Preview Review

Next Review

CareMore Consumer Reviews

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Caremore Medicare Insurance Is Extremely Lacking and Other Reviews Here Are Spot On.
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

RICHMOND, VIRGINIA -- I was amazed when I read all the reviews here for CareMore. None of them were from the state of VA because this is the 1st year it has been offered in this state. That being said, the reviewers all said exactly what I have found in my first three months with the plan.

I have several health problems and see 3-4 different specialists and my PCP quite often. Suffering from 4 health issues the plan looked like it was tailored to my needs. I met with a sales representative before choosing CareMore (in Va it's disguised as Anthem Health Keepers because Wellpoint bought Anthem as well) and the cost savings looked great compared to any other plan out there.

Well I have found why it looked too good to be true. They have a very limited amount of inexperienced providers who are doctors, specialists and others. I had to change rheumatologist because my regular rheumy was not with the plan. There were only 2 that accepted the plan.

So the one that was chosen for me, knew nothing about the disease as she was just out of school. At the same time she insisted I be seen every 2 months rather than 3 months that is typical for my problem. I was also told that there would be several caregivers at the CareMore centers to provide free services. I wanted to get help from the nutritionist there. Except they do not have one as I was told they did when signing up.

Then there is the problem of DMEs. (durable medical equipment) I had no problem in this dept. with other insurance carriers until I joined CareMore. Before everything worked like clockwork. Now with very few providers, I'm having a very hard time getting my supplies. I lost out on 2 months of catheters and was told my doc would have to do a referral every month for this DME. The 2 months I missed came out of my pocket. Also my cpap supplies have to be done through referral every month by my docs and before they were shipped in 3 month supplies with just 1 doc referral at the start.

Several of the docs including my PCP are not happy with all the red tape this has caused. They have even expressed this to me verbally. I have been on the phone more than 20 hours (in the 1st 3 months being insured) with several CareMore employees. Talking to assoc. at the centers, member services and my personal sales representative trying to straighten out all the problems I and my docs and their staff have been having. In one instance I'm being stalled on getting referred because the only 2 ID (infectious disease) docs will not see me as one is not accepting new patients the other cannot or will not deal with a complex case as I have.

To sum up the situation (I have left out many thing to keep this short enough to read) if people from different states are all complaining about similar problems you can bet there is some credence to them. It's definitely company policies that create all this misery to those that made a very bad choice to go with CareMore. I will not stay with them past this year no matter the cost to find another health insurance provider.

Final analysis is that the staff, and people hired by CareMore will kill you with kindness to your face to fool you into believing that CareMore cares. When in reality their goal is to keep their cost down no matter the cost to the patient or their health. I wouldn't be surprised to see a class action suit in the future.

Company Response 04/19/2016:

Communication with our members helps us know if our members feel unhappy about services rendered.

This helps us set up an improvement plan for the future. Our goal is to give high quality service to all of our members. If you have any other questions, suggestions, or concerns, please contact Member Services at 800-499-2793.

CareMore

Replies
Benefits Badly Degraded in the Last Five Years Due to Anthem Blue Cross Management
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

CALIFORNIA -- My elderly mother has been enrolled in Care More for about 6 or 7 years. She had a heart attack about five years ago, and the care we got for her was very good. She went to contracted hospitals and also had excellent after-hospital care, and due to her benefits, made a very good recovery. Last month, my mother had to go to the hospital again and spent some weeks in a skilled nursing facility, but this time around, it was a very different experience.

Anthem Blue Cross is now managing Care More, and the benefits have severely degraded. Some after hospital care doesn't even kick in now until 7 to 10 business days after the patient comes home, and you can't use your benefits as you need them, but only as the company parses them out. They were supposed to provide blood pressure machines and other equipment, but have effectively found ways to not provide them. If you are considering a Medicare Advantage Plan, do not go with Care More. They have now been absorbed into Anthem Blue Cross and do not deliver on their care for the patient. I've spent countless hours on the phone trying to find solutions for the benefits Care More was supposed to provide.

Replies
Disappointing, time-Consuming, Incompetent, Disorganized, Unprofessional, Bait and Switch, Etc.
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

TUCSON, ARIZONA -- Several issues with my neck. Carotid Sinus Hypersensitivity and nerve damage. Described symptoms with PCP and PA. Muscle relaxants prescribed. No help. 18 months later I insisted on seeing specialist. Vascular Surgeon for CSH. PCP secured authorizations for Vascular Surgeon and Neurosurgeon. Traveled 1000 miles to make my appointment only to learn Neurosurgeon authorization had been rescinded and Vascular Surgeon gave me the bums rush, not listening to anything I said. A sonogram was administered, and I was told everything was fine. Everything is not fine. Carotid Sinus Hypersensitivity is a serious condition.

CareMore suggested I go to their company Physical Therapist and pain doctor. I went to their PT for a shoulder problem early in my Caremore experience. Total waste of time. More of a social club than a place of healing. No way I would let these amateurs touch my neck with two serious undiagnosed conditions. Don't waste your time with this two-bit clip joint.

Replies
Very Poor Healthcare For Seniors
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

LAS VEGAS, NEVADA -- My problem started at CVS Pharmacy. I had four refills remaining on my ** but they said they could not fill the prescription because my doctor's office had a problem. My doctor had retired. I asked for an appointment to see another doctor. I did get an appointment, not with a doctor but a NP. I did go for the appointment but was denied the visit. I was not allowed to see the NP, or whatever they are called, since my new doctor was not located at the CareMore in the Mountain View Medical Building. He is located in Henderson!!

At this time, I had now been four days since I had my sleeping pills. Without the sleeping pills, I do not sleep very much. I have a back disc problem which causes pain down my left leg. It is only 3-4 on the pain level, but it does keep me from falling asleep. My wife was away, so I did not attempt to go the Henderson office. Now it is two weeks without much sleep, so I am a zombie thanks to Caremore and CVS. I will be leaving Caremore on Dec 6. Do not sign up with this Medicare Provider!!

Replies
Advertisement
I Regret the Day I Signed Up for This Insurance
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

HESPERIA, CALIFORNIA -- This insurance and the providers are absolutely ridiculous. The Hesperia Caremore Careless Center staff are rude and a bunch of liars. I have had more than one run in with a nurse practitioner. She is totally unprofessional, rude and nasty. I am so glad it's open. I am switching insurance so I don't have to deal with unprofessional liars. This situation has caused me to file a complaint with the medical board.

Caremore representative, if you read this, please don't bother to reply. I've heard it all before and frankly speaking I don't want to read about it either. Get your staff under control and maybe you wouldn't have such bad reviews. If I knew how to file a complaint against Caremore I would. But until I find out I will settle for the medical board. Wellness is not your top priority, neither is their well being.

Replies
Bad Experience
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

SANTA CLARA, CALIFORNIA -- I wish I had seen rating on this site. For some reason, Medicare gives Caremore the rating of 4.5/5. So I joined them in 2017. BIG mistake. I had changed 4 primary care doctors, none of them is competent. I have sore on my tongue and lips for month. They cannot find a solution for me. They did not even know what kind of specialist to refer me to.

The dentist office they have contract with are the worst ones. The office I went to was Northern Dental. I had to pay for my CT scan for implant. Their price is too expensive. I would like to get a second opinion. So I asked for the CT scan which I paid for. They refused to give it to me. I asked to talk to the manager. They told me she is busy and gave me a phone number to call. I called six times. They told me she will call me back. She never did. I went to the office again. Again they told me she is with a patient.

As far as I know, she is not even a dentist. I waited for over 20 minutes. Then they told me she is not there. I gave up. A few month later, I had a severe tooth ache, I tried to make an appointment. They told me the office does not want to see me anymore!!! I called the Caremore customer service. They agreed to assign me to a different dental office. But it won't take effect until next month. I told them I could not wait.

Finally they agree to let me go to Western dental. That office was a disaster. Very unorganized. The dentist did not care. They let me wait for 45 minutes, while the dentist and then a group of people was joking around in the hallway. Finally I got a dentist around 5:30, Took him only 20 minutes to extract the tooth. I was charged a lot of money. Then I read the review of the office. They got the worst rating. Most people did not want to go back after first visit.

Northern dental also did a crown for me. I fell off after 3 years, Which I read online, it said that it should last at least 5 years. I had one done twenty years earlier, it was still good. So I want to go back to Northern dental asking them to fix it. Again they refused to take me. I had to file complain to dentist association and Better Business Bureau. Finally he agree to fix the crown on condition that I withdrew my complaint with BBB. I need to find a new dentist for my regular care. With two worst experience I looked at all the ratings of Caremore contracted dentist, and found that the best rating their dentist was 1.5/5.

Bad experience with getting reimburse of oversea treatment. I hurt my ankle in China. I called them and got approval for getting treatment there. I will get reimbursement when I came back with the receipts, which I did. I just called got a call from the reimbursement department. They told me they only cover the emergency room expense. But they do not cover the medication to treat the injury!!! I asked them what use is it to have examination without paying for treatment. I was told that it is their policy. Can't you imagine such ridiculous policy?

Company Response 01/22/2018:

We would like to extend our sincerest apology with regards to your experience with CareMore. It is very important to us to try and improve the situation when there has been a misunderstanding or dissatisfaction with CareMore. Please contact us at (800) 499-2793 so that we may assist you directly.

Replies
A Giant Black Hole
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

CERRITOS, CALIFORNIA -- Apparently, there is ONLY ONE EMPLOYEE at the number given, and she can't be bothered to return calls. Anyone considering choosing a plan with CareMore: BEWARE. Pretty much like having no insurance at all.

Replies
Amerivantage Caremore Insurance Customer Service - Could Not Be Worse
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

CERRITOS, CALIFORNIA -- Customer service reps are clueless, there is no help whatsoever. The insurance has too many conditions and limitation, there are too many unnecessary steps, there is no transparency, no access to any kind of information. Since the insurance changed its name from plain CareMore to Amerivantage - it has got even worse, it is even more limitations and less help. This insurance is not designed to make your life easier. Everything is restricted, and you have absolutely no control of where or how you get necessary care. No choices, it has to be their way or no way.

Company Response 02/20/2019:

We sincerely apologize for your recent experience. Please contact us at (800) 499-2793 or e-mail to ContactUs@CareMore.com so that we can confirm your membership with CareMore and
assist you directly.

Company Response 02/22/2019:

We apologize for your recent experience and would like to help you resolve this issue. Please contact us at (800) 499-2793 or e-mail to @ContactUs@Caremore.com so that a representative can assist you directly.

Replies
Advertisement
Totally Unresponsive
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

TUCSON, ARIZONA -- Despite Caremore's response in the previous entry where the company states, "Communication with our members helps us know if our members feel unhappy about services rendered" you can bet you will receive no communication from Caremore until out of frustration you call them when there is a problem. The last two times my doctor has called in a prescription I find out from the pharmacy it "has been delayed by your insurance company". Does Caremore contact me to tell me it's been delayed? Why it's been delayed? What they are doing to resolve whatever the problem is? When it will be resolved so I can received my medication? NO!!!

You end up having to call them, you get a "gatekeeper" who has no idea what the problem is, and has no authority to make a decision or solve the problem! You are repeatedly asked to wait on "hold" while the gatekeeper calls 4 different people and still the matter isn't resolved.

In the end you have to raise hell with this second rate outfit. Also, when a visit to an emergency room and an X-ray revealed a growth on one of my lungs, Caremore referred me to a "doctor" who not only WAS NOT A BOARD CERTIFIED PULMONOLOGIST, she WASN'T EVEN A MEDICAL DOCTOR but rather a nurse practitioner.

I was sent for a biopsy and although she had received the results I was told they wouldn't provide me with the results until my appointment 10 days later. I guess I was supposed to worry if I had lung cancer for another week and a half. Once again I had to raise hell with them and demand the result NOW to get it. There are better choices out there - run from this cut-rate, unresponsive, outfit as fast as you can. This outfit needs to change its name from Care "more" to Couldn't Care "less."

Company Response 04/19/2016:

We apologize you didn't have a good experience with CareMore and we would like to learn more. Please contact us at 800-499-2793 at your earliest convenience. We look forward to resolving this for you.

CareMore

Replies
Caremore Could Care Less
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

LAS VEGAS, NEVADA -- I've been a member of Caremore since January 2015. My first visit, blood was drawn to check my lipids. Later I found a PCP and had my first visit. She was nice, prescribed my one medication. The End. This year I waited to hear from the office that it was time for my yearly check-up. Silence. Finally, I called the office and asked if she (the doctor) was still my PCP. Reception told me she didn't know, that I should call Caremore. I did. Finally got an appointment to see the PCP. Waited. Waited. Got in. Waited. This is nothing new to anybody on Medicare. You spend lots of time waiting.

What I wasn't expecting was that the doctor just sat and talked with me. She didn't even listen to my heart. She had me give a bunch of blood and told me to get a mammogram and a bone scan. The mammogram people called me to set up an appointment but told me that I had to contact the doctor to get authorization for the bone scan. I asked, "It's now my job to get the right paperwork for the bone scan?" The answer was yes. It's my job to call the PCP's office to get permission for the test the doctor ordered. I declined. Oh. The blood tests show that I have too many red blood cells and they are all too large.

I waited for my PCP to contact me, but she doesn't care enough to look at the results of my blood tests. Quest Diagnostics hold all my previous tests as well, and the PCP could have seen that in 2014 I showed the same results. Too many red blood cells and they're all too large. These people don't care about the patient at all. They get paid a certain amount of money every month from Medicare to manage our health. Essentially, they are being paid to do NOTHING.

I left Senior Dimensions Medicare Advantage Plan to go with Caremore, but the level of care I received from Senior Dimensions was by far superior to the lack of care I received from Caremore. Don't even think about using Caremore if you plan to survive another year.

Update 06/13/2016:

If I could, I would lower my rating.

Since I wrote the review, I had an urgent need for medical help because my condition has been hanging on for more than a month without being resolved. Yesterday, I left a voice message on the doctor's service, begging for help. It is now more than 24 hours later and I've had no call back. In an effort to do SOMETHING, I called Caremore and changed PCPs. I have an appointment with the new doctor in 3 days.

The fact that I'm stuck with Caremore until the Fall when I can jump ship to another Medicare Advantage Plan, really galls, but that's the way it works. After I'm safely out of their clutches, I will file an official complaint with Medicare.

Company Response 05/24/2016:

Hi,

We apologize you didn't have a great experience with CareMore and we'd like an opportunity to learn more about what occurred. Please contact us at 888-499-2793 for immediate assistance.

CareMore

Company Response 06/24/2016:

Hi Reluctantexan,

We take your health very seriously and would like to assist you immediately. Please email us at ContactUs@CareMore.com with your name & phone number, and we will assign a Case Manager to assist you directly.

CareMore

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >

CareMore Rating:
Star Half star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.4 out of 5, based on 29 ratings and
29 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
CareMore
12900 Park Plaza Drive, Suite#150, MS-6150
Cerritos, CA 90703
800-499-2793 (ph)
www.caremore.com
Compare Health Insurance Companies