[X]

3
Helpful
Votes

Amerikick Hammonton, Octagon Karate Complaint - Overbilling, And Laundry List Of Complaints

Review by ktgrss680154 on 2011-05-23
I brought my son in for lessons starting about a year ago. He really wanted to do karate so we signed him up at Amerikick in Hammonton NJ. Everything started out great, then after a week things started going wrong. The manager signed us up for a one day a week program, and his father was billed the whole time for the more expensive 2 day a week program. For over five months he was billed twice as much. Individually we both spoke with ownership and management, and were constantly given the run around. His father ended up having to close his account to stop the billing.

Needless to say we stopped attending and I am having a hard time getting my son back into a regular activity. I can’t really blame him, when you see your friends who started after you get stripes and belts, and sensei always ‘forgets’ what do you expect.

The billing was the main reason we quit, but had I known any following I would never had signed up.

1. Classes would start late or be canceled
2. Very high turnover rate. It seems they only can keep an instructor for about two months. My son has had 4 different teachers in less than a year. I am very particular who I allow to be around my child.
3. Promised credit for overbilling… Guy that promised it left abruptly, the owners explained that he was “robbing them blind” and it’s being worked on.
4. Arrived early one day to see Instructors/ management rushing in from the back door area. I know what they smelled like, and they proceeded to avoid us until they “freshened up”. I’m not going to point any fingers but they definitely acted and smelled as if they were high.
5. Every one there smokes, and I have seen them throw the butt right on the side walk. Not something I want my child picking up (habit or butt).
6. They keep changing they’re name. From Hammonton karate, Amerikick Hammonton, the Octagon. It is now called the Octagon cage?

I am not the only parent who has had a problem with these people. After I started talking about the place people started coming out of the wood work most of them with billing problems. My son is currently trying out baseball for the first time, and I hope he will have a better experience.
Comments:11 Replies - Latest reply on 2011-06-18
Posted by Anonymous on 2011-05-23:
A boy and baseball. Doesn't get any better than that. Consider looking into youth programs at your local Y or community rec. center.
Posted by Gil Bates on 2011-05-23:
You gotta know when to hold 'em... know when to fold 'em. Know when to walk away...
Posted by jktshff1 on 2011-05-23:
Good luck to your kid. These folks sound like idiots. A kid (age unknown) I'm talking pre teen, will bond with folks in sports on "his team". Kinda like ya pulled him out of a race and they are still running, and he really doesn't understand. If he was excelling at the karate, find him another place and do your homework.
Posted by Patti leslie on 2011-05-24:
My two sons have just started thee MMA program i think with a mma jui jitsu teacher they love the classes and they are truley leanering how to fight.Billing problems seem to always happen to me but i have not had any problems yet! The one teacher Dave is awsome he has taught them more in a few months the any other school they have trained at!
Posted by Michael Castro on 2011-05-26:
I would first like to apologize to Kate for any unpleasant experience that you or your son has had with this company in the past. I can ensure you that the school is under new management and the program is getting better every day. I know the situation with the instructors has been difficult, and again, I do Apologize. Let me try to address the complaints as you have stated them.

1. Classes would start late or be canceled. This will not happen again
Posted by Jack wilson on 2011-05-30:
Great job amerikik and the Octagon fight club! The school is clean the owners have dumped a hand full of money and time,hired 3 top notch trainers in muay thai Kick boxing and a top notch Jui Jitsu MMA trainers also a new TKD trainer. They also have a full size Cage and a hand full of new mt bags 30 by 40 training area, sport shop and more! The person posting the complaint just happens to be the person or persons the got fired for smoking pot in the back room! Any bad school would have kept this guy but the owners stepped up and tossed the guy and hired all new high quailty trainers! A PLUS
Posted by SHELLY V on 2011-05-30:
My child started here six weeks ago she suffers from a rare muscle disease and the trainers here have bent over backwards to help her and make her feel at home. We had some billing problems at the start but after being addressed we strightened it out. Great place! oh it was six dollars.
Posted by Bill Conrad on 2011-06-15:
I Have been taining mma for aout 6 months and have never had a problem,the price is good and the teachers have always focused and health and fitness cardio, Some of the parents smoke outside but thats always the case these days at all establishments with all the new laws. Great place!
Posted by BJJ Fighter on 2011-06-16:
I have been there for about 6 weeks, and have not had any billing problems. Prices are exactly what they advertised. Staff is friendly and experienced. Can't please everyone, but I am very satisfied. I have even referred several friends that have joined and they cannot stop thanking me.
Posted by Mary Jones on 2011-06-17:
After reading this complaint I am very glad to say I enrolled my son after changes were made this school. The head instructor, Master Mike and assistant instructor, Sensei Dan are wonderful with their students, and I believe that they truly care about what they are teaching. Class has never been late or canceled. My son always leaves with a smile on his face and is beyond excited to attend class every time. His behavior at home has even improved. The other day we walked in to Master Mike painting murals on the walls. It looks great! If that's not a sign that he really cares about the school, I don't know what is. As far as billing goes, I believe their system and prices are completely fair. When you consider the fact that they are cleaning up after a previous instructors mess, they are doing very well, and I only see things getting even better there in the future.
Posted by Mary C on 2011-06-18:
We have never had a problem , at all.

Your Name:
(displayed with your comment)
Your E-mail:
(required)

Your Experience/Advice:
Check spelling


By clicking submit you agree that you have read and accept the Terms of Service & Privacy Policy.


Note: All comments are reviewed by a moderator before being published. Please be sure to read our guidelines before commenting.