Preview Review

Next Review

Circuit City Consumer Reviews

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Rebate Woes-Buyer Beware
By -

CEDAR HILL, TEXAS -- While Christmas shopping at Circuit City, I observed a display sign that stated Logitech Webcam Deluxe (normally $79.99) was on sale for $9.99 each. What a bargain! I scooped up 3 for gifts and headed for the cash register. At the check-out, the total was over $180! I asked for the manager and pointed out the display sign that clearly said nothing about rebate. The manager stood firm and I would have to pay the actual sale price of $59.99 and get the rebate. After thinking it over, I decided to buy the webcams anyway since it would still be a bargain. I went back to the register and purchased 3 webcams.

Additionally, I questioned the representative about limits to the rebate since I was getting 3. She called over the customer service manager to answer my question. The manager assured me I could get a rebate on all 3, but would need separate receipts, so she refunded my card and charged each webcam separately. I completed the rebates and immediately sent them in with everything needed. Last week I found one rebate was being processed, but the others were showing invalid. I called the rebate line and was told there was a limit of 1 per product type.

After I told the representative what I was told at the store, he spoke to his supervisor (and since I was a valued customer), agreed to pay the other two rebates. I specifically asked him if they were refunding all 3 webcams and I was told yes. Well, OK. Today I receive an email that only 2 rebates are in process. I called the rebate line again and I'm told there are only 2 rebates and I should consider myself lucky because the 2nd one was actually invalid due to the product limit. And by the way, they have no record of the 3rd rebate request. I pointed out the name of the person I spoke with last week and that he assured me I would receive 3 rebates.

The representative stated she only showed 2 requests and suggested I call Circuit City to call in my 3rd rebate. I suggested she transfer me to the person I spoke with last week since he recognized I had 3 rebates last week. I was told, they are not allowed to transfer callers. I asked for a supervisor and after holding 20 minutes, received the same lame responses from him. I feel Circuit City purposely misled me by offering a phony sale. Why would any business leave out important information such as a rebate and product limits from a sale display sign? It should have read "$9.99 after rebate, Limit-one rebate per product type".

There is a big difference between tax on $180 and $30.00 as well. What's worse, I went out of my way to check on limitations and was given misinformation. Who is going to stand at a check out and read that 2 foot long receipt with the rebate wherefore's and whereas'? Now it will be my word against a receipt that states, in writing, rebate product limits. I would recommend using a different store altogether for your electronic needs, but if you chose to shop at Circuit City, buyer beware of sales. The bargain displayed might not be as good as you thought.

Replies
Advertisement
Very Unfair Customer Service, Resolution
By -

PHOENIX / TUCSON, ARIZONA -- I had to post this online. I've never done this before but I want to share with the world how bad this company really is. I purchased a laptop back in January not an overly expensive one around $740. I had issues with it when I returned home with it, the display would not come on. I called and they offered a 'free exchange'. I got home with that one, around 3 days later the laptop failed to come on for me. I checked everything, I returned it, they looked it over and said it was a faulty motherboard, again they exchanged it. They offered me yet another free exchange for the same model although it was an open box, it was a returned item, the same day.

I said no and asked my other options, 'you can upgrade by paying the difference'. OK well if that's my only option, sure I can do that (they were friendly, and I figured you get what you pay for). Not the case, several months pass, and my new 9339us laptop fails, the HDD went out, the integrated webcam stopped working (I never knew it was failing until I tried to conference with family back home in the United Kingdom) and the battery lasted about 4 minutes on a full charge, when I fist got this upgrade it lasted about 2.5 hrs.

I called CC and had a total call time since last weds of 8 hours (mostly hold time), then they told me to fax my receipts in, I waited a further 2 days and they told me the laptop was a recall from HP back in June. I was shocked, neither company contacted its buyers. They offered me yet another FREE EXCHANGE although it wasn't free, they liquidized all the Circuit City stores in the Phoenix Metro Valley about 2 weeks ago and my closest store from my house was Tucson (140 miles) or Yuma (160 miles). I agreed to drive down to Tucson where I did the exchange for an equal machine.

6 hours $50 gas later I returned home and found that the wireless and Ethernet card didn't work. I contacted HP and they told me this model was manufactured back in Feb 2007 and was a recalled machine. They said it was CC that had to fix the issue as this machine was 190 days out of warranty anyhow. (How if it was purchased in Jan?), also I come to find the system is a complete downgrade, slower processor, shared ram on the video card and half the memory and HDD space.

I spoke to CC customer care and they put me onto a supervisor her name was Tocorro. She said she is the only supervisor in escalated called department and told me the only resolution was to drive to Tucson again and get an exchange for the same machine (which they no longer carry, it was a recall) or one of lesser value, or I can pay for an upgrade OR get a credit for the one I currently have (I found this one was priced on CC website in the past for $600, that's not what I originally paid). I explained to her that driving 12 hours and spending $100 in gas money wasn't fair because their company had to close every store (20 I believe) in the valley where I live.

I said "you should honor the upgrade or exchange for matching specs on my machine." She said "exchange for the same model, we don't carry it anymore or get one that's worth less money or get your money back as a 'Store Credit'" This is beyond me. Store credit, it's 6 hours away and I don't shop online, when I want something I like to go pick it up.

So because of the mishap of them downgrading me, they offer me the downgraded value in refund by way of 'store credit' and of course $100 in gas, for me to be able to receive that so make my first purchase of $740 now become a $500 credit for fuel charge to myself and a downgraded system. I asked to speak to someone above her and she said 'she is the end of the line in corporate'. Where do I go now?

Replies
Circuit City Has The Worst Customer Service Ever!
By -

After reading other reviews for Circuit City on this site I know I'm screwed, they will never do what is right. On August 28, 2008 I finally received the $150.00 in rewards points certificates that I had been waiting 6 weeks for. I went to the South Oklahoma City store (I-240) to purchase the Panasonic camera that we had researched and decided on. Although it was in stock 6 weeks earlier when we ordered our rewards certificates, it was now only available at Circuit City.com.

We went home, got on the site and saw that the silver model we wanted was out of stock and had been discontinued. It was still advertised at a special price of $215.00. The black model had also been discontinued but was still available, however the price for it was $265.00. Exact same camera, different color $50.00 more.

I checked competitors sites and most had both in stock with no difference in price. Panasonic and Circuit City's sites showed the same suggested retail for both cameras. I was now irritated that I would have to spend $50.00 more for the purchase, but I noticed that there was a free $100.00 printer included after mail in rebate. This helped to calm me as we needed a printer anyway. We decided to order the camera and printer. I decided to call in the order to the 800 number as I normally get better service ordering from a "human".

I called, began placing the order, and when we got to the payment portion of the call I told the "helpful, friendly product advisor" that I had rewards certificates to redeem. He must have been new, or just didn't want to mess with them because he told me that I could only redeem those in-store or on Circuit City.com myself. Again, I'm miffed. This is becoming an all day event. I hung up, went back to the website and began placing my order.

When I completed the order I realized that I had left the printer off. I immediately (within 5 minutes) called the 800 number again and explained what had happened. The customer service person apologized, told me that the "friendly, helpful..." person should have placed my order, that rewards certificates can in fact be redeemed by phone. However, "the system" would not allow her to correct the problem.

Since the rewards certificates are "one-time" use only, if she cancelled the order I placed and placed a new order with the printer on it I would lose my $150.00. So my options were 1). To not receive the free printer that was advertised with my camera and supposedly a $100.00 value or 2). Lose my $150.00 in rewards certificates.

All of this would not have happened if the "friendly, helpful..." person would have placed the order for me as he should have done. The customer service department is a joke. They blame everything on "the system" and it doesn't matter that it was their phone representative that caused the problem in the first place. I wish that I had read the reviews on Circuit City or checked with the BBB before doing business with them. I have already cut up their credit card and I will never again buy anything, not even a battery from them.

Resolution Update 09/03/2008:

Wow, I on't beleive it! A week later and my problem is resolved. I finally resorted to contacting my local store (I-240) and spoke with Ashley in customer service. I explained my problem to her only once and she understood! Not only did she understand what was wrong, she knew how to fix it. She took my number, said she would call me back and to my amazement she did! Within about 5 minutes! She said everything was taken care of, all I would need to do would be to come in the store and pay for the printer and pick it up. When I arrived there was no wait, no hassle, no rude employees. She had pulled up my original on-line order, added the printer, printed me a receipt which had both the camera and printer on it and had my rebate form ready for me! Her manager Marty was also there and was friendly and helpful. On top of fixing my existing problem, I had found a Sears ad for the same camera for $20.00 less, Marty credited 110% of the difference back to my card. After all I had went through with the 800 number I was amazed at how easy the fix was in the store and how nice the people were that I dealt with. I didn't realize that they would be so eager to help with a problem from an on-line purchase. CC should have these two employees conducting training classes on how to treat customers. They may have saved one here.

Replies
A manifestation of a deeper problem
By -

VIRGINIA -- I am a former employee of Circuit City for over nine years. The recent bankruptcy of Circuit City came to no surprise to me. When I began working for Circuit City in 1984 it was a company that was the epitome of the American dream. Like many other corporations from days gone by the most important commodity of Circuit City were its employees. Not upper management, and not the dollar. As a result the dollars came for Circuit City and they came big.

I remember in days gone by Circuit City were closed Sundays and Mondays, had a nationwide company picnic that was completely paid for by Circuit City, a kick off party in which the store closed for its employees, and gave literally thousands of dollars worth of electronics to its employees that included big screen TV's, stereo systems, as well as monetary prizes. Over and above all this, its employees were well rewarded financially for good customer service, performance, as well as sales incentives. From my understanding the years previous were even better.

I can even remember attending a sales meeting discussing an up and coming electronics company named Best Buy. How that they would never be any real competition for Circuit City. Somewhere between the early years and the last 25 years however Circuit City lost the vision that the employees are the bread and butter of an organization not upper management. I can still remember when Circuit City offered good health benefits, paid sick leave, and a good retirement program.

Unfortunately I can also remember when I noticed the company began its downward journey to its current demise. It started with the stores being open seven days a week as opposed to five. Then the next thing to go was the company picnics, the kick off parties and sales incentives became stingy-er and stingy-er. Then in a few short years I noticed that store supervisors and employees that were just several years from collecting on their retirement had been terminated for what seemed to be unsubstantiated reasons.

Furthermore as new employees were hired they were not offered the same incentives or pay as those that were currently employed. Then as years went by the product knowledge, and the sales training program for new hires went from several weeks to several days.

The manifestation of this downhill slide is Bankruptcy. The deeper problem is the same the nation over. The lack of vision for a greater community, and country for the "middle class" worker has turned to the turning over of a quick buck for the CEO's.

Replies
Advertisement
Scammed By Circuit City
By -

TEMPLE, TEXAS -- I then went to my local Circuit City in Harker Heights Texas and was told by the girl at the door who I had to wait to get off her cell phone making dinner plans that "Circuit City sells all items to a liquidator and I have to contact the liquidator to find out why it is reported stolen." I asked did she know how I would find out the contact information to the liquidator. "How would I know that information? Do I look like a phone book," is the response I got.

I then requested to speak to the manager and was told, "They are all unavailable for such a stupid reason... You need to deal with Virgin Mobile... You are probably not wanting to deal with them 'cause you knew the item was stolen and now you don't want it." My husband at that time, got very angry. He asked 2 other people in the store to speak with the manager and was told by them that the managers were busy and we needed to call the 800# or deal with Virgin Mobile. I have never in my life been treated in such a manner by anyone.

I have called and spoke with the 800# representative. The last representative I spoke with was friendly and said she was sorry for what happen when I asked for the 800# for the complaint line. She said she would document the information under the case number already on file. And I needed to call back on Monday to speak with a supervisor in the Richmond or Richland office... She said she was sorry but their office was closed and wouldn't be open until Monday.

I said "I would call back on Monday and speak with the supervisor. I would like for someone to find out how it is possible that I purchased something from one of your stores, with a receipt that shows I paid for it and it is reported stolen by the Virgin Mobile company.

This was a Christmas present for my daughter who I had to go out and buy another phone so that she was able to actually have the only present she asked Santa for. I feel insulted, cheated, and belittle by not only the first 2 reps I spoke with at the 800#, but the people at the store in Circuit City in Harker Heights.

Replies
Circuit City in Portage, MI
By -

PORTAGE -- On Tuesday, January 20th "Saw V" was released at a sales price of $14.99. I called the store 3 times to see if the store had received the DVD as planned. No one at the store ever picked up the phone so I had to make the drive to the store. I couldn't find an employee close by so I decided the try to find the DVD without assistance. I didn't find the DVD so I set out to find someone to help me. I asked for help and a nice young man went to check the computer to see if "Saw V" was checked in and the quantity.

Together we looked for the DVD again, with the help of a young female I had a "Saw V" in hand and was headed for the check out. I told the female that the DVD was in sale for $12.99. At that time a guy behind the desk informed me that they weren't honoring the sales ad because they weren't that company. In shock I replied "You're kidding". A guy standing close by said, "subject to change" in a sarcastic voice. I didn't respond to him.

I asked the guy behind the desk if I could speak to the Store Manager. The sarcastic guy said that he was the store manager. I told him that the DVD was advertised for $12.99 and that I was sure that he would honor the price so that I would be a satisfied customer. In a VERY LOUD VOICE he said that he didn't care if I was happy or not and to GET TO HELL OUT OF HIS STORE!!! I was in shock. I told him that I couldn't believe that he was talking to me that way and that I thought he was being rude.

He said that he had just let go 100 employees and that I was the one being rude. The guy behind the desk said that I should leave and the store manager once again LOUDLY TOLD ME TO GET TO HELL OUT OF HIS STORE. I responded by saying in a calm voice that I thought that THEY DESERVE TO GO OUT OF BUSINESS IF THEY TREAT THEIR CUSTOMERS THE WAY THAT THEY TREATED ME.

As I turned and walked away an employee at the door said, "I'm with you." I said, "excuse me" because I wasn't sure that I heard him correctly. When I got next to him he said, "YOU WERE RIGHT." I thanked him and left the store. I HOPE THAT KALAMAZOO/PORTAGE MICHIGAN SHOPPERS WILL READ THIS COMPLAINT AND REFUSE TO DO BUSINESS WITH THE RUDE MANAGER THAT RUNS THE CIRCUIT CITY IN OUR AREA.

Replies
Horrible Service at Circuit City Dover Delaware
By -

DOVER, DELAWARE -- On 12-26-08 I went to Dover Circuit City to purchase their advertised 52" Sony Bravia plus Sony Blu Ray player sales deal. Upon purchase, the clerk told me there were no Blu rays in the store, that it would be restocked in a few days. I gave it a few days, called. They said wait another few days. Waited another few days, stopped by the store. Another clerk said wait till following Wednesday. I requested store credit and she as well as another clerk said "absolutely not."

I called back the following Wednesday evening, no blu ray. Asked to speak to the manager. Got the manager on duty that night (1/7/09). She told me that no one ever told me to call back Wednesday (even though my fiance was there to witness the statement) and was absolutely nasty. I became quite irate at the runaround and her attitude and instead of her trying to help a customer that ALREADY PAID FOR THE BLU RAY AND TV, she yelled at me over the phone to calm down or she would hang up on me.

Are you kidding? I'm glad it was a phone conversation and not in person! Eventually she realized that someone in fact did tell me to call back Wednesday, and she apologized. She then asked me to wait another 2 days. In 2 days I went to the store (45 minutes away). They gave me a Playstation 3 instead of the Blu ray. I said I didn't want a Playstation (already have several game systems). They said that was all they would do for me. Reluctantly I took it and went to another Circuit City and exchanged it for a surround sound system (what I originally requested from Dover store and was told no).

I hope these people go out of business and no one ever has to deal with not only the Yenta that yelled at me, but the other uneducated clerks that should be tending a French fry machine. DO NOT BUY FROM DOVER CIRCUIT CITY. DOVER CIRCUIT CITY IS INCOMPETENT. YOU WILL GET SCREWED TEN FOLD IF YOU BUY FROM DOVER CIRCUIT CITY. PS. I'm not done here. I will not stop until complaints about this transaction are strewn about the internet.

Replies
Person Purchasing Online Has To Be The One Picking Up Or Have Install
By -

ROUND ROCK, TEXAS -- Items found online and purchased over the phone as a gift for my wife. I emailed the receipt to her so she could have it installed. She arrives at the store and Circuit City employee wants to see the credit card and ID of person that made the purchase. Since obviously my wife is not me, they made her re-purchase these items and credited my card (or at this point I hope). Then they made her carry these items out of the store, to the vehicle and drive around back to have installed. (Don't they have a door between the store and the garage?)

My wife called me and I was able to talk with the store employee. Employee said that this policy is to keep fraud down. I told her that it is quite a coincidence that the lady in front of her has the same last name, same ID address as the order, can tell you the phone number on the account, receipt in hand and the vehicle that these items fit in. I explained to Customer Service 800 number that crediting my account does not fix this as I had already paid for it. I hope their fraud policy is driving away more bad people than it is people like me?

I explained too that I buy items online all over the world but don't expect to be the one to personally go pick them up? Do not buy a gift online and expect this company to take care of the gift recipient when they arrive at the store. Also, no verbal warning about the fraud policy when purchasing as that would have been a deal breaker for me. I received a Case ID number but expect that to fill "file 13" up. If they fix this you all will be the first to know. Customer Service Rep at 800 number was very pleasant, understanding and apologetic but could only open up a case number. If Circuit City thought my wife was trying to "steal" the radio, why didn't they just call the cops?

Replies
Advertisement
Really Bad Customer Service
By -

MIDLAND, TEXAS -- On December 24th in the evening I went to Circuit City in Midland Texas to purchase a Guitar Hero for my son. I stood in line in the customer service aisle. There were only 3 people on line - 1 person for each cashier. I was standing behind a customer that was finishing. When the customer walked away, the cashier got on the phone and continued to talk on the phone, ignoring me. I was standing there until she finished talking. Then to my surprise, she didn't even acknowledge me - finished the phone call and walked off.

So I had to go stand behind another customer that was almost finished and when she finished, another lady walked in with a ticket, and to my surprise, the cashier turned around and asked her, “Can I help you?” She totally ignored me and took the other lady and it was a pickup, so she went to the back. So I waited there until she came back. Some more people came in. The other girl was already finished with the other customer, and she asked the people that were there after me, if anyone had helped them.

The lady turned to me and told the cashier, “I think she (which she was referring to me) was here before me.” And I said “Thank you. I have been waiting here for a long time, and I don't know why you all keep ignoring me. All I want to do is pay for this Guitar Hero and go home.” The cashier never apologized, just took my money, and didn't even say thank you. I went out of there very upset. I work at a bank as teller, and I just vented out to all my co-workers about Circuit City and to customers. They all told me that's why I shop at Best Buy. They have the best customer service. Next time I am going to Best Buy, never again to Circuit City.

My mother had a bad experience there also. She went to Circuit City in Midland Texas on December the 30th to purchase a Spanish CD. She asked the worker, and he said “I don't speak Spanish.” He referred her to someone else. He said, “No we don't have it.” My son was with her and he found it for her, and she presumed to speak to the manager about the rudeness. He just turned his head away and ignored her and walked away. Those people do not deserve to work in a place like that, that deal with customers every day. If they close this Circuit City in Midland, Texas, no one will miss it. We have Best Buy, with the best customer service.

Replies
CC Has Had My Laptop for 3 months... HELP!
By -

OXNARD, CALIFORNIA -- I purchased my HP Pavilian Tx1410/Tx100 Notebook Computer (Item DV6775US) on February 16, 2008 at Circuit City Store # 429, in Oxnard, CA. Purchase price = $1,049.99. Protection Plan = $429.99. Total Purchase Price (Paid in Full) = $1564.10.

On October 22, 2008, the tablet functions were inoperable on my HP so I took it into the Santa Barbara store. I submitted a Firedog work order under extended warranty. I was told that my HP needed to be shipped to Service/Repair Center (in Texas). Promise Date: November 7, 2008 came and went and to date I am still waiting. Come to find out that The Santa Barbara store is closing AND THEY HAVE MY COMPUTER! Customer Service literally does not exist with this company!

November 21, 2008. After weeks of calling every phone number available and visiting every location within 50 miles (multiple times), my laptop was finally delivered to my home. The enclosed work order indicated the Hard Drive and LCD screen were replaced which may or may not be true. What I received was a broken mess that RESEMBLED my laptop. The screen was completely shattered and the PC dead - no boot... broken! The Packaging was a joke! There was no padding of any sort. The laptop was plastic wrapped to a fold of the shipping box.

I now drive 80 miles and two hours to deliver my NOW BROKEN laptop the nearest CC location. CC blamed Fedex "damaged during delivery". The laptop was not packed with care from the CC service/repair center to begin with. Another work order is provided and yet another Promise Date: December 11, 2008 has expired. I am back to making endless calls and driving to the nearest location begging and pleading for assistance or an update at minimum! The manager simply avoids and/or insults me. I can't even get a "NEW PROMISE DATE" or progress report of any kind and I paid $500 extra, this so called service!

I haven't had an operable computer in over three months. - I bought it at the end of February this year. COME ON! What is one to do in my situation, complain? $1500 wasted. They got my money and my computer, all I get is to inform you. Stay away from Circuit City!

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >

Circuit City Rating:
199 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
Circuit City
9950 Mayland Dr.
Richmond, VA 23233
804-527-4000 (ph)
804-527-4164 (fax)
www.circuitcity.com
Compare Electronics Companies