Preview Review

Next Review

Bill Me Later Consumer Reviews

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Closing My Paypal Account Because Of Bill Me Later Tactics
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

Bill Me Later was created by Paypal to make money. Obviously, that's the point of being in business. But it's a free service. How do they make money on it? Two ways, late fees and interest. When they designed this "totally free" Bill Me Later program, they designed it not just to maximize the number of people who use it, but to maximize the number of people who are charged late fees and interest.

Paypal's methods when "asking" you to sign up for their Bill Me Later (BML) program are absolutely ridiculous and underhanded. Since they began offering BML, it seems like I've had to be very careful not to ACCIDENTALLY sign up for the service. Every time I use Paypal now they will sneak one or two opportunities to join and use BML into my payment process, which wouldn't be a problem, but they really and truly try to be sly about it.

The BML language will be small and easy to miss, the yes box will be highlighted, the check box will already be checked and you will have to un-check it, and so on. BML is really a line of credit, and any offer to open a line of credit should be very clear and should not be slid in their when I'm simply trying to purchase an item with money that I have.

Apparently their slyness worked on me, because a couple of weeks ago I accidentally agreed to sign up for BML! Of course my own negligence is largely to blame for the mistake, so I was upset with myself as well, and I decided that I would continue using Paypal, but avoid using BML. Well today I made a purchase on eBay using Paypal, and I accidentally made the payment using the BML service! I did not know until the purchase was done that I was using BML, and I certainly never knowingly chose to make BML my preferred payment method.

So I went to the Paypal website with the intention of paying off the balance. When I sign in, my account overview immediately comes up showing the purchase I had just made, and under "payment status" it simply says "completed". At this point I was confused because I expected it to say "bill me later" or something like that, reminding me that I still have to pay for it, but it was really made to look like I had already paid for it.

When I clicked on the "details" link for the transaction, it was a full page and a half that said nothing about BML until the very bottom of the page. I clicked on a very small link there at the bottom of the page that said "schedule a payment", which took me to the BML payment page. Finally, I can pay for this stuff and be done with it!!! But no... it says there is no payment due, and I cannot make a payment until a payment is due!!!

Paypal says that BML is a free service, and there is no way they would try to push a program on customers if they were not going to make any money off of it. It is not free. Read some of the other reviews on here. They want you to use it, they want you to be late on paying it back, and they really want to charge you as many fees and as much interest as possible!!!

I know some people think it's OK for businesses to do anything they want to make a buck as long as its technically legal, but when a business tries to trick me into using and defaulting on a line of credit just to squeeze some late fees and interest out of me after I have been a loyal customer, then I will do business with them no more.

Replies
Advertisement
Blocked From Using Bill Me Later - Pay Pal Account
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

NEW YORK -- As a Member of PayPal for many, many Years, I opened up a Bill Me Later PayPal account, just 4 weeks ago. I Bought a few things from Ebay using Bill Me Later, had a small Balance of 150.00, decided to make 3 payments earlier thn waiting a month when it was due. Now er I have a Balance of only 30.00, which is not due till next month. I made a purchase on Ebay yesterday for 18.00, and was trying to pay for it with Bill Me Later, and it would not be accepted. Kept saying error in RED. So, I paid for it with my PayPal account.

Now I call Bill Me later, and discuss this problem, asking them why I am blocked out from my own account, and told them that I just opened up this account which they personally verified and approved since I have been an outstanding PayPal Customer forever, and they could not answer me in one sentence. I got the runaround, and NO one answered why this happened. I Went from one person to another all Day?

Now, Having Excellent Credit my entire life, having Paid my Bill Me Later Balance within 3 weeks of opening this account, Having an online Business which I use PayPal everyday for over a Decade to receive payments, etc. Finally when no one had an answer, I was told that I was chosen as a Random person fraud check and that the only way to unlock/unblock my account was to show proof of who I am for their Fraud whatever? I said "Did anyone make an attempt to use my account?" Their answer "NO". I said "I only used it 4 times, and you accepted my early payments with no problems", They said: "Correct we Agree".

I was then Told to fax: my Driver's License, and a Bill from my Home address to prove who I was, in order to unlock this Bill Me Later account. I faxed the 2 items over, called back today to see if they received it. I Was told, "Well, we don't know if we received it." Then Told when they do receive it, whenever they will look at my fax and get back to me in possibly 3 days. I spoke to PayPal, Bill me Later, and a Total of 15 people, and was treated with nasty and disrespectful people, still doubting WHO I was, still after explaining that I was chosen randomly for their fraud experiment.

I personally think they had a Glitch, and screwed up!!! I will wait for their email, or call, I will pay my Balance of 30.00 in full, which isn't even due for another 3 weeks, I will close this account, and pursue this legally. How Dare they treat me like a ** Criminal. I've had outstanding Credit my entire life, and have never been treated with such disrespect. I remained pleasant talking to each person, I even had a Lady from PayPal, try to intervene with Bill Me Later, and they talked ill about her too Saying she shouldn't get involved, this isn't her business even though we had a case number from PayPal, and Bill Me Later.

I answered Multiple choice questions, to 3 people, and I answered them all correctly. I gave the last 4 digits of my SS #, My address, my Everything on file, and still I was being badgered. I have just read all the negatives on Bill Me Later, and I can tell you, if this is the way people have been treated, then I believe them all. The last Lady said to me from Bill Me Later, "Well look at it this way Honey, suppose someone was really trying to get into your account, Wouldn't you want us to treat them the same Way?" WTF?? Are they Joking? They just approved me a month ago, and then they pull this BS.

Replies
Not Honest At All!!!
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

OAK PARK, ILLINOIS -- I had my Bill Me Later account for about 7 months and already I don't like their services. Something told me not to make another purchase with them. When I first opened my account there was an issue with them honoring my 6 months no payment and it clearly states so when you log in to PayPal. So, I brushed it off, then recently I moved into a new apartment last month. So, I need a couch and a rug. I paid them the money I owed them and I decided to use it again.

I purchased my couch and rug through Wayfair. I wanted to do it under 6 months no payment & no interest which I thought I done because on PayPal it states "Do you want to put this purchase on 6 months no interest and payment and it applies to a purchase over 250?", so I click yes. So this was a easy way for me to purchase furniture because I was short on cash and just moved.

I thought it was OK, but when I went to check my account it said I had a payment due from that purchase. I thought maybe it was a mistake, so I called Bill Me Later for them to resolve the issue. They said, "OK we will submit it to be reviewed". So then I received an email that said my review has been processed, look for changes within 24-48 hours, if any. So then I checked it again still no change. I then called them, gave them my account info and everything... The girl says, "Well we contacted Wayfair and they said you had to make a purchase of 500 dollars." (My purchase was 427.)

This was unfair because I was under the impression that I was under the promotion for purchases over 250 not 500. Wayfair never said I had to purchase 500 dollars worth in furniture. I'm so angry because I want to pay in 6 months and that was misleading. I will never use them again because they don't know what they are doing. I wouldn't recommend anyone to use them.

Replies
Bill Me Later uses bait and switch as an unethical service
By -

ONLINE, CALIFORNIA -- Hello. In April of 2011 I purchased a $109 item for my pool on eBay. I used my PayPal account. Fast forward to Jan. of 2012 and I get a call from Bill Me Later on a Friday threatening to send me to collections. I Google Bill Me Later and find out they are owned by PayPal. I log into my PayPal account and after an hour or so find no help, other than complaints about Bill Me Later. Next I try to set up an account on Bill Me Later, this never works. Finally on Monday I talk to a human being at PayPal without help and then Bill Me Later. She tells me I need to set up an account with Bill Me Later.

I ask her "How can I have an outstanding bill from Bill Me Later and NOT have an account with them?" She says I just need to activate it. At this point I have wasted 3-4 hours dealing with this since the phone call 4 days ago. I finally get to see my account status and it shows my purchase of $109 and then my current balance of $184! The $75 (80% interest!) is all due to extra fees and interest due to non-payment since Nov of 2011. This is the first time I get any information from anyone about this - 9 months after the purchase!!! This business is a bait and switch via eBay and PayPal.

The transparency is utterly lacking and they are using the power of eBay & PayPal to abuse their customers. I have been purchasing items regularly on the internet since the 90's and this is the worst case I have come across to date! I use mint.com to track 99% of my purchases and this business is obviously abusing the "bill me later" concept to add on massive interest after the purchase of a product.

Replies
Advertisement
Should Be "Screw Me Later"
By -

BEWARE! Bill Me Later manipulates your PAYMENT DUE DATE so it does not correspond to the date your 6 MONTHS NO PAYMENTS offer expires! When I open my bills, I look to see when the payment is due. Right? I'll bet you do that too, because woe to the poor schmuck these days who pays their bills late. So my final payment to SCREW ME LATER - I mean Bill Me Later is due on March 8th. But wait! Elsewhere, I find the offer expires March 1st. So even if you make your final payment on time, you'll get socked with the interest payments that accrued on the entire balance! Is this a coincidence? Of course not.

Bill Me Later relies on an inattentive consumer to TRICK them into paying the heinous 19+%. They want you to overlook their underhanded scheme so you're trapped. AND THEN THEY further trap you by making it difficult to make a payment quickly to avoid paying the interest. Can you make a credit card payment? YOU CANNOT. Can you make a PayPal payment? After all, this company is owned by PayPal! YOU CANNOT. The only way you can make an emergency payment is by ACH debit to your bank account - and I'll bet they manage to delay that payment until your "no Payments" offer expires.

I always respected and trusted PayPal before this - and I've funded thousands of dollars in transactions, both buying and sell via PayPal - but they jumped the shark with this scheme. PayPal will rue the day they started this devious business. Oh, I almost forgot: their "customer service" personnel are trained to mindlessly repeat "Your statement is printed correctly - it's up to you to blah blah blah.." In essence they are saying "You got screwed, but we have our asses covered, so we're not going to help you."

Replies
Bill Me Later Late Fees
By -

ATLANTA, GEORGIA -- Complaint Description: In August of 2009, I made the required payment to my account then at the end of August 2009, I set up automatic payments through my bank, which made my next payment. It was received a couple days early so the computer did not include it for the next month, September. I made my October payment at the end of September, November payment at end of October, Etc... Since it was done automatically I was unaware of the late fees that were being attached. I called on December 29 2009 and was told to send a letter in to their fax, 443-921-1996. I did so and received no reply. Called again on 1/16/10, was told same thing. Faxed again, no reply.

1/26/10 spoke with **, refunded 1 late fee, refused rest, I asked for a manager, was told "no" and hung up on. Called back and was transferred to **, Supervisor in collections. He made another refund of 1 late payment, but refused rest, and would not let me speak to his supervisor. Called back again and left message for Supervisor to call me. ** called me back and informed me there was nothing she could do. Refused to give me next supervisors number but said she was ** and I left message for her to call and she never did. ** acknowledged fax was received. I sent one on 12/29/09, 1/16/10, 1/26/10.

Called again on 2/2/10 and left message for Supervisor ** to call, no response. My account is paid in full minus late fees/finance charges for late fees, and they have received a payment for every month without fail, even early, but they refuse to correct this and sent me a bill for $109.92. I called today and was told nothing could be done, refused to give me a supervisor and was told to make another Written request to remove the fees they charged me due to their acknowledged mistake.

Replies
Bill You? Heck, We Won't Even Give You Credit!
By -

SALT LAKE CITY, UTAH -- I have been a BML customer since May 2007. My first purchase was about $400. I promptly paid it off before my deferred payments ran out. Since then, I've increased the amount of my purchase and then paid off my balance in full before the deferred payment timeline ran out. My largest and most recent approved purchase was in the $1200 range. All went fine, and I recently was happy to pay it all off, before my deferred payment time frame ran out. Wanting to pick up an anniversary gift for my hubby, and still anticipating my tax refund, I used my BML account on a purchase at newegg.com. The total purchase was just below $500. I was declined.

I was really taken aback. I then put the purchase back through for a bit less than $400 and was again declined.
Bill Me Later has the right to decline a transaction for any reason, and I understand that. But this is TERRIBLE service. They are making money hand over fist, as they should be, but not treating their customers with respect or valuing their business. There's no reward for being a repeat customer, and in the past they have said on their site and through customer service that they review your BML history in relation to every credit decision. Well, not in my case.

While I can't prove it, I have a feeling that I have been declined simply because, over the past 2 years of being a client, they've not made a dime from me on interest. Asking Bill Me Later yields only this reply: "You tried to purchase something too expensive, lower your purchase amount." Or: "It's the economy." Neither of which make sense if, indeed, your overall relationship with BML is taken into account and is positive.

Customer Service will not help, no matter how nice (or angry) you become by their inability answer even basic questions. You will only get boilerplate responses and form email replies. And if you call, don't be surprised if you hear what sounds like a party going on in the call center.

Based upon my experience - I would advise against using Bill Me Later. Use your credit card or debit card, get points and know exactly your credit limit and how the rules work. Let your credit card company report your good behavior to the credit bureaus, as Bill Me Later won't do that for you - and they really don't care about service. The poor service alone makes the extra few months to pay something off completely not worth it.

Replies
Fraudulent & Deceptive
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

I started using BML in October 2012. My first charge was for Toys R US and was a deferred payment until May of 2013. During that time, I used BML for some smaller charges. I made another deferred payment charge with Toys R Us in January 2013 and one more from Ebay in May 2013. I noticed my balance of current charges wasn't getting paid off so I went back and looked over all of my statements.

Well, I noticed that my DEFERRED payments were being paid on every month! The first deferred payment (not due until May 2013) was paid OFF before I received my March/April Statement. My second deferred payment (not due until August 2013) was paid OFF before May. My third deferred payment (not due until December) is also having payments applied. I emailed them and received a response that basically told me I had to call. They told me they were applying my payments according to some credit card act, blah, blah, blah. They also said that payments will start being made on a deferred payment if it is within 1-2 billing cycles of when the payment is due.

I called this morning and the gentleman I spoke with started rambling on about my payments. He told me I had to call and allocate how I wanted my payments made. WHAT?! Apparently, a DEFERRED payment takes on another meaning with BML. I told him I wanted the money that was applied to my December payment removed and applied to my current charges.

I also told him how upset I was that I had to CALL before making a payment to make sure the money gets applied to my current charges. He told me I didn't have to do that since my deferred payment wasn't due until December and it didn't fall into the "1-2 billing cycle rule" and that all payments would be applied to current charges. I had to reiterate that the purpose of my call was because that payments ARE being applied to the December deferred payment so that "1-2 billing cycle" rule doesn't apply here. He told me he would have to call me back.

I feel this company is very deceptive. If a payment is to be deferred, then payments being made should be applied to current charges and not deferred charges until the due date that is listed. I had been making extra payments so I could pay off my current charges. I am very frustrated and irritated as I now have to make EXTRA payments to pay off current charges that should have already been paid off but were instead applied to deferred payments. I will never use this company again.

Replies
Advertisement
I'm not even a customer!
By -

So I started getting calls from Bill Me Later on my cell phone. At first it was annoying, mostly because the calls would come and I would wait on the phone just to learn that the call came either after or before business hours. How can a company call you when there's no one there to take your call? I only stayed on the line to explain that the person they were trying to contact wasn't me, didn't live with me, and they had the wrong number.

After a couple days of this I got tired of it and found a customer service number. I finally got to talk to someone about this, explained that I was not the person on the account and that they were calling my personal cell phone which cost me minutes every time they called. At this point I thought it was over, wrong. I get a call the very next day, I talk to someone about the problem again, they saw that it was noted that this was the wrong number and noted it again.

I get a call the very next day and talk to someone a third time, this time they told me there was notes on the account stating they had the wrong number, but because they didn't have the right number they would keep calling me until they get the right number.

Now how can you do business like this? I'm obviously not the right person, I don't know the number, I don't even have an account, you have no right to call me, and yet you're telling me it's in my hands to get you the right number? To me this just screams fraud, they waste my time and money and have the audacity to tell me I'm responsible to get them the right number? Do your job and get it yourself! Stop bothering me about it! I will never do business with this company ever! I would suggest the same to everyone else as well, unless you like being bullied by people over the phone.

Replies
Bill Me Later WILL Screw-You-Later
By -

"Bill Me later" will end up "Screwing-You-Later" if the situation arises. Here's what happen to me. Bill Me Later has this sweet deal. You buy your stuff and they defer all payments and interest for 6 months on selected items. I couldn't resist so I bit. Well turns out I'm the sucker fish now.

One of two of my laptops went south a week after I had it. The vendor agreed to have it exchanged. The way they do it is, they process the return and order another one as new. When they went to charge the new one on my "Bill Me Later" account it was declined. I have an A++ credit rating across the board. I have more credit than I'll ever use and when I do use it, I've never missed a payment. Oh yea I'm employed and I make well above the average salary. So what's the friggin problem here?

Hp was nice enough to call "Bill Me Later" with both of us on the phone and they flat out refused to allow the transaction to go through stating that I didn't have enough credit history with them to allow another $2300.00 charge on my account. Well if that's the case, then why did you allow the first one go through for $4500.00+!! This is without a doubt the most insulting company I've ever dealt with.

The follow day I got an email from them stating that they're not a credit company and they don't set credit limits. This tells me that they didn't even attempt to get it authorized; rather, they just denied I for no apparent reason. I guess they don't bother to even call the original credit company that they used for me for an approval. What kind of crap is that?

So be that as it may, I wiped out a credit card and charged the new laptop on one of the six on Visa credit cards I have. So because of this, now I lose big! Instead of having deferred payments and interest for 6 months, I have to belly up the cash to pay off one of the two laptops by the end of the month. Never again will I ever use “Bill Me Later”. It's not worth it!

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >

Bill Me Later Rating:
Star Half star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.3 out of 5, based on 30 ratings and
80 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
Bill Me Later
9690 Deereco Rd., 7th Fl.
Timonium, MD 21093
443-921-1900 (ph)
443-921-1985 (fax)
www.billmelater.com
Compare Financial Services