8
Helpful
Votes

Progressive Auto Insurance Complaint - Rip Off Con Artists Swall Car Dealership

Review by lipstick on 2011-04-09
CALGARY, ALBERTA CANADA, ARKANSAS -- On Wednesday March 23, 2011, I visited Progressive Leasing & Auto Sales for a potential vehicle purchase. Upon arrival I met salesman **. Told him that I was looking and that I would have to get a car loan. ** told me that I could put a deposit down to hold it and if I was turned down for a loan I would get my money back immediately. So I put a deposit down of $2400.00 on their used 2004 Audi A4 1.8T AWD and he had me sign what looked like a sales agreement. ** instantly said not to worry I still would get the deposit back if I hadn't a loan.

Same day Wednesday March 23, 2011, I drove directly to my bank and applied for a car loan with **, Financial Services Rep at Royal Bank of Canada on Strathcona Blvd SW. He informed me that I may not get an approval because of my debt ratio and insufficient credit rating but he will send it into the RBC Loan Center and see what the outcome is.

On Wednesday March 30, 2011, I got a call from ** of Royal Bank of Canada to meet me regarding the loan. Upon my meeting, I was informed by ** of RBC that my application for a car loan was turned down for the reasons he mentioned in our prior meeting a week earlier and was handed the letter of the non approval. Same day March 30, 2011, I called ** of Progressive Leasing & Auto Sales and notified him that I was turned down for the car loan.

On Saturday April 2, 2011, I received a call and spoke to **. He told me to meet him at his office on Tuesday April 5,2011 to pick up my refund deposit check and I said yes I will meet him. Shortly after the call on Saturday April 2, 2011, I received another call from ** telling me that I will not be getting my refund with no explanations and hung up on me.

On Tuesday April 5, 2011, I went to Progressive to see what the calls were about. I spoke to ** and he acknowledged out loud that he did say I will get reimbursed the deposit. When a man by the name of ** stepped in and said NO I won't. I showed him my letter from the bank and asked him why, his response was "that the money was a substantial amount" then walked away.

I then left Progressive Leasing & Auto Sales and filed a complaint (April 5, 2011) with the Better Business Bureau where the officer in attendance informed me that they are supposed to return the money according to the law and handed me the letter of complaint. BEWARE OF THIS COMPANY !!

PROGRESSIVE LEASING & AUTO SALES PERSONNEL IS SHORT On CUSTOMER SERVICE SKILLS, LACK OF MORALS, AND IS EXCEPTIONAL WITH BROKEN PROMISES. They succeed in specializing to rob the public from their hard earned money. Go ahead and just hand over YOUR hard earned money!
Comments:2 Replies - Latest reply on 2011-04-11
Posted by bcd on 2011-04-10:
“Upon arrival I met salesman Rick Caldwell. Told him that I was looking and that I would have to get a car loan.”

You discussed financing and agreed to the down payment prior to test driving the car. That order of events portrayed you as an inexperienced negotiator and resulted in your being taken advantage of. How does the documentation address the down payment refund policy?

Let us know if you get that refund. Good luck.
Posted by Kurizumaru on 2011-04-11:
Is this the same company as Progressive Auto Insurance? It sounds like a completely different company.

Your Name:
(displayed with your comment)
Your E-mail:
(required)

Your Experience/Advice:
Check spelling


By clicking submit you agree that you have read and accept the Terms of Service & Privacy Policy.


Note: All comments are reviewed by a moderator before being published. Please be sure to read our guidelines before commenting.