[X]
Feedburner count

7
Helpful
Votes

Los Hermanitos Compliment - Sam's the man!

Review by 143061 on 2011-04-14
FARMINGTON, NEW MEXICO -- If you ever have the chance to pass through and eat at Los Hermanitos, I would highly recommend them to you. I know the owner personally, and serviced the restaurant equipment behind the scenes for many years, so I know first hand the care and quality that goes into preparing the food for his customers.

Today during lunch was no exception. The server was prompt and courteous, the food was delivered quickly and tasted delicious. The server stopped by occasionally to ask if we needed anything else, but not too many times thus making you feel uncomfortable. My wife and I both ordered combo plates and beverages, and it came with salsa & chips, and a side of sopapillas. The total bill was about $32. Pretty fair price for a filling meal.
Comments:22 Replies - Latest reply on 2011-04-15
Posted by Anonymous on 2011-04-14:
I debated for a while over whether or not to post a review about a non-chain, but decided to anyways. You may never visit this establishment, but they served great food and deserve a positive review just as much as the next place.
Posted by Anonymous on 2011-04-14:
Looks great Dirm. New Mexico has the best food in the country. If I ever find myself in Farmington NM I'll give this joint a try.

Good job man.
Posted by Anonymous on 2011-04-14:
I love homemade sopapillas. How far is it from the Johnson Mesa?
Posted by Anonymous on 2011-04-14:
Nice Review (N/R)
Are those smothered burritos? What was inside?
If so how was the green chile? I gauge the eatery on that. It has to have some heat, plenty pork and not runny.
Posted by Anonymous on 2011-04-14:
Non-chains deserve compliments too!

Why is it though, that Mexican food generally looks the same at these places? I can think of two here that I go to now and then that the enchilada combo looks exactly like that pic.

If you're ever in this area, check out Barrio in downtown Bellevue...Mexican with a NW twist, and pure bliss.
Posted by Anonymous on 2011-04-14:
Where do you see an enchilada?
Posted by Anonymous on 2011-04-14:
Stuart G. Lowenstein III> If you ever are...it'll be my treat.

Ript> Doing a quick Google, I'd say about 6-hours.

Lsalvador> I am a creature of habit. I always order the same thing. It was one cheese enchilada (the one buried in the chile and beans), one shredded beef, and one chicken. The green chile was delicious, but I alwasys order "light" chile since I'm a gringo.

Just_Cause> I most certainly will try it if I'm ever in the area.
Posted by Anonymous on 2011-04-14:
Lsalvador> They are rolled enchiladas, not stacked as some restaurants serve them.
Posted by Anonymous on 2011-04-14:
Looks good. If I give you my address, will you send me some enchiladas?
Posted by Anonymous on 2011-04-14:
Sounds like a really great place to go, the food looks good. Nice review!
Posted by Anonymous on 2011-04-14:
I see it now. The best are the rolled ones to me.
Posted by Anonymous on 2011-04-14:
Lsalvador> Yeah, I'm not too fond of the stacked ones either. Except for when my wife makes them into a casserole dish of sorts, and bakes it in the oven. Mmmmmmmmmmm!
Posted by Anonymous on 2011-04-14:
Who is Sam?
Posted by Anonymous on 2011-04-14:
Sam's the man.
Posted by Anonymous on 2011-04-14:
Sounds like a winner, DIRM. JC, I will be in the area soon and I will remember to check out that place :)
Posted by Anonymous on 2011-04-14:
Just_Cause> Sam is the owner. A nicer man you'll never meet.
Posted by Anonymous on 2011-04-14:
Sing, you should definitely go I don't think you'll be disappointed. there's also one in Capitol Hill but I haven't been to that location, but I bet it's just as good.
Posted by Anonymous on 2011-04-14:
Oh, OK, thanks JC. Capitol Hill may be closer. That name will be impossible to forget!
Posted by raven2010 on 2011-04-14:
O.ooooo that looks yummy! Great review
Posted by trmn8r on 2011-04-14:
Non-chains definitely deserve praise. After all, I don't eat at chain restaurants anymore, because I have decided they all blow chow.

Great review.
Posted by momsey on 2011-04-15:
Mmmmm. This looks good.
Posted by Anonymous on 2011-04-15:
Lord knows ( not LR ) I love me some Mexican food.

We not so long ago found a spot called La Placita.They have THE BEST Mexican food I have ever had north of the border....

Your Name:
(displayed with your comment)
Your E-mail:
(required)

Your Experience/Advice:
Check spelling


By clicking submit you agree that you have read and accept the Terms of Service & Privacy Policy.


Note: All comments are reviewed by a moderator before being published. Please be sure to read our guidelines before commenting.