Preview Review

Next Review

Chase Bank Consumer Reviews - Page 2

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Closed My Account Without My Knowledge
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

EVERYWHERE, CONNECTICUT -- I went to use my card (which always has money) to get gas and my card gets declined. So I call Chase customer service and they tell my account is closed. They told me they can't give me a valid reason as to why my account was just all of a sudden closed. I called 5 different people and I was hung up on by 4 of those 5. I've banked with these people for over 7 years and I've NEVER ONCE had an issue. I went Into the branch today to try and figure out why my account was closed and they tell me it's not their problem, and I'll have a cashiers check sent to me.

Chase bank and every single employee are heartless and don't give a crap about anybody but themselves! I'm taking my money to Bank of America. At least they tell you before they just decide to close your account without your knowledge!! I gave them one star because no stars unfortunately was not an option.

Replies
Bad Buisness
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

MILWAUKIE, OREGON -- I have had a Chase account for years. I opened my Sapphire Card account hoping to earn miles for travel. I made sure that I put enough on the card for the first 500 miles. I also made some large purchases on the card and also some every day purchases. I always paid off what I owed. I had paid off the card and had not been checking statements for some time, because I knew that I had taken a break from using the card in 2018. Unbeknownst to me, they charge an annual fee and closed my account after 30 days. I lost all my saved miles. They were unwilling to help me recover them and make it right.

I promptly closed all of my Chase accounts and am moving the funds to my other bank. I have a very bad taste in my mouth from this experience and will not recommend or work with Chase Bank ever again. I was really looking forward to saving money on this upcoming trip with the conveniently discarded account. Bad business.

Replies
Terrible Customer Service
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

FOX LAKE, ILLINOIS -- On 5/11/18 my husband just started a new job and he put 1 number wrong for the direct deposit so his deposit was in limbo. So I called the customer service number. Talked to a girl I could barely understand. I asked to speak to a manager and the manager instead of helping sent me to another person that was so brainless.

I explained my situation like 10 times he couldn't get my account number correct. I told him the number many time and he acted like he started at the bank yesterday and had no clue what and why I was sent to him and then he was so rude and unprofessional. He said, "It not our fault your husband put an incorrect number on the direct deposit" and I was like, "Duh I know that but can you find the deposit or," and he interrupted me every time I said anything and I finally hung up in him.

Replies
AVOID CHASE BANK
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

SAN JOSES, CALIFORNIA -- WARNING: CHASE BANK is the worst, greedy bank I have ever dealt with. I know many of you feel the same way. I wanted to let the rest of you see why to never use CHASE BANK. I am switching banks because of the rude customer service and ALL OF THE FEES they charge for any reason they can come up with. For example: Low balance, negative balance, business support, for just having a checking account and others obviously.

They charge the small business to death – literally. Because of them, we are having a hard time staying afloat. I am currently seeking another bank to do business with. One that isn't so big that they no longer care for the small business anymore (typical multi-billion dollar company). Please share this to help others avoid this horrific company.

Replies
Advertisement
Overdraft Fee and Changes
StarStarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 2/51

POMPANO BEACH, FLORIDA -- Chase Bank in Pompano Beach in Citi center is no good. No help customer service. No good supervisor. Same overdraft fee. I don't have a problem paying if I'm responsible but when the rules change they don't advise the clients of the change. And when you call to get help, they just same. The rules change and they can't do anything about it. Like I said they don't advise the clients. I been with them over 6 years and they wouldn't help at all. Please read the reviews before you open an account. Thank you. I hope this help you.

Replies
Victim of Circumstances
By -

421 N DOUTY HANFORD, CALIFORNIA -- I have been battling identity theft more less since before July 2011. I told Chase Bank about it and said I would give them a folder with all information in it so that they be aware of my circumstances. They said OK. Then they said if I opened a new account with them and get new bank numbers, that would benefit me for less problems with past disputes I have been battling since 2006!

After I opened with new numbers on my account, I was also instructed to always report any disputes I may still be having and to always order a new Visa debit card with fresh number every time I may still be having the problems in my account. After having this newest account for only two to three months, I had in the last month or October 2011 only three disputes documented on my account and it totaled to an amount of seven dollars only. I also received conformation number on the disputes that everything had been straightened out in my account with Chase confirming this.

Then a couple of days after they cleared up these unauthorized debits, they told me their Chase Bank took an unanimous vote among the Chase representatives and they decided to kick me out of their bank in regards to three disputes that totaled up to seven dollars only and were proven to be unauthorized, and I have a statement letter saying that too.

I received this letter on October 26, 2011(?). I was told over the telephone by Claims department on October 24, 2011 that my account had been blocked because it is being closed. I asked why, they said it will tell you in a letter you will be receiving and they wouldn't tell me anything at all. Two days later I received that letter, I have called five times asking what happened because this letter does not tell me what happened exactly. Then when I call Social Security Death Benefits Department to tell them to mail the Benefits Check to my residence Social Security Administration, said I was too late in the month to be making any mailing changes because there's a deadline date then no changes can be made.

So needless to say, the Benefits were electronically deposited one minute after midnight on November 09, 2011. So I called Chase Bank again to let them know and they said they have received nothing. I happen to know that when Chase Bank receives any electronic deposits of any kind, that it is immediately documented on their system, and it isn't a debit withdrawal so it doesn't need to be held for two business days before posting to an account.

So tell me where is the Social Security Administration Treasury funds that Chase Bank received on November 09, 2011??? I then had the Social Security Treasury call the Chase bank confirming that the Benefits had been electronically transferred from the Social Security Treasury Department and had been received by JP Morgan
Chase Bank, NA, FDIC Establishment Bank location received in located at: Chase Bank - 421 N Douty, Hanford, CA 93239.

I drove to the Chase Bank to pick up the Benefits and Chase Bank would not give to me. I said, "Then give me my twelve dollars, you blocked in my account sixteen days ago. Your letter stated you were going to mail me the rest of my account funds in five business days. After the closing of my account, you kicked me out of without a reason. And I also want my monthly Benefits you received. I have bills due today that you are keeping from paying due to your circumstances of as why you closed my account. And now that its been closed for sixteen days already and you are still messing with my and now holding my monthly Benefits. I do not owe you any money and you also haven't given me my funds that were left in the account."

So they gave me my twelve dollars so I could have enough gas to get home on and said at 10 A.M. November 10, 2011 they would call me and tell me if I could pick up my Benefits funds or not yet. OK first - Chase Bank closed my account without telling why. Second - Chase Bank said they would refund my fund that were left in the account in five days. They did not.

Third - Chase bank accepted the electronic deposit that was sent from the Treasury Office of Social Security Benefits. Why did they except that Benefits Check sent to me at their bank when it was block for everything else? Fourth - do you think Chase bank is going to release my account funds that I asked for while I was at their Bank on November 09, 2011 if I had any pending balances? No I don't think so!

At least that is what they said in the closing letter and it's been sixteen days and they said in the letter ten business days, everything would be completed and released of the closure of my account they voted to close without telling me why or what the reason being in detail. Also I need that reason so that I may file a report on it with the rest of information I have put together for my police report on the identity theft that has been exposed on my behalf!!

This was instructed by the Federal Trade Commission on the list of instructions they gave me to go by to complete my Identity Theft Reporting it to the police to file. And then I receive a Case number to provide everybody, including Chase bank that I had told I was going to provide for them on my account problems. Look what they finished me with not only closing my account that I need, but by turning me into ChexSystem and maybe the Credit Bureau too. I didn't need that, I was barely trying to establish some good credit for once and now I won't be able to ever have a checking account again thanks to Chase Bank.

And I'm also one of the victims that Chase bank borrowed 200.00 from last year and I kept calling Chase Bank asking them why are you not finding the 200.00 that disappeared out of my account for three to four days. Then after that it reappeared, I asked Chase Bank where did you find it? They said 'we didn't, we don't know what happened'.

Now I'm going to sue Chase bank. I feel like I'm too stressed out and my blood pressure feels high and I also can't pay bills now. And they have been jacked us in dollars so I owe more and now I don't have enough money to ever catch up on being behind on my bills. And I sinking fast; and my name is on the blacklist of ever having another account of any kind or credit.

Replies
Closing a Business Account
By -

NEW YORK, OREGON -- Began a process in February, 2011 attempting to close a business account that has been open for probably 7 years. Originally hoped to transfer this acct. but there is no Chase Manhattan Bank in our area, so cannot transfer the acct. The branch where the acct. was opened advised that the owner of the acct., my boss, needed to come to the bank in person to close the acct. When I pressed the issue, I was given an 800 number to call. After speaking at great length, giving every possible piece of information about the acct., was told that it certainly could be closed over the phone. They would send paperwork.

A month later, no paperwork had arrived. I again called, got bounced around to a couple of people and finally was told that yes, this acct. could be closed over the phone. Again reassured, gave all the information, again...told the paperwork would be sent to my boss' home address.

Now my boss is getting frustrated. So in August I called again. This time I was instructed to write a letter, I was given a fax number to their "National Account Closing Dept." Per the conversation, 10 to 12 days after receipt of this letter, the account would be closed and the check would be mailed. To neither my boss's surprise nor mine, no check ever arrived. He then got on the phone and spoke with someone at the 800 number. As their conversation continued, he was given the same royal run-around that I was.

Finally in total frustration, he asked to speak with a supervisor. He was told that there was none on duty. He asked when a supervisor would be on duty and...got the run-around. She finally appeased him by telling him that he would be sent paperwork that needed to be completed. Once that was returned, the acct. would be closed and a check would be mailed. Well, that didn't happen either. No paperwork ever arrived - again.

Today I tried calling the branch where the account was originally opened. I asked to speak with someone who dealt with closing accounts. I was sharply told - you have to appear in person! I asked if I could speak with someone else. I was told there is no one else. I asked if the bank employed anyone besides the woman I was speaking with? She clicked off the line and when she came back on, she told me again that you need to appear in person to close an account. I asked again to speak with someone other than her. She finally transferred me around (I know it was at least twice) and I ended up speaking with another woman.

She asked for acct. info, etc. She then informed me that the acct. was closed. I asked how that happened? She then told me that because the acct. was inactive, the monies has been forfeited to the State of New York. She told me to give her a few minutes to make a few calls and she would call me back. About 20 minutes after that, she did in fact call me back. She then informed me that she needed to know if I knew "this name". She rattled off a name and I told her since I was not involved when this acct. was opened, I did not know or recognize the name.
However, since my boss was standing at my desk I could put him on the line.

He spoke with her and she asked him the same questions she had asked me - acct. #, etc. Finally, she told him that he needed to provide two photo IDs, copies of the checks, and other information about the account. Then she gave him a fax number. I have tried twice to get that fax through and have not been successful. It registers as "incomplete number". I guess the only recourse is to turn it over to an attorney and stop the madness.

Replies
Horrible Customer Service
By -

I guess I had an overdraft protection service on my checking account that I was not fully aware of. The year before, I had gone to a branch with my husband and was asking about something else. A representative at the branch decided to do something on my account without my consent and I get a credit card in the mail. I do remember specifically telling the representative that I did not need a credit card account or a credit card.

I received the credit card and never used it since. I did notice a credit card account on my accounts under my Chase login, but I assumed that it had to do with the credit card and not associated with something else. I noticed some charges on my Chase credit card that were my overdraft charges on my checking account and the fees for it. I contacted the credit card department to see what charges were these and how did they get there. So, since it was seen as being correlated to my checking account, I was asked to go to the checking account department and discuss it with them.

I was on the phone with someone and asked her to hold while I verify the appropriate checking account number. When I came back to my phone, I was pretty much hung up on and I could hear the replay of the menu that directs you to the appropriate customer service representative Finally, I get a hold of someone to talk about my checking account. I am asking her all sorts of questions about it and specifically why I have an activated credit card account and how does that work. I am trying to figure out why I have an activated credit card account when I have never used the credit card.

So, the lady tells me that I should contact the credit card company and ask them those questions since it is relative to the credit card account. I spoke to the credit card department again and the person explains to me that it is activated because I have overdraft protection. On top of that, the representative explains to me that anyone of the reps that I may have spoken to in either departments could have explained this to me and that they were just pretty much passing the buck. I am sorry, but that just upsets me even more.

I had a few more questions as she continues to explain it to me because she stated that the minimum charge from the credit card is $50, which I can see on my credit card, but I see another overdraft protection fee which is 5 bucks. From her, I am being told that I have to talk to the other department again to see why the minimum overdraft protection fees are variable.

It just got really frustrating since I am being bobbled between two different departments to get all of my questions fully answered because the overdraft protection fee is associated with both the credit card and the checking account departments and neither department is taking full responsibility of the situation. Not once have I ever heard someone even state that they will do a three-way calling with the other department to fully answer all of my questions. That would have made it so much easier on me as a client to fully resolve the issue. Me, having been a customer service representative, I have done that so many times for a client to fully resolve issues.

Replies
Advertisement
Want Obnoxious Customer Service? Bank with Chase!
By -

My, my, my, we really miss the days of Washington Mutual (WaMu)! The transition to "commercial banking" has been emotionally and financially brutal to say the least. Now unsuspecting walk-in customers are ambushed by suited predators whose devious premise is to "assist you with your transaction(s)", when they are actually lined up to slam you with the Chase mega-sales pitch.

Their tactics are more aggressive than a seasoned auto sales persons, which leads me to believe there are definitely commission perks lurking in the shadows. Prior to today, I had managed to avoid the harassment by using the ATM or flat out refusing to leave the teller line and enter into the "cubicles of deception". Well, today (1/23/11) at 10:22 AM (PST), my core Chase nerves were aggravated by an extremely rude, arrogant and argumentative representative within Operating Loss Prevention (OPL)!

My issue is quite simple, a personal check was deposited into my checking account on 1/20/11 and the funds were withdrawn from the payer's account within a few hours on the same day. My question, after two business days, why are the funds still not available? Well, I was transferred from the primary customer service office to the OPL office which is located outside of the US. After hearing the empty response from the Chase rep, I asked to speak with a supervisor/manager. He adamantly refused and became extremely upset and argumentative. His accent went from "thick to mushy" within seconds!

After at least five ignored requests to be transferred, I informed this obnoxious and arrogant man that I would not respond to his repeated statements of "The sup./manager cannot release the funds on a non-business day", and would wait silently until he transferred my call. Yes, you guessed it, I was placed on hold for five minutes! After his supervisor answered the call, she had to do additional research which meant another five minutes on hold. Thankfully, she was able to provide me with sound information and an effective resolution.

Regretfully, when I asked to receive the mailing address for written complaints, she asked to place me on hold to search for this information. Yep, another five minutes (10:42-10:47 AM PST)!!! Oh, it gets better! Much to my surprise, when she finally returned and apologized for the long wait, she claimed to NOT HAVE an address for customers to mail their complaints, but would note my concerns in their "system"! My response was that I would do an internet search to find the mailing address to their corporate office and send my letter to the President and Vice-President of their corporation.

My final request was for her to note in their "system" that as a Chase banking customer and loan mortgage client, the poor customer service I received today was nauseating, obnoxious and a total disgrace to the banking industry! Well, my search turned up this website and has allowed me to vent some steam before sending out my formal complaint letters to the Chase Executives (for what it's worth!). Thanks for offering a networking website for the people!

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >

Chase Bank Rating:
Star Half star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.4 out of 5, based on 46 ratings and
399 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
Chase Bank
270 Park Ave FL 12
New York, NY 10017-2014
212-270-6000 (ph)
212-270-6522 (fax)
www.chase.com
Product/Services
Compare Banks