Preview Review

Next Review

AT&T Consumer Reviews

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Still No Install
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

CHAPEL HILL, NORTH CAROLINA -- Called Friday, moved into house with existing AT&T junction box, was told install Tuesday. No one showed up, so called and after over an hour on the phone was told that they were not coming and put us on the schedule for the next day (today). Again no one showed up and after over 2 hours on the phone we were told we "are now in the system" and that they would contact us in the near future to advise us of our install date. During the first call we were told the representative screwed up our order, overcharged us, and put down the incorrect email address (noreply@att.net...seriously).

Today there really wasn't a valid excuse. I work from home and thank goodness I had met our neighbors and had to embarrassingly ask to borrow their WIFI! I still cannot connect my work phone, printer...this is costing me money and my husband hours of his time for no resolution...unacceptable! This is the worst customer experience we have ever encountered and they don't seem to care. The frustration level is off the charts!!!

Replies
Advertisement
Late Fees
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

SAINT GEORGE, UTAH -- My wireless phone bill due Friday. I paid it on that Friday with my credit card and I'm still on time in paying my bill. Somehow, by Monday I received a text from AT&T that I'm late and charging $5 for late payment. I asked if that can be waived considering I'm have been a customer for 10+ years. She said, "No the policy is that if you are late you pay penalty."

While in the phone she asked if I can pay my bill that moment, I said, "Yyes if you take the $5 off." She said no, so I didn't. I paid the $212.63 and not $5 late fees with my WebPay service through my bank. This January bill due on February 9 the late fee is still on my bill. AT&T is so big that they are willing to losing a long time customer over a $5 late fee. I'm actually leaving AT&T and I'm looking on Verizon.

Replies
Crap Company
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

PENSACOLA, FLORIDA -- It is sad that AT&T constantly overcharges our account for things we do not add, then they want to try to validate it. Every month I have to spend 1-2 hours on the phone with them with my Cell service, internet, and DirecTV. BAD BUSINESS. Next, their service is not all that, we can never have good playback on DirecTV without it not working or its very fuzzy. So now for 2018, they want to increase the cost of their crappy service... I think it's time to unplug... WE should be able to choose what we want on our TV instead of having to pay for services that we don't want. Look like it's time to dust off the old DVD player for a movie.

Replies
Signed on for Wireless Phones. Bill Increased Monthly
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

STERLING, MASSACHUSETTS -- Signed on with a wireless phone contract. Has increased monthly. No explanation from customer service that make any sense. Many calls to them with no help. This company is a complete ripoff. The contract is not binding on their part but I am locked in until the contract is over.

Replies
Advertisement
Should Have Heeded All the Warnings From Bad Ratings
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

GREEN BAY, WISCONSIN -- Terrible customer service, rude and repeats what I just said as if I said nothing. I did every step I was told and still got charged as if it was my fault. Everyone says something different, different costs than quoted, higher bill than quoted. Monopolies can do what they want.

Replies
Bubble Account & Upgrade Tragedy
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

ROANOKE, VIRGINIA -- On Thursday September 14th I and my wife got online to pay off the balance of my cellular phone as instructed by a Store associate (** on 4750 Valley View Blvd. Suite#10.) less than a week earlier, to be eligible for the new note 8. So I paid off the balance and proceeded today on September 15th to go to the store to upgrade to the Samsung Note 8.

Upon my arrival I waited 30 minutes to get the sales associate ** to tell me that my account had a balance and I had to pay it off. Since I have DirecTV and AT&T bundled ** went on to tell me that the DirecTV side of the bill had a balance and needed to be paid. It took about 30 more minutes because they were having systemic issues to be able to get my account up. Upon calling into customer service he verified that I had a balance of $182.44. The DirecTV portion is only $50 a month so that didn't make sense that it would be that high and he told me that I needed to pay that in order to upgrade.

So he called in he asked me if I had my account number. I said, "No I don't have it on hand." and he got the information on the receipt that I will provide. So we went to the kiosk to pay the bill and he put in all the information and then told me to swipe my card so not only at this point that I pay off the phone balance I also paid the rest of the bill and at that time they had the payment it was pending and he said that I still could not upgrade. So I felt something was odd.

So I called into customer service. I was hung up on when I got to a representative that told me that I had a balance that was pending but it wasn't on my joint account it was on the DirecTV account alone. So when I called back I escalated to another representative to get me a supervisor. The supervisor let me know that the payment wasn't posted to the right account it was posted to only the DirecTV side of the bill. And then I would have to wait 3 - 4 business days for a payment transfer that she saw the last representative put in to take effect. And told me that I was running out of options the only thing that I really could do was pay the $182.44.

The supervisor put me on hold, reversed my payment that I made earlier and told me now that they don't have my payment. There is no transfer that will take place so I still owe that amount in order to upgrade. I expressed to her that this is at no fault of my own that I can't upgrade because I just paid what I was told to pay to be able to have a clear balance and upgrade the phone.

So I went back into the store and they told me on their system it doesn't show that I have a balance but I cannot upgrade. I asked for the representative ** to call his store manager ** and ** told me that they cautioned customers on bundling their accounts because there are so many different issues and it's a nightmare to bundle your account.

So now because of system issues between AT&T in store and AT&T customer service call center I am out of $182.44 that I don't know where it is and I don't have the upgrade that I was told that I can get with the different incentives and I'm told that I have to pay the same amount to a different portion of an account in order for it to possibly show that I'm eligible for an upgrade. This is horrible for a company of AT&T to operate in this manner for its customers. I was told by the supervisor, "We can't do anything. It's not that big of a deal if we could help you. We would but we can't." These are not the words that they would appreciate if they were a customer at all.

Replies
Terrible Customer Service
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

I purchased a couple of cell phones, a tablet and landline service from AT&T for a business I started in May '15. From the beginning I requested combined billing, it took AT&T 7 months, Dec 28th '15, to get the process started and another 4 months to complete. I received my first combined bill 04/16/16, a full year after requesting combined billing. During that time, I could not use the myatt app due to different account types (landline/cell phone) so I was told to use the online website att.smb.com. Well after numerous hours on the phone with tech support I was told I would not be able to log in there either until the combined billing was set up.

So I was not receiving a paper bill, could not view it online, my only option was to call in and speak to a representative to pay my bill. Well evidently my Jan. and Feb '16 payments were never applied to my account and so I received a disconnect notice in March. I called in March 15th, 17th, and 18th trying to figure out what the mixup was, I had called in every month and made full payment based on what the representative said I owed. But to prevent my service from being disconnected on 03/18/16 I made a payment of $201.82.

Meanwhile the representative said they would look into the missing payments, but that my account was current until the next billing cycle 04/16/16. Instead, 2 weeks later I get another disconnect notice. I call in again on 04/04/16 make a payment of $165.49. Once again the representative assures me that my account is current, $0 balance until my next billing cycle 04/16/16.

Once again I get another disconnect notice so I call in and on 04/19/16 make another payment of $283.84 and the representative assures me my account is current until the next billing cycle 05/16/16, and to ignore it if I get another disconnect notice and that I should just wait for my next bill which will be sent out 05/16/16. So that's what I did and the service was disconnected on 05/02/16. I called in and made another payment of $208.11 and the phone service was restored. My 05/16/16 bill comes with over $560 in credits and adjustments, which were not credits, actually Jan. and Feb. payments they failed to apply to my account.

Now I get my June bill and there is a $48.17 charge for a reconnect fee. The service would have never been disconnected if AT&T had applied the payments to my account, what kind of company holds their customers responsible for their mistakes?

I have been an AT&T customer for almost 10 years and up until this last year didn't have any problems. But this last year the customer service is worse than abysmal. I have spent so many hours on the phone with AT&T doing everything possible to keep this account current, my business depends on it, only to have AT&T reps continually screw it up. AT&T fails at simple things, 7 months to start the combined billing process and 4 months to actually complete. I had a tablet that I sold in Sep. '15 and asked for the service to be canceled, that didn't happen until March of '16.

I wasn't getting a paper bill, could not log in online to view my bill, so my only option was to pay what the representative said I owe. I made 3 payments in 30 days, based on what the reps said, each time I was assured my account was current and each time I received a disconnect notice in 1-2 weeks following the payment. Terrible customer service! If you are looking for a phone service provider for your business, stay away from AT&T. The amount of time I have spent on the phone dealing with their incompetence and loss of phone service, due to their incompetence, has resulted in a loss of business that I may never recoup.

Replies
Awful Customer Service
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

So last year I went in to buy a new Samsung Galaxy and yay for me there was a promotion going on and I would receive a new tablet. I just had to add it to my line for 10 dollars a month!! Of course they didn't have any in stock and would call in two weeks when it got there. Long story short it never got there. I called and went in to speak with someone in management that might be able to help me but no matter if I called or went in the manager was already gone for the day!!! This went on for months until I finally got mad enough to go and switch over to T-Mobile!

Oh yeah and don't let me forget to mention that I was an AT&T customer for over 20 years. I took over my grandfather's account when he passed. So I go ahead and switch over. I ported both of my numbers over and completely forgot that I had my old iPad on the line when I was getting charged 10 dollars a month for. I realized this tonight when I opened a bill that I didn't understand why I had because I thought the account was cancelled. The bill was for 103.00 dollar!!! They had taken my 7gb plan I obviously purchased for my phones and attached it to my iPad plan.

I had already gotten charged this for two months before I realized this tonight and called the customer service number to see if it could possibly be waived. Oh was I in for a one hour phone of the AT&T customer service employees playing the "keep the customer on hold" game. I talked to 4 different people! Each were working in the cancellation department which I guess they just try to find the biggest jerks to be rude to all people that want to cancel or have cancelled.

At one point I said to a gentleman "What type of customer service do you provide to customers when they call in and tell you they have had a bad experience with the company?" His response "When you say 'provide customer service' that's me giving or providing you with something and I'm not understanding what you're asking for." And later during the conversation I was speaking with a lady about making a formal complaint and I was explaining my situation and at one point she says "So you left a line on the plan an iPad and now you are asking us to waive the charge? Well ma'am at some time we have to take responsibility for our actions".

Seriously the worst customer service I have ever encountered! I can honestly say "AT&T you're doing it wrong!!!" At some point I may get to a point where I want to cancel with T-Mobile but I can say that I will NEVER go back to AT&T due to this awful experience that I have had to deal with. I've seen more than a few bad reviews for AT&T and how awful their customer service is and I hope that the right person sees these and helps this business out. Please find some employees with better customer service skills!

Replies
Advertisement
Bad Customer Service Experience
StarStarStarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 3/51

I was moving so I called AT&T to cancel my service. During that call, I was told that my contract was going to end in a few weeks so I could either cancel now and pay a termination fee or wait until the end of my contract, but I would have to call on the last day of my contract to let them know I didn't want to renew. I decided to wait, although I thought it was dumb that I had to call back again just to tell them I didn't want to renew.

So, I called on the last day of my contract. The representative that helped me asked for my info and I gave him what he asked for and simply told him that today was the last day of my contract and that I did not want to renew because I was not going to continue with AT&T. He replies by telling me that I'm eligible for some TV service. I told him I was not interested and all I needed was to end my service. He replied by saying, "Well, there's no contract with that but ok, have a nice day, bye." He seemed very rude, and never gave me a good, friendly customer service feeling.

The way he then ended our call gave me the feeling that he was mad that I wanted to cancel and that I didn't want any AT&T services. I was never rude or said anything negative about AT&T, simply that I did not want to continue with their services. It seemed that he took it in a negative way and then treated me as if I don't deserve good customer service because of it.

The funny thing is that I never had an issue with AT&T. I was not canceling because of a bad experience, but simply because I was moving and was not sure of what service I was going to use in my new place. He never asked about my experience or tried to understand, he simply assumed I was angry and treated me as if I was an angry customer.

Replies
DirecTV/AT&T Absurd Policies
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

ROCHESTER, NEW YORK -- My housemate moves out, and I now want to get a DirecTV account in my name, after he cancels the current account in his name. Because I have lived in the house for a number of years while his DirecTV account was active, AT&T will not allow me to open a new account in my name at the same address. This, according to them, is because "I benefited from their service while I was a resident at this address, and in order to open a new account in your name at that same address, the current account must be canceled for two years before your new account can be opened."

Now, if you just said "what?", you had the same reaction as me. "So, let me get this straight" I said, "if I lied to you, and said I was a new tenant just moving in to this address, I could get a new DirecTV account in my name, but because I have established a long term residency here, I am not able to get the same account as I could if just moved in five minutes ago?" "Yes Sir, that is our policy."

"So, what you're telling me is, rather than taking my money every month for the next two years of the required contract, you want me to hang up the phone, cancel the current account, and call your competition, Dish network, and give them my money for the next two years. Am I really understanding you correctly?" "Sir, as I stated, AT&T, and DirecTV cannot allow you to secure new service at your current address for the next two years."

Dear AT&T, your policy is beyond ridiculous, and you have ensured one thing; I will never buy ANY AT&T product, or service. Rather than try to negotiate a new price (your customer retention dept. called me after the fact) to keep the current DirecTV service in place, I will in fact cancel it. I will also share this enlightening customer service experience on every consumer complaint website I can find.

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >

AT&T Rating:
Star Half star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.3 out of 5, based on 75 ratings and
194 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
AT&T
208 S. Akard St.
Dallas, TX 75202-2233
210-821-4105 (ph)
210-351-2071 (fax)
www.att.com
Product/Services
Compare Phone/Mobile Services