8
Helpful
Votes

Glass King Complaint - Wrong Windshield

Review by 138668 on 2011-05-13
The other day, a rock hit my windshield while I was driving. I called my insurance company to get a windshield replacement. This same thing happened to me in January and I went through a great glass company called Paragon Glass (I even wrote a rave review about them). I wanted that company again.
My insurance no longer uses Paragon Glass. A former insurance agent opened up his own glass company so they give all their glass business to them; Glass King.
I set up my claim and Glass King called me the next day. I explained when I worked and that they would have to do the replacement at my house since I park in a parking garage at work. The owner said that he would see if his repair guy could come out past 5 pm, which is when I get home from work. He said he'd call me back in a few days to set up an appointment.

On Wednesday, I got a call from the repair guy. He was at my house. I wasn't home from work yet! I told him an appointment was never confirmed. He apologized and said he could come back the next day after 5pm.

Yesterday, I got home at 5 pm and waited for the repair guy. He was stuck in traffic and was over an hour late. No problem, I know traffic gets bad.
When he arrived, I unlocked my car and went into my house.

An hour later, I hadn't heard from him, so I went outside. My old windshield was on my car with an even bigger crack down the middle! When I talked to the owner over the phone, he put my car in the system as a Mitsubishi Galant instead of a Mirage and the repair guy didn't notice until AFTER he took the windshield off that it was the wrong one. Their warehouse was closed so he couldn't fix it until morning. Their warehouse opens at 6 am and he said he'd be back at 6:30 am, which is when I have to leave to work. Luckily, I was able to borrow my mom's car so I wasn't late to work. But I was left without a car last night. The windshield was just resting on my car and was un-drivable.
The repair guy felt bad and kept apologizing. I received a phone call from the owner and he apologized too and said he would be sending me free movie tickets to make up for the inconvenience.

I am frustrated by this whole experience, but I am glad that the company acknowledged their error and apologized. But I will never do business with them again.
Comments:20 Replies - Latest reply on 2011-05-25
Posted by Anonymous on 2011-05-13:
Your persistence is very impressive.
You go girl!
Posted by Anonymous on 2011-05-13:
Wow, that is a sucky experience. I have a "spiderweb" crack in my windshield, but I think I'll wait a while on it. I'm sick of car things right now.
Posted by Anonymous on 2011-05-13:
Movie tickets? That's it?!
Posted by yoke on 2011-05-13:
They admitted they goofed and did everything possible to fix the mistake. IMO it is generous of them to give you movie tickets, they really did not have to do anything.
Posted by Anonymous on 2011-05-13:
Yoke, I did appreciate the apology and the movie tickets. What upset me most was that I was home last night with 3 kids and no car. God forbid an emergency happened and one of them got really sick or hurt themselves. I would have had no way to get them to a hospital.
Posted by yoke on 2011-05-13:
little, if your kids got hurt or sick then either call a friend or family or 911. It was inconvient, but it happens. Last week we were without a car while it was in the shop. They needed to keep it overnight to get a part. I did not blame them, it happens.
Posted by Anonymous on 2011-05-13:
I would be ticked also seems this company is incompetent hope your insurance finds a different provider little. (VH)
Posted by Anonymous on 2011-05-13:
is the helpful system broken? doesn't seem like its tallying the votes.
Posted by Anonymous on 2011-05-13:
My ins. co. covers a courtesy car whenever my vehicle is unavailable due to being repaired, or offers a cash comp.
Posted by Anonymous on 2011-05-13:
She has my vote and that is all the TALLYING she needs done my friend.
Posted by momsey on 2011-05-13:
I was wondering that too, Wally.
Posted by Anonymous on 2011-05-13:
Jeeeeezzz...what kind of boulders are on AZ roads anyway that you're having to replace your windshield twice in less than 6 months! Remind me never to drive my own vehicle down that way lol!

Sounds like this place just opened up for business? Maybe they're still working out the kinks to running a smooth business? I don't know if I would give up on them just yet, esp since the owner called you too.
Posted by Anonymous on 2011-05-13:
JC, I've lived here for 12 years and have NEVER had a rock hit my windshield. And then it happens twice in 6 months
Posted by Slimjim on 2011-05-13:
I wonder what it would be like to drive a car without a windshield in it. That would get some looks.
Posted by Anonymous on 2011-05-13:
Lol Slim. They rested the old windshield back on the car. It just wasn't secured
Posted by Alain on 2011-05-13:
That's ridickledock and incompetent. Good review, Shorty!
Posted by old newfie on 2011-05-14:
They made a mistake, that can happen sometimes, they are only human.Seems like they want to make it up to you. If that happened to me just like you said I would give them another chance.But only one more chance. Good honest review littleshorty.
Posted by trmn8r on 2011-05-14:
This is unfortunate but somewhat understandable.

The appointment part is ridiculous. They not only didn't confirm, they didn't set up an appointment at all (unless that was left out).

As far as the other, the only thing I see wrong is that the repair person didn't notify you about what happened. Mistakes do occur. I can see the guy forging ahead without inspecting the windshields, unless such mistakes happen often. I can also see the windshield being cracked worse and not reinstalled. Removing a windshield requires stressing it. A cracked one will crack worse. Nobody is going to install a cracked windshield.

This is a hazard of after-hours on-site repairs - not being able to get parts. They definitely should have called you. Did the guy have your address to knock on your door?

Compensation for this is tricky. They were trying to accomodate you by coming after hours.
Posted by Anonymous on 2011-05-25:
Well here it is 2 weeks later, and I still haven't gotten those free movie tickets they promised me
Posted by Anonymous on 2011-05-25:
Does that mean you can't take me to the movies anymore :(

Your Name:
(displayed with your comment)
Your E-mail:
(required)

Your Experience/Advice:
Check spelling


By clicking submit you agree that you have read and accept the Terms of Service & Privacy Policy.


Note: All comments are reviewed by a moderator before being published. Please be sure to read our guidelines before commenting.