Preview Review

Next Review

Best Sleep Centre Inc. Consumer Reviews

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Stained Mattress
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

WINNIPEG, MANITOBA -- The Best SLEEPLESS Centre sold and shipped us a stained mattress. It had several stains on the topper and the back of the mattress. At least one on the topper appeared to be biological, and based on my experience the mattress looked to be used. It didn't have a factory odour to it, as do all new mattresses. Customer service was deplorable to the point that I had to get Consumer Protection Agency and Visa involved to get an exchange with no further costs added; no dedicated customer service department=poor customer service. My strong advice is to you is, shop elsewhere... Stained mattress, you'll find it!!!

Company Response 07/07/2018:

I'll ill say is we went through the government of Manitoba consumers bureau to get this person to fulfill their obligations and I would have lost my claim and he would have won his if any of this was true. He had sent back for refund a Casper mattress and when he found out all we would do was exchange. This is where he went. He lost with the consumers bureau and the consumer is always right with the government if this was the case.

Buyer Beware ... No Warranty or Service After Purchase
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

WINNIPEG -- I dealt with Mr David Keam through the whole process of selecting a bed that would be suitable for me explaining in great detail the issues I experience with musculoskeletal injuries (back / neck). After several visits to his store and laying on several mattresses I finally purchased a new bed along with mattress protector, new sheet sets and a 3 month Sleep Comfort guarantee. After 3 months of use the mattress (rotated the mattress monthly) started to show signs of 'sagging'. I took pictures of this and went back to David Keam to address this issue.

His response was there was "Absolutely NO Way there was an issue with sagging. Just keep using it and rotate regularly." I then went back to address this problem again after the mattress was getting close to 1 yr old. I was told by one of the salesman that warranty claims had to be done online and pictures of the problem uploaded to the Best Sleep Center website. I went home and did the warranty claim, uploaded pics and the website will tell you that an answer would be provided within 5 business days. Two weeks went by with no reply given.

I made another visit to the store and spoke to the same salesman and was told he'd forward my name and ph number on to the warranty dep't. Again 2 more weeks went by. Another visit to the store. This time talking to David Keam's son... 'Operations Manager' and explained the frustration experienced with lack of service after the sale. I received an email the next day from the warranty dep't manager requesting more pics. After reviewing these and exchanging several emails, 'my warranty claim' was approved for replacement or send to the Manufacturer to rebuild the mattress. I chose to wait and discuss these options with David Keam upon his return from vacation.

Upon his return and 7 weeks after submitting initial warranty claim, I again went in to discuss this ongoing problem with Mr Keam and was basically told there was nothing wrong with the mattress, that I was measuring the sagging areas incorrectly and that he did everything he could to make me happy with my purchase. At no point did he offer to send someone to my home to 'properly measure' the bed. He did provide a piece of 'foam' (free of charge) to place under the mattress in the area I sleep on and offered an additional piece of foam if 1 didn't work. This did nothing but make the mattress more uncomfortable.

Further discussions with individuals in the 'mattress' manufacturing world led to the discovery of a 'damaged' box spring... 5 deformed springs' positioned exactly where my body lies during sleep and contributing to the 'sagging' problem in the mattress. There had never been any person jumping or standing on the box spring. Shipped out from factory with the defect.

If David Keam would have taken the time to send someone out to 'properly measure' the problem area of the mattress and spent a bit of time trying to figure out the underlying cause rather than adamantly refuting a valid problem existed, he would actually have long term happy customers that would refer others to his business. He will tell people he has been in business selling beds for 30+ yrs carrying a VCR in to peoples homes to show his line of beds.

There is no doubt he has learned to sell beds and now furniture over the years building an empire of stores selling beds in Manitoba. He just doesn't have adequate after sales service for warranty problems which are significant in numbers. I wonder how many customers he has sold beds / furniture to that have had warranty problems and have had to live with them, either have these products laying in a basement or garage. Mr David Keam really needs to address his after service warranty skills, learn how to troubleshoot basic defects and how to resolve them or have staff 'adequately trained'. The manufacturers sales reps are there to help with this.

Terrible Service
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

WINNIPEG -- My husband and I were looking at beds at various locations in the Polo Park area of Winnipeg. When a sales representative would come, we would say something along the lines of, "We are just looking, if we need you for anything, we will come to you." Most of the time, the sales reps at other stores would let us be or give us enough distance where you're not harassing us, but say a thing or two about the mattress.

Went to this store, went to the first mattress, there he is, the owner of the store, asking away questions. My husband mentioned twice, if we need your services, we'll let you know. That's not how we do things here, how do you know what you want in a bed? We immediately left. Just to let you know, we have gotten mattresses before, plus do research online before we come into the store, so we have an idea what we want, if there are questions, we will ask. Don't need someone within our personal space telling us what to buy because you apparently know more than we do in what we want.

Read some of the reviews, one of the responses was apparently from David **. Really irritating that there was a spelling of warentee. Really? There's a button on the side for Check Spelling in blue letters. Warranty/Warranties is the correct spelling.

Stay Away From This Place
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

WINNIPEG -- The mattress I bought was uncomfortable within the first three months, I called to do something about it, but the salesperson was dragging his feet and not returning my calls. Life is busy so I gave up. After a year the mattress got much worse, and my partner couldn't sleep on it anymore. We got a small mattress from Foam Solutions to tide us over. I tried contacting the Best Sleep Center through their website, but they outsource their online customer service. The person who emailed me back couldn't even get my name right, it was something different for three different emails, no joke.

I eventually went to Foam Solutions and replaced the POS queen size pocket coil from Best Sleep Center with a sweet king size memory foam for less $$$. They have fantastic mattresses at much lower prices than the hucksters at Best Sleep Center.

Poor Customer Service
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

WINNIPEG, MASSACHUSETTS -- We ordered a bedroom suite and mattress with Gary. He was really nice and helpful when he sold us the product. We paid and waited over 3 months (original wait time was 5-7 weeks) for a product that never showed up, in addition to having multiple other issues with the order. Just to be clear, the low rating isn't for the delay or even for the product not coming in at all.

I don't judge companies by how nice they are when trying to sell a product, I judge companies by how they treat customers when issues come up after the sale. Unfortunately Best Sleep Centre did very little to make up for the problems with the order or to make us feel valued as customers. We left with no furniture, just the mattress (because even with all the issues they refused to return it for us) and feeling very frustrated and used. Instead we purchased (nicer) furniture from Costco and have nothing but good things to say about the customer service there!

Bad Behaviour Sales Person
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

WINNIPEG, CALIFORNIA -- I have just recently been to the store to buy a new bed for my wife. The sales associate there walked me through some of the new beds they were selling at the store. At first he said the price of the bed was $1200 and then he offered me discount of $100. After few minutes he changed his mind again now asking for $1200. None of their prices are fixed, they charge different prices to different customers depending on whom they want to offer a discount.

The sales associate is very unprofessional in their approach when it comes to interacting with the customers. No smile no thank you. Just desperate effort to steal customers' hard earned money. Overall, my experience within your store does not meet my expectations. I would advise you to try their competitors before going into their stores, you might find a better deal there and good sales experience.

Slight of Hands Dealings
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

WINNIPEG MANITOBA -- We needed a new metal bed frame. The salesman on the phone says $70 plus taxes. Down to the store we go only to find that when we pay the frame is now $80 plus taxes. Why the extra $10 plus taxes? Salesman says "it is $70 only if you by another product here." Bait and switch at its best, why not say that on the phone? I feel this is an indication of the true nature of the sales here, BEWARE!!!!? I found out later I could have got it at $70 at one of the other bed store this owner is always bashing in his commercials.

Nothing but junk made in China
By -

Bought a bedroom set, was told it was solid wood made in North America. When we got it home the boxes said all over it "MADE IN CHINA". Last time I checked China is not in North America. Not only that. It is particle board and not the solid wood I was promised. Complained to the owner and was told it was imported by a North American company and he didn't realize it was from China. IT SAID MADE IN CHINA ALL OVER THE BOX... IN BIG LETTERS.

Then he said his sales people wouldn't tell us it was solid wood. Well my wife and son all heard him. I asked for my money back and he said "not a chance, we did nothing wrong". DO NOT SHOP HERE. NOTHING BUT MADE IN CHINA, PARTICLE BOARD CRAP.

Company Response 09/24/2011:

This makes no sense and as so many times on these forums you wonder if its your competitors talking. All he had to do was read the boxes when delivered and not receive the goods if he felt so ripped off and uninformed. All the goods on our floors have labels on them as to where they are made. When he picked it up it said in big letters on the box " made in China" so why was it such a surprise when he got it home. I have no recollection of this person and my staff do not lie. Most of our furniture is Solid hardwood but some lower priced product is not. Same as anywhere else. I know where everything comes from and would not say something imported by a north american company is made in canada, Anyway this never happened and all he had to do was not except the boxes either at the warehouse if he picked it up or on delivery if delivered and if unopened we would have no choice by law but to refund his money. If you dont accept something or dont pick something up. The retailer must give you your money back unless final sale is written on the invoice.

Best Sleep Center's "make it work" policy
By -

WINNIPEG -- I would like to note that this is the first time I have ever felt the need to post a negative comment publicly about a company. But, in this case I felt it my obligation as a person that believes the customer is often the true "little man" in society today. I will just tell the story and let you the customer decide if this is what you expect from this company when you deal with them?

I recently purchased a new bedroom set, the "Pasadena" model, and have had nothing but problems with the bed. The design of the bed involves a slat system, with 15 rows of two wooden slats each. The slats join together in the middle through a center beam. The center beam is a 2x4, with two peg supports running vertically to the ground. This center beam runs from the head to the foot of the bed. The slats are curved, to provide more shock absorption. They insert into plastic sheathes that attach the slats to the sides and the center beam.

These plastic sheathes have nubs that insert into holes positioned both on the side rails and the center beam. No screws necessary, you just slide the slats into the plastic sheaths, and place the sheaths into their holes! There isn't even holes in the side rails or the center beam that would allow for screws to hold it together. The design calls for no screws to be used, except to attach the center beam to the headboard and the footboard.

They set up the bed and from the first time they were putting the mattress on slats were falling out. They said, "just need to be careful placing the mattress on it and then that won't happen." I was fine with this and placed the bed on and immediately 2 of the slats fell out of their plastic sheaths. We tilted the mattress up, fixed the problem, and hoped it wouldn't happen again. Upon lying on the bed, 4 slats fells out and were heard hitting the floor. He tells me that we will replace these, "warped" slats and it will fix the problem.

For a week we sleep on this bed and have to constantly replace slats that have fallen out of their sheathes. They return with new slats and place them in. You can see upon lifting the mattress that slats are barely holding on and some of the sheathes are out of their holes entirely. They replace the new slats but the problem persists. While I have the workers in my house slats still were falling out when I got on the bed. They told me that they may have to bring back more slats, cause they cannot see any other way to stop them from falling out. "We will come back and figure out what we can do."

The next time they came out they had a few more slats, and AGAIN upon lying on the bed they were falling out! They suggested using screws, to hold it together, and I refused. That would involve screwing in screws through plastic sheathes, or just replacing the sheathes with makeshift screws holes. I did not buy a make-shift bed, I want the design bed that I purchased in your store. Not a screw here, screw there, lets design this new bed in your house, and "make it work" bed.

Imagine moving and having to take that apart. Unscrewing 60 screws, all in makeshift holes, and then hoping that the wood held up enough for you to re-hack it together at your new house. The worker agreed it was not the initial design of the bed to have screws and once again they said they would come back and find a way to, "make it work".

A couple weeks past and they decide that a new idea has arrived. ** told me over the phone that he had spoken with the workers and they agree it is a faulty design and only a new system will eliminate the continuing problem. They propose to try a "bunkie" board system, that will replace the existing faulty wooden slat system. A "bunkie" board is a board that will serve as a boxspring and be supported by lips on the side beams as well as a center bar down the middle. I was unhappy that my NEW bed purchase had turned into a troubleshoot project. They were essentially altering the NEW product I had knowingly purchased.

I spoke with **, the president, and he refused to see my point of view that my NEW bed was not a NEW bed at all. But that it was more like they were trying to figure out how to patch up a faulty product. I asked why it wasn't possible just to switch bedroom suites? He told me this was not an option. He also said something that I will never forget, "I am not one of those people who believes the customer is always right!" I guess my only options were to make the pieces of wood I had in my room work.

Despite admission that the product was faulty by the "experienced" laborers he had hired. Despite my opposition to this I had no choice since they gave me no other options, and I was sick of constantly hearing wooden slats fall out underneath me while I lie in my NEW bed.

They allowed us to see the "bunkie" board and we agreed to try it as a replacement. Now I ask you, if when you purchase a new, expensive, product, do you expect it to at least work the way it is supposed to? And if it does not, and the company is one of reputation like the BEST Sleep Center, do you not expect them to at least replace the faulty product? you expect them to just say well here we'll patch that up and "make it work".

I thought that when a NEW purchase is made, you received a NEW product the way it was intended..NEW!! Not that you have to find ways from the very beginning to, "make it work". ** apologized for the slats and while I was at the store I looked at a few of the beds with a similar slat system. There were three beds that had wooden slats falling down underneath them! I asked him why they sell beds that just fall apart like that? Especially when all I hear ** say on his radio ads is how they are so successful because they have superior products to the competition.

Nonetheless, the "bunkie" bed option arrived and the workers set it down and noticed it was very close to the edge of the side supporting lips. He used a measuring tape and noticed that there was a 1.5 inch gap on the sides as well as on the end once the "bunkie" board was laid down. He also noted that it could possibly shift and fall off since it was just a little too small for the bed. Once again probably since it was not in the initial design in the first place? Then he called the office to tell them it wasn't going to work. They pretty much told him to find a way to "make it work" which was their stance since the beginning.

I had had enough once again and asked why I could not just get a whole new set with a different design that wasn't admittedly "faulty" and that I did not want to continue to try to make my NEW bed work! It was noted that the side rails were also warping, possibly contributing to the slats being warped as well. I refused to allow this setup that was going to have the potential of falling off.

They came up with a new option! "We will install 3 more beams from one side to the other of the bed to help support it as well. Plus we will replace the side beams since they are warping also." Once again more building 101, "let's make this work!" They failed to see my view that a NEW bed should not require a completely different setup. Even though I had allowed them to try to "make it work" up to this point, I was now certain that I wanted a replacement for this hodgepodge bedroom suite.

I asked why it wasn't an option to just exchange the set for another set. I was even willing to pay the difference, I just wanted a NEW bedroom suite, that was just that....NEW, quality, and would at least hold up. Instead I was being forced to piece together something and "make it work?"

** finally called back and informed me that I had to just accept it how it was and if they fell out then I needed to just get used to it happening. That all beds have these problems, and that that is the reason they show the wooden slats that have fallen out in their showrooms, so that people know that they should expect that to happen.

I asked him why he states in his radio ads that they have such superior products when even the showroom ones are apparently designed to show their faulty design, apparently to prepare us so that our expectations are not too high? He actually hung up on me stating that unless I allowed them to come back to set up this option I was pretty much SOL.

So I am sitting here now trying to piece together this whole thing that is still not over. They plan on using all new pieces except the head and end boards, yet still the option of a replacement suite is not being offered. I guess people should be warned that when Best Sleep Center sells you a is not the quality product that they claim it to be. They have admitted that they sell faulty products and I have first hand experience that this is true.

People should also be warned that should you have any problems with NEW Best Sleep Center products, too bad.. you just have to find a way to "make it work!?!" I hope your NEW bed purchase goes a lot better than mine did, and you end up with a NEW bed and not a "make-it-work!" Best Sleep Center hack job bed. Hoping for your sake that, "Yooooouuu'll NEVER find THEM!" Unimpressed Customer!

Do not shop here
By -

One year ago I bought a Restonic foam bed off of your St James store. One year later this "€œTOP OF THE LINE"€ $2200.00 bed is sagging everywhere. I called your warranty department and about a week later one of your staff arrived and measured the bed and took pictures, he said the bed was sagging a lot and someone would get back to us. My wife also showed him the broken frame we had and he replied we should not have bought such a cheap one that your store sells better ones.

Two weeks later I had to call your warranty dept again to find out what was happening. Finally ** called me back and stated she sent a letter to us saying the bed was stained and she could not get any one to work on it. I explained to her that my Granddaughter spilled a coke on the bed and that had nothing to do with the sagging bed. She also replied that we should have bought a water proof sheet for the bed. I received your letter with the warranty card in it with all kinds of fancy measurements on it and yes it did say that they could not fix a stained bed. Why was I not giving a warranty card when I bought the bed ????

I have spoken to two other companie€™s that sell foam beds and they both replied that they cannot fix a foam bed. Once it is sagging they replace it. If this is your final decision on the matter I want you to take a look in your computer and see the products I have bought off of you in the last year and "REST" assured I will never buy another product off of you again. I see in your web page you spend a lot of money advertising on C.J.O.B. and I see that you have come a long way from your hole in the wall on Keewatin Street.

I myself am in sales and there is one thing I do know that when people buy a product and they are happy with it they will always tell one other person what a great product it is and they will tell one other person BUT! When a person has had a bad experience with a product or company they will tell five other people who in return will tell five other people and so on and so on!!! So the way I see it is that the money you spend on advertising this year will somewhat be a waste. You see my advertising is free. That'€™s the nice thing about Canada freedom of speech.

So I might be out a 2200.00 dollar bed but again I will Quote "€œREST" assured every person I speak with I will let them know how you do not honor your warranty and what a inferior product Restonics is. Every E-mail I send will have a tag line DO NOT SHOP AT THE BEST SLEEP CENTER. THEY DO NOT HONOR THEIR WARRANTY€™S. Once in a while on a busy Saturday you will notice me outside your stores talking to your potential customers about my bad experience I had with your Company. I look at it this way if I can ruin one sale a day on a Saturday by speaking with your potential customers I will have self gratification.

I would like to also congratulate you on succeeding on becoming Manitoba's largest independent mattress retailer. I am sure it was a hard climb to the top when you are a little guy playing with the big boys from your little hole in the wall. So in closing I am sure you will not forget the power of the little guy and the power of free advertising. And the power of the World Wide Web. Also note I will be forwarding this letter to Kevin Toman President / CEO of Restonics. Regards The Little Guy.

Company Response 10/26/2006:

Hello This Is David Keam of the Best Sleep Centre inc. And if you have a minute, I have a response to Don't Shop Here. This particular customer is sad to say correct in that we will not warrenty his mattress. Every Manufacturer in the Business has a warrentee card and on our Bill of Sale it states Please read and keep your warrentee card. And in that warrentee card it states that a mattress must be clean to have warrentee. It is against the law to take a stained mattress "and its always Coke" into a Factory. How would you like if your new mattress was made on the table and traveled down the same conveyor belt as a mattress that was covered in blood or any other Body Fluid. There are Mattress Pads that we sell that are designed to Keep "Coke" And all other body fluids off your new 2200.00 mattress so I can say " No Problem" and fix it for you in one day. Sad to say this person did not keep a very clean home either and we do not want whatever they are dealing with in the factory next to your new bed. Its true we would not warrentee this Product. The frame it was on was busted according to the story and that was caused by" Coke" or maybe the same young person jumping as poured " Coke" on the bed. The point I'm makeing is this. Please read your warrentee card and look after your new products in a manner that alows companies to provide service and we will gladly do it. I don't like saying "no" but if it protects the other consumer from disease and such thats what we have to do.
The moral of the story Buy a good frame buy a good mat pad lock the bedroom door when theres "Coke" around and Drink responsibly.
Ask yourself if you worked for me if you want to move a mattress covered in all kinds of "stuff" including "Coke" I did not think so. Keep it clean and we will look after you.
for your time
David Keam
Best Sleep Centre Inc.
Win a car over the internet at

Top of Page | Next Page >

Best Sleep Centre Inc. Rating:
Star Empty star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.0 out of 5, based on 8 ratings and
12 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
Best Sleep Centre Inc.
930 Nairn Ave
Winnipeg, MB R2L 0X8, Canada
204-667-2991 (ph)
Compare Furniture Stores