[X]
Feedburner count

4
Helpful
Votes

Solmar Car Hire Complaint - Car not legally fit to be on the road

Review by doube on 2011-05-20
I cannot begin to express my frustration and anger with SOLMAR. The windscreen wipers were so badly worn when it rained we had to pull over as we were unable to see where we were travelling. Later we had a flat tyre and was completely shocked when I removed it to find that both inner areas of the tyres was so badly worn that there was canvas and wire showing. The vehicle was not legally fit for use and I was provided with no help whatsoever and was advised that tyres are not covered under the hire agreement but that I needed to claim for this on insurance and would have to pay Euro 500 excess as well as the cost of roadside assistance. We hire cars from Barcelona four times year but I NEVER, NEVER AGAIN HIRE FROM SOLMAR AGAIN!! Solmar should not get any stars.
Comments:8 Replies - Latest reply on 2011-05-22
Posted by Alain on 2011-05-20:
Thank you for the warning.
Posted by azRider on 2011-05-20:
I assume this is Europe..
tires there are made from canvas and wire? no wonder they were worn out.
what is hire? they pay the cars like min. wage? is there an employment agreement for cars?

I'm so confused..
Posted by PepperElf on 2011-05-20:
I'd recommend talking to a lawyer about the car if it's illegal to be on the road

and Az - no, I know what the OP is talking about. If tires are extremely worn down you can actually see some of the interior wires poking out from them. The wires are in fact part of the filler material.
Posted by Skye on 2011-05-20:
Do you have an agency that handles complaints? Here we have our state attorney general.

Thanks for warning others!
Posted by Starlord on 2011-05-20:
In the UK, they don't rent cars, they hire them. That and the spelling of tire tipped me off. As G.B. Shaw once observed, we are two people divided by a common language. There are many similarities, and many differences. What we each have works for each of us, and it is not hard to understand the differences.
Posted by Alain on 2011-05-20:
Very well put, Starlord.
Posted by trmn8r on 2011-05-20:
The wire is the belts. Either the OP hit something, the tires were very badly worn, or a previous hire hit something. Hard to tell based on the complaint. My alignment was quite poor once, and the belts wore through within 10,000 miles.

Once I mistreated horribly a rental car in a downpour, driving down a mountainous CA road in the dark. It went off a curve, the tyre dropped into a ditch and the car bottomed out on the chassis. It popped out of the ditch, and I came to a screeching stop in an intersection. The tire blew out.

I took it back to the rental place with the spacesaver on it. They apologized profusely for the tyre failure and gave me another car (company monthly rental)! They later tried to claim via US Mail I had damaged the undercarriage, which I denied (gasp). I got away with that one...
Posted by PepperElf on 2011-05-22:
My old car had uneven wear and the tires looked like that with wires poking out.

And just recently my BF had a rock or something get caught on the inside of his tire and it tore a hole down to the wire mesh. It was pretty ugly.

Your Name:
(displayed with your comment)
Your E-mail:
(required)

Your Experience/Advice:
Check spelling


By clicking submit you agree that you have read and accept the Terms of Service & Privacy Policy.


Note: All comments are reviewed by a moderator before being published. Please be sure to read our guidelines before commenting.