Preview Review

Next Review

Auto Europe Consumer Reviews - Page 2

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Unable to Actually Rent a Car
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

PORTLAND, MAINE -- Before traveling to Bulgaria, I called to ensure that I could rent a car and then take it to other countries. I was given a list of countries to which I could travel. I asked how close to the trip I could call back and they said that it was just a matter of availability. So I called back to book two rentals on a Friday - one for the next day and one for the following Tuesday. At this point I was told that it took five days to get the paperwork in order to travel out of Bulgaria. OK, the next day trip was out, but what could we do about the second trip? They booked it for the following Wednesday - that being five days out.

On Monday, I was informed that it was denied because it was not five business days out. I fully understand some of this is on me, but part of calling a broker is to use their expertise, and knowing my plans to travel outside of Bulgaria, it seems they could have notified me up front regarding the waiting period.

As for booking it out 5 days only to tell me that it is 5 business days, come on! Know your own rules. I could have rented something locally for the portion of the trip in country, returned, taken their rental and gone. It would have sufficed, but now I am simply faced with not enough time to get there and back. I am thoroughly frustrated by their lack of knowledge of their own product, but I should acknowledge that everyone I spoke with was courteous.

Replies
Last Minute Incompetent Billing
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

Beware! These guys will rip you off. They have incompetent billing practices. Their website will quote one price and then one week before you leave on vacation they will contact you with additional fees. By this time it is too late to find anything else so you eat the extra cost. I booked a vacation to Turkey and two days before the trip they contacted me saying that it would be an additional 250 euros for additional car drop off fees. Couldn't find anything else on such short term notice and had to pay.

I came back from vacation and went to a dinner party and met a couple who were going to Croatia the following week and they told me the same story about booking through Auto Europe. An agent had contacted them the week before saying that there were additional fees. The couple tried to book something else but everything was already sold out. Beware!

Replies
Auto Europe Stole Our Money!!
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

BUDAPEST, HUNGARY, MICHIGAN -- AUTO EUROPE STOLE OUR MONEY! We reserved a car through their website and this was the only email we ever received… “Thank you for your internet request. Please note that your car is not yet confirmed. As your reservation is considered last minute, we need to verify availability with our supplier. We will notify you once the reservation is confirmed. If our supplier cannot confirm your request, we will look into all other available options and contact you as soon as possible. We look forward to hearing from you! We are open 24 hours a day / 7 days a week for your convenience.”

They never provided us a car and THEY CHARGED US ANYWAY!!! Their customer service told us "you are not getting your money back. I am doing more than I should by even telling you this much." They are liars and thieves!

Replies
Had To Pay Extra Insurance
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

They are horrible. We used them to book a car in Italy. Budget was the car service we used. When we arrived we were told that we had to purchase additional insurance at a cost of $800.00. The woman insisted that even though my paperwork said we did have coverage, we really did not and would be responsible if car was damaged or stolen. We felt forced to agree. When we returned I submitted to Auto Europe my complaint and they did nothing about it. We were told we signed the contract to pay the fees so there was nothing they could do. I will never use them again! Be careful.

Replies
Advertisement
No Car Available After Paying in Advance for Rental
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

We were forced to rent from another company because the company with whom Auto Europe told me they had booked a car in Saint Lucia said they had no cars at all, and would not for days! The last minute car rental cost us far more than what the same would have cost if we had booked ahead with them instead of AutoEurope.

Upon returning home and complaining, we received almost no response, and in the end asked my credit card to reject the charge from Auto Europe. To only refund instead of offering to pay the difference in charges incurred (for a less nice vehicle than originally booked) left me concluding there is no reason to go through AutoEurope. They take the funds in advance (unlike most car rental companies) based upon a competitive price, upon which they do not then hold themselves accountable to deliver on.

Replies
Less Than Honest Customer Services
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

Post rental I called Auto Europe about the option of dropping off in a different city. It was determined the location would not be open on the specific day so the representative suggested I could return it on an earlier date. He stated the car agency would charge an additional fee for the location change. He had more than enough opportunity to honestly point out there would be no refund yet he failed to mention Auto Europe would not refund for the difference of a shorter rental.

I called upon return to find the full charge and the manager said it's states on the agreement on 'page 3 half way down mid paragraph no refund'. All well and good after you get an agreement. So Auto Europe enjoys the economic windfall from the agencies refund to them. I learned during the auto rental agency during pick up I could have received a better deal directly from them.

Replies
Attention: Fraud Company!
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

AUSTRIA -- We have had the worst experience with Auto Europe in our travel history. Hidden charges, rip-offs, extremely poor customer service which put you on music most of the time, too many negative experiences to enumerate. Auto Europe is really a company which main business Philosophy is to rip off their customers as fast as possible and then to get rid of them even quicker. We can only recommend all prosperous customers to stay away as far as possible from Auto Europe. Going by train or going on foot is even a better idea than booking a car with Auto Europe! NEVER AGAIN!!!

Replies
Do Not Rent From AutoEurope!!!
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

WORLD WIDE -- I wish I had checked this site before "reserving" a Mercedes E-Class for a day trip in Croatia. I went through the hassle of arranging a luxury car for my family to make a four hour trip between cities. Instead of a luxury Mercedes Benz, we ended up with the most economy of cars called a "Spoga Rapid". No idea what this car was but it was missing a hubcap and had no upgrades. We had no choice though. We had to get to our destination. By the way, there was no discount given. I paid almost $400 for this piece of you-know-what for less than 24 hours.

Replies
Advertisement
Beware Dishonest Predatory Company
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

SANTO DOMINGO -- BEWARE DISHONEST PREDATORY COMPANY. I had made online reservations to pickup a rental vehicle for a vacation to Santo Domingo with Auto Europe which I paid with my USAA Credit card for the Sum of $123.34 online. Prior to my trip I called up USAA credit card services and was assured the car was fully covered for damages but I would still need to purchase additional Liability Insurance to cover other vehicles in case of an accident.

When I arrived in Santo Domingo on June 7, 2014 to pick up the vehicle the sales representative at Auto Europe asked if I would like to purchase the additional Liability Insurance to cover other vehicles for additional sum of approximately $118 which I agreed to. When the printed invoice was handed to me it had a sum of $2500 total with no explanations to the costs. The clerk told me that it was only a deposit and that only $118 dollars would be charged to my account once the vehicle was returned but nothing on this invoice stated this policy.

I told the clerk that I was not comfortable signing a blank invoice for $2500 especially when the vehicle is covered under my credit card and I am simply asking optional liability coverage. At this time I told the clerk I was not comfortable with the transaction and that I wanted a refund. He assured me that he will cancel the transaction but I still landed being charged. THIS IS A VERY DISHONEST PREDATORY COMPANY WHO WILL TRY TO ROB YOU AT ANY COST. BEWARE.

Replies
Not Following EU/UK Consumer Legislation and Insurance Rip Off
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

OXFORD -- I will never book with this company again, usually I book direct from the airport. I needed a car for the next day for my 2 kids to go to Peppa Pig world as we were visiting family in the UK. I thought I bought full insurance cover which was actually pretty pointless as it is not recognized by the partner companies. RIP OFF. This was not made clear enough, my advice is not to use the company and to book direct.

In phoning the company and then speaking to a manager, I spoke to a very condescending man who clearly informed me it is a US based company that did not have to follow EU and UK legislation. This is of course false. Do not rent a car from them go direct. Customer service is appalling, and the product and service a rip off.

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >

Auto Europe Rating:
Star Empty star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.0 out of 5, based on 31 ratings and
64 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
Auto Europe
39 Commercial St # 7006
Portland, ME 04101
1-888-223-5555 (ph)
www.autoeurope.com
Compare Car Rental Companies