Preview Review

Next Review

Chase Bank Consumer Reviews - Page 2

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Victim of Circumstances
By -

421 N DOUTY HANFORD, CALIFORNIA -- I have been battling identity theft more less since before July 2011. I told Chase Bank about it and said I would give them a folder with all information in it so that they be aware of my circumstances. They said OK. Then they said if I opened a new account with them and get new bank numbers, that would benefit me for less problems with past disputes I have been battling since 2006!

After I opened with new numbers on my account, I was also instructed to always report any disputes I may still be having and to always order a new Visa debit card with fresh number every time I may still be having the problems in my account. After having this newest account for only two to three months, I had in the last month or October 2011 only three disputes documented on my account and it totaled to an amount of seven dollars only. I also received conformation number on the disputes that everything had been straightened out in my account with Chase confirming this.

Then a couple of days after they cleared up these unauthorized debits, they told me their Chase Bank took an unanimous vote among the Chase representatives and they decided to kick me out of their bank in regards to three disputes that totaled up to seven dollars only and were proven to be unauthorized, and I have a statement letter saying that too.

I received this letter on October 26, 2011(?). I was told over the telephone by Claims department on October 24, 2011 that my account had been blocked because it is being closed. I asked why, they said it will tell you in a letter you will be receiving and they wouldn't tell me anything at all. Two days later I received that letter, I have called five times asking what happened because this letter does not tell me what happened exactly. Then when I call Social Security Death Benefits Department to tell them to mail the Benefits Check to my residence Social Security Administration, said I was too late in the month to be making any mailing changes because there's a deadline date then no changes can be made.

So needless to say, the Benefits were electronically deposited one minute after midnight on November 09, 2011. So I called Chase Bank again to let them know and they said they have received nothing. I happen to know that when Chase Bank receives any electronic deposits of any kind, that it is immediately documented on their system, and it isn't a debit withdrawal so it doesn't need to be held for two business days before posting to an account.

So tell me where is the Social Security Administration Treasury funds that Chase Bank received on November 09, 2011??? I then had the Social Security Treasury call the Chase bank confirming that the Benefits had been electronically transferred from the Social Security Treasury Department and had been received by JP Morgan
Chase Bank, NA, FDIC Establishment Bank location received in located at: Chase Bank - 421 N Douty, Hanford, CA 93239.

I drove to the Chase Bank to pick up the Benefits and Chase Bank would not give to me. I said, "Then give me my twelve dollars, you blocked in my account sixteen days ago. Your letter stated you were going to mail me the rest of my account funds in five business days. After the closing of my account, you kicked me out of without a reason. And I also want my monthly Benefits you received. I have bills due today that you are keeping from paying due to your circumstances of as why you closed my account. And now that its been closed for sixteen days already and you are still messing with my and now holding my monthly Benefits. I do not owe you any money and you also haven't given me my funds that were left in the account."

So they gave me my twelve dollars so I could have enough gas to get home on and said at 10 A.M. November 10, 2011 they would call me and tell me if I could pick up my Benefits funds or not yet. OK first - Chase Bank closed my account without telling why. Second - Chase Bank said they would refund my fund that were left in the account in five days. They did not.

Third - Chase bank accepted the electronic deposit that was sent from the Treasury Office of Social Security Benefits. Why did they except that Benefits Check sent to me at their bank when it was block for everything else? Fourth - do you think Chase bank is going to release my account funds that I asked for while I was at their Bank on November 09, 2011 if I had any pending balances? No I don't think so!

At least that is what they said in the closing letter and it's been sixteen days and they said in the letter ten business days, everything would be completed and released of the closure of my account they voted to close without telling me why or what the reason being in detail. Also I need that reason so that I may file a report on it with the rest of information I have put together for my police report on the identity theft that has been exposed on my behalf!!

This was instructed by the Federal Trade Commission on the list of instructions they gave me to go by to complete my Identity Theft Reporting it to the police to file. And then I receive a Case number to provide everybody, including Chase bank that I had told I was going to provide for them on my account problems. Look what they finished me with not only closing my account that I need, but by turning me into ChexSystem and maybe the Credit Bureau too. I didn't need that, I was barely trying to establish some good credit for once and now I won't be able to ever have a checking account again thanks to Chase Bank.

And I'm also one of the victims that Chase bank borrowed 200.00 from last year and I kept calling Chase Bank asking them why are you not finding the 200.00 that disappeared out of my account for three to four days. Then after that it reappeared, I asked Chase Bank where did you find it? They said 'we didn't, we don't know what happened'.

Now I'm going to sue Chase bank. I feel like I'm too stressed out and my blood pressure feels high and I also can't pay bills now. And they have been jacked us in dollars so I owe more and now I don't have enough money to ever catch up on being behind on my bills. And I sinking fast; and my name is on the blacklist of ever having another account of any kind or credit.

Replies
Horrible, Stressful, Downright Ridiculous
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

I started with not so good credit with Chase, and had no problems. I have been late, and I own that, however, I decided to take my credit more serious than ever and that's when I realized they were the wrong ones. I called in to make a payment with a representative who couldn't stop talking about her cats and dogs, though she was friendly, she was not listening as I stated to her to post a payment with account 1 (I had 2 checkings on file). It wasn't until I noticed the amount had never come out, but each time that I called, they said the payment had been received.

2 months later, I receive a statement from my bank showing an NSF fee to account 2, that had been closed for approx one month. I contacted Chase and they still claimed that I was current. By now, I had made 2 other payments. The following month I notice my scores drop, and the reason was for late payment in January. I contact Chase, and spoke to almost everyone who worked there since none seemed to comprehend my issue, after about a weeks worth of calling, and them pulling the recorded call, they find themselves at fault, and send a check in the amount of $70 which covered the 2 pulls from that NSF account.

My issue is now, I must come up with $338 times 2 because my new payment is now due, plus I have to pay what I owed from their mistake... I am livid and argue with each representative demanding they listen to all the calls made regarding this, and give me time to catch up and without any hesitation I was blamed for not ''checking my account'' and the late payment stayed on my credit. Moving forward, I have caught up and paid on time, every time, then recently my vehicle took a total loss (No Gap Insurance) with a balance of 7,500 to pay off on a 2012 Nissan Altima.

This is where things got so ridiculous, until I almost needed a lawyer. My insurance calls in to get pay off, they then cut a check for 4,300 whereas the rest would come out of my savings...no problem, I need to rid myself of this loan because I need a new car. These people receive the check, look at it, and lie stating it wasn't endorsed (THOUGH I SIGNED IT IN FRONT OF THE ADJUSTER) and mailed the payment back.

15 days later, after calling several times to be sure they received the overnight check so that I can pay the balance, they explain the lie to me, I have never spoken to so many people in my life than what I experienced speaking to Chase CSR's in one week. Back and forth, lies, disputes, stress, then finally they come out with their truth as being, "We thought the check was wrongfully sent to us, and requested the info from the body shop where you'll be getting repairs." WTF!!? The FREAKING CAR IS TOTAL, THERE WON'T BE REPAIRS. About 3 weeks pass, and my insurance is not wanting to cut another check until they receive the old one, so now I am dealing with once again my credit being affected because interest is accruing, and so are late fees.

2 months later, and I am still dealing with this from the time my car was totaled, they have yet to process the 2ND OVERNIGHT payment from my insurance, I have another late fee on my report, the dept agencies get tight when you request a supervisor as if they are qualified to handle this, when the supervisors show themselves unworthy. My insurance by now has contacted Chase out of frustration and concern, and now I'm working with a supervisor named Berry, Barry (something like that) who insist that when he receives the 2nd check, he will back date it to the original, wipe out all late fees and interest accrued, and contact the credit bureau to correct it.

I feel that is most unfair, while I can appreciate that being done, I don't trust them nor should I have to wait for them to fix their mistake while I'm being incriminated of my credibility. No matter how much I expressed to this supervisor that they are the reason it's prolonged and everything should be at a complete halt, he insist that he will correct it once they receive the check. YOU RECEIVED THE 1ST CHECK AND WERE TOO DUMB TO ACCEPT THE PAYMENT, why should I have to suffer and trust you to be sure my credit isn't affected by your incompetence.

I've dealt with their attitudes and frustrations with me constantly calling, as if they are at a loss, all I've tried to do for 2 freaking months was pay you off. Because of the mistakes, and them wanting to do things ''their way'' even though they screwed up I WOULD NEVER RECOMMEND THIS COMPANY... THEY ARE INCOMPETENT AND INCONSIDERATE of their clientele, and no one should have to pay for a company's mistakes.

Replies
Closing a Business Account
By -

NEW YORK, OREGON -- Began a process in February, 2011 attempting to close a business account that has been open for probably 7 years. Originally hoped to transfer this acct. but there is no Chase Manhattan Bank in our area, so cannot transfer the acct. The branch where the acct. was opened advised that the owner of the acct., my boss, needed to come to the bank in person to close the acct. When I pressed the issue, I was given an 800 number to call. After speaking at great length, giving every possible piece of information about the acct., was told that it certainly could be closed over the phone. They would send paperwork.

A month later, no paperwork had arrived. I again called, got bounced around to a couple of people and finally was told that yes, this acct. could be closed over the phone. Again reassured, gave all the information, again...told the paperwork would be sent to my boss' home address.

Now my boss is getting frustrated. So in August I called again. This time I was instructed to write a letter, I was given a fax number to their "National Account Closing Dept." Per the conversation, 10 to 12 days after receipt of this letter, the account would be closed and the check would be mailed. To neither my boss's surprise nor mine, no check ever arrived. He then got on the phone and spoke with someone at the 800 number. As their conversation continued, he was given the same royal run-around that I was.

Finally in total frustration, he asked to speak with a supervisor. He was told that there was none on duty. He asked when a supervisor would be on duty and...got the run-around. She finally appeased him by telling him that he would be sent paperwork that needed to be completed. Once that was returned, the acct. would be closed and a check would be mailed. Well, that didn't happen either. No paperwork ever arrived - again.

Today I tried calling the branch where the account was originally opened. I asked to speak with someone who dealt with closing accounts. I was sharply told - you have to appear in person! I asked if I could speak with someone else. I was told there is no one else. I asked if the bank employed anyone besides the woman I was speaking with? She clicked off the line and when she came back on, she told me again that you need to appear in person to close an account. I asked again to speak with someone other than her. She finally transferred me around (I know it was at least twice) and I ended up speaking with another woman.

She asked for acct. info, etc. She then informed me that the acct. was closed. I asked how that happened? She then told me that because the acct. was inactive, the monies has been forfeited to the State of New York. She told me to give her a few minutes to make a few calls and she would call me back. About 20 minutes after that, she did in fact call me back. She then informed me that she needed to know if I knew "this name". She rattled off a name and I told her since I was not involved when this acct. was opened, I did not know or recognize the name.
However, since my boss was standing at my desk I could put him on the line.

He spoke with her and she asked him the same questions she had asked me - acct. #, etc. Finally, she told him that he needed to provide two photo IDs, copies of the checks, and other information about the account. Then she gave him a fax number. I have tried twice to get that fax through and have not been successful. It registers as "incomplete number". I guess the only recourse is to turn it over to an attorney and stop the madness.

Replies
New Card
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

LAS VEGAS, NEVADA -- I was a big fan of Chase. But their policy on getting a new card needs to change. They need to have it where you get a temporary card while your new one get sent to your address. It a pain in the ** when you're on vacation or have to pay for something and you don't have immediate access. Chase has lost a customer. I use to recommend them but they are inconsiderate of customers on vacation.

Replies
Advertisement
Don't Want to Review POA
StarStarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 2/51

HOMESTEAD, FLORIDA -- On Saturday March 1 of 2014 I went to my Chase local branch to open an account jointed with my mom in which I have power of attorney for. After speaking with **, the banker that took care of me, he told me he had to fax the power of attorney to their legal department. After he did, he was told that it needed further review and it will be done within 24 to 48 hours.

On Tuesday March 11, I went back to the bank to find out if it was reviewed. When ** called the legal department he was informed that it wasn't done yet. When I asked to speak with the branch manager I was told that he wasn't in so I asked to speak with the assistant manager. She told me that it can usually take up to 72 hours. Today Thursday March 6, being that it was past the 72 hours, I went by the branch to see if it was done and after speaking with the branch manager and he inquiring with the legal department, he told me that it has not been reviewed yet. I also speak with the district manager regarding this on a phone conference call at his office.

While I was waiting at the branch to speak with the branch manager, I received a phone call from the district manager which was the result of an e-mail I have sent earlier today to customer service via my account's secure messaging on their web site inquiring about this. In conclusion, I was told by the bank & district manager that until their legal department approves it, there is nothing they could do.

I told them that this was ridiculous since I have used this power of attorney for my mom to deal with everything for her. From buying a car, managing her phone, TV, electricity billing accounts to other things and never had this much of a problem. I told both the branch and district manager that I will be filing a complaint with several sources regarding this. I am currently a customer of their bank and have a checking and savings account with them.

I currently have an account joint with my mom at another bank, Ocean Bank; which I opened using the power of attorney on the same day, but wanted to close that account and open it with Chase because Ocean Bank only has a few local branches and not as many branches everywhere and they are not as good as a bank as Chase is.

Replies
Let Payday That Are Not Licensed in AZ to Steal From My Account & an Auction Company to Do the Same
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

PHOENIX, ARIZONA -- My comment is and my experience is Chase is evil...let me take a few to share my experience with this greed-driven Bank. I've been a customer of Chase for over 25 years from Valley National first then Bank One when the name changed to JP Morgan Chase. Also worked for them in their National Recovery Bankruptcy department in Arizona about 10 years. I thought that Chase was the best bank ever and they stood behind their customer, well I've been wrong.

Chase customer service and personal banks are liars, rude and incompetent. Their goal is to make money for Chase no matter how much they screw their customers. I have had one of the worst experiences in my life because of Chase. They have repeatedly disregarded my request to close out an my account due to stop pays that I have paid for and even with overdraft protection they have charged me fees that are sickening, due to payday loan predators that are NOT licensed in the state of Arizona, even after having and showing them the proof that they were stealing money from my account - not just payday predators but an auction house as well.

Chase has cost me over $2000 dollars in damages, let alone this screw up has caused my creditors to decline auto debit to pay my bills "which I need because of my disability". Chase returned payments like my rent, insurance which canceled me and others due to letting thieves take my money because they choose not believe a loyal customer of 25 years - it's just "Not Right"!! - not once but several times.

Chase's Claims department is unbelievably incompetent even when the proof is right in front of them in black & white. They are rude, slow, hard to understand because they are not from this country - what's up with that? I'm still trying to get this situation taken care of, had to hire an attorney to handle this for me that's added cost, because I just can't take it anymore, but refuse to give up. Make it right Chase, pull your head out of your ass and help your customers, not steal from them... P.S. It's not over yet!!

Replies
Discrimination
By -

I was on my way home driving down Fort Street and seen a Chase Bank on the corner of Fort Street and Williamsburg, and decided to go in and get my check wrong decision. It was about four thirty pm, July 15/2011. I was feeling pretty good until I walk in that bank. I was the only one in line. I waited at least ten minutes. I was beginning to feel real bad because I did not know why they had me waiting so long. Here comes the horse. Remind you only thing I wanted was my check to be cash.

Then come a female out of a office. She said, "Sir, what can I help you with?" And I said I would like to get my check cashed. Then she said, "Come over here and have a seat," and told that same teller that would not wait on me to go and cash my check. Meantime I was sitting down talking to the female that came out the office. She started checking my history, pull up an old job I worked for in 2009 and ask me about that job. Remind you I have an account with Chase, I have been cashing checks for years. No one have ever took me and sit me down looked up my history just to cash a check.

Then I said to her I was feeling pretty bad because I have never went through all of this interrogation to cash a check. Then when she recognize that I knew what was going on she started talking real fast nervous like, "All come on if you want to go back in line come on." Then when I got back in line the teller had my cash and push it to me. Both teller gave me a real strange look like I did not belong in there.

I will never ever ever go back in that bank again. If I knew that all of Chase branches felt like Williamsburg I would remove my account quick and let everybody know that they discriminate against **. After that incident it took me a few hour to pull myself back up. I would like to hear what they have to say for themselves. God don't like ugly.

Replies
Chase
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

NYC, NEW YORK -- JP Morgan Chase is the most horrific heartless bank out there. They closed my mother's account without notice and reason. She is close to 90 and a holocaust survivor. Her social security and German pension checks were returned to their respective sources causing a great deal of effort to retrieve them. All of her auto pays were bounced and it was only because she had some spare cash at home that she did not go hungry. This was done with 2 days warning and additionally her accounts were frozen. She is also legally blind.

Nazi Germany behaved much the same way. Chase is ruthless and will stay away from them for the rest of my life. Mind you my mother was an account holder with them for close to gift years. A lot of good that did. They are despicable!!!

Replies
Advertisement
System Mistakes, Humans No Able to Any Solution
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

MIAMI, FLORIDA -- 03/24/2016. I deposited my paycheck as usually. ATM recognized 950.00, but my check was 1950.00. Two days after I Call the customer services. After 25 minutes in hold they transfer to claims department. They promised solution in 12 hours. March 29 I went to the bank on Doral. The lady said my solution is bring the screenshot from my job, my job said is restricted information. I went back to the bank, the same lady said me I has to wait April 5 to get my money.

I asked for the manager, answer was she left early. Tuesday 2 pm and supervisor promised put the note in the system. My big question. WHO WILL PAY ALL THE FEES I WILL RECEIVE FOR NONPAYMENT IN TIME
Chase Bank ATM Chase or help you customer services?

Replies
In the Business of Lies
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

I applied for a Chase Auto Loan with a credit score of 760. I was approved at a very aggressive rate (3.93%), and I called Chase to give them the vehicle information before I went and purchased it - VIN number, mileage, the whole nine yards. I purchased the vehicle and was elated. Dream car, great loan rate, low monthly payments. I faxed my purchase order to Chase the following day and was DECLINED.

I inquired how I could be declined when I was already approved, and got a bogus answer about their perceived value of the vehicle being different from the price they already approved and their hands were tied. Now I have to go back to the dealer and accept a rate twice what Chase offered. Chase - do not GUARANTEE to lend if you are not going to lend. Everyone, be careful about their conditional approvals, they are liars.

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >

Chase Bank Rating:
Star Half star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.4 out of 5, based on 46 ratings and
400 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
Chase Bank
270 Park Ave FL 12
New York, NY 10017-2014
212-270-6000 (ph)
212-270-6522 (fax)
www.chase.com
Product/Services
Compare Banks