Preview Review

Next Review

Budget Rent-A-Car Consumer Reviews

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Disappointing
StarStarStarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 3/51

MADISON AIRPORT, MICHIGAN -- They lost cars in a flood apparently and they tried to downgrade us without telling us - and without taking money off. We specifically paid more money for a larger vehicle WEEKS in advance. We would have been totally understanding if they had called to explain ahead of time that they had problems with vehicles due to the recent floods. Nobody ever called or explained anything and just expected us to downgrade for the same price. We complained and got what we paid for/reserved but we had to wait an hour for them to find the vehicle. The employee literally wandered around the parking lot mindlessly for an hour.

Replies
Advertisement
Never Renting From Them Again
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

INDIANAPOLIS, INDIANA -- I have never had a worse customer experience in my life than I've had with Budget rental today. I set up this rental car for my boss. The location (4555 N Keystone Ave, Indianapolis, Indiana, United States-(ID3)) was completely unresponsive and did not answer their phone over 20 times. We requested a pickup, and they never showed up. My boss was finally able to get through to them, and they were rude, then put him on a hold which disconnected after 10 minutes.

After multiple call-backs and multiple disconnections, they refused to serve him. Meanwhile, I could not get through to the location and was continually transferred to the corporate customer service line. The corporate service line over and over told me I needed to call the location- an impossible task, as I could not get through to the location. No one on the customer service line could offer any solution. I was continually transferred.

After being transferred finally to a manager, the manager was incredibly rude and unwilling to listen to a word I said. This obviously escalated the situation. I definitely raised my voice; He continually was speaking over me not listening to a word I was saying. He kept accusing me of not knowing what was going on, when I kept telling him I just explained what was going on.

His rudeness was completely unacceptable. He refused to transfer me to anyone else and refused to help me. Long story short, and over two hours of aggravation later, my boss was left with NO solution, and Budget did not even try to provide one or make the situation right. I will never use Budget again if I can help it.

Replies
Absolutely Horrible
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

MIAMI, FLORIDA -- This rental car company is the worst. I will never use them again. It seems that they continue to accommodate customers that are not ready to rent cars and make us customers that have reservations and that have already paid standing in line for an hour while they figure out the issues. I WILL NEVER USE BUDGET AGAIN. And I have instructed my company to do the same.

Replies
Truck Rental
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

NEW JERSEY -- I reserved a rental truck from Budget and even received a reminder email on 11/26/2015 verifying and reminding me of my reservation **. When we went to pick up the reserved truck located at (Budget of Federal Way) 34225 Pacific Hwy S, Federal Way at 8:00 AM, the dealer was not open and was about 25 minutes late in doing so. Is this how you want Budget to be represented?

When they arrived at approximately 8:25 AM, we were told they did not have any trucks and could not help us. I was at the very least upset but it gets worse. I contacted your Corporate Customer Service at 800-455-1332 and I was literally told the same thing but they added, “Someone from Budget should have contacted you about not having a truck available.” These comments were made by a fleet manager, I believe his name was **. I did not get any phone call only the confirmation and reminder email. I was also reminded by ** to look at my rental contract.

Only a hint that Budget does not guarantee anything and it appears your contract is only downside for your customer. I trusted that I would get the service I expected. You should be ashamed!! I am a mid-level manager for a large corporation and if anyone that worked for me provided the same answers to our customers, I would at a minimum given them some sort of corrective action if not fired them.

While looking up the Budget Corporate office address, I noticed social media posts about Budget which I included in this envelope. Have you ever read these? You should be ashamed of the postings about Budget's poor service. I also realize that often time people do not share good experiences, only bad. I do share both bad and good. I have already signed up for a Twitter account so I can share my Budget experience with the world. I contacted Penske and they were very professional and found a truck for me.

I do not expect anything from Budget. You should be thankful that there are some people that share experiences with you so you can make things better, based on the social media postings that does appear it will happened. I will also contact my company's corporate Travel Manager about my Budget experience. I want to make sure others at our company do not, nor have the same experience while traveling as I did with a truck rental. I feel sorry for you, I am blessed to work for a company that cares for its customers. I do hope your admin gives this to you. My admin gives me the bad news too. I am still flabbergasted!!

Replies
Advertisement
Absolutely Horrible
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

ORLANDO, FLORIDA -- I prepaid 2 months ahead of time. When I got to the counter there were 2 police officers detaining a man. I surmise it was an irritated customer. There were (I am not exaggerating) 35 people waiting. Instead of taking 1 agent at a time they were talking to all of them at once. We waited more than an hour to get to the counter. We even cheered when a customer finished at the counter. They gave me a space # but forgot to mention that the space was in another car rentals area. Of course there was no one around to help. I was a nervous wreck when I got out of there.

This is the second time I have experienced this in the past year at this location. I blame the management and the company for not seeing it. There had to be at least 4 people that left the line and went to another rental. I don't know if they realized that there was a penalty for being a no show or canceling. But there were a lot of people pissed off about it including me!!!

Replies
Beware - Do Not Rent From This Company
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

KAHULUI, HAWAII -- Beware and do not rent from this company. These sleazebags are trying to charge me $272 for a bald tire that blew out. Roadside service said this and one other tire was disintegrating and unsafe to drive on. Budget is actually trying to hold me responsible for this wear and tear item caused by their irresponsible maintenance of the vehicle. They expect me to pay for an existing item that occurred over thousands of miles which I did not cause.

My bank is reversing the charges and said Budget has no right to charge me. Budget states they will continue to aggressively pursue collection on it. It is interesting to note that Budget Rent A Car has an F rating with the Better Business Bureau, and this rating is reflective of worldwide corporate owned rental locations.

Replies
Customer Service Is Not a Priority
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

AKRON/CANTON, OHIO -- I reserved & prepaid for a rental out of the Akron Canton airport. Because my flight arrived after the closing time I called before reserving the vehicle to inquire as to whether they would stay to give me the rental; I was assured they would and they put my flight information into the system. I know this was done because when I called on the day of the reservation to again confirm someone would be at the counter to assist me my flight information was repeated to me.

Upon my arrival at the airport, at midnight, there was a sign on the Budget counter saying go to the Avis counter. There was no one at the Avis counter & the girl at the neighboring desk said "He left". When she messaged him he said there was no flight information in the system. When I called the next day to lodge a complaint I was told someone from corporate would contact me. With it being the holiday I didn't realize no one did until the following Tuesday.

When I spoke to a customer representative I was told that she wasn't sure why someone would tell me they would follow up because the counter closed prior to my flight arrival time. I replied maybe because they thought Budget cared about such a poor show of customer service & would be interested in attempting to right the wrong. Clearly I was wrong. Don't rent from Budget if you have a late flight or you'll be stranded at the airport!!

Replies
Incompetent Personel, Greedy Company
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

SAN JOSE, CALIFORNIA -- Two or three years ago I had very pleasant, courteous and professional experience with BUDGET in Sunnyvale, CA. And the price was right too. At that time, I decided to stay with BUDGET for my future needs. Disclaimer: I do need to rent a car once, sometimes twice a year. In other words, I am not a heavy user of the rent-a-car service(s).

My experience from Jan 14th, 2015: I needed a car for 5-7 days from Sunday Jan 11th, 2015 onwards. Called BUDGET's 800 number to make reservation. A lady on other side was very nice, polite, friendly and fast. Her name was Aisha, Usha or something similar - Japanese name. We agreed about the car (Ford Focus or similar). She gave me a quote for CCA $580, including full insurance, unlimited mileage and taxes. She said that cancellation of the reservation will cost me $10. If I do not pick up a car (or something similar) I have to pay $50. I agreed and gave her credit card number.

Unfortunately, my traveling plans changed before the pickup day. I needed to cancel or change the reservation. I was willing to pay $10 fee. Called 800 number. After many automated questions, I got on the phone a live person. I do not remember his name. His attitude, during the conversation was "I do not care about anything, I have to do what I am paid for." No friendliness, very annoying attitude.

On the bright side. He understood what I want to do. I wanted to change the reservation day from Sunday, Jan 11th. He said "No." He also said, "The full price is going to be $40 less than the original quote ($580)." I said, "Great, I like to Wednesday Jan 14th, 2015." He said, "No problem, I can do it for you." I asked him if I need to pay for the change outcome.

On Jan 14th 2015, I've showed up at the BUDGET office (San Jose International Airport) to pick up the car. The sales associate asked for the reservation number. I gave it to him. He checked his computer and said that I need to have another reservation number, because my reservation number was for the past Sunday Jan 11th 2015. I told him, I do not have any additional or new reservation number.

He said, in such a case, he will use the original reservation number to proceed with the process. The price is going to be $880 + $80 for GPS. Total of $960. I could not believe my ears. The price went $300 UP just because of the change of the pickup date. If I would have known that, when I changed the pickup date, I would cancel the reservation and go shopping elsewhere for the better price.

Reminder: the person, who made a change over the phone four days before, told me that the price is going to be $40 less than the original quote. I told sales associate that I am going to one of the competitors to get a better deal. Another reminder: I was at San Jose International airport where are CCA, 10 other Rent-a-Car offices in one row. He said, that I will not find a better deal, because today was a very busy day for all of them. Most of the cars in my category were gone. I said to myself... "Hmm this is a bummer."

Then I told him that I would like to talk to his manager. He said, "Ok...just wait, please, for a sec." Then I waited, 5 - 10 minutes. Nothing. I got bored and decided to talk to another car rental company (SIXT). The lady was very polite and friendly. She said, "Yes, we have car for rent, but not in Ford Focus price range. It is going to cost you $680 all included + GPS as a complimentary." So, I got 4-door BMW with GPS.

Went back to the BUDGET front desk. The manager did not show up yet. The initial sales representative was not there either. Few minutes later another gentleman came to the front desk. I thought... "Wow...great." This is the manager. I approached him and started to explain my case. He listened to for a minute, saying nothing. Then a lady next to him said, "No, he is not a manager. He is sales associate on training." Few minutes later the first sales associate came back (no manager yet) telling me that they cannot do anything to accommodate me. The price is $880.

I said to him "Ok, then please cancel my reservation." He answered, "No, I cannot do this. You have to talk to the company who gave you the reservation." I told him, "The company was the BUDGET and you work for BUDGET." He was firm. He said few times in a row, you have to call the company who gave you reservation. I wished him a nice day, left the BUDGET's desk and went to SIXT. Paid $680 to SIXT. Got a better car, paid $200 less than BUDGET and got GPS for free.

Came home, called BUDGET, one more time, to cancel the reservation. I explained to the gentleman the whole situation and asked for refund. He said, "Ok, I can cancel the reservation. It will cost you $50." Again, I could not believe what I heard. I told him that I was in the BUDGET's office to pick up the car on time. He still did want to waive the $50 fee. Then I asked him to transfer the call to his manager.

A nice person (Daryl) answered the phone. He was very polite, he listen to me, and he apologized for all troubles I had with their sales representatives. He also told me that I will get a full refund in 2-3 days. Conclusion: Stay away from BUDGET. You can spend your time better.

Replies
Advertisement
Budget Rented Me a Faulty Car
By -

LOUISIANA, LOUISIANA -- On July 11, 2011 I made an online reservation to rent a car from Budget Rent A Car. My reservation was for 6 o'clock. I got to Budget at 6 o'clock and my car was not available. The girl working at the front counter told me they did not have my reservation on file yet and sometimes it takes 30 minutes to an hour after the scheduled reservation time for reservation to come through their system. I then waited 30 minutes after my 6 o'clock reservation before I asked if they could check to see if my reservation had come into their system yet. It still had not.

At this point I asked if I could cancel my reservation and just rent a car without one. The woman told me they were currently out of cars and were only offering SUV's so unless I wanted to pay for an SUV it would be best to wait for my reservation to come through. To make a long story short my reservation was made for 6 and I was not in a car until 8. That was 2 hours after my car was supposed to be ready.

Come to find out the reason why it took 2 hours to get this rental car was not because my reservation had not come into their system but they did not want me to have an SUV for the car price. So they were waiting for someone to return a car before they would rent me a vehicle. Instead of telling me this they lied to me.

So I finally get in my rental and on my way. Once I got my rental car to my hotel I noticed that the headlights were not working. I did not think much about it at the time. I just assumed that the headlights were not turning on because it was still daylight. The next day I drove to Texas during the daylight and once I got there I just parked the car at my hotel and did not drive it at night. The next night though I did need to drive my car at night and the headlights still did not come on.

The parking lights and the bright lights worked but the dim lights did not. I called the emergency roadside assistance number because the Monroe, Louisiana office where I rented the car was closed. I was then informed that corporate could not help me out or send me a new car because the Budget in Monroe, Louisiana was not a car of the corporation which left me stranded in downtown Austin, Texas without a ride so I was forced to take a taxi to my hotel.

The next day was my day to return home and have the car returned. When I got to the Budget in Monroe I let them know the headlights did not work and I was stranded in Texas and corporate told me it should not be a problem for them to refund me one days off my bill because they were not able to send me a working car out. I was then told that they were not going to refund me any money because I did not call them to inform them the headlights were not working. To which I responded with "you were closed when I needed a new car and I was bringing the car back today so what was the point in calling?"

They told me that it was not their fault the headlights did not work in the car, they check all the cars before they rent them out. I know they did not check the car before they rented it to me because it had just come in. Four other people then came to the counter to put in their opinion on why I should not get one day refunded back to me. This one man who worked there asked me if the air went out in a home I rented would I expect money off my rent just because it went out. To which I responded YES too.

Needless to say all I got refunded from my $335 bill was $10.99 so I filed a corporate complaint and when I was filing the corporate complaint they also assured me they did not understand what the problem was with refunding me one day off my bill which was all I was asking for. I am waiting now to hear from someone that working in higher management in the Budget Corporation.

Replies
Do Not Rent From Budget, Unless You Have a Lot of Time to Call Them Regularly
By -

DO NOT RENT FROM BUDGET!!! ESPECIALLY BUDGET HYATT in SAN FRANCISCO!!! I rented a car through Budget on Sat, Nov 27, 2010 pick up 08:00 AM. The day I picked up the car I asked how to return the car. I was told to drop it off with the Valet they will take care of it. Well, that is what I did.

To my dismay, one week later I get charged -93.25. Instead of 54 USD Total. A few Days later I get charged another -24.39. I called budget, they said it was not their problem and I had to dispute it with the desk. I found out that I was charged 2 days and that the car was checked out of the system on Sunday at 23.00. I had returned the car at 07.30 am before a 24 hour lapse. The location closed around noon on Sunday, and charged me the full Sunday.

If I was a tourist, and not renting from my location I would have had a bigger headache. The next morning I went into the location and disputed the extra charge with the manager. He apologized and said he would fix things. He even stated, "usually I send budget an email". One week later I still did not receive my Money. I called the Budget Location at Hyatt San Francisco, again he said he would send another email. Well the story goes that I had to call him often until I got fed up on the 28th November 2010 and wanted to complain with Budget head office.

Head office said they have never received the email. So I told them that this is an internal issue and that they must solve this problem. Budget central called Budget Location at Hyatt san Francisco, the manager did confirm that I was overcharged. And I was promised the refund.

On the 05 January 2010 I had been refunded only 24.39. I called Budget again and they said I was only refunded the day's rental and not the extra charges of late fee, second day of insurances. They therefore promised another refund of 31.01. But this was still 5 USD higher than what I was supposed to pay. I was told that the extra costs were insurances, and I had to contact Budget Location at Hyatt San Francisco and sort it out. I called Budget Location at Hyatt san Francisco, and the manager told me that Budget central had charged me 2 days of road side assistance, instead of one. I called Budget central again and they refunded me the extra 5 USD.

I have learned a valuable lesson:
-Get the car Time stamped every time you drop off a Rental (even though many rental car companies let you drop off keys in a postal box).

-NEVER RENT FROM BUDGET. I as the customer had to sort out their non communication between head office and local rental. This should have been the manager's responsibility to call. He should have realized that I had been calling for 4 weeks, and that the emailing system was not refunding my charges, and should have take responsibility and called the central budget location. Central Location should call their local rental to verify the charges.

Now the question is DO YOU WANT THIS HASSLE? HAVE YOU GOT THE TIME TO DEAL WILL ALL THIS?
Pay a little extra and rent from any other company except BUDGET. My rental agreement number is ** if anybody wants to verify my review.

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >

Budget Rent-A-Car Rating:
Star Half star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.5 out of 5, based on 27 ratings and
144 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
Budget Rent-A-Car
Customer Relations Mgr, PO Box 111580,
Carrollton, TX 75011-1580
800-214-6094 (ph)
www.drivebudget.com
Product/Services
Compare Car Rental Companies