Preview Review

Next Review

Chase Bank Mortgages Consumer Reviews

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Chase Home Finance LCC Ohio Mortgage Modification Problems
By -

COLUMBUS, OHIO -- By applying for a Chase home loan modification or forbearance, they have turned around and hurt me financially even more! I have been trying to get a mortgage modification through Lake County, Ohio Fair Housing for nine months. What a vicious joke Chase played. The latest hit was a letter I just received from Chase that they are freezing my line of credit on my house (I didn't know I had one) because they learned that I was in financial difficulty!

I am just trying to finish school so I qualify for a job! WARNING: by applying for a modification or forbearance, Chase has turned around and hurt LOTS of people financially even more!!! They froze this line of credit weeks before they mailed this letter informing me!!!

My house is not worth less than when they financed it. They even re-appraised it during my attempted modification. So, how can they justify cutting off a credit line when the loan is secured - when I have never missed a payment! Could an even bigger profit motive be involved?

As an over fifty-seven year old displaced (unexpectedly divorced) homemaker, I was getting a grant from Ohio. That got canceled during the financial meltdown. Because I knew I would be facing economic hardship before my degree completion, I sought help for which I was qualified.

When I first got my Chase mortgage, I was assured it was a standard 30-year mortgage, but a "hybrid." Then, I learned from Fair Housing that Chase says it is an equity line of credit. That, according to what Chase told Fair Housing, disqualified me from a "forbearance" while I try to finish my degree. A couple weeks ago, they informed Fair Housing that they are not looking at "first mortgages" until late April. Why didn't they say that nine months ago?

When I applied, I was working many more hours. When they forced me to resubmit all financial data for different three month periods, I was working less and was denied modification on the grounds that I could not afford my mortgage! (This is a repeating cycle with them - all the while, my financial status deteriorates.) I have an on-campus student worker job - and campuses have numerous non-paid closed days! I am restricted by law to working a maximum of 25 hours a week during the spring and fall semesters! And, without an Associate's Degree, I cannot become a preschool teacher in Ohio!

I have been doubly screwed by Chase! I quit jumping through hoops to submit more documents, since I had figured out that they would never be satisfied - so they slapped this credit freeze on. Now, my credit is damaged! Thanks for nothing but stress and financial distress, Chase mortgage folks.

By the way, I am not the only one angry with you. Have you googled yourselves lately? It appears that your generous offer to modify loans may have been nothing more than a ploy to bleed your customers bone-dry before you foreclose.

I have written President Obama and all my state politicians. I am hoping to attach my name to a class-action suit. And, thanks for the toll-free number I can used to request a reconsideration if my financial status changes. The thought of dealing with you just warms my heart - NOT!

Thanks (truly) to a supportive family and supplemental work - I will not fail to make my monthly mortgage payments, even at the current interest rate. Unless, of course, you find other ways to harm me as others have reported - not crediting payments, throwing whole payments into escrow and filing foreclosure for non-payment on loan, setting up three months of trial payments, not applying them to the mortgages, demanding lump sums, then not approving the modified loan agreements, etc. Really. This is some bad business.

Replies
Worst Mortgage Company in the World
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

OHIO -- As the Seller I have been treated horrible, and after 67 days our home still has not closed and we still have no closing date. Working with Chase Mortgage has been a nightmare. Our pre-qualified buyer and I decided to use Chase Mortgage Banking since we're both Chase customers. However, if we had known in advance of the incompetence, inexperience, lack of professionalism and continuous resubmission of documents, we would not have used Chase to close my home.

Every time I tried to personally get information from the lender he said I had to ask the buyer, because he couldn't give me information for privacy reasons. Since when can't a lender give the Seller information regarding the buyer's documents status and the closing updates on Seller's home?

History: I put my home on the market December 8, 2017. The buyer and I signed the contract December 30, 2017. January 2, 2018 Rex ** of Chase Mortgage received our contract and said everything looked great and we should be able to close in 35 days or by February 9, 2018. The appraiser came on January 12, 2018 and we renegotiated the price based on the appraiser's low estimate (that is another complaint), with an addendum to our contract.

The new addendum was signed and submitted to Chase on January 21, 2018. By the way, per the original contract the approval letter should have been submitted within 5 business days. That didn't happen. Our buyer received her approval letter via mail on February 23, 2018.

Complaint: On February 6, 2018 when I complained to Rex **, Home Lending Advisor about the lack of communication on updates, changes, documents, closing and response to questions asked, he said not to speak with him and to solely communicate with our “first time” home buyer for information and feedback in the future. Chase lending has not been responsive to me, the buyer or the Attorney's office with updates or the closing status. After 67 days, no one knows what is going on. Is this how Chase Mortgage trains their lending staff to treat “valued” mortgage customers, or is this treatment reserved for Blacks and Hispanics?

After selling three homes, Chase lending has been the absolute worst experience. The treatment throughout this process is unacceptable. Every promise Chase Mortgage has made has been broken, without apology. HORRIBLE Mortgage to use. DO NOT torture yourself through the living hell of using Chase Mortgage Lending.

Replies
Home Modification
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

TEXAS -- In 2015 I did a home loan modification and received paperwork regarding it. In March 2017, I decided to look at selling my home. I called Chase and asked them for my payoff amount including the modification amount because I knew it existed. They mailed me the payoff. I meet with my realtor who asked me to confirm my payoff to ensure that I would not have any legal issues. I again call to ask Chase about my payoff. They again tell me it is "x" amount. I insist that they look again because I know there was an additional amount after the first amount was paid off that had to be paid. I'm told "NO", that amount doesn't exist, it was interest and no longer has to be paid.

I asked to confirm and they told me there was no other amount. I explained again that I needed a correct payoff because I didn't want legal issues later. I was told not to worry about it. I asked for a copy of the recorded conversation and was told I couldn't get one but they would have it on file. My home is still pending and everything is going good until the Title Company starts working on the documents for closing and a second mortgage shows up. I call Chase 2 additional times regarding this and am told there is only 1 mortgage loan.

The title company calls and is told the same thing, only 1 mortgage loan. They ask for it in writing and she faxes Chase the paperwork. Chase sends back the paperwork including a second mortgage that they said didn't exist.
I call them regarding it and am told that they are sorry they overlooked it. Four different times I called and they overlooked $31k. Even when I insisted I knew that amount existed I was told it was wiped clean because of the type of modification I did.

Chase Mortgage sucks and they don't want to do anything about their mistake because I signed a paper. Yes I signed a paper to modify my loan but I called 4 times regarding my payoff and advised them of that amount and still it's my fault. I DON'T THINK SO!!!

Replies
Changing Locks
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

FLORIDA -- I arrived at my condo in Florida and discovered that the locks had been changed and I was locked out. After I was able to get in, I discovered a notice that my mortgage company had requested that my locks be changed. The notice was from LPS Field Services (440) 633-4201. I called my mortgage company (Wells Fargo) and they had not ordered any such change. I am current on my mortgage payments.

Called LPS and they told me that Chase had ordered the change. Chase does not have my mortgage nor did they ever have a mortgage on this property. Yet they changed the locks. After a series of phone calls, I have new locks but without a satisfactory explanation of how or why this happened. They drilled my old locks off and came into my condo.

Replies
Advertisement
Chase Forcing Me Into Bankruptcy Overcharging Insurance on a $55K Mortgage Loan
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

MIAMI, FLORIDA -- I have been making my payments on time for 10 years. My mortgage went from $112K to $55K on a house with a market value of at least $250k. Due to change in financial circumstances I can no longer afford the homeowners insurance not at 5-6k per year. So I cancelled it. Chase has not purchased for me added fees of over $2,000.00 for the previous year (already gone with no claims) and this year totalling $10,000.00. I am living pay check to pay check still paying my mortgage on time. I need help and fast. Chase will not listen to reason or help me in any way. If anyone knows who can help me, please email me **.

Replies
Chase Mortgage
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

Chase sold my mortgage to a company that most people have never heard of and Chase did it after my home was flooded by Harvey. I went to Chase right after my home was flooded. Chase assured me they would work with me. Chase knew that I was going to try again to get home refinanced through them. I had tried earlier but the transaction was canceled because Chase did not get paperwork through in time so my money was refunded. I was going to try again once my home was back the way it was before flood.

Chase decided to sell my mortgage and the only way I found out was when I went back to Chase to ask them about my mortgage and if they could extend it further out like most mortgages were doing as I still have ongoing repairs. That's when I found out my mortgage had been sold and that Chase wanted the past months of mortgage paid now in two payments. If you currently have Chase as your mortgage lender be aware that if your home is ever severely damaged, they will more than likely sell your mortgage. If you are looking for a mortgage lender, I would advise someone other than Chase.

Replies
2.5 Months of Misinformation and Stress
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

PASADENA, CALIFORNIA -- I paid my mortgage off early almost three months ago and am due a check for the refund of interest I paid. Before I finished paying the mortgage off, my partner, who is also on the mortgage, died. Chase told me I needed a death certificate for him so they could send me the check in my name only. A representative in the personal savings department, where he had a checking account, said they had one on file.

I can't count the number of times I went from the mortgage department to the personal savings department with promises that it would be sent and then finding out that it hadn't been. It's hard enough repeating that I need a death certificate for a loved one to a new person week after week, but they finally told me they didn't have one at all. I sent the mortgage dept an original more than two weeks ago and since then three people have told me they will open a job order.

Yesterday I was told I have to send them a marriage certificate. Today I received a letter from them asking for proof that I have home insurance. Why would they need to see that when I don't have a mortgage through them? Awful, awful, awful.

Replies
Mortgage Insurance (PMI/MIP) the Bank Is Charging Both Is That Legal? We Bought the Home in 2005
StarStarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 2/51

BERWYN, ILLINOIS -- We bought the house in 2005 and they been charging us both PMI and MIP. At the time, I was working but right now I am taking disability from Social Security and the payments are taking my whole check. I have applied with Chase 3 times and they came out with a lot of problems, but never refinance me to see if my payment lower. We never fail a payment but look into the payments and notice they are charging us both PMI and MIP and at this point any extra charges that are take away will help. Thank you.

Replies
Advertisement
Chase Misapplied My Monthly Payment to Fix an Error They Made
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

PHOENIS, ARIZONA -- I do not have an escrow account. Chase paid my taxes and insurance in anticipation of a modification agreement I was considering. I was able to get the tax payments reversed but was unable to do so with the insurance payment. I called Chase twice and offered to pay them the same monthly amount I was paying the insurance company. I was told not to worry about it. When I paid my July payment they applied the insurance amount and left my July payment partially past due. I have two different confirmation numbers that supposed to represent their error being corrected but nothing has happened.

Replies
Home Mortgage Insurance Verification
By -

CALIFORNIA -- We have been notified 3 times by Chase our homeowners insurance is not current... despite the premium having been paid THROUGH our escrow account with Chase, despite verbal assurances the information is in their possession, despite the "form" letters we receive informing us the matter is resolved and "what we can do to avoid having this happen again in the future". All answers are scripted when you speak with customer reps, emails to corporate officers are returned with response "Diagnostic-code 550 - (Mailbox unavailable or access denied - "

The letters from Chase are becoming more threatening... such as they have purchased insurance for us at a higher cost that will only cover the structure of our home, not any belongings or mandatory liability, and oh, by the way, the insurance company will transfer a portion of the insurance premium THEY purchased for us to a Chase affiliate in return for a portion of the premium... in other words Chase will gain financially... and our payments will go up and if we don't pay the new amount for the insurance Chase bought there will be a late fee...

Best advice... do NOT use Chase Bank... or be prepared for battle similar to the 6 month ordeal we are STILL in... despite all the documentation from our insurance company AND from Chase.

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >

Chase Bank Mortgages Rating:
Star Empty star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.1 out of 5, based on 10 ratings and
40 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
Chase Bank
270 Park Ave FL 12
New York, NY 10017-2014
212-270-6000 (ph)
212-270-6522 (fax)
www.chase.com
Product/Services
Compare Banks