Preview Review

Next Review

Chase Bank Consumer Reviews - Page 2

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Terrible Customer Service
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

FOX LAKE, ILLINOIS -- On 5/11/18 my husband just started a new job and he put 1 number wrong for the direct deposit so his deposit was in limbo. So I called the customer service number. Talked to a girl I could barely understand. I asked to speak to a manager and the manager instead of helping sent me to another person that was so brainless.

I explained my situation like 10 times he couldn't get my account number correct. I told him the number many time and he acted like he started at the bank yesterday and had no clue what and why I was sent to him and then he was so rude and unprofessional. He said, "It not our fault your husband put an incorrect number on the direct deposit" and I was like, "Duh I know that but can you find the deposit or," and he interrupted me every time I said anything and I finally hung up in him.

Replies
AVOID CHASE BANK
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

SAN JOSES, CALIFORNIA -- WARNING: CHASE BANK is the worst, greedy bank I have ever dealt with. I know many of you feel the same way. I wanted to let the rest of you see why to never use CHASE BANK. I am switching banks because of the rude customer service and ALL OF THE FEES they charge for any reason they can come up with. For example: Low balance, negative balance, business support, for just having a checking account and others obviously.

They charge the small business to death – literally. Because of them, we are having a hard time staying afloat. I am currently seeking another bank to do business with. One that isn't so big that they no longer care for the small business anymore (typical multi-billion dollar company). Please share this to help others avoid this horrific company.

Replies
Overdraft Fee and Changes
StarStarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 2/51

POMPANO BEACH, FLORIDA -- Chase Bank in Pompano Beach in Citi center is no good. No help customer service. No good supervisor. Same overdraft fee. I don't have a problem paying if I'm responsible but when the rules change they don't advise the clients of the change. And when you call to get help, they just same. The rules change and they can't do anything about it. Like I said they don't advise the clients. I been with them over 6 years and they wouldn't help at all. Please read the reviews before you open an account. Thank you. I hope this help you.

Replies
Stupid Rules About Their Credit Cards
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

PHOENIX, ARIZONA -- They have stupid rules about their credit cards. In 2006 I filed for bankruptcy. I had a Chase credit card and had paid it off prior to the BK listing so I left it off my list of creditors hoping to keep the card open. I did the same with my personal bank credit card. The reason for the BK was due to a predatory loan and high HOA fees from my condo that basically sank me.

The day I filed the BK Chase cancelled my card, even though they were not listed on the BK. I asked why and they said they troll public records and if someone files BK their cards are automatically cancelled. My personal bank did not do this and to this day I still have the credit card through them with a 26 year history on my credit.

It's been 9 1/2 years since that stupid bankruptcy. Since then I have applied for and received store credit, American Express and Discover (zero interest), Best Buy (zero interest), and more. My credit score stands in the high 700's. I recently applied for an Amazon Visa card and they use Chase. It was automatically declined and their reason? A bankruptcy! 9 1/2 years ago! LOSERS! How dumb are you guys? You are losing out on a huge segment of the consumer market.

I will never apply for another Chase card, even after the full 10 years are up for my bankruptcy. I'd rather deal with a bank or credit company that wants to help people recover from a bad situation, not continue to punish them for 10 years!

Replies
Advertisement
Victim of Circumstances
By -

421 N DOUTY HANFORD, CALIFORNIA -- I have been battling identity theft more less since before July 2011. I told Chase Bank about it and said I would give them a folder with all information in it so that they be aware of my circumstances. They said OK. Then they said if I opened a new account with them and get new bank numbers, that would benefit me for less problems with past disputes I have been battling since 2006!

After I opened with new numbers on my account, I was also instructed to always report any disputes I may still be having and to always order a new Visa debit card with fresh number every time I may still be having the problems in my account. After having this newest account for only two to three months, I had in the last month or October 2011 only three disputes documented on my account and it totaled to an amount of seven dollars only. I also received conformation number on the disputes that everything had been straightened out in my account with Chase confirming this.

Then a couple of days after they cleared up these unauthorized debits, they told me their Chase Bank took an unanimous vote among the Chase representatives and they decided to kick me out of their bank in regards to three disputes that totaled up to seven dollars only and were proven to be unauthorized, and I have a statement letter saying that too.

I received this letter on October 26, 2011(?). I was told over the telephone by Claims department on October 24, 2011 that my account had been blocked because it is being closed. I asked why, they said it will tell you in a letter you will be receiving and they wouldn't tell me anything at all. Two days later I received that letter, I have called five times asking what happened because this letter does not tell me what happened exactly. Then when I call Social Security Death Benefits Department to tell them to mail the Benefits Check to my residence Social Security Administration, said I was too late in the month to be making any mailing changes because there's a deadline date then no changes can be made.

So needless to say, the Benefits were electronically deposited one minute after midnight on November 09, 2011. So I called Chase Bank again to let them know and they said they have received nothing. I happen to know that when Chase Bank receives any electronic deposits of any kind, that it is immediately documented on their system, and it isn't a debit withdrawal so it doesn't need to be held for two business days before posting to an account.

So tell me where is the Social Security Administration Treasury funds that Chase Bank received on November 09, 2011??? I then had the Social Security Treasury call the Chase bank confirming that the Benefits had been electronically transferred from the Social Security Treasury Department and had been received by JP Morgan
Chase Bank, NA, FDIC Establishment Bank location received in located at: Chase Bank - 421 N Douty, Hanford, CA 93239.

I drove to the Chase Bank to pick up the Benefits and Chase Bank would not give to me. I said, "Then give me my twelve dollars, you blocked in my account sixteen days ago. Your letter stated you were going to mail me the rest of my account funds in five business days. After the closing of my account, you kicked me out of without a reason. And I also want my monthly Benefits you received. I have bills due today that you are keeping from paying due to your circumstances of as why you closed my account. And now that its been closed for sixteen days already and you are still messing with my and now holding my monthly Benefits. I do not owe you any money and you also haven't given me my funds that were left in the account."

So they gave me my twelve dollars so I could have enough gas to get home on and said at 10 A.M. November 10, 2011 they would call me and tell me if I could pick up my Benefits funds or not yet. OK first - Chase Bank closed my account without telling why. Second - Chase Bank said they would refund my fund that were left in the account in five days. They did not.

Third - Chase bank accepted the electronic deposit that was sent from the Treasury Office of Social Security Benefits. Why did they except that Benefits Check sent to me at their bank when it was block for everything else? Fourth - do you think Chase bank is going to release my account funds that I asked for while I was at their Bank on November 09, 2011 if I had any pending balances? No I don't think so!

At least that is what they said in the closing letter and it's been sixteen days and they said in the letter ten business days, everything would be completed and released of the closure of my account they voted to close without telling me why or what the reason being in detail. Also I need that reason so that I may file a report on it with the rest of information I have put together for my police report on the identity theft that has been exposed on my behalf!!

This was instructed by the Federal Trade Commission on the list of instructions they gave me to go by to complete my Identity Theft Reporting it to the police to file. And then I receive a Case number to provide everybody, including Chase bank that I had told I was going to provide for them on my account problems. Look what they finished me with not only closing my account that I need, but by turning me into ChexSystem and maybe the Credit Bureau too. I didn't need that, I was barely trying to establish some good credit for once and now I won't be able to ever have a checking account again thanks to Chase Bank.

And I'm also one of the victims that Chase bank borrowed 200.00 from last year and I kept calling Chase Bank asking them why are you not finding the 200.00 that disappeared out of my account for three to four days. Then after that it reappeared, I asked Chase Bank where did you find it? They said 'we didn't, we don't know what happened'.

Now I'm going to sue Chase bank. I feel like I'm too stressed out and my blood pressure feels high and I also can't pay bills now. And they have been jacked us in dollars so I owe more and now I don't have enough money to ever catch up on being behind on my bills. And I sinking fast; and my name is on the blacklist of ever having another account of any kind or credit.

Replies
Home Modification a Joke
By -

I, like many others, have been going back and forth with this bank. I started this whole process in Nov. '09. Not as long as some, but same story. I initially received one letter saying I did not send them something (which I did), so I went ahead and sent it again, called back, they said they received it. I waited a few weeks, called again (Dec. 28th), was told my case was closed that very day! They said I was missing paperwork (again) - she said if I faxed it, they could re-open my case, so I did. Called back again in 48 hours to make sure they received it, yes they received it, it's "complete" and in underwriting.

Every time I call, they say call back in a few weeks to check the status, so I called again, was told it was closed on Dec. 28th. I said yes it was and was also re-opened that same day and was supposed to be in underwriting. She couldn't see that so I asked for someone else. This lady told me she didn't know why she told me that. Yes it's open and being reviewed, she'll contact the gentleman who is handling it, make sure everything is in order and call me back - never got a call. I call several more times - everything seems OK - "under review". I think OK, we're getting somewhere now!

Nope - I call again, DENIED (Mar. 8). No phone calls, no letters - just read an article (**) where Chase said they have increased attempts to contact customers to complete paperwork. Call 36 times, reach out by mail 15 times and make at least 2 home visits! I received one letter the whole time after my initial application, and I've been closed and denied and told over and over I am missing paperwork! NO CONTACT! So again I re-sent things and was told to call back to make sure they received it.

Of course this time I had to re-send current bank statements, pay stubs and everything else...I did this, called, was told, yes, but why am I not showing rental income? Ummm, because I don't own a rental! I have given them several documents which I explained to them what they mean - I haven't owned that home in years and they have all the proof in front of them! I was then told OK, it's "complete" & under review AGAIN. I stewed for a few days and thought, 'this is a government program, there has to be somewhere to complain or get help'.

So I hit the net and found the MHA Help line 888-995-HOPE. A gentleman actually 3-wayed a call to Chase and they were a little more helpful and straightforward...said it's taking 4-9 months and sometimes 12 to get an answer after I've been told constantly 60 days. I said OK, except I've been closed and denied in a lot less than that a few times for "missing paperwork" and never received anything telling me that. She said well we TRY to send everyone a letter. No way! If I wasn't constantly calling these people and being proactive, I'd have no clue.

Peoplekeep calling!!! Who knows what will happen now? The MHA Help guy said to call them if I start getting the runaround again, which I will I'm sure. The more I read on the net, the more I believe Chase doesn't want to help people. I've even heard from people at work where the same thing with the paperwork is happening to them and then they get denied, etc. It's a mighty big coincidence!!!

Replies
They Want to Take My Home....Again
By -

COLUMBUS, OHIO -- This story goes back to 2008 when my husband developed throat cancer. He had to stop working and undergo a laryngectomy in May 2008, which means he lost his voice. Well, I am also disabled (malformed hips and knees and unable to work since 2005), so we had NO money coming in until he started to receive his SSI. This means that the mortgage fell behind.

I tried to talk with Chase Home Finance LLC, but they would not speak to me because my name wasn't on the mortgage - only my husband's. I tried to explain to them that he has no voice so cannot speak and I had his power of attorney...but they would not listen. They refused to take any payments (partial or otherwise)because my name was not on the loan. I had to wait for my husband to become coherent enough to sign a paper saying that I could speak for him, but the bank would not acknowledge the paper or the power of attorney.

They would call our home to talk to my husband, but when I answered the phone, they hung up - refusing to speak with me. Needless to say, the bank foreclosed on our house and we were forced to move out of our home in November 2008.

Fast forward 5 months -- we were living in a rental and had seen the house go up for police auction three times and then get pulled. In March of 2009, Chase contacts me and says that since the mortgage is Fannie Mae-backed, they have to work with us and offered us our house back. We accepted. Their staff person (name available on request) worked with us and dropped our payment, 34.00 each month, and we were able to move back into our home in April 2009.

We were told to make the new payment for three months (May, June, July) and they would re-negotiate our mortgage. We did this via money order. We received paperwork stating that our forbearance has ended, but no new paperwork on new terms. That was in December of 2009. So we continued to make the payments we had been making. Add to this that the bank lost our paperwork FOUR TIMES as we have tried to get our new terms established, and this has been quite a challenge.

The bank HAS contacted us in 2010. In February, they have called to speak to my husband, but when I told them that he cannot speak due to the laryngectomy and I informed them that I was his wife and had power of attorney to speak for him, they started hanging up on us again (like they did before). February 22, 2010, at 4:29 PM they called and I answered and they hung up on me (AGAIN).

I immediately called my local branch office that has been helping me so I could get this matter resolved. It was when the staff person called them directly that she found out that they needed MORE PAPERWORK...the same paperwork that we had re-sent FOUR TIMES!!! This was at 5:02 PM when I found this out. At 5:26 PM of the same day, a staff person...but now they say that we make too much money (1296.00 a month for 2 people) to benefit from any government assistance mortgage programs, but not enough to make increased payments. They had originally said that any past due would be added to the end, but now they won't honor that.

The government gave JP Morgan Chase and Fannie Mae all this stimulus money to keep people in their homes-- but why is it now that I am being told that I may not be able to keep my home? How can one of the main financial institutions get away with changing the rules of the game and losing important paperwork FOUR TIMES? How can two disabled people be treated as if they lived in a third world country? Who was the home assistance program created for? How can Chase Home Finance LLC think they are above everyone else???? HELP!!!

Replies
Chase Bank Is the Most Evil, Unethical Bank I Have Ever Used
By -

BUFFALO GROVE, ILLINOIS -- I have had several banks in my life, and have been fairly satisfied. I switched to Chase a few years ago because my mortgage was with them. I have come to realize that Chase is the most unethical and corrupt bank out there. They are thieves and preying on people especially in this difficult economy.

Last week I was out of town and used my debit card at a cafe at the hotel we were staying at. My account was low but I was getting paid in a couple days and have direct deposit. I had more than enough to cover the two small debits at the cafe. I knew this for sure because the cafe had a computer for customers to use so I checked my balance. There were no other pending transactions other than the two small transactions at the cafe I had put through.

When I got home that evening, I checked my online banking again and noticed that there was another transaction pending from later in the day from the toll authority. Apparently my transponder on my car was low on tolls so the toll authority put through an automatic debit without any warning. My account did not have enough in it that day to cover the toll authority debit so I knew I would be charged one fee. The toll authority charge was listed after the two small cafe debits so the toll charge was the last debit of the day and the only one that would have caused an overdraft.

I accepted the one fee and had no problem paying it. But after my payroll check was direct deposited, I noticed Chase had charged me 3 overdraft fees for a total of $105.00. I looked again at my online banking account and noticed that Chase had re-arranged the order of the debits and put the toll authority debit before the two small cafe debits. This switch in order gave Chase the opportunity to hit me with 3 fees instead of the one.

I was furious and I called their customer service department. I told them that I knew they had re-arranged the sequence of the debits which maximized their fees against me and they ADMITTED TO IT. They said they can arrange them however they choose without regard for the order the debits actually came through. I could not believe what I was hearing. I asked to speak to her supervisor and was told the same thing, that basically they can do this, it is not illegal and too bad, so sad.

I am closing my account and moving to another bank next weekend when I get my next paycheck. The new bank I called, which is actually a bank I used a few years ago, asked me what bank I was leaving. I told them Chase and she laughed and said they have tons of ex-Chase customers coming over. Do not use Chase, they are thieves. I am also writing my state government to find out if what Chase is doing is legal and if so why! The greed of this bank is unbelievable.

Replies
Advertisement
Closing a Business Account
By -

NEW YORK, OREGON -- Began a process in February, 2011 attempting to close a business account that has been open for probably 7 years. Originally hoped to transfer this acct. but there is no Chase Manhattan Bank in our area, so cannot transfer the acct. The branch where the acct. was opened advised that the owner of the acct., my boss, needed to come to the bank in person to close the acct. When I pressed the issue, I was given an 800 number to call. After speaking at great length, giving every possible piece of information about the acct., was told that it certainly could be closed over the phone. They would send paperwork.

A month later, no paperwork had arrived. I again called, got bounced around to a couple of people and finally was told that yes, this acct. could be closed over the phone. Again reassured, gave all the information, again...told the paperwork would be sent to my boss' home address.

Now my boss is getting frustrated. So in August I called again. This time I was instructed to write a letter, I was given a fax number to their "National Account Closing Dept." Per the conversation, 10 to 12 days after receipt of this letter, the account would be closed and the check would be mailed. To neither my boss's surprise nor mine, no check ever arrived. He then got on the phone and spoke with someone at the 800 number. As their conversation continued, he was given the same royal run-around that I was.

Finally in total frustration, he asked to speak with a supervisor. He was told that there was none on duty. He asked when a supervisor would be on duty and...got the run-around. She finally appeased him by telling him that he would be sent paperwork that needed to be completed. Once that was returned, the acct. would be closed and a check would be mailed. Well, that didn't happen either. No paperwork ever arrived - again.

Today I tried calling the branch where the account was originally opened. I asked to speak with someone who dealt with closing accounts. I was sharply told - you have to appear in person! I asked if I could speak with someone else. I was told there is no one else. I asked if the bank employed anyone besides the woman I was speaking with? She clicked off the line and when she came back on, she told me again that you need to appear in person to close an account. I asked again to speak with someone other than her. She finally transferred me around (I know it was at least twice) and I ended up speaking with another woman.

She asked for acct. info, etc. She then informed me that the acct. was closed. I asked how that happened? She then told me that because the acct. was inactive, the monies has been forfeited to the State of New York. She told me to give her a few minutes to make a few calls and she would call me back. About 20 minutes after that, she did in fact call me back. She then informed me that she needed to know if I knew "this name". She rattled off a name and I told her since I was not involved when this acct. was opened, I did not know or recognize the name.
However, since my boss was standing at my desk I could put him on the line.

He spoke with her and she asked him the same questions she had asked me - acct. #, etc. Finally, she told him that he needed to provide two photo IDs, copies of the checks, and other information about the account. Then she gave him a fax number. I have tried twice to get that fax through and have not been successful. It registers as "incomplete number". I guess the only recourse is to turn it over to an attorney and stop the madness.

Replies
Horrible Customer Service
By -

I guess I had an overdraft protection service on my checking account that I was not fully aware of. The year before, I had gone to a branch with my husband and was asking about something else. A representative at the branch decided to do something on my account without my consent and I get a credit card in the mail. I do remember specifically telling the representative that I did not need a credit card account or a credit card.

I received the credit card and never used it since. I did notice a credit card account on my accounts under my Chase login, but I assumed that it had to do with the credit card and not associated with something else. I noticed some charges on my Chase credit card that were my overdraft charges on my checking account and the fees for it. I contacted the credit card department to see what charges were these and how did they get there. So, since it was seen as being correlated to my checking account, I was asked to go to the checking account department and discuss it with them.

I was on the phone with someone and asked her to hold while I verify the appropriate checking account number. When I came back to my phone, I was pretty much hung up on and I could hear the replay of the menu that directs you to the appropriate customer service representative Finally, I get a hold of someone to talk about my checking account. I am asking her all sorts of questions about it and specifically why I have an activated credit card account and how does that work. I am trying to figure out why I have an activated credit card account when I have never used the credit card.

So, the lady tells me that I should contact the credit card company and ask them those questions since it is relative to the credit card account. I spoke to the credit card department again and the person explains to me that it is activated because I have overdraft protection. On top of that, the representative explains to me that anyone of the reps that I may have spoken to in either departments could have explained this to me and that they were just pretty much passing the buck. I am sorry, but that just upsets me even more.

I had a few more questions as she continues to explain it to me because she stated that the minimum charge from the credit card is $50, which I can see on my credit card, but I see another overdraft protection fee which is 5 bucks. From her, I am being told that I have to talk to the other department again to see why the minimum overdraft protection fees are variable.

It just got really frustrating since I am being bobbled between two different departments to get all of my questions fully answered because the overdraft protection fee is associated with both the credit card and the checking account departments and neither department is taking full responsibility of the situation. Not once have I ever heard someone even state that they will do a three-way calling with the other department to fully answer all of my questions. That would have made it so much easier on me as a client to fully resolve the issue. Me, having been a customer service representative, I have done that so many times for a client to fully resolve issues.

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >

Chase Bank Rating:
Star Half star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.4 out of 5, based on 42 ratings and
396 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
Chase Bank
270 Park Ave FL 12
New York, NY 10017-2014
212-270-6000 (ph)
212-270-6522 (fax)
www.chase.com
Product/Services
Compare Banks