Preview Review

Next Review

Chase Bank Visa Cards Consumer Reviews

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
JP Morgan Ripped Us Off!!!!
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

WILMINGTON, DELAWARE -- BEWARE OF UNETHICAL BUSINESS PRACTICES OF JP MORGAN CHASE VISA Scenario: Several months ago, a certain credit card holder of JP Morgan Chase Bank Visa innocently ordered a SEWING MACHINE CABINET from an internet seller subsequently to be identified as CBUEIWO.TOP, FEEL FREE TO CHECK THEM OUT YOURSELVES.

To the customer's knowledge, FIVE MONTHS LATER: the seller has NEVER presented nor has the seller provided any evidence that a “SEWING MACHINE CABINET” was EVER shipped nor has a “SEWING MACHINE CABINET” ever been received by the customer – NONE what so ever! Not a shred – NOTHING what so ever! No shipping documents, no delivery documents, no receiving documents, NOTHING!

Six weeks later not having received the order the customer notified the seller by email to please cancel the order. And as such the customer also requested Chase Visa to dispute the charge. As of today, five months later the cabinet has still not been received by the customer.

For Chase, the ethical business practice would have been to; refund the amount charged to the Visa account to the customer and advise the seller to deal directly with customer – INSTEAD Chase made a conscience business decision to take the most slimy sleazy unethical business solution approach JP Morgan Chase Visa they could ponder up. JP Morgan Chase Visa made a conscious business decision defraud the customer:

Chase made a conscious effort to bully and terrorize the customer: charging her several hundred dollars late charges and interest, terrorizing with threating letters, turning customer in numerous times to credit bureaus for late payment, calling the customer all hours of the day and night several times a day, on numerous occasions outright lying to Better Business Bureau, again in essence using the sleaziest slimiest most unethical business practices they could ponder up – Chase Visa is the douche bag.

The customer has over the last several months accumulated several hundred documents of back and forth communications with Chase – always yes ALWAYS I said ALWAYS within 24 hours, Pinocchio Chase is taking the hear no see no say no approach – anything to defraud and steal what they can from the customer in effort to cover up their incompetent initially mishandlings!

As of today, the order still NOT received! AS FOLLOWS IS THE CUSTOMER'S FINAL RESPONSE (response 2 of 2) TO THE BBB Customer final response to the BBB: – Pinocchio Chase lied again to the BBB, shame on Pinocchio Chase! Chase has continued to lie about the sequence of events, one outright lies after another outright lie about the sequences of events, one outright lies after lie after lie!!!

I certainly did respond immediately virtually within minutes of receiving any/all Chase communication both email and mail ALWAYS without fail! To claim I didn't is another outright Chase LIE always a continuous stream of lies! ANYTIME Chase wants to polygraph I would welcome them versus me – in fact I WOULD PAY FOR BOTH! Come out you sleazy cowardly chickens CLUCK CLUCK CLUCK let's make it happen! Cluck Cluck Cluck COME OUT YOU COWARDS!!! You lied to BBB claiming you mailed your response letter to the customer on Monday February 24th 2020 when in fact WAITING until Friday February 28th to mail the customer response. YES, another example of Chase Visa sleazy unethical business practices!

Why would Chase do that? Like I said another Chase slimy sleazy unethical business practice: knowing that the BBB closes all claims to BBB at five days if no counter-response is made by claimant. By holding the customer response two days and knowing it would take an additional 3-5 business mail to reach the customer (that would be 8 days) they could deceive the BBB into closing the claim, another example of Chase Visa slimy un ethical business practice!

Chase Visa this is NOT going away! Lied to the BBB a flat-out bald face lies to the BBB did not mail on the 24th held 3 days before mailing! Slimy sleezy unethical business practice of Chase! Lied to the BBB! AGAIN! Shame on Pinocchio Chase Visa. I actually believe and after reading this you will also believe Chase Visa draws straws to see which can fabricate the biggest outright lie. WOW, lying to the BBB SHAME on Chase! Shame on Pinocchio Chase!!! And yes, I did save the envelope with the postage date, for future reference.

Chase had every opportunity to get this right reversing the charge LONG before the seller CLAIMED to have shipped the product. However, with malice of forethought Chase made the conscience CHOICE to shove it up the customers' butt RATHER than taking the CONTRACTUAL, honest, and ethical action – slimy sleezy unethical business practices! Why because it was easier to STEAL from the customer than to get the money back from the seller (did I mention you could Google CBUEIWO.TOP ) – the simple solution months ago! In other words, Chase botched the dispute then attempt after attempt to cover up with a continuous stream of lies!

Is Chase Visa criminally liable for constructive acts to defraud? I IMPLORE Federal and State Attorney Generals of all 50 states to go after Chase Visa for slimy sleezy unethical immoral breach of customer contract practices! This should be more than a GREAT example of a massive class action, after what I have experienced, I have to believe this has happened to hundreds if not thousands of other Chase Visa victims.

I DEMAND full RESTITUTION, a FORMAL letter of apology and a complete cleansing of my credit history not to mention Charter assignation, slander, liable damages! all because of the slimy sleezy unethical immoral business practices of Chase VISA! As of today, I have still NOT received the “SEWING MACHINE CABINET” for which Chase STOLE $190 PLUS $400 from me! Had they done their job in the first place (what they are contracted to do) this scenario would never have occurred. Instead they lie after lie after lie bullying, threatening, and terrorizing customers!

My credit rating once in the mid 800's never even remotely close to late payment for the most part always paying the entire balance PRIOR to receiving the statement – all prior to CHASE terrorize and bully tactics! Bullying slandering character assassination collection calls late charges multiple lies to credit bureaus multiple lies to the BBB, for $190 sewing cabinet NEVER received! LIE AFTER LIE!!!!

I am going to work very hard to post this every day to as many websites as possible. I want the world to know how slimy sleazy terrorizing bullying slandering character assassinating unethical practices by slimy Chase Visa – MY GOAL 50-100 A DAY! Did I mention seller is in China?? Did I mention the seller was CBUEIWO.TOP? However, I am sure that had nothing to do with Chases slimy sleazy unethical business practices. And YES, Pinocchio Chase does know all that you now know! I do have a PDF of all 100 pages documentation and communications readily available PLEASE PASS ON at every opportunity you have, Thank You!

Replies
Ever Dance with the Devil in the Pale Moon Light
StarStarStarStarStarBy -
Rating: 5/51

ANYTOWN USA -- Do you ever wake up in the morning thinking I should post a positive Chase review on the internet? Probably not if you're a moral person on the fast track to heaven living a life of good values and concern for your fellow man. Well my friends that's not me and indeed I'm writing a glowing Chase review. In Nov 2011 Chase said they'd pay me to get a Chase Freedom Visa card. An offer from Chase how can I lose. So I took the bait.

JUST THE FACTS: $150 cash back when you spend $500 in your first 3 months from account open, $15,000 initial credit limit, 0% APR on purchases and transfers for 15 months, 12.99% APR after 15 months, 5% cash back on up to $1,500 spent in bonus categories each quarter, 1% cash back on all other purchases, No Annual Fee, Standard Signature Visa perks

RESULTS: Cash back received Nov 2011 Thur Jan 2013: $1023.65, Average monthly Float: $8,353.12, Finance Charges: 0

GRADES: Online Banking: B+, Customer Service: A+, Ease of Cash Back Redemption: A+, Overall Satisfaction: A+

SIGNIFICANT ATTABOYS: Jan 2012: Received $100 to open a Chase Checking Account, Mar 2012: Coordinated my Trip to Germany with Chase. They provided me documentation and worked with a rental car company which allowed me to avoid mandatory rental car insurance. A savings of about 300 bucks. The Chase Rep coordinated with Chase security so that my Chase Freedom card worked in Europe without a hiccup.

FINAL VERDICT. I could not be happier with my Chase experience which is surprising given that Chase is a soulless mega corporate bank hellbent on enslaving mankind to international bankers. I got to admit though Chase taught me a little bit about myself. Indeed I will dance with the devil if price is right and eh sadly that price really isn't that much. Moving on... I have to commend the Chase CSRs. Always pleasant, knowledgeable, helpful and they speak the English good.

My plan back in Nov 2011 was the same plan I always have for any come on offers from a credit card issuer. Exploit the heck out of the freebies and then dump the card after the introductory offers so that in a year or so I will be considered a bribe-worthy NEW customer again. Not this time. I'm keeping my Chase Freedom card. Yeah, I was that impressed. If you're looking for a good solid Visa card I say give Chase a chance. You'll be glad you did.

Replies
Chase Manhattan Bank - A Pack Of Loan Sharks And Liars.
By -

Chase Manhattan Bank. They say they want to be your neighborhood bank. You see the new branches popping up everywhere. The TV is saturated with Chase commercials about how they're there to 'help you'. They're your friendly neighborhood bank. Right? If you think that, read how they treat a customer in good standing for 20 years.

I've been a Chase Manhattan Bank customer for 20 years, carrying a Chase Visa in my wallet since 1990. About 7 years ago, a few small disasters (including treatment for a pet) hit us in a row and we racked up a $12,000 tab on the Chase Visa card. At the time the interest rate was under 10% so it wasn't the end of the world. A year or so into paying off this debt, the post office delivered one of my checks late (21 days from the time I mailed it till the time it was delivered, so says Chase). My interest rate went to 29.25% and has stayed that way for years now despite never having another late payment made EVER.

Last month (June 2010) I FINALLY paid off the card IN FULL. I didn't negotiate anything I just paid it. We now owe Chase $0. Zip. Nada. I never complained once, I signed that filthy 55 page agreement (I didn't have a microscope handy to read it) and I'm a man of my word no matter how much I object to being taken by a loan shark.

Now, a month after paying the bill in full, I contacted Chase to see if they would now reduce the interest rate back down to something reasonable. Not a chance in hell. Nothing I can do, no one else to talk to, company policy, that's the way it is. Boy, great way to do business eh? A customer of 20 years pays a 12k debt off without a single complaint, calls to ask for an interest rate reduction on any future purchases. How do they treat that customer? By pissing down his back.

So, I've paid my debt. I won't contact the Better Business Bureau or make any additional complaints to anyone. I don't have the time and I don't really care as I am done with Chase. No, what I want to do here is WARN ANYONE AND EVERYONE who is considering banking with Chase. DON'T DO IT! If they don't give a damn about a customer of 20 years in good standing who DID RIGHT BY THEM, you think they are going to care about you? If your answer was yes well then you deserve Chase. If however your answer is no, I have done my job here.

That's all, thanks for reading and Chase Manhattan Bank - BLOW IT OUT YOUR **. -EXTREMELY DISSATISFIED CHASE CUSTOMER.

Replies
Scrooged: Very Poor Service on Christmas Eve
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

Scrooged: Chase United Mileage Plus Visa Scrooged us on Christmas Eve. We spend a LOT of money with them every month. On Christmas Eve, as we are trying to complete Christmas shopping, our card is declined. It turns out that we had inadvertently missed a small payment on December 19 (5 days earlier). They sent us no notice. They just cut off our credit on Christmas Eve. And, even if you paid over the phone, right then, they would not turn your credit on for 2 days (which, in the circumstance, does not help).

When called on the phone, they would make no exceptions, and would do nothing to help, and when I threatened to close the account, the phone representative actually initiated the process of closing the account rather than do ANYTHING to help the situation. On Christmas Eve. Any company that will Scrooge you on Christmas Eve is NOT a company that you should do business with.

Replies
Advertisement
Credit card customer service incompetent
By -

Chase clerks refused to approve a charge I was trying to make. My card expired November 30, 2010. I called in October to confirm that Chase would send a replacement in time for me to use. I needed to buy a product December 2 but Chase had not provided the new card. Although a clerk acknowledged that I had way more credit available than I had used, no one would approve the credit.

The clerk assured me that "5 minutes ago" someone at Chase had dropped my new card in the mail. I received it 7 days later. A recorded message also confirmed that my new card had been activated. I answered the trick questions for identification to talk to a clerk but received no help. And my line got "cut off" when I asked to speak to a manager. It's not like I had ever not paid a bill. It's not like I had not used the account since 2007. And it's not like I am going to be using this again. Customer service does not exist.

Replies
Pathetic in every way
By -

WASHINGTON -- Chase Card is brutally pathetic. Easy statement to make and here is the proof. In February 2006, I found out that my Visa card had been used and currently had a balance on it. I called Chase Card services on February 15th to find out what was going on. I found out that my ex-wife had gotten into my account. I asked how that was possible, because in July of 2001 I removed her from my account. Chase Rep responded that she was still on the account.

The Chase Rep also stated that since I was the primary on this Visa account that an authorized user could not make changes to the account or order credit cards without my consent. I again removed my ex-wife from my account. I closed the account and opened another one.

I got to deal with Chase Fraud, Investigative and Card Services from that point forward. Starting in June of 2006 I started receiving collection calls. One caller told me that the account was still being investigated for fraud and then asked me for payment. I asked this caller if the matter is being investigated why would they be asking for money? I would get called up to 5 times a day and on weekends.

I received an e-mail from my ex-wife in July asking me why I closed the account and reopened a new one. In her email she stated that Chase told her these details. So in review Chase gave out my personal credit information to someone not even on my account. Chase after their investigation concluded it was a civil matter between me and my ex-wife. I told them "No it is a matter of Chase violating my rights as a Visa Card holder and also a violation of consumer protection laws."

I have asked Chase in writing for copies of my account records, policies and procedures for authorization use and many other details regarding my account and they have responded that the information is privileged. Chase has reported my as a collection now. They have reported me as living in a City I have never lived in because that they sent credit cards to my ex-wife.

Chase lied to me directly. Chase is now withholding information simply because they know they violated laws and protections. Chase card services is incompetent. The one rep I dealt within their corporate office is unworthy of any title. In fact, I would not hire this person to operate a pooper scooper.

Here is the hardest fact to realize for me. Chase Card services knows that they screwed up and they know that they are not going to get paid. Since they are not going to get paid and they know it, why do they penalize an innocent party. It would make more sense to seek payment or assist in efforts that would lead to payment, but instead they are more focused on not receiving payment and creating emotional distress. I would not use Chase card services for all the reasons stated above, because this company is not interested in servicing the customer. They have a different agenda.

Replies
Chase Visa's despicable service
By -

I have had a Chase Manhattan Visa card since 1992 and have always paid my bills on time. In the last three years, the bank's service has been atrocious. In 2004, the bank made so many mistakes that I literally lost $590. I spent TWO MONTHS complaining before I reached someone in the corporate office who rectified my financial complaint although NONE of the NUMEROUS people who screwed up and were rude were ever dealt with to my knowledge.

I got my $590 back and the phone number of the corporate office which kindly said I could phone them whenever I had a problem. In recent days, I have TRIED to phone them, but got DOZENS of busy signals. The impetus behind my latest phone calls was Chase charging me a late fee after it made numerous goofs over several days online and COINCIDENTALLY accepted my payment at 3:10 CST, 10 minutes late because of Chase's own incompetence. This would seem to be a no-brainer but an executive in Elgin, IL essentially said "tough s___" and kept the $39.

Here is my letter to the person who got me back my $590 two years ago, but whom I cannot reach: 'First of all, I want to thank you for resolving the problems that I wrote to you about in the spring of 2005 and that you resolved by issuing me a credit for $590.27. I certainly hope Chase has taken action to ensure that the problems which led to Chase making one mistake after another that cost me $590.27 have been alleviated. Unfortunately, I see little evidence of that from my own personal experience.

On June 24, 2005, you sent me a letter which ended "€œIf you have additional questions pertaining to this matter, please do not hesitate to contact me at our toll-free number, 888-227-0608, extension **."€ I have tried to contact you at this number at least 30 times over the past few days. It is always busy.

I reached Chase's office at the same address by phoning 813-584-4160 three times, but the people there are incredibly rude and REFUSED to transfer me to your direct line. This is an ONGOING problem with Chase. Your employees are special.

In any case, I have three concerns that I would like to address. Failure to solve them all will jeopardize my relationship with your company. I am clearly in the right on all three matters, but have been incredibly patient in dealing with Chase'€™s failure to resolve them. Continued failure by Chase will result in a complaint to the state Attorney General's office as well as notification to the public about your HORRID BUSINESS PRACTICES (if you google my name, you will learn that I am, among other things, a business writer for several publications).

Here are the three concerns. A. CHASEBUILDERS'€™ PROGRAM REBATE: I have NOT received a refund check for the past THREE YEARS. When I inquired about this two months ago, I was informed that my account was cancelled Jan. 13, 2005, and was reopened a few days later. I NEVER cancelled my account. As I reported to you back in 2005, I was treated rudely by your representatives on the phone. One screamed at me "€œYou'€™re a deadbeat" and made all sorts of threats against me. A few days later, I received a letter saying Chase had cancelled my account. A few days after, I received a letter saying my account had been reopened.

This was obviously a PLOY by your representative to STEAL money out of my pocket by removing me from the benefits of Chase'€™s programs. Like I said, I NEVER cancelled my account. There is NO PROOF that I cancelled my account. The COMPELLING evidence is that I did NOT cancel my account since I received a letter stating I was once again a Chase customer before I could complain about not being one. The restoration letter was written BEFORE I learned I was, for two days, not a customer.

Chase owes me a LOT OF MONEY. Why should I have to suffer financially because of the insolence and incompetence of YOUR employees? If I had known about what Chase did, I would have phoned you the day I received your June 24, 2005, letter. Instead, Chase deliberately does NOT tell me that I have been removed from the Chasebuilder program. How much money do you gain from people who never inquire?

B. LATE FEE DUE TO CHASE'€™S INCOMPETENCE: I phoned you on Feb. 28 after I spent hours trying to pay my bill online. The system rejected my VALID password and kept on sending me new access codes. Eventually, the system approved my attempt to pay via the SAME, VALID PASSWORD it kept on rejecting. The approval came just after 4 pm EST. Coincidence? This is clearly DELIBERATE because the same exact thing occurred in November. It turns out, apparently, that I will NOT be assessed a late fee for February.

Here is what happened in November. I don'€™t receive bills in the mail (for reasons that have never been explained) so I logged on on Nov. 22 thinking I was going to pay my bill THREE DAYS EARLY because previously payments were due on the 25th. I learned after accessing my account that the payment was due on the 22nd. It was NOON. Three hours later, my attempt to pay online finally worked. It was 3:10 p.m CST. Then, I noticed that the verification said the payment was being credited on the 23rd. Knowing Chase as I do, I phoned IMMEDIATELY and e-mailed Chase IMMEDIATELY.

With ethical companies, this would be a NO-BRAINER. But this is Chase. Yes, I received a late fee. So I wrote to your Executive Office in Elgin with PROOF. Would executives actually PENALIZE me for being 10 minutes late with a payment that was "€œlate" because of Chase'€™s own incompetence? Would Chase penalize me for being in the wrong time zone? Would Chase penalize me because it moved up the due date without informing me? What stupid questions. The answer is YES because Chase is the MOST UNETHICAL COMPANY THAT I HAVE EVER DEALT WITH!!

C. DOUBLE BILLING: In early, 2006, I tried and failed to log onto my Juno online services account on numerous occasions. I phoned Juno. The company informed me that I had to establish a new account in order to communicate with them my problems with the first account. I established the second account. After a few days of trying to fix the problems with the first account, I CANCELLED it. That was 13 MONTHS AGO. I have NEVER accessed that account since then, have repeatedly asked Juno to stop billing me for two accounts when I am only using one, and I informed Chase Visa about this situation last April.

What has Chase done? ABSOLUTELY NOTHING. In its most recent letter, Chase said it did not know about my problem. Well, it does now!!! So guess what Chase did after giving me the excuse that it never received my earlier letters. In writing, Chase told me it has and will DO NOTHING. Does a professional company act this way? NOOOO!!! But Chase is the MOST UNETHICAL AND UNPROFESSIONAL COMPANY THAT I HAVE EVER DEALT WITH!!!! CONCLUSION: My patience is wearing thin. I would appreciate it if Chase would act professionally and rectify ITS MISTAKES. Thank you.

Replies
How Hard Will They Really Try To Scam Someone?
By -

I've been a Chase customer for 22 years. It's been a long road, mostly downhill unfortunately.

I've closed my accounts with Chase twice when they went years without offering competitive products. The first time my branch manager was apologetic that they had nothing competitive to offer me. The second time I left, however, the branch manager spent his time explaining why I should be charged fees even though I'd already tried closing the accounts and the balances had been zero. 45 minutes later he gave in and reversed the fees, but I knew things really had changed for the worse.

In the meantime I'd gotten an offer for a no fee credit card with a 3.99% interest rate on balance transfers "for the life of the balance" and a 2% minimum payment. I transferred a home-improvement and grad school student loan over to this card and paid a balance transfer fee to do this. I've been happily paying this balance on time ever since.

Last week I received a threatening letter telling me Chase was going to increase my monthly payment to 250% of what it had been unless I agreed to let them charge me 7.99% interest instead of the 3.99%. I Googled and found out that Chase spokespeople were referring to me (as a type of customer) publicly as a "deadbeat". Apparently a customer who accepts their offer and pays what's due on time every month is a deadbeat!

This week I realized on the due date that although I'd just been notified, this increase applied to THIS month! I had already paid my "regular" amount due, but not the 250%, so I called Chase to pay the remaining 150%. I called at 4:30 New York time. They told me that after 4 pm the payment was late, even though it was still business hours in New York, where Chase is located, and branches were still open. They charged me a $39 late fee! Be careful.

The reason I'm a "deadbeat" is because the card I signed up for was a scam, but I didn't fall victim to it. "Deadbeat" to Chase means I'm not someone they were stealing from. Fraud is theft, and selling someone something one way when you know it really will work a different way is fraud. Since I read the fine print and I understood what I was agreeing to, I wasn't scammed, so I'm a deadbeat.

The scam is this: they call and offer a great balance transfer so you can move your debt to a great rate on a card that offers purchase rewards. What they don't tell you, but the fine print does, is that if you have any purchase balance you cannot pay it until you've paid off all lower-interest balances.

By getting you to move other debt over, your former instalment loans now need to be paid-in-full before you can touch the purchase balance, which is being charged 18% interest. They collect extortion-rate interest on the purchase balance while you scramble to find another loan to pay off the whole thing and get you out of the mess. Truth is, most cards do exactly the same thing with balance transfer offers.

The difference with Chase is they're trying to have their cake and eat it, too. The deal had to be done legally and had to offer something that seemed useful. So people who read the fine print understood that they couldn't make purchases, etc. without getting into immediate trouble. Most companies would take it on the chin -- you rob some people blind but to keep it all legal you give others what you said you would. But not Chase: having scammed most of the people, in desperation they now want to screw the rest of them.

Online some are saying "people running credit card debts aren't being financially responsible.” Let me clarify: Chase told people to move student loans, car loans, small-business loans, and home-improvement loans over to these low-interest accounts. These are NOT "credit card balances" that customers are carrying. Most were never revolving credit purchases to begin with. Most people would not say that financing a car, a kitchen, or an education is irresponsible. Responsible people figure out what they can afford to pay monthly and live within that.

Chase, by threatening to increase this monthly payment to 250% of what it was, is not punishing people who have broken their agreement -- they've already been kicked off the plan. It's not punishing people who abuse credit cards -- they've already been caught by the hidden fraud in this deal. No, Chase is trying to cause pain to those people who have held up their end of the deal because the one aspect of the original deal that made it legal they do not want to be tied to any longer.

The laughable thing is that the spokespeople claim most customers paid off their balances within 2 years. Of course they did -- those are all the people that got scammed by Chase and had to frantically find some other loan to get them out of the 18% hell Chase put them into by promising a 4% rate.

Replies
Advertisement
Deceptive / fraudulent interest hike up
By -

This will be my third email correspondence regarding this matter. I have been refunded the finance charges that I have been incorrectly charged for the last two billing cycles but have yet again been incorrectly charged a finance charge at 26.99% for the period ending 6/23/05. I have already sent a seven page fax documenting Chase's offer of a 0.0% balance transfer for 12 billing cycles from the day that the transfer posts and it has only been since March of 2005 that this transfer has posted. What do I need to do to get this balance transfer posted correctly to my account?

I have spent much of my valuable time trying to fix this over the phone (with no resolution and much frustration I might add), email, and faxed documentation as demanded by your call center. I don't understand why I had to fax this documentation as proof when it is your company that sent this offer to me. Do you not keep such documentation on your side?

I shudder to think of the much dire situation I would have been in had I trusted Chase and not kept all the documentation attached with this obviously too-good-to-be-true balance transfer offer. If for whatever reason, I can'€™t imagine why, you cannot correct the rate for my balance transfer, please advise me immediately and I will pay off the balance and close my account with Chase.

This is the second or third time that I have taken advantage of a similar balance transfer offer and have never had a problem. I have been a faithful Chase credit card holder for many years and am very disappointed by the service I have received from your customer service call center. I spoke to two representatives and two supervisors and each one of them gave me different accounts of why I was being charged 26.99% and they all were unable to resolve the problem. They also all gave me different numbers and addresses to send further complaints to.

I hope this will be the last time I will need to correspond with Chase regarding this matter. I can be contacted through email at xxxxxxxx.

Initial review/complaint..... I was sent a check issued in my name for over $15,000.00 by RDC Processing Center with no other information but my social security number written in reverse as my account number. There was a toll free number given for RDC stating if I had any questions regarding this check to call. I did so, inquiring why I was being sent this check. They said it was probably a balance transfer check issued by the bank that was also the issuing bank on the check, which was Chase Manhattan in Delaware.

I then called Chase since I didn't recall requesting a balance transfer. When I called Chase and explained the check, the representative at the call center stated that Chase does not send out checks in that manner. He claimed that they would only send blank checks with a letter stating the terms. I then emailed RDC again and was given a reply that it was in fact a balance transfer that was issued by Chase.

I emailed Chase to confirm but was never given a reply. I then received a separate letter dated November 15, 2004, stating the terms of a 0.0% balance transfer that would be effective from the day that the check posts and would continue for 12 billing cycles. There was no expiration date on the check or the letter.

I decided to use the check a 4 months later since I was able to finally determine who sent the check and for what reason. I recently checked by online statement and was shocked to see they are now charging me 26.99% interest on the $15,000.00. It posted as a "balance transfer" to my account in March but is now posted under "purchases" at 0.07395% under the "daily periodic rate."

I immediately called customer service and have been given the runaround. I spoke to 2 supervisors and 2 agents and they all tell me that by the time I used the check that the rate expired but they tell me different days that it expired. One said that it expired at the end of November 2004. Another said it expired 30 days after the issue date. Another said that it expired at the end of 2004, and one didn't specify a date but kept saying that balance transfers don't stay valid for "that long" since I had used it 4 months after I received it.

I still have the letter stating the terms and a copy of the actual check and check stub. None of which states an expiration date. I've faxed everything to their card member services and haven't heard anything yet.

Replies
Chase Visa - Misleading Information - New Accounts Services
By -

LOS ANGELES, CALIFORNIA -- BE AWARE--you cannot stop a balance transfer after the account has been opened. Chase employees tell you that you can simply make a phone call to stop the transfer, but this is not true. Upon calling the number they provide one is notified that the "transfer has already occurred" and that there is nothing that Chase can do to stop it!

Below is part of my complaint letter to Chase Bank USA, N.A. which I sent copies to the Better Business Bureau and Federal Trade Commission:

1). Employees should not misguide new account holders by stating that balance transfers can be stopped once an account has been activated and the cardholder's request is made! This statement is NOT TRUE and the multiple requests I made to stop the balance transfer were incessantly denied. I was extremely frustrated by this process and the misinformation that was given not only once, but in the four phone calls I made to correct this problem and resolve my concern.

The distribution of such false information should be of concern to Chase Bank USA, N.A. because it contributes poorly to the reputation and integrity of the company, and because it reaffirms company contradictions between the product and services promised and its actual provided practices!

2) Second, employees should not mislead account holders by stating that the opening of a second account on the same day will cancel the request to open the first account and thus stop any balance transfer requests from occurring. This suggestion was not only RIDICULOUS and HIGHLY MISLEADING, but has resulted in my having opened not only one but two credit cards on the same day! This practice is manipulative and unethical, and while it certainly benefits Chase Bank USA, N.A., it distills confidence in the reputation and integrity of the company. Such company practices need to be corrected immediately!

I would appreciate a reply informing me of how Chase Bank USA, N.A., will better attend to the care of their customers and how the company will address the discrepancies between services promised and the lack of follow through in its practices. A huge integrity issue is at hand.

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >

Chase Bank Visa Cards Rating:
Star Star Half star Empty star Empty star
2.3 out of 5, based on 3 ratings and
31 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
Chase Bank
270 Park Ave FL 12
New York, NY 10017-2014
212-270-6000 (ph)
212-270-6522 (fax)
www.chase.com
Product/Services
Compare Banks