Preview Review

Next Review

CIGNA Corporation Health Insurance Consumer Reviews

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
FSA Account Mismanagement
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

PHILADELPHIA, PENNSYLVANIA -- I agree with the other reviewers, if you have a choice, do NOT use Cigna, in this case for an FSA. I used my company's FSA, administered by Cigna. They mismanaged my funds and paid them out incorrectly (in duplicate). Thereafter, Cigna would not correct their accounting errors when I brought them to their attention in the middle of the tax year, so that I could submit additional claims to cover the incorrectly distributed funds without having Cigna merely reject them due to their labeling my account as depleted of funds.

Moreover, Cigna took no action until after the tax year had ended, and then in May of the following tax year (i.e., after the fund forfeiture time had been reached, which was 11 months after I reached out to them to correct my account), Cigna demanded repayment of the funds. The late date of their attending to their errors relative to the tax year those funds were set aside by me and mismanaged by them raise concerns that my account may have been mismanaged deliberately.

Subsequently, what I learned from the US Dept of Labor Office of Employee Benefits Security Administration staff is that a private employer should have a designated Administrator to oversee this type of problem as well as an administration plan that should include IRS fixing rules to correct these types of errors. If you are having difficulties with your FSA, find out who that designated person is for your company. It is now 2 years since Cigna mismanaged those funds and I am still trying to get the issue corrected. As a result, I did not use Cigna FSA last year, so as to avoid Cigna's account mismanagement, compounded by their unresponsiveness to concerns regarding their significant mishandling of an account.

Replies
They Are Scam Artists
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

, MISSOURI -- My husband has Cigna Health Insurance through work. In January 2013 he was diagnosed with Cardio Myopathy, and was told by his cardiologist that he would need an Internal Cardiac Defibrillator implanted. Due to a lot of Medicare fraud with these devices, the government has a 90-day MANDATORY waiting period before one can be implanted, during which time the doctor monitors to see if medication alone can help the condition. During that waiting period, most of these patients are prescribed by their cardiologist to wear a ZOLL Life Vest, which is an external vest worn that can shock the heart in case of sudden cardiac arrest.

My husband's cardiologist is an In-Network provider, as well as the hospital he uses. The ZOLL Life Vest is the ONLY device of its kind made in the entire world, so there are no other such devices to choose from, and this is a life-threatening condition without such a device. This device is also an FDA Class III approved device, so it is no way considered an experimental device, and MOST insurance companies pay for the use of this device as an In-Network device, since there are no others made, EXCEPT CIGNA!

At no time did Cigna advise either my husband or his cardiologist that they considered this device as an Out of Network device, and until ZOLL themselves sent us a letter alerting us to this, and informing us that they were appealing this decision, we had no clue.

I made a complaint on the Consumer Affairs complaint forum, and lo and behold I get contacted through them the next day from someone at Cigna who said her name was **, and that she would like to help us with this matter. To make a long story short, she was a troll for the company whose job is to go through these boards and act like they are so concerned and want to help you. Well I bit, and sent her the information she said she needed, and she sent me back an email stating she got the info and was already at work researching the problem.

Three weeks later, after hearing nothing back, we receive the final bill for what we owe to ZOLL, with the Out of Network charges, meaning they turned down Zoll's appeal, and again no one told us. I emailed ** again, and this time I am told that she has no access to my husband's records, while remember that she told me she was researching our case and had all of the info, and that she had kicked it up to another department and had heard nothing back. So surprise, she had just put in another request on the day I just happened to get the bill and emailed her asking her what was going on.

My husband had reached his out of pocket cap for the year BEFORE the ZOLL bill went to Cigna, so we believe that this is an arbitrary decision on their part to charge it as an Out of Network claim, so they won't have to foot the bill for the entire claim, since my husband always uses In-Network providers and services, and has not reached the cap for his out of pocket expenses this year. I fired back an angry email to this **, which probably is not even her real name, and told her that this was a scam by her company, and that she had openly lied to me from day one, in order to stall, hoping that our time for an appeal would be up.

I filed a complaint with the Missouri Dept. of Insurance, as well as our own appeal to the APWU, which is the union for the USPS that my husband works for, because I am done dealing with this unscrupulous company. They are now going to have to explain to the state where they get off claiming this ZOLL Life Vest is an Out of Network claim, when it is the only device of its kind made in the world, and FDA approved for my husband's condition.

Replies
Warning If You Have A Choice; Don't Use Cigna For Your FSA!!!
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

EDEN PRAIRIE, MINNESOTA -- I am not aware if CIGNA provides FSA management for other companies, but as a CIGNA employee spouse I am appalled at the lack of communication and the frustration of processing a request for reimbursement from my Flexible Spending Account.

I had $2500 from my FSA for 2013, my son had orthodontia on 12/31/13. This is a qualifying expense for the year 2013. I waited for the processing of my dual dental coverage, but there continued to processing issues. I could no longer wait to file my request for reimbursement as the deadline for submission had approached. I submitted the information I had indicating payment to the Orthodontist of $2475 and an EOB from a dental insurer indicating treatment began in December 2013.

CIGNA's explanation of eligible orthodontia services being reimbursable clearly indicates that “reimbursement can be made once charges have been billed. This can be a one-time fee less any amount paid.” The total billed for orthodontia is approximately $6000, I have paid a portion and dental insurance will eventually pay the rest. NOWHERE does it indicate that FSA will be reimbursed to the member / client / customer based on date paid.

Per the IRS Orthodontia is an eligible medical expense and “distributions from a health FSA must be paid only to reimburse you for qualified medical expenses you incurred during the period of coverage.” The period of coverage for my service was 2013.

STOP WITHHOLDING MY MONEY!! The FSA has a use-it-or-lose-it policy and a dollar limit, so that people don't shelter income tax-free. The other advantage people have to use a FSA is access to the money for qualified expenses during the plan year before they have contributed all the earmarked funds. BUT CIGNA is not accountable – I am accountable to the IRS, so GIVE ME MY MONEY!

ORTHODONTIA is not special – it may be paid differently when processing it as a dental claim – BUT CIGNA YOU ARE NOT PROCESSING A CLAIM FOR PAYMENT TO A PROVIDER! This is my money; this was my qualified medical expense during my qualified plan year. There is nothing more to process.

Replies
LesPerks
StarStarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 2/51

WESTON -- This medical management and Medicare affiliate company offers many nice amenities, free exercise workout facility access, transportation to medical-dental appointments and a small monthly allowance for OTC (over-the-counter) medications and left-over dollars roll-over each month. This all sounds good and looks good on an advertisement. This is a good draw for retired and disabled persons living on fixed incomes of just a thousand dollars or less per month. We manage but there's not much leftover for extras.

The problem is mainly with transportation and customer services' ability to resolve an issue. We need transportation to get to and from appointments. No-shows and being late is a consummate problem. Customer service personnel are surly, argumentative. Many, disrespectfully, presume first names when addressing their patrons. They hang up on you. They make a relatively, easy encounter stressful. My daughter, uses a wheelchair, was refused transportation because she, allegedly, had used up her transport quota.

Our agent was incredulous to explain this misinformation. He made a call to customer service said we would get a call. I got a voicemail. We returned the call. We left a message with a live person but never heard from this person. Our agent followed up to see what happened? We told him we were filing a grievance. On a call to customer service, I recognized her voice and her name but she, totally, denied any knowledge of having tried to contact me. It was her. Go figure. Right? We mailed a grievance around June 2013. One person left a voice-mail, 09/04 @ 9:20 am. Nine days later after (4) return calls to her voice-mail we've received no further response.

OTC? About 8:30 am, 09-11-2013, I was hung-up on (3) times on (3) separate calls by (3) separate clerks before, on the 4th attempt I got a clerk capable and willing to dispense. Week later I called to inquire, as my meds had not arrived. The insurance clerk gave me a postal tracking number and told me to call my local post office. I did. They told me the package was there and it would be delivered in a few days. About 08/15/2013, a clerk told me it was their (Cigna) responsibility to track the order and she did telling me the items were at the post office and would arrive, shortly. I left for vacation from 8/21-8/28.

The meds had not arrived. On, 08 /29 I called again asking for a supervisor. This person apologized for the confusion. My item arrived about, 09/03. I called (Cigna) and, actually, got the same guy who, originally, placed the order. He tried to give me the track number again. I refused telling him that was his job not mine. I suggested that he cancel the order and submit a new order, as the delivery time had surpassed its allotted time. I asked, why, who at Cigna had diverted the original order from UPS to the local post office? And, why, were their personnel instructing clients to track packages?

Replies
Advertisement
Cigna Lied About What Was Included in My Policy
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

LOS ANGELES, CALIFORNIA -- I have now been a member of Cigna for a few months and have found out that the sales representative lied to me about 2 different items. I signed up for a health and dental plan. The sales representative told me that I would pay 15$ for generic prescriptions and 30$ for name brand. The reality is that generics were in fact low priced but the name brands would cost me full price and Cigna won't cover any of it. That's a pretty big lie in my book.

Then I found out yesterday that having dental insurance doesn't mean squat. I had a filling pop out and could not eat or drink anything because of the pain. I made an emergency appointment with my dentist only to find out that Cigna doesn't cover emergencies until after 6 months or 12 months. In my mind I have insurance exactly for the reason of emergencies. Again, this is where the sales representative lied to me. I fully understand not covering elective procedures but to not cover emergency procedures, that is absurd. This is a huge lie by the sales representative.

I then called customer service to try to deal with the dental situation and was given the run around and told that the only way I could attempt to get Cigna to cover the procedure was to write an appeal. So let me get this straight, your company lies to me, sells me a bag of goods, and then tells me it's my problem and my responsibility to fix? Does this sound like a scam to anyone else? I will be cancelling my policy with Cigna and finding a company that is honest, knows what customer service actually is, and actually provides the services that you pay for.

Replies
Denied $10,779.00 for covered services.
StarStarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 2/51

NEW JERSEY -- On 11/24/2009 I had a medical procedure that amounted to $10,779.00. I was informed that this procedure was covered my Cigna insurance. On 01/27/2009, the service provider sent me a letter that was addressed to an incorrect mailing address. The letter stated the Cigna send a notice to the provider on 12/18/09 that they are not obligated to pay any portion of the claim because of the provider's waiver of co-insurance and deductible. For years, this provider had waive co-insurance and deductibles and was notified of the Cigna change after my service were provided.

About 2 months ago, I was contacted by a collection agency demanding payment of $10,779.00. I called Cigna on 6/23/12 and was informed that it appeared that the claim was denied incorrectly and was scheduled to be re-opened and to call back in about 15 days. On 7/5/12, I did a follow-up call and was informed that the claim was being reviewed. On 7/23/12, I called again and was informed that claim was active and call back in 15 days. On 8/8/12 I placed another call and was informed that a service representative call and informed me that I would have to file an appeal due to the claim is now over 2 years old. I am now appealing the claim and awaiting disposition.

Meanwhile, debt collection company is now calling and for payment. I am trying to hold them off because I am on fixed income and no means to repay $10,779.00 to repay this amount. Now they are possible reporting this on my credit file and at 68 I may have to file bankruptcy to get out of the debt.

Replies
Denied Medication for Sinus Infection Needed From Compounding Pharmacy
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

MARIETTA, GEORGIA -- Cigna denied my sinus infection antibiotic treatment prescribed by my ENT, and this medication has been compounded and used by me for years prior to Cigna coverage. I have increasing kidney failure probably from multiple antibiotics from constant sinus infections caused by Common Variable Immunodeficiency Disease. My kidneys and immunodeficiency will not get better but sometimes am prescribed nasal infusions to put most of the medicine where the problem is and help spare my kidneys.

This is an acute condition yet they denied it based on diagnosis and "safety". They are denying medication prescribed by my doctor because they think he practices unsafe medicine or does not know the best prescription for my particular problem?

Replies
Cigna takes your money every month and then refuses all claims to get richer!!!
By -

DECATUR, TEXAS -- Been paying into Cigna $600 a month for 12 years without fail and now my wife needs a spinal fusion for bone on bone in her lower back and they refused the surgery saying a spinal fusion is experimental. They have been doing spinal fusions since the 1960's and have done millions of them... physical therapy failed and there is no other course of treatment that will work except surgery. Cigna had no other recommendations for treatment except that they wouldn't pay for surgery and she would just have to stay on pain meds forever. The surgeon has written multiple appeals to Cigna on her behalf with no success. Anyone have any other ideas???

Replies
Advertisement
No Concern for a Child Mental Health or Chemical Dependency
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

LAKEVILLE, MINNESOTA -- My child has PTSD and chemical dependency. Today I was informed that she is no longer is being denied to continue her day treatment. Family and her facility consoler all agree she has made good strides but is not stable enough and relapse will not then likely happen if she does not continue treatment. Without any notice we were told on at noon on a Friday that she can not attend day treatment on the upcoming Monday. There was no communications of this either written or calls in advance.

The only thing that can be done is an appeal (which will take up to 30 days). By that time, she will have more than likely relapsed or worse. With a very big household there are enough challenges without being stabbed in the back by a company which you pay high rates for on a bi-weekly basis. We never had these issues with BCBS or Medica. However our company went a cheaper route and cheap is what we got! I would like to see this medical company live up to what they claim to be in their commercials. You would think they would care about a child's well-being but I guess that is too much to ask from CIGNA!

Replies
Conflict Of Interest Involving Labor Law Discrimination Retaliation
By -

EAST SYRACUSE, NEW YORK -- I am a survivor of labor law discrimination retaliation & personal permanent injuries resulted from the retaliation including property damage, death threats & vicious acts of hate, resulted from my NY State Workers Compensation Board Cases ** traveling with**.

Cigna was the administrator for my husband's employee elected benefits for medical for him & me, Cigna HMO breached the medical contract/denied medical & removed our PCP physician from the contract & added a physician they had the conflict of interest with to deny medical care. After I was assaulted in June 1999 Cigna contacted the PCP requesting the assault go under NY State Workers Comp. Case WCB69709892, the PCP was concerned & wrote it in my medical record. Their Legal Dept in the State of Connecticut have the record on it.

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >

CIGNA Corporation Health Insurance Rating:
Star Empty star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.2 out of 5, based on 9 ratings and
23 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
CIGNA Corporation
One Liberty Place
Philadelphia, PA 19192-1550
215-761-1000 (ph)
215-761-5515 (fax)
www.cigna.com
Product/Services
Compare Health Insurance Companies