Preview Review

Next Review

American Airlines Consumer Reviews - Page 2

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
I Am Sure the Gate Agent Stole My Louis Vuitton Bag!
By -

DALLAS FORT WORTH, TEXAS -- Plain and simple - on 18 January 2009, the gate agent at Miami International forced me to surrender my $1300 Louis Vuitton Keepall, which housed all of my belongings from a cruise vacation. I argued with her and was refused boarding without checking the bag, which fits overhead (and there was room on the plane).

Surprise, surprise, the bag never makes it to LaGuardia in NYC. It was my only luggage item. I completed all the paperwork and submitted it by the deadline (this is very time-consuming). Then, there is the three-month wait.

In the meantime, I filed a police report with Miami PD because I honestly believe the gate agent stole my bag. It is no coincidence that she forced me to surrender a bag, meanwhile there were other people allowed to board with duffel bags much larger than mine. Also, according to MIA airport security, there is no camera surveillance at this particular gate. Coincidence? I think not.

The last I was told, the investigators were going to interview the people who worked the gate when I boarded. Apparently, American Airlines staff at Miami Int'l were unwilling to provide information about who was working then. I was also told that the "gate agent" may have been an impostor. This is POST-SEPTEMBER 11th America, right?!

In April 2009, Ms. ** sent a cold letter indicating that my claim was fraudulent and that it was denied. There were no specifics given, nothing. The verbiage stated, "Some of the information you stated is not accurate," and that they may prosecute ME for fraud. Imagine that!

I needed to be cool, so I waited before I called her. This ** states she did not believe the items could fit in the bag. Also mind you, if there is even the smallest of typos, then your entire claim could be denied. For example, if the bag was 9.7 inches deep and I put 9 inches or 10 inches, then my claim is deemed inaccurate and thus, false.) She also told me that although American Airlines acknowledges my bag was lost in their care, they will not take responsibility. Does that make any sense? No.

I wrote letters to the entire Executive Board. Surprise here - not a single reply. I sent emails. Imagine this - no reply other than "Contact Baggage Services (i.e. Ms. **). I lost everything! My entire vacation was in that one article of luggage and it is all gone. I waited for hours at LaGuardia, hoping my bag would appear, but knowing it would not. The moment I surrendered it in Miami I knew I would not see it or my things again. I had a bad feeling from the start, when she singled me out and denied me to board the plane.

Next time, I will get ALL the gate agents' contact information before I surrender anything. I will also take their photo with my phone. These people are hard to locate, believe it or not. It is now October 2009 and my complaints and appeals have gotten me nowhere. I am making the next move - legal intervention. This experience has caused significant emotional distress. In addition, losing over $6k worth of material (luggage included) cannot go away quietly. It seems that suing American Airlines will be the only viable option.

Replies
They Stole My Refund And Threatened Me When I Tried To Get It Back!
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

CALIFORNIA -- I hired American Cosigners to cosign on an apartment for me. I wired $2296 but never got an apartment. I asked for a refund but 9 months later, I am still waiting for it. I have been lied to, threatened, and defamed by Randi **, the American Cosigners' owner, these past months to scare me away so I will stop asking for it back. Please help!

Replies
Hot Water Heater/Had to Pay to Code Requirements
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

BOWIE, MARYLAND -- CONSUMERS BEWARE!!! I had no hot water so I called American Home Shield (AHS) to request for a plumber to come out. A plumber came out on Monday and said my hot water heater needs to be replaced. This made sense to me since it was 16 years old. He said he will order a new one. While I waited, I had to boil hot water on my stove and electric kettle. I mentioned this to my sister and she said they should have been able to install a new hot water heater that day. She said all they had to do was go to Home Depot and buy it. I went online and saw where the Home Depot installs new hot water heater on the same day provided you call them before noon.

At this point it's Friday of that week so I called the plumber for a status and he said AHS was suppose to call me for an update. He told me I had to pay $715 for code requirements. I was shocked because according to my AHS contact they pay for all components and parts of a water heater. Since the code requirements involved attaching parts to the water heater in order for it to work, that should have been covered by AHS. I called AHS and was put on hold for 20 minutes so I hung up, called back and was placed on hold for 20 minutes again. I hung up, called back later on and the same thing occurred.

I contacted AHS through the online chat line and no one answered after I waited for 10 mins. I tried again and to my luck someone answered. She told me AHS doesn't cover code requirements and I had to dish out $715. I was furious! About a week later I receive a generic letter from AHS apologizing for the customer service I experienced but it didn't address my main issue. I will cancel my policy with them and put the money I pay for the policy in my own "home warranty" savings account. And to think I was going to get a policy for my mother and recommended AHS to a friend. They won't be getting it now!

Replies
Unsatisfactory Response To Request For Service
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

CHILDERSBURG, ALABAMA -- I called American Home Shield and received a dispatch to a company in Birmingham AL, which is at least an hour and thirty minutes away, on July 15, 2016, promising they would contact me and arrange a mutual agreeable service call. I heard nothing from them despite calling AHS. After AHS promised to make this an emergency call and an immediate response on the same day. No calls from their contractor. I call the contractor at midday and asked about why it had been ten days in 90 to 100 degree heat that they had not called and the person on the phone at the contractor acted liked he had never heard of me.

But then he promised they would be out between 4:30 and 5:30 that day so I said OK. My wife and I are in our mid-seventies and have health issues so it was important that they came as promised, considering the heat. It was a no show and no call that evening. Since the beginning of this situation phone call took an average of an hour with some as long as an hour and a half.

Their computer system does not allow a status request and refers you to the unanswerable phone number. I was able to make contact on the chat line early the 26th and eventually and finally nice person who after trying to find another A/C contractor gave permission for me to use one here locally. Fixed it the same day by lunch time. An internal breaker on the air handler was shot, he replaced it from his supply of parts on his truck. $214.00 total, which included checking another unit and adding some freon. I decided not to go thru the reimbursement process since it is so cumbersome and no one answers their phones.

Replies
Advertisement
Great Coverage for the Price
StarStarStarStarStarBy -
Rating: 5/51

WILMINGTON, DELAWARE -- I did a massive amount of research for a warranty on a 2001 Jag XK8 that has a warranty that was expiring and the company I had been using had nothing to offer me. From the first contact with ASAP I found them to be friendly, professional, and very easy to work with. I spent a long time making this decision and Mark was not pushy while I was going through my process. I appreciated Mark sending me a copy of the contract right away, no beating around the bush, so I could study it in detail. I probably researched a total of about 12 companies, narrowed it down to three finalists, and when I called Mark back with a list of questions he was very upfront and accommodating.

I have two things that I wish could have been done differently: I wish I could have made a down payment and then made payments instead of paying in full upfront (I have never paid in full upfront, makes me a little nervous plus it's a sizable expense) and because the car is only a fun car and we don't drive it often or long distances it is going to take a while to drive it 1000 miles to get through the waiting period. Mark did ask but this is one area where there was no flexibility.

In the past it was always 30 days or 1000 miles whichever comes first. I understand they want to protect themselves from someone who has a car that needs a repair before they buy the coverage, but in my case the waiting period is rather onerous. Wish they could have made an exception but I understand that they couldn't.

I feel the negotiation process was fair on their end and I was able to make a purchase that was within my pain threshold. I have a good feeling about this warranty and company. Many other positive aspects that I could mention but this review is already long enough. Now it just comes down to how the company actually does business but I am not expecting any issues with that.

Replies
Refunds And Customer Service
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

ONLINE, COLORADO -- The customer service of American Airlines is terrible, but the service in Spanish is a nightmare for the Hispanic customers who need or want to communicate in their language. Usually the agents are rude, rude and give false or distorted information, believing that the customer is not able to speak English.

Two years ago we paid a companion for my son who speaks very little Spanish on a vacation trip to Spain, in the Barajas airport, Madrid they left him alone and the boy was lost, but we finally found him after be scared to death. We reported this incident and they sent us a letter of apology and a voucher for $400 dollars to be use in the purchase of another ticket.

When I went to use it, the agent in Spanish refused to give me his name, refused to give me information of which was the nearest office to use the voucher and we asked to speak with a supervisor and he told me that there were none and left me waiting in line. We decided to use another company to buy the tickets for our vacation.

This year, we made the mistake of buying 4 tickets to the destination to which we would go on vacation, unfortunately one of the group members (a minor) got sick; we send all the medical documentation to the company; this ticket was not refundable...

To my surprise the Spanish agent who served me (**) with a very aggressive attitude informed me that they returned the ticket money only if the passenger died, something that is incredible IN ALL OTHERS AIRLINES, illness, hospitalization, etc. are considered when medical documentation is submitted. By insisting she change the version and said that maybe we were given a voucher valid for one year, I asked for a supervisor and she left me waiting for over 20 minutes, of course I could not talk to the supervisor.

The Department of "refund" does not have a phone that the client can communicate, by email you get no answer, either by letter, customer service does not give information in Spanish or in English and the fax number in the Website not work. Conclusion: if you can travel by another airline DO IT. American Airlines is NOT a professional company. It's a disaster.

Replies
Avoid American Airlines (AAA)
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

NORMAN, OKLAHOMA -- To be honest, I didn't use AA a lot for traveling in the last several years -- only 5 or 6 times as I can remember. However, for each traveling with AA, the company makes me down every time!!! The plane was either delayed, or cancelled, or no captain was assigned!!!

On June 31, 2011, my flight from LBB to DFW to Chicago to Alaska was initially delayed at LBB. Actually, they have flights directly from DFW to Alaska, but I need to travel with my friend from Chicago. Anyway I couldn't be on the plane to Chicago due to the delay, and took the one directly from DFW to Alaska. Bad thing was my packages were all delayed for two days, as was my other schedules in Alaska because I need the packages. I have no idea how did they do that?

On May 8, 2013, I had an interview in Philadelphia, and my flight was from OKC to Chicago to Phi. Again, the flight was delayed at OKC, and I was not able to get onto the one to Phi. I waited until 10:30 pm that day to get my ticket to get on board. Then, after 1h30mins, I was informed that they didn't have a captain for that plane and they were trying to get another one who was on the way home. After another 30 minutes, we were informed to leave the plane!!! I didn't get to the company in time and it was Friday on the next day... anyway, I didn't get the job.

On July 2, 2013, I was traveling to Boston from OKC to visit my girlfriend. Again, it was from OKC to Chicago, to Boston. The flight was delayed at OKC, then I was assigned to the flight on the next day!!! On July 9, 2013, I was back from Boston to Chicago to OKC. The flight got to Chicago in time; however, from Chicago to OKC, I was informed that again they didn't have a captain for the plane and the flight delayed for more than 2 hours!!!

American Airlines, what's the matter with you? I will never use AA again for traveling as long as the price of other airline companies is not too much higher than that from AA (~$100 for domestic; $200 for international). Please avoid AA if you have another choice for saving time and maybe for not losing some important opportunities in your life.

Replies
Switched Seat Location
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

CHICAGO, ILLINOIS -- In January of 13' I purchased two tickets (preferred status extra charge) for a flight and selected the seats which was confirmed by the airline. I go to print out the boarding pass the day prior (April - 3 months later) only to discover that the seats are no longer available.

WHAT? Of course I'm confused by all of this so I contact the reservation section and I am told that those seats are not available due to equipment change. What? Did AA remove the seats? Changed aircraft that doesn't have row 11 any longer?

My question to them was simple to me - Why did you change them w/out notification and why would you not give me what I prepaid for? I wasn't asking for a refund or inquiring about not having a ticket at all, of which I have heard AA is famous for, but no row 11? The agent was kind and offered different seats which were unacceptable and as most people do I requested to speak w/the supervisor.

Well now, talk about another level of confusion. The supervisor indicated much the same, stating equipment change (? really) and I posed the same questions w/no result. I was told that I could go to the web site and change seat locations. I indicated to the supervisor that the agent prior to her had offered to change the seats for me and was told that that was incorrect. What? This could not have been more than five minutes ago. The supervisor indicated that she could put me through to someone to help and after falling asleep from waiting so long I decided I may as well move on.

I went to the website and changed seats or should I say settled for other seats. So much for customer service I thought. Well the next thing you know I get a phone call from, yes you guessed it, another supervisor from AA! Alright now we are getting somewhere. Right. Of course I ask the same questions and I get the same answers. All I wanted to know is why they gave my prepaid seats away and no one had the answer. Next time I will skip the hassles and go to another airline.

Replies
Advertisement
Review
By -

Both American Airlines and Iberia advertise that they allow small dogs to travel in-cabin. I booked a trip to Paris from JFK through OneTravel.com. I was told by OneTravel to call Iberia and to let them know I would have a small dog with me. I called Iberia and was told that the request had to be put through OneTravel.com. I called OneTravel back and while I was holding on, they contacted Iberia. Iberia told OneTravel that the request had to be made with American since they managed the flight. OneTravel called American and told me to expect a follow-up call from American Airlines. OneTravel also switched my initial booking from Iberia to A. A.

I received a call from American Airlines and was told to fax them my doctor's letter showing that my dog is a certified emotional service animal. After doing so, I had a call from A. A. The A. A. representative told me they would not accept this particular doctor's letter and refused to allow me to pay for the dog to fly in the cabin, he flatly told me that I could not book the flight for the dog in-cabin. I called back OneTravel.com and asked them to find out what was the reason for American Airlines and Iberia's disgusting way to handle a customer and after being once again put on hold, I was told by OneTravel that it would be best for me to cancel my reservation.

After 4 hours of being on the phone with TravelOne, A. A. and Iberia I was forced to cancel, since both Iberia and American Airlines refused to comply with what they advertise as their "pet in cabin policy". I was also told by OneTravel that although I would get a full refund, that refund could take a couple of months to show-up on my credit card. I re-booked on Air France and got my dog to be in-cabin without any problem.

Beware of these incredibly poor customer service issues with American Airlines and Iberia. I would like to know what gives these two airlines the right to change their posted regulations and why they think people would want to travel on their airlines in view of such disgusting customer service.

Replies
Portable Hard drive Stolen from Luggage
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

DETROIT, MICHIGAN -- My wife and I were travelling to Brisbane Australia and started our journey in Detroit. I had packed my portable hard drive in one of our bags. I realize now that it was a foolish thing to do but live and learn. It appears to me that the hard drive was removed in Detroit where we checked our bags and it had to be by someone who had access to x-ray visions of our luggage.

After reading other similar reviews I am amazed that this type of theft cannot be stopped by using video, searching employees on exit, etc. Also, I feel the airlines should emphasize the fact that it is really stupid to pack valuables in your luggage. I also feel that the airlines should accept some of the responsibility for allowing dishonest employees to check our bags.

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >

American Airlines Rating:
Star Half star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.4 out of 5, based on 49 ratings and
219 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
American Airlines
P.O. Box 619612 MD 2400 CPII
DFW Airport, TX 76021
800-433-7300 (ph)
817-967-9641 (fax)
www.aa.com
Customer.Relations@aa.com
Compare Airline Companies