7
Helpful
Votes

Sugarcraft Complaint - Don't Try To Return Anything For Any Reason!

Review by bebop2 on 2011-04-13
HAMILTON, OHIO -- I mistakenly ordered $78.86 of the wrong product and when I tried to return or exchange the order, they wouldn't do anything except tell me "NO". If you read their return policy, it states "Sugarcraft reserves the right to refuse any such request regardless of product, price, errors, etc." In other words, NO RETURNS unless they want to.

Needless to say, I'll never buy another thing from them.
Comments:11 Replies - Latest reply on 2011-04-13
Posted by Anonymous on 2011-04-13:
They have a very strict return policy. I was going to order cookie cutters and some other things from them, but then I read the policy. It basically says that even if an item is shipped in error, they have the right to refuse a return. Also, they state that if an item arrives damaged, they will not do a return and advise that you "order extra fragile items". It's a good idea to check out a store's policies before ordering, just in case.
Posted by Anonymous on 2011-04-13:
You admitted that you mistakenly ordered the wrong product. You admit that they clearly state the terms of their return policy. How is that their fault? Because of your mistake, they are supposed to accept product and/or merchandise in return that has been compromised and now will probably result in profit loss?

Agreeing with Nicole...check the policy and double-check your order:)
Posted by madconsumer on 2011-04-13:
seems like they could have worked with you. after all you made a mistake in ordering, and they could have been good enough to exchange the item.

very helpful.
Posted by Anonymous on 2011-04-13:
Sounds like an enter at your own risk type of company. The type of company to be avoided by savvy consumers. Thanks for the heads up.
Posted by Anonymous on 2011-04-13:
Lord Rothschild> Quite the contrary. This is exactly the type of business a savvy customer should want to do business with. They are open and honest in their policy. No hidden agendas, loops, or BS. They are upfront and not misleading. I would hope that all businesses would aspire to be like such.
Posted by Anonymous on 2011-04-13:
That is the good thing about them...the policy is simple and straight forward, short and to the point. It does not leave you wondering after reading it.
Posted by Venice09 on 2011-04-13:
I would never order from a company that did not accept the return of damaged merchandise or merchandise shipped in error. I always read the return policy first.
Posted by Anonymous on 2011-04-13:
They advise you to "order extra fragile items" because they won't allow you to return items damaged in shipping?

As far as I'm concerned, unless I specifically order a broken something, if I receive something broken from them, then they sent me something I did not order. Keeping my money at that point is tantamount to theft.

Based on this, I would never order from Sugarcraft. Great review.
Posted by Whiteduck on 2011-04-13:
This is a great review. Being honest about having crooked policies is barely better than having crooked policies on the sly. This was good info so that the rest of us know not to bother with this company...
Posted by Anonymous on 2011-04-13:
If you paid by credit card Id dispute the charge
Posted by trmn8r on 2011-04-13:
This IS a great review, and reminds shoppers to check the TOS of any website prior to ordering. I can't fault the company for not accepting back the items, since they advertise that they may in fact refuse to do so. Who knows the real reason - but they don't have to provide one.

I don't know if disputing the charge would result in trumping the company's website - I don't play bridge.

Your Name:
(displayed with your comment)
Your E-mail:
(required)

Your Experience/Advice:
Check spelling


By clicking submit you agree that you have read and accept the Terms of Service & Privacy Policy.


Note: All comments are reviewed by a moderator before being published. Please be sure to read our guidelines before commenting.