[X]

11
Helpful
Votes

A&W Compliment - Great food and service

Review by Starlord on 2011-04-29
Yesterday, Crystal and I decided to try the other part of the YUM store in Centralia, WA, so we bypassed the KFC menu for the A&W side. I ordered the Bacon Ranch Crunch Double, and she got the Bacon Cheeseburger Combo. The BRCD was a handful, and it was difficult getting to take a bite. It made me wish I was a snake and could dislocate my jaw so I could take a good solid bite. Two meat patties, a slice of American cheese, lettuce, tomato, ranch dressing and French's french-fried onions. This was without doubt the best burger I have eaten in a long, long time. Crystal said the Bacon Cheeseburger was done to perfection, and the crew was careful to leave the tomato off of her burger (she is allergic to fresh tomato). A lot of places you can ask for no tomato until you are blue in the face, and they will still put it on. A&W is far more than just root beer.
Comments:16 Replies - Latest reply on 2011-04-30
Posted by Alain on 2011-04-29:
Good to know, Starlord. There's an A&W not too far from here. We'll stop by and try one of these!
Posted by Anonymous on 2011-04-29:
That sounds pretty good. I haven't seen an A&W for a long time though!
Posted by Anonymous on 2011-04-29:
I miss the old school A&W, with their drive-ins. There was one that still had the drive-in in Kent until fairly recently. Now it's an asian/burger joint.
Posted by Anonymous on 2011-04-29:
As always Starlord you write great fastfood. The snake reference made me literally laugh out loud.

Good job!
Posted by Sparticus on 2011-04-29:
Good review Starlord. I'm a big fan of A&W. They use to have one by me that made a Mozzerella burger. It had a slice of mozza, bacon, lettuce, tomato and thousand island dressing. It was awesome. I should make it next time I bbq. =)
Posted by Anonymous on 2011-04-29:
I tried the local KFC/A@W a while back and was surprised to see there were no corn dogs on the menu....
Posted by Anonymous on 2011-04-29:
A&W used to be in all the malls out here. They all closed and the only one I'm aware of is part of KFC in Chandler. I love their hot dogs and root beer. Good review as always Star
Posted by Anonymous on 2011-04-29:
We have an A&W about 20 miles from here. I'll definitely give it a try next time I'm passing by.
Posted by Ponie on 2011-04-29:
Ahhhh-good ol' A&W. Reading this review made me hungry. We used to have a bunch of them here. Now the nearest is miles away and unless I'm going on a trip to a specific area, I very seldom get to one. One thing they were very good for. 'Back in the day,' one of their orange floats was an absolute cure for a hangover (for me). Good review.
Posted by Anonymous on 2011-04-29:
I remember going to the one on Colorado Blvd here in Denver with my parents. Their root beer is still the best IMO. Haven't had the food in years but will now. Thanks.
Posted by Skye on 2011-04-29:
I've been to them only one time, in Idaho Springs, and they were delicious! Right on the Colorado River.

Good review!~
Posted by GenuineNerd on 2011-04-29:
Does that A&W offer fresh-brewed root beer like the old A&W drive-ins from the 1950's/60's/70's? I know that the A&W's in Kent and Ravenna, OH, which are the old-style drive-ins, offer the fresh root beer. I know that the A&W's in the malls, and those that operate alongside a KFC, Pizza Hut, Long John Silver's, and/or Taco Bell, don't offer the fresh root beer.

I wonder how many old-style A&W drive-ins are still around. I know that most of them are only seasonal operations, operating roughly from mid-April to mid-September. I love fresh root beer.
Posted by olie on 2011-04-29:
We have a real A&W drive-in in my city. It's fun to go there. It's open pretty much mid-Feb/early-March to late October. After Thanksgiving, it's a Christmas tree lot.
Posted by Starlord on 2011-04-30:
they have a unit that looks like an old wooden keg, and it has two spigots on it, one looks like one from one of those fountains, and the othernresembles the old taps. It delivers better root beer than the other one. I can remember back in Indianapolis, there was an A&W, and it was a treat to go there on a hot summer aftrnoon and get a big glass mug of root beer with ice crystals floating around in it. That was on Lafayette Road, and for some reason, it went out of business. About three weeks later, they hoisted a ten-foot tall Frankenstein monster on top of the building. He held a mug of root beer in the left hand and a hot dog in the right. the name of the place? You got it, Frank'n'Stein's. Sadly, it did not rise to the quality of A&W.
Posted by Starlord on 2011-04-30:
Thank you for the helpful votes. We are in the process of trying to get a hot dog place open here in Chehalis. We have located a building that held a former restaurant, and are in the process of writing a business plan. We do not eat boiled dogs, so we refuse to sell them. Our dogs and sausages are mesquite smoked, and the market look wide open for us, if we can get it going. I hope someday to post here that Krispy Kritterz, the All-American Hot Dog is open for business, featuring 'Tasty Treats from the Desert.'
Posted by Anonymous on 2011-04-30:
Can't wait Star, I will be one of your first customers.
If you dream it, it can be done.

Your Name:
(displayed with your comment)
Your E-mail:
(required)

Your Experience/Advice:
Check spelling


By clicking submit you agree that you have read and accept the Terms of Service & Privacy Policy.


Note: All comments are reviewed by a moderator before being published. Please be sure to read our guidelines before commenting.