Preview Review

Next Review Consumer Reviews - Page 2

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Run Away as Fast as You Can!
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

CALIFORNIA -- I Googled for car rentals near LAX. One of the first that popped up was Looked legit with all the major companies listed. Booked a rental with the lowest priced one - Economy Car rentals. Never heard of it, but whatever. Done deal.

Got into L.A., but plans changed and had to cut my three day stay short. No worries, I'll just return the rental and get refunded. Wrong!!! Economy Car rentals didn't want anything to do with the refund - "call," I was told, "and they'll refund you." I had to insist to get a receipt which stated that I returned the vehicle early... A little unnerving.

Sent an email to explaining the situation and requesting a refund, and here's what I got instead: "Unfortunately, you had a prepaid rental which could not be cancelled, changed or refunded. You agreed to these terms at the time you purchased it. As such, there is no refund for early return. Sorry."

Maybe I misunderstood the terms when placing my order. I know I misunderstood the part that says I am not dealing with the actual rental company, but a middleman (Maybe it didn't say that anywhere?). A middleman that does not want to give up a penny they have received from you! I've never heard of such terms with a car rental!

I honestly thought I would be dealing with the actual rental company. Just like you do when you buy an airplane ticket from CheapOair or Orbitz or something. You can call the airline and deal with them. Well, not here. WHY did Economy Car Rentals not tell me this when I went to return the car??? I would have kept it for the duration and let my son use it.

Never, never, never, never again! This goes for both of these dishonest, pathetic, Fly-By-Night companies. These guys haven't even HEARD the word "customer service"! Don't try to save $5/day like I did, go directly with a reputable company. Don't get ripped off! Take your money and RUN away from these highwaymen!!

Went Way Beyond My Expectations to Resolve a Scam With a Car Rental Company
StarStarStarStarStarBy -
Rating: 5/51

WASHINGTON -- I have used twice before, booking cars in Atlanta and Orlando. I received excellent prices to the point where I was nervous about bait and switch, but both went smoothly. Granted this is more on the rental company, and I've wondered, 'well what can do if they DO try to rip me off?

Well on a trip to LA I found out. My flight delayed, I looked up the location of the company I booked via First thing that came up was a review saying I was charged 5 times as much as my original reservation. As I ran through the airport expecting the worse, I made it just 5 minutes late and was told my rental - which I reserved via CarRentals for about $60 for the weekend - would actually be 89 a day before all the add-ons as if that mattered. After a bit of a battle I left and thinking of the previous review I read, decided to avoid the agency across the way thinking they may be in on it (turns out they do in fact share the same parent company).

I ended up at Alamo where I paid an additional 210 over my original agreement - only slightly less than the amount I refused to pay from the original location. To wrap up this long story, while my complaints to the rental company went unanswered, was incredibly helpful and responsive, a few times even contacting me when I had given up on hope of this being resolved. Finally, 4 months later I was shocked to receive a reimbursement for the difference in cost from the rental agency!

I'm still amazed they were able and willing to pursue this to the end; I've heard so many horror stories about rental companies that it seemed hopeless: really I was venting with no expectation of getting my money back. Given some of the negative reviews, I can only guess that perhaps they have realized their clout and are now wielding it to keep rental agencies responsible and their clients satisfied? After all, they can really hurt a company's web presence if they want to. I'll certainly use them and recommend them again.

Not Recommended
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

BUFFFALO, NEW YORK -- I had a confirmed reservation with (Enterprise Confirmation Code: **) with Enterprise, a company I have used before. On the way to pick up the car I received a call from the Enterprise location. Enterprise called me when I was in route to pick up the car to say "I don't know why you got a reservation, we do not have any cars. Here is a number to call." Thanks for leaving me stranded at the airport. I contacted and got a generic reply.

Here it is: " would like to thank you for emailing us with your comments. We continue to strive to meet or exceed our customers' travel expectations and if one of our affiliates does not fulfill their obligation to you, then we appreciate being made aware of their shortcomings. You had a confirmed reservation. There are times due to unforeseen circumstances, such as another renter not returning a vehicle or when unexpected damages occur to the vehicle, which cause the vendor to be unable to provide you a vehicle.

If you were able to obtain a vehicle from another source, you can contact their Customer Service Department to seek reimbursement if the charges were more than originally booked. Of course, any options added at the rental counter would still be at your cost. Contrary to the poor impression this experience has left with you, this is certainly not representative of the high quality of service we strive to give our customers."

A few days after I received a call from Charles the manager at Enterprise. He was apologetic and offered to comp a few days rental. Well, I do not need another rental car. I sent Charles an email asking for a gift card for the difference between the two rentals (about $30.00) and to this day I have not heard back. I thought this very reasonable for the inconvenience. Certainly I would not recommend either of these companies.

I would never use again. The rates may appear to be good but that isn't the way it turned out. It was a waste of time and an inconvenience. And to Charles at got my phone have my email. I am still waiting to hear back!

Scammers / Liars
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

I would leave a 0 star if I could. This company ( are scammers, liars, provide no customer support, and ultimately in the end cost me money with providing me no service what so ever.

Here are the details:

1: They booked me a car an hour drive away that showed to be available. My total was $88 for two days.

2: I am instantly charged $27 for their third party insurance.

3: I PAY $80 to get to the pickup location; an hour away, and surprise the car is not available.

4: I call to tell them what happen and they said we are sorry we can find you an other one.

5: They find the same freaking car, that doesn't exist, at the same place, that has 0 cars available. They tell me to go there. I literally ask "are you telling me to go back to the exact same place, that had 0 cars available, for the exact same car I just didn't get?" She said yes. They literally found the same broken deal on the website I found and told me to do it all over again.

6: I spend 15 min on the phone with the lady as she searched for an other car. She found 1 car, across town, for $180 total, $100 more then my original statement, after I have already paid $80 + $27.

7: I ask to cancel everything and for my $27 back. They said sure, right after this phone call you will receive a cancellation / refund email. That NEVER ever ever happened. They didn't even attempt to refund it.

8: I ask to speak to a supervisor, they said he was super busy and will call me back in an hour and a half. This also never happens

9: I had to manually call their hired third party insurance company to cancel it myself without's help after they told me they did it and the confirmation of the cancellation was coming to my email.

10: Oh yeah, at one point during this phone call the lady suggested I try going back to the website and doing it all over again.

Absolute nightmare. Horrible customer support. Scamming tactics in the sense they get third party companies sells so they get a piece of the pie for that, then don't help with those cancellations when requested.


StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

TEXAS -- says unlimited mileage but rental company said they only provide 250 miles per day. sold an insurance but rental property said it won't covered 12 seated van which comes under truck chassis. Called insurance company and mentioned the same, insurance company said the same and cancelled my insurance and refunded. Airport van rental gave me a van with oil change required sign with 0% oil life in it. I was not comfortable renting that Van, sales associates suggested it could be only sensor problem and wanted to check the oil itself.

They called some service guy and checked and found there was no oil at all in the engine. They said they do not have any other 12 seated car to provide me. They offered me 2 minivans but it would not fulfill my purpose so I refused that. They said, they will cancel the reservation and refund me. But the booking was through so they asked me to contact I spent over 3 and half hours just for nothing. I still needed the car as it was my family vacation trip and everything was planned.

I checked with all DFW airport car rentals company and luckily I got one from Budget but unfortunately I had to pay $1123 (more than 3 times). I am so disappointed with the service provided to me which caused a lot of hassle, waste of time and money. I called on the same day to cancel the reservation, they mentioned that they have to contact the rental company (airport van rental) and after getting the confirmation only they can refund.

Today, May 30th 2018, it has been 5 days already but I have not gotten any refunds or any emails. I just called and they are saying that they sent an email to airport van rental inquiring the same but have not gotten any response back. Still waiting for my refund. Cannot recommend anyone to go to either this place or book through Hope this helps.

False Advertisement
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

GEORGIA -- Completely unacceptable. I used this site as a first time customer for personal car rentals. Upon booking I was told I would receive unlimited miles and the price of the vendor selected was $10 cheaper a day than other competitors. I looked up reviews on the car company I was renting from and they were relatively poor but the bottom line was to make sure you read through all the documents prior to signing as they were great at adding additional charges. I went through everything with a fine tooth comb, clicked purchase, prepaid and then received a confirmation email stating details already relayed as well as look at the companies policies of the car company I had selected. I read through these as well following the due diligence the reviews had advised come to find out it was not unlimited. I called the car service provider thinking this might just be a standard form and did not relay to my rental and they confirmed additional fees would apply. I called to cancel the order with Car Rentals and explained the situation and to my disbelief Car Rentals confirmed they were aware of this and had several complaints of similar nature in the past and would be willing to offer a limited reimbursement but an administrative fee would apply. I cannot believe they would not make this knowledge accessible to the user PRIOR to booking and furthermore had the audacity to charge an administrative fee. When I went on to inquire what companies actually had unlimited mileage I was told they were few and far between and not offered ANY company to book from yet ALL of their car companies they use state clearly there is unlimited mileage. I thought that it was just the car company not clearly communicating with the site but I am baffled to hear that it is the site itself that intentionally hides the additional charges to make you feel as though you are getting a good rate. Word to the wise, if you are fooled call and cancel the card with your credit card company. You shouldn't have to pay this scam site a dime especially during a time of bereavement such as mine.

Worst Experience Ever!
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

TORONTO -- When I selected to get a good car couple days in Toronto, just read "An Expedia Inc Company" and I trust on it. I paid online normally and when I arrive to pick up the car, the salesperson just tell me that my card (the same card used to pay online) doesn't accepted. End. After long time looking for an online way or telephone to make a complaint in I found a "customer care" and the answer me:

"All car rental companies prefer payment with a major credit card. A few will accept a debit card, although there are usually some restrictions and conditions, such as a deposit or credit check. Once you make a selection with a car rental company, please make sure to check the 'Car Rental Company Rules and Restrictions' (bottom left of the booking page before you confirm) to find out if a debit card will be accepted. If you do not find the answer to your question, then email us with both the name of the supplier and the exact pickup location and we'll get back to you.

While prepaid reservations generally cannot be canceled or refunded, I have submitted a refund request to ECONOMYRENTACAR to request a one-time courtesy refund. You should see this processed back to your credit card within 5-10 business days but additional time may be required depending on your financial institution."

But today, Sept 26 (more than 20 days after) the same person just said: "CANCELLATION -NO SHOW- If you need to cancel or change your reservation, you must cancel and change it through the same website where the reservation was made at least 72 hours in advance.

On the day of reservation vehicles are held for two hours after reserved arrival time. After the two hours window, you will be considered a no show and we may or may not be able to honor your reservation, depending upon our availability. If you do not cancel prior to your arrival by 72 hours, or you are a no show, you will be charged a total of $ 50.00 plus mandatory taxes."

If you have the same problem with this company, please looking for victims and join us. We need to make viral this information. Thank you!

Work Experience Ever
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

This was by far the WORST experience I have ever had with rentals. I traveled with my fiancé, niece, older nephew, my youngest nephew, step daughter and my mom. Both children are under 6 years old and my mother is a senior citizen who has a few medical conditions such as severe anxiety, so you can only imagine what the wait at the airport was like.

I was in desperate need of assistance. I searched through hell and high water for a direct customer service number to reach and I kept on getting directed to an email. I was stuck in the airport till about 2:30am with two children. We paid for a cab that cost me $61 (not including the tip) and the driver was busy trying to watch a boxing match while driving. Again it is 2:30 in the morning and it was thundering and raining. I had to keep reminding him that we had kids in the car.

Once we got to the house we were staying at there was nowhere to eat within walking distance so we had to find a vending machine and give two hungry children chips and juice before bed. Do you understand how frustrating this could be? I canceled my reservation because I didn't know what the cancellation policy was for I ended up having to catch a cab that morning back to the airport which was another $55 (not including tip). To make another reservation through another company. I originally needed a minivan but because it was last minute I had to settle for a full size car for seven people.

Again, this is just poor business on the company's behalf. Had there been a 24 hour number available, I would've been able to speak to someone and save myself $116 plus dollars on travel. Not to mention the headache of two crying children complaining they were hungry. I have never been so frustrated in my life with any company. For whoever may be in charge needs to really consider a 24 hour 800 number just in case of emergencies and if there is one make it easier to find when searching because again I searched high and low for it.

So far the travel part of my vacation has been a nightmare. Again, seven people in a full size car that only fits five. As for my stay the island is beautiful but to get to point A to point B is a mission all on its own. I have been let down by the company horribly. I pray that for the sake of future customers there is a direct number to call.

Use a Different Company
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

Keep away! I set up a reservation with this company to pick up a car at LAX. I finished my reservation and I did notice that there was a no refund section, which I thought was fine because everything seemed legit. However, I call the rental car company to find out where they are and they aren't at the airport, they're off site. They also tell me they close 40 minutes after we land. I asked him would they stay open for us and he said no. He suggested I cancel the reservation.

When I try and explain to the issue that they won't even be open for pickup they said they will cancel it with a service charge fee of 50% (he said this was the car rental companies policy). I spoke with the rental company and they said that is incorrect, they haven't even received money from, and wouldn't charge if we couldn't get the car. kept insisting they could charge the fee for the rental company. I would highly suggest staying away from this company. Go directly to the rental car site.

Don't Rent From
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

I canceled a reservation within the time frame allowed... The reservation did not complete as expected and I didn't receive a confirmation notice. Unfortunately I was on the road in Europe and had difficulty checking my email to see whether it eventually came through. Only to find that it did not cancel and I did not receive a refund for my prepaid rental. I contacted support only to be told that it was beyond the time that I could cancel. Making it difficult to cancel within the allowed time frame is a bait and switch technique to rip off customers. In the past I was extremely happy with, but no longer.

Top of Page | Next Page > Rating:
Star Empty star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.1 out of 5, based on 124 ratings and
131 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
111 Town Square Place, PO Box 26
Jersey City, NJ 07310-1755
201-204-9940 (ph)
Compare Car Rental Companies