[X]

1
Helpful
Votes

All appliance retailers Informative - Warranties - all appliances

Review by Consumer on 2011-05-31
I have sold appliances for the past twenty years and I am frankly tired of listening to all of the complaints on broken down appliances. Let me spell it out for you. All retailers have a one year warranty on all major appliances that are sold. Within the first year call your manufacturer, not the retailer that you purchased it from. If you want peace of mind purchase an extended warranty to cover any repair that is necessary. Quit whining and begging for a handout. the choice is yours, the responsibility falls on the consumer. Is is simple, once you purchase the product and do not purchase an extended warranty, good luck in dealing with a manufacturer on your own.
Comments:9 Replies - Latest reply on 2011-06-01
Posted by Alain on 2011-05-31:
1.) Not all manufacturers are honoring their warranties properly and that is one reason people complain. 2.) Some people have talked to the retailer that sold them the appliance and have had the retailer help them resolve the problem. 3.) Extended warranties are not always honored as they should be and that is another source of complaints. 5.) The consumer does have a choice and if the product stinks, or the attitude of the salesperson is lousy the consumer can and will find another place to get there the product. As an added bonus, the consumer can post their complaints on websites like this one so other consumers will take their money to a salesperson/retailer that actually wants their business. Have a very nice day.
Posted by Slimster on 2011-05-31:
We had a small town appliance business in the family for about 20 years, nothing but a nightmare as the manufacture moved south of the border and imported cheaper replacement parts. I felt sorry for many of the people we sold to, but could only sit back and beg the manufacturer for help.
Posted by HonestForSure on 2011-05-31:
Many times the retailer selling the extended plan misrepresents what it can do. Many times the salespeople will do anything to sell them. Dealing with the mfr directly, many times, is preferred over dealing with "subcontractors" who work off a lower fee than if you were to contact them without a plan. These "subcontractors" are also not necessarily the first choice of the mfr. for a given geographic area.
Also, mfrs customer support may give you the benefit of the doubt and may offer a discount for cosmetic parts out of warranty.
BTW - YOUTUBE has a plethora of videos on repairing appliances - you may not want to handle all types of problems for safety reasons, but parts such as heating elements (dryers) can be purchased cheaply and replaced just by following instructions.
Posted by Venice09 on 2011-06-01:
Anything worth buying does not need an extended warranty.

Do you have a name, OP?
Posted by Slimjim on 2011-06-01:
Geez, 20 years nthebiz and that's your advice? The store I worked for SERVICED their own products. You could call us a day after you bought it or 10 years, in warranty or out, we still did the service. It's not a gimmie you have to call the manufacturer. Just buy from a servicing dealer. Extended warranties make sense on certain products, not on most. Buyer education and common sense would dictate you don't take out an expensive warranty on a low or mid line economically priced unit.
It's all about the level of service the retailer is set up/willing to give. Carpet blame the consumers for buying from sales only retailers like you were if you want something to chastise them for. We never felt sorry for our customers "slimster". Dang, was that your mission statement!? Outside of some GE's made in Mexico, all our lines were US built and we had no trouble with relations with all major manufacturers.
Posted by jktshff1 on 2011-06-01:
Well put Slim
Posted by Slimjim on 2011-06-01:
Thanks JK. I really got a kick too from the anonymous poster who said he felt sorry for his customers. As a business owner, when you are saying that, it's either time to learn how to work your business or find another line of (un)employment.
Posted by Anonymous on 2011-06-01:
Wow you can post reviews anon also?
Posted by Venice09 on 2011-06-01:
Yep, it looks that way, Wally. The last time I checked, you had to register to write a review, but I guess that has changed, too. Now it seems you don't even need a name at all!

Your Name:
(displayed with your comment)
Your E-mail:
(required)

Your Experience/Advice:
Check spelling


By clicking submit you agree that you have read and accept the Terms of Service & Privacy Policy.


Note: All comments are reviewed by a moderator before being published. Please be sure to read our guidelines before commenting.