[X]
Feedburner count

13
Helpful
Votes

Ted's Hot Dogs Complaint - Doesn't Live Up To the Hype

Review by 138668 on 2011-04-18
TEMPE, ARIZONA -- My boyfriend and I have been wanting to try Ted's Hot Dogs for years now. They're a New York based hot dog chain and have won a ton of awards for their food.

We walked in the place at around 11 am and noticed a long line. That's usually a good sign that the food is good. We both ordered chili cheese dogs, fries, and my boyfriend got a corn dog. The service was prompt and you can see them making your food right in front of you.

The chili cheese dog really wasn't as tasty as I expected it to be. Their homemade chili was bland and the dog itself was almost burnt. The fries were really good though. They tasted fresh and didn't have too much salt on them. The corndog was also very good.

I probably should have flagged this as informative rather than a complaint because the chili cheese dog was the only thing I didn't like about my meal. Their hamburgers looked good, so we'll go back another day and try the hamburgers.

Overall, we were disappointed by the chili cheese dog, but the staff was very friendly, so they deserve a second chance.
Comments:71 Replies - Latest reply on 2013-03-10
Posted by Anonymous on 2011-04-18:
Hot Dogs are making a comeback these days. Around here I know of four local hotdog joints that have recently opened and the Oklahoma based Sonic (America's Drive-In) Corp is doing a big national push for their gourmet dogs. I know I'm a sucker for good hot dog. Too bad Ted's didn't live up to the hype. Today more than ever we need good hot dogs.

Good review!
Posted by Anonymous on 2011-04-18:
Are the fries fresh homemade or frozen processed?
Posted by Anonymous on 2011-04-18:
I'm not much of a hot dog fan they all taste the same to me. But i'll prob skip this joint I heard pink's in LA and Nathans have the best dogs but those are prob over hyped also. (VH)
Posted by Anonymous on 2011-04-18:
Gourmet hot dog joints are spreading to the the midwestern states, they are hardly making a "comeback". They are the traditionally popular back east.
I read a review about Steve's Snappin' Dogs that was done here a few years ago. Good quality Kosher Beef dogs but a tad overpriced to me.
Sonic? They are merely a few steps above OnCue.
Posted by Anonymous on 2011-04-18:
These hot dogs were over priced at around $4 each. The fries were fresh, not frozen
Posted by Anonymous on 2011-04-18:
Lsalvador, You are right I stated it wrong. Thanks for the correction.
Posted by Anonymous on 2011-04-18:
Mmmmm.Chili dogs.Mmmmm

I can't tell you the last time I had a chili dog.....I am totally craving one now
Posted by Anonymous on 2011-04-18:
Anytime, Stuart.
I usually get the Chicago Dog from those places.
Posted by Anonymous on 2011-04-18:
"Gourmet" and "hot dog" just don't sound right together, even at a place like this. Good review, thanks.
Posted by Anonymous on 2011-04-18:
Yaya, you got me hungry I'm going to sonic for a hot dog maybe those new premium dogs are good.
Posted by Anonymous on 2011-04-18:
Like "jumbo shrimp" huh Nicole?
I will say that after you eat a good Kosher Beef dog you will detest the popular brands of regular dogs like Oscar Meyer. At least I do.
Posted by Anonymous on 2011-04-18:
Agreed Lsalvador. I only eat Hebrew National. They are the best.
Posted by Alain on 2011-04-18:
I haven't had lunch yet, so this review is liable to cause me to stray from the ol' diet. Good review, Shorty!
Posted by Anonymous on 2011-04-18:
Agreed Stuart.
Posted by Alain on 2011-04-18:
I only buy Hebrew National. I couldn't go back to inferior dogs now.
Posted by Anonymous on 2011-04-18:
I do like Hebrew National, and Nathan's aren't too bad.
Posted by Anonymous on 2011-04-18:
That's just lovely Stuart.
Posted by Anonymous on 2011-04-18:
Remember the the red hots? They are a thinner than usual hot dog that is popular down south.
They have a unique flavor and when you boil them the water turns red.
Posted by Anonymous on 2011-04-18:
The Schwab meat company still makes those old fashion red hots. They're very popular with the lunch crowd at Coney Island in downtown OKC. I'd eat them but who wants to pay five dollars to park to get a hotdog? That's crazy.

I don't know if this is true or not but I was told back in the day they colored them bright red and spiked them with boric acid in order to hide the smell and color of rotted pork.
Posted by DebtorBasher on 2011-04-18:
Y'all should try 'Basher's BBQ Kosher Dogs' and you'll never go back to eating any other hotdog...EVER!!!

Not only are they blessed by the Rabbi, they are also blessed by The Basher and it doesn't get any better than that!!!
Posted by DebtorBasher on 2011-04-18:
Stuart, maybe Suze would like BallPark Franks...I heard they 'plump when you cook them'.
Posted by Anonymous on 2011-04-18:
Never heard that one Stuart.
Posted by jktshff1 on 2011-04-18:
Nope, they gotta be blessed by JKT:)
Basher's bbq FLAVORED Kosher Dogs, I would ok that.
Posted by DebtorBasher on 2011-04-18:
Don't start with me JKT! You KNOW I'm right!
Do you have a little 'Basher BBQ' alarm on your computer that goes off everytime I mention BBQ? LOL!
Posted by jktshff1 on 2011-04-18:
I did not start it nor will I agree to anything but bbq flavored in your case.
Posted by *Brenda* on 2011-04-18:
Yocco's dogs are the best!
Posted by Anonymous on 2011-04-18:
Are they Kosher?
Posted by *Brenda* on 2011-04-18:
I dunno, I'm not Jewish
Posted by Anonymous on 2011-04-18:
You don't have to be Jewish to know or ask.
Posted by Alain on 2011-04-18:
Toss one of those Basher BBQ blessed dogs up the tree and I'll do a review on it!
Posted by *Brenda* on 2011-04-18:
but do non Jewish people care about being Kosher? Are there benefits? Well I guess with hot dogs there would be since it's everything stuck in a casing who knows what's in there.
Posted by Anonymous on 2011-04-18:
The hot dogs I speak of come from prime cuts of beef and not from the unmentionable parts of the cow. You can taste the difference.
Posted by Alain on 2011-04-18:
Doesn't look like Yocco's are Kosher. Might be Italian, even. They have a good looking menu, though.
Posted by Anonymous on 2011-04-18:
I saw that too Alain. Very reasonable prices!
Posted by *Brenda* on 2011-04-18:
Ohhh well I like pig hot dogs
Posted by Alain on 2011-04-18:
True, Lsal. I think the Kosher ones come from cuts in the front, if I remember the tv ad correctly.
Posted by Anonymous on 2011-04-18:
It's the subject of many urban legends, the object of many grade-schoolers' double dares: do hot dogs contain pig snouts and chicken feathers, or are they really made from high-quality meat?
Posted by Alain on 2011-04-18:
Pig is good stuff, Brenda, but I like beef in the dogs.
Posted by *Brenda* on 2011-04-18:
I feel that the beef hot dogs taste a little greasy but maybe it is how they are prepared?
Posted by Anonymous on 2011-04-18:
One could do far worse by eating dogs made from pork. You could be eating dogs or burgers made from turkey. Now that's digusting to me.
Posted by *Brenda* on 2011-04-18:
lol I don't mind turkey burgers if they are seasoned well. Bison is good too!
Posted by Alain on 2011-04-18:
Looking at Wiki, appently hot dogs can contain all sorts of meat, by products, and fillers as long as they're declared on the label someplace. Seems like the only way you can be sure what's in food is to kill it, dress it and prepare it yourself. Which is way too much work for me, so I'll just die earlier from bad eating habits.
Posted by Anonymous on 2011-04-18:
I had a Bison steak once. It tasted like liver to me so I am a little leery of Bison.
Posted by Alain on 2011-04-18:
I love buffalo/bison!
Posted by Ytropious on 2011-04-18:
Some people really like burned dogs. I HATE burned dogs. Boiled dogs are better then grilled in my opinion but I know I'm in the minority. America has an obsession with grilling everything. I hate grill taste.
Posted by *Brenda* on 2011-04-18:
oh I love burned dogs!
Posted by Anonymous on 2011-04-18:
Ytrop, I prefer hots boiled in beer. I don't care for grilled dogs, but I do love grilled burgers
Posted by Anonymous on 2011-04-18:
My comment should have said I prefer hot dogs boiled in beer. Too late to edit
Posted by Anonymous on 2011-04-18:
Brenda my mom has a farmhouse in Perkasie but lives most if the time in LA. She loves yocco sauce and brings lots home to LA to stock up. Do they still serve perogies too? Love those things.
Posted by CrystalSword on 2011-04-18:
When we had our hot dog stand in AZ, we mesquite smoked our dogs and everyone would lne up past the fancy stainless steel stand that had boiled dogs. It was rare that we had anything left in the stand to take home.
Posted by MRM on 2011-04-18:
How about the price? Are they Fuddrucker expensive or McDonald inexpensive?
Posted by Anonymous on 2011-04-18:
MRM, see my comment waaay up at the top
Posted by CrystalSword on 2011-04-18:
MRM...our dogs back then started at $1.00 and went up to $3.00 depending on what you wanted, should we reopen up here we'll have to raise our price some because we haven't had the stand for 15 years.
Posted by Anonymous on 2011-04-18:
4$ bucks for a hot dog is allot. The Hot dogs at Costco are pretty good 1.75 for a dog and drink not bad.
Posted by MRM on 2011-04-18:
Sorry Little Little, I read your review and went asking away without reading the comments!
Posted by MRM on 2011-04-18:
Crystal, your price is right up my alley!
Posted by Anonymous on 2011-04-18:
Wally, they were footlongs and had chili and cheese
Posted by Ytropious on 2011-04-18:
Boiled in beer sounds pretty interesting.

Crystal, smoked dogs sound like something I'd enjoy. Smoked I'm totally ok with, especially smoked sausage...mmmmmm thems good eats.
Posted by *Brenda* on 2011-04-18:
Yup! Yummy pirogies
Posted by momsey on 2011-04-18:
Mmmm. Hot dogs.

We just had kielbasa and sauerkraut and peirogies for dinner last night. Mmmmmmmmmm.
Posted by Venice09 on 2011-04-18:
Your review reminded me of Callahan's. I haven't been there in years. Best hot dogs and fries. And the only place where you could order 7 hot dogs, 5 hamburgers, 9 fries, 13 yoo-hoos, and get it in 30 seconds!.. during lunch rush!
I wonder if it's still the same.
Posted by GenuineNerd on 2011-04-18:
Some Arthur Treacher's Fish & Chips locations in NE Ohio have added Nathan's Famous Hot Dogs to their menus.
Posted by CrystalSword on 2011-04-18:
MRM....we had a very unique menu, and people actually asked if we served smoked armadillos, coyotes and javelina...LOL....hmmmm, wonder what that would have tasted like!? We served only the best, John Morrell and Hillshire Farms....we'd really like to get the stand going again but it would have to be built diffently up here....we'd want to run it 365 a year, not just 4 - 5 days a week. $3.00 got you a smoked Brat with sauerkraut, relish if you wanted it, mustard, and a nice warm, soft bun. For $2.00 you got an all meat hotdog wrapped in crisp bacon, and any regular condiments....for 25 cents each you could get melted nacho cheese sauce on it, sauerkraut, or chili. And an all beef hot dog was $1.50 with normal condiments and just a plain all meat hotdog was $1.00 with mustard, ketchup and relish. Like I said, price will have to go up a little if we get it going here.
Posted by Anonymous on 2011-04-18:
Crystal, a hot dog wrapped in bacon sounds heavenly
Posted by Anonymous on 2011-04-18:
I had those premium dogs at sonic today pretty good. And my mom had the foot long chili cheese coney she enjoyed it.
Posted by Anonymous on 2011-04-18:
Wally I'm so glad you enjoyed your hotdogs from Sonic, America's Drive-In. It would be super if you could post a positive review of your experience.
Posted by Starlord on 2011-04-19:
I'm not Jewish, so kosher doesn't mean anything to me except that, according to the Hebrew NAtional ads, the only use the front part of the cow, leaving a lot of good meat out. I never could get excited about any all beef dog. None of them ever had the flavor of an all meat dog. We won't even discuss turkey franks, yucko!
Posted by Nohandle on 2011-04-19:
Shorty, I had to look up Ted's Hot Dogs and apparently you are the only state other that NY that offers one. If the chain ever comes to my neck of the woods I'll give them a try even though you weren't completely pleased on your initial visit but were willing to give them a second chance. I'll take a good hot dog grilled inside or outside over charcoal, I don't care as long as there are some toppings I like.

Crystal, you and Starlord do give additional thought to opening a hot dog stand if it could be worked out. I don't plan on being in the Washington area but we have a local hot dog stand that folks line up to at lunch because the hot dogs are great and most additional toppings are offered. Customers will even take a boatload back to the office because they were the designated picker-up for lunch that day.
Posted by Anonymous on 2011-04-19:
Shorty, you will have to let us know how the burgers are when you try them!
Posted by Anonymous on 2011-04-19:
I will Nicole. I love grilled hamburgers and those fries are worth going back for!
Posted by benamore on 2013-03-10:
Try Costco's hot dogs. They are only $1.50 with a soda drink.

Your Name:
(displayed with your comment)
Your E-mail:
(required)

Your Experience/Advice:
Check spelling


By clicking submit you agree that you have read and accept the Terms of Service & Privacy Policy.


Note: All comments are reviewed by a moderator before being published. Please be sure to read our guidelines before commenting.