Preview Review

Next Review

Allstate Insurance Auto Insurance Consumer Reviews

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Doubled My Deductible and Won't Fix My Car
StarStarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 2/51

DESTIN, FLORIDA -- On January 1st 2019 got into a accident which I was supposed to be fully covered. They doubled my deductible from $500 to $1000. And when I finally got my car back it only ran for less than 2 miles before I broke down. I call the Allstate agent and he told me that if it wasn't part of the accident then they would not cover it. My side is the engine was fine until they sent it to their body shop. I was told that someone put water in the transmission fluid. I have been without a vehicle for 10 months now and it has ruined my credit score and I need a car for Dr appointments and general transportation. I care for my elderly mother. I need advice on what to do.

Replies
Rear Ended by 2500 Truck
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

AUSTIN, TEXAS -- The adjuster refused to negotiate and was intimidating and insulting offering half of the Kelly Blue Book value for my car. Still fighting. Have a ton of documentation of cars for sale and KKB research but no one to fight with me or for me. TEXANS have voted away all their litigation rights. Beware of dealing with Allstate! Also refused a rental car since my car was totaled. How can I get to work while I fight for a more fair payout? I can't. They bully and intimidate and are unprincipled people. I had a similar accident that was not my in which a car rear ended me and Geico treated me fairly.

Replies
17 Year Customer Ignored
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

DALLAS, TEXAS -- I have been a customer with Allstate for over 17 years. My home and auto has been covered with Allstate. In 17 years, I have had 1 one claim. I relocated and transferred my coverage to Dallas, TX which resulted in a 30% increase upon renewal! I was told because I lost a discount. The discount was given upon logging into the Allstate website and clicking a button! No one bothered to tell me that my discount was in jeopardy or that in order to keep my CURRENT RATE, I needed to click a button for no paper mail which was done!

It had been selected for one of my policies however I was supposed to select it for all. To add insult to injury; I had not received any paper mail from Allstate! I received a bill via EMAIL with the higher rate. When I inquired WHY my rate went up, it took them a while to find it. Once we determined the problem, I was told that there was nothing that could be done until my next renewal! I had to pay the higher premiums.

So much for Loyalty. No one from the Corporate office even bothered to call me once they were told of the problem/concern. A customer of 17+ years just ignored. I look forward to ignoring them very soon. Allstate just wants your money. Customer Service is below 1 star and I am telling everyone I meet about my experience.

Replies
The End Is Not Good
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

BELLEVUE, WASHINGTON -- Good people bad company. To see if a person is of a good character or bad takes very long relationship. You come across lot of people with very impressive first impressions that people tell even tell their deepest secrets but end up having a huge scar for the rest of their lives. Even if their first impression appears hard hearted, the more you get to know the person, you see them with sincere heart, trying their best to keep their promises, always thinking about the other person over self, and doesn't change their mind is a person of good and beautiful character.

You can tell by a person by the way they use the bathroom. There's a saying that person is different before using the bathroom and after using. There are people who clean up their mess after the use so others who follow will use clean facility. These are people with good character. But there are people who use the bathroom as if they're never going to use it again, spilling water over the sink, wasting papers and water since it's not their money. These are people who has two different mistrustful characters.

This is my story. Three years ago, 10/26/2010, I've injured my knee as the other driver illegally made a quick U-turn. He was carrying AllState auto insurance. I went through physical therapies, cortisone injections, surgery, acupuncture but I'm still limping. I've hired an attorney but we ended up firing him as he lied about his work and we ended up getting bills through the collection agency.

June 2013, AllState called me to notify that the agent who's handling my case, he was changed. He started out saying the agent who was handling it before didn't offer you enough and depicted he will compensate for the time loss and all the treatments. I told him I'm still limping so I need more treatment. He said go ahead and get all the treatments I needed and just send them the bills. As of this date, I am still being treated by UW physical therapy.

On 10/23/2013, when I was home, I've received a call from AllState so I answered but I don't know how that's possible but it went to voice message. Immediately after, AllState called my home phone so I answered but they terminate the call as soon as I answer. So I called AllState 5 times and left two messages after but no one answered or returned my calls. I found that after 3 years passed, legally AllState is not responsible for me. I did call many times and left messages but no response after their call to me on 10/23/13.

At first, they sweet talked to me in believe that they will do their best to be there until I am finished with my treatment and empathized with my pain but at the end they refuse to respond to any of my phone calls or messages. If they don't give me any settlement then they will have some profit but it's not forever. You need to wait until the end to make any decision to see if a person is of a good character or bad, company with a good standard or bad.

My story part 2. For the past three years, I have been limping severely. My legs are very weak that I am constantly bump into things so I have bruise everywhere. My two toes are bruised and black color as I put lot of pressure on it to make my balance. I constantly wake up in the middle of the night to take pain medication. Due to my physical health, I am deeply depressed and easily irritated about everything. I had a small restaurant but due to my injury, I had to hire more people so I didn't bring enough to pay for the bills. Consequently, I had no choice but to close my business a year ago. I am currently in physical therapy at UW.

Three years after my accident date, on 10/28/13, I've received a call from AllState. He said he will compensate for the past three years I was in pain and having to hire more employee with $8.50 per day but only if I sign it by today. I didn't sign since the promises they have been telling me is different from that they're offering. I have been suffering from this excruciating pain for the last 3 years, unable to walk straight, not to mention the mental health and financial hardship. I am still limping. AllState is very inconsiderate for people with pain, adding great stress and mental health issues.

Why didn't AllState respond to any of my call before the 3 years is up? I consulted with a lawyer but was told they can't help me since it's been 3years since the accident. Even if I need more treatment, there was no way for me to extend and if AllState refuse to pay any, there is nothing I can do. I believe strongly that AllStates purposely avoided my phone calls and didn't return call until a day after the 3 years. They're still hurting the people who are hurt even more.

Replies
Advertisement
Terrible Customer Service
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

GWINNETT, GEORGIA -- Allstate is saying that I still owe them nearly 100$ after I cancelled my policy in June of 2013. First off, let me say that I asked my agent before I cancelled if she thought I would owe any more money because I could just go ahead and pay it while I had money in my account considering I'm a college student on a very strict spending limit. She had told me that I was fine and would not owe anything; I was happy with this statement. I thought all was well and taken care of. Not even two weeks later, I received a letter in the mail saying I still owed them money and every two weeks since then I've gotten that letter.

I called my former agency first and spoke with them and was told that "no one in the office would've told you that you didn't owe any money because we don't handle that kind of stuff here" and that "when you pay your statement every month you're actually paying for coverage of the previous month."

A) how can you say that you're firm doesn't deal with accounting issues when I can call and make a payment over the phone with you, therefore, you handle money and can do the math to see if I will still owe money or not. And B) how does that make sense? Why would I pay after the fact to have my car covered? I would be paying to insure my car for the upcoming month.

After this I called 1-800-ALLSTATE (the customer service line) and was connected with two difference foreigners whom I could barely understand and one of them supposedly being a supervisor. The "supervisor" proceeded to YELL at me and tell me that I was wrong and when I make my payments on the 11th of every month to cover the 25th-25th of every month that it's actually a late payment. How?! That makes no sense. That should be considered an early payment if anything.

He then told me that "you should just pay the money because it's really not that much." Maybe for the supervisor of customer service that isn't a lot of money, however, for a college student who is paying her own way through and buying/renting my own textbooks, that's a lot of money! That's one of my textbooks alone! What ever happened to "the customer is always right"? I feel like I have been constantly lied to, cheated, and robbed from this company. I will never use this company ever again and will never recommend this company to any of my family or friends.

For minimum liability on a 1998 Acura, 130$ a month is outrageous and my premium continued to climb even with the Good Student and Good Driver and Automatic Payment discounts. The representatives in this company are miserable at customer service or providing any form of help to customers. I had been with the company a full year, my parents for over 20 years, my grandparents for nearly 40 years, my boyfriend for 6 years, and my brother for 5 years. They have just lost themselves a whole family of valuable customers and many more to come as soon as all of this comes out.

Replies
Allstate Auto Insurance
By -

I used to be with Erie Insurance for many years and was very happy until the premium jumped significantly when I added a new teenage driver. In an effort to save money I shopped around. Allstate gave a quote that was going to save me about a thousand dollars a year. The experience from there can be described briefly as "bait and switch". The policy I'm paying for now is not saving me ANY money. I didn't go to a local agent I just used the 800 number. That was a HUGE mistake. There was no consistency at all with a constant mix of foreign call centers resulting in increased communication problems.

The experience had a consistent theme: The last person I talked to would always omit one piece of SIGNIFICANT information about what documentation they wanted me to send and then the premium would increase. I'd call, complain, the next person would apologize, promise to fix the problem if I would send that ONE MORE piece of information, I'd send it, and the increased premium was sucked out of my account like clockwork no matter that I had complied. I then asked for a local agent and went into the office. They are asking for all of the same information again and not as promising that my premium will actually improve. I bought the policy 4 months ago so they have had time to fix this.

I have never felt so abused by a large corporation. I have had my trust and faith that large corporations in general can be trusted to deliver what they say after the consumer has paid them. It feels like everything was set up to assure that profit would be maximized at my expense. If I had just been told upfront what I needed to do to purchase the product at the stated price the experience would have been different. Buyer beware!

Replies
It Took 8 Times and Months for Them to Write Our Home Owner's Correct!!
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

HAMILTON, OHIO -- I told the agent what I needed in a homeowner's policy and paid for it in cash for the year (In full)! Then we got the policy, and it had all kinds of mistakes on it! I called to get it done right and they said "ok no problem". It took them 8 mailings to get it right! I had to hold them by the hand so much and put up with so many excuses for their simple basic mistakes! Then they raised the cost of the policy without even telling us, during the year, when it was almost up a year later. The policy was paid in full when I took it out. So I checked on the reviews, and I couldn't believe how bad Allstate was, so I didn't renew the home owner's policy.

I wrote them to inform them. Then Allstate sent us our bill for our auto's insurance. We paid it even though it was higher! Then, one month later they sent us another bill after we accepted the policy and paid for it in full! They wanted more money, so I called and no one at Allstate knew anything! They would send me from dept. to dept. and even billing dept., didn't know why!

We never had any claims of any kind and I thought they would get back with me when they said they would. I got tired of all the phone calls to them and every time they were nice but they didn't know anything! I realized they were going to never know anything about my bill or anything else. I am not sure they know who they are! I have been getting insurance for 40 years and I never had so many problems with an insurance company not getting anything right on its own paper work and policies.

After all that is their product that you pay for! I thought I was dealing with children! It's like they don't want your business. I just paid the extra money, because after reading the reviews I knew they wouldn't return our prior payment! So when the Auto insurance policy ended, I called the agent: E-mailed and U.S. Mailed them that I would not be renewing our auto policy with them! I don't know if they understood but time will tell! I am so glad we never actually need to make a claim, and I would like to thank the people who take the time to write a review on All STATE! What a lousy insurance experience with All State and I would never trust them to cover us ever again!

Replies
Allstate Lied to Me
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

BATAVIA IL, ILLINOIS -- In 2017 I owned a 2004 Pontiac, sold it to Carmax and got a 2015 VW Beetle. My insurance was $92 a month with the Pontiac. The night I bought the Beetle I went from liability to full coverage. The person who was on the phone with me at the 1800Allstate number told me my rate would raise 569 dollars over 6 months. So, worst case just under $200 a month, sounded steep, but, the man on the phone also said my agent would adjust my premium so I felt at ease.

Not 24 hours later, my agent, Jim ** told me 2 separate times that my premium was now $397 a month. He told me it's not his fault. I called the 1800 number and there was nothing he could do. I thought this was borderline criminal, very unreasonable, and downright wrong. I have 1 speeding ticket in my life and I'm 28 years old. I wish Allstate the absolute worst of luck.

Replies
Advertisement
Car Accident
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

PLANO, TEXAS -- AllState insurance policy holder hit my vehicle and they're not contact their insurance. I have reach out and file the claims, however the person who's handle the claims put me on hold for 48 hrs because they're unable to contact their Policyholder.

Meanwhile at the time, my car is in a big damaged but drivable. At the time of accident my left shoulder and kneecap is injury. And they said at this time they cannot do anything for me because they are still waiting for the policyholder to contact and report to them. I am not recommend AllState Insurance to anyone. Most of insurance I've dealing with they're all acting very Fast and responsible quick but AllState Insurance has a very poor services.

Replies
Sabotaged and Trapped
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

NASHVILLE, TENNESSEE -- Over twenty years with no accidents, then had someone hit me from behind. She was given five tickets and arrested for having no registration, driver's license, and no insurance. Even though I was hit from behind by someone doing over 55 mph--medical damage backs this up--I was accused of being responsible. Since there were no witnesses and the police could care less, Allstate held the power to trap me in my policy because (now) other insurance providers look at me as high risk. Frankly, the adjusters are scammers.

Furthermore, no one is in good hands with Allstate because they do not listen and they'll RAISE your insurance because they can. I moved shortly after and they raised it again. I hadn't signed up for the auto withdrawal option so they changed my due date without telling me, then tried to cancel my policy when I didn't pay on time because I didn't know my new due date. In turn, they forced me to pay two months of payments in order to keep auto insurance. The customer service agent agreed that this was sabotage. For anyone reading this -- RUN, RUN, RUN!!!

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >

Allstate Insurance Auto Insurance Rating:
Star Empty star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.1 out of 5, based on 16 ratings and
41 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
Allstate Insurance
2775 Sanders Road
Northbrook, IL 60062
1-800-255-7828 (ph)
847-402-0165 (fax)
www.allstate.com
Product/Services
Compare Auto Insurance Companies