out of sync. So he then gives patients a letter, stating they passed HIS eye exam, and then they are good to go.

I think we've all had run in's with the NY DMV. It's just a terrible place. Here, they are so organized, you get a number, and sit in a nice waiting area, and if you are not called in 15 minutes, they want YOU to let them know.
Posted by Venice09 on 2011-04-09:
I can't imagine being treated that way at the DMV. We did have an annex for a while that was much better than the county seat, but it closed.

The last time I took the eye test at the DMV, I just listened to the people in front of me recite the letters. By the time it was my turn, I pretty much knew them by heart. What a joke!
Posted by Starlord on 2011-04-09:
Skye, I had the same thing happen in Arizona. I had eye surgery, and tested at 20/25, but the DMV said I failed the test. My eye doctor notified the Review Board at DMV that their machines were only a screening test, and the real tests he sued were much more accurate. I received an amended form that stated I passed the eye test. Shorty, remember the blue paper temporary DLs? I can't tell you what I did with one mouthy kid's temp license, but it was hilarious.
Posted by Skye on 2011-04-17:
Received my license on Friday, April 15. Kudos to the DMV!
Posted by Venice09 on 2011-04-17:
I agree, Skye!.. Kudos!
Posted by royalr47 on 2012-01-10:
How long after, you renew your license online in Colorado, do find out whether or not it was accepted online? I went thru the whole thing, including payment. I was hoping after I put in my drivers license # and birth date if you weren't eligible, they wouldn't let you go on. But I am not sure. If anyone give any help or incite to this it would be greatly appreciated. royalr47@comcast.net

Your Name:
(displayed with your comment)
Your E-mail:
(required)

Your Experience/Advice:
Check spelling


By clicking submit you agree that you have read and accept the Terms of Service & Privacy Policy.


Note: All comments are reviewed by a moderator before being published. Please be sure to read our guidelines before commenting.