Preview Review

Next Review

Clean Internet Consumer Reviews

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

CHESTERSON, GEORGIA -- I signed up and paid for Clean Internet for the year 2017. The filter worked until June of that year and then just went away in spite of the fact that I had paid for a full year. Trying to get in touch with Clean Internet's customer service (I use the term loosely), or get any satisfaction from them, is an exercise in frustration. I signed into my account and disabled the automatic renewal.

In January 2018, the clowns had enough gall to e-mail me that it was time to renew my subscription. Mind you, they wanted me to begin to pay again for a service I had already paid for, but had not received for the past six months. When I pointed this out, according to some guy named Joe from customer service, (I use the term loosely) the solution was that I should sign up for another year and get six months free.

According to the website, Clean Internet has a 90 day unconditional guarantee of satisfaction or a full refund. To me, a full refund means a credit to my Visa for the portion of the service that I never received, not another "deal." At the very least they should just give me the six months of service for which I have already paid without tying it to another year's subscription. Signing up for another year to get the six months already paid for may be okay for some people, but I don't like being taken advantage of the first time.

These people are Johnny-on-the-spot when it comes to taking your money, but, after that, you're pretty much on your own. It makes me sick when people or companies use Bible verses to lure customers in just to take their money. I gave them 1 star because giving "0" is not allowed.

Company Response 07/30/2018:

We are sorry you had this issue. I am not sure why your filter quit working or when it quit. It is always a good practice to check your filter on a regular basis. As for the refund we do have a 90 day refund when you first sign up for our service,it you had the service for a year and it only worked half the year we would give you 6 months at no charge like Joe said. We have been in business for 20 years and pride our self on outstanding customer service. If you are interested give us a call and we will gladly make this right.

Great Filtering
StarStarStarStarStarBy -
Rating: 5/51

CHESTERTON, INDIANA -- I have used Clean Internet now for over 4 years. It is hands down the best and most secure filter out there. I've tried Covenant Eyes, K9, and Net Nanny and none of these compare. I work on computer for a living and even I cannot figure out how to uninstall the filter. That's how secure it is. The filtering itself is very customizable and the tech support is always helpful if I need them to make changes to my filtering package. This company not only is a Christian company but they back it up with friendly and easy to get a hold of customer service. If for some reason all the reps are busy I still get a call back within minutes. Go try Clean Internet!

Great product,Great Service
StarStarStarStarStarBy -
Rating: 5/51

CHESTERTON, INDIANA -- Recently my laptop was stolen along with thousands of family pictures, hundreds of dollars worth of software, years of federal and state tax information and an enormous amount of research material and confidential information involving other people. I contacted Clean Internet with some faint hope that they might be able to track the machine and they said they could do so until the hard drive was wiped out. A week after the theft they contacted me with the times and ISP's that had been used which led to the quick recovery of my data and hardware which had, by that time, traveled to another state.

At this point the process has begun to return these items and I am very appreciative of the support from Clean Internet without which I almost certainly would not have recovered them at all. I know this is an unusual case, but it gives another reason to consider installing this software besides its primary function. The thief in my case was confronted only because his location and search pattern/times revealed his identity. Without that help I would have had no recourse since the local police had no obvious leads and I had no other means of tracking the machine or the data. Thanks again Clean Internet!

Great Service
StarStarStarStarStarBy -
Rating: 5/51

CHESTERTON, INDIANA -- I have used for nearly 20 years. It is by far the strongest internet filter I have ever used. It is very difficult to uninstall or bypass. I have tried openDNS free, which does block a few things that Clean Internet does not occasionally, but it lacks some things Clean Internet has, such as blocking key words in searches. For example, if you search bikini, your search will not be allowed.

I have tried Disney Circle, and, in fact, am using Disney Circle in conjunction with Clean Internet. Disney Circle can set time limits and be easily bypassed by the administrator. Clean Internet requires you to email tech support. They might unblock something in ten minutes or ten hours or never, if the site is inappropriate. If you need an immediate unblock you can call them during business hours.

I have also tried Clean Router. That is not nearly as strong as Clean Internet, but I am using it in conjunction with Clean Internet as it can block other devices, such as Roku (force YouTube Safe Search - Disney Circle force YouTube Safe Search, causes the YouTube channel not to work). It can also be easily bypassed by the administrator, which can be a real problem if the administrator is struggling with pornography.

If you are serious about dealing with temptation for all members of your household, this is a great tool. It has to be installed on each individual computer or Android, and is only compatible with Windows and Android (nothing for MacOS or Linux yet, although they may come out with their own router). This makes it more costly as it is per device. I am eagerly awaiting their own router to be released.

Terrible Customer Service
StarStarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 2/51

CHESTERTON, INDIANA -- I've been a customer of Clean Internet for a while. I've found their filter to be clunky and too closed. The filter blocks partial access to some websites and it is difficult to get the "tech experts" at Clean Internet to open the sites completely. For example, I have trouble opening a certain business directory and the customer service personnel seem unable or unwilling to help me.

At first they answered my request with a condescending email insinuating that I had to be mistaken and that the filter had nothing to do with my problem. I asked them to please review the problem since before installing the filter I had complete access to the site, but they once again countered with a rude reply and refused to even look into it! After another round of emails I got them to at least check the problem out and they discovered that the filter was indeed restricting access to this site.

I realize that I could have been mistaken as to the problem, but these "tech experts" exhibited none of the professionalism I would expect from a company. Instead of politely looking into the problem they rudely refused! I had to apply firm pressure to get them to help me with my problem. In the end they were mistaken, and yet I received no apology. Instead they simply sent me a terse email with stated: "Try it now. It will work." Yet they hadn't fixed the problem. But I was so weary with dealing with them that I didn't press the issue any further.

This is just one example of my dealings with Clean Internet, not an isolated incident. I have constantly been repulsed by Clean Internet's rude customer service department and I will not be renewing my license when it expires this year.

My advice to you if you want a good reliable filter is to bypass Clean Internet and go with someone you can work with. The fact is, all filters must be tweaked a bit for personal preferences and you need a customer service department you can work with.

Bad Customer Service
By -

This past weekend, I decided to install an internet filter on my computer since I was encountering unwanted material on the internet through Google and other sources. I decided to go with Clean Internet's monthly plan for $4.95 a month. The problem, however, is that the moment I installed the filter, it began to block websites that were not a problem like YouTube and Facebook. There is no way to do an administrative override, either, because they do not provide this capability. You have to send in an unblock website request by email which takes some time according to the email form.

The website states that they provide a 90 day UNCONDITIONAL guarantee on the product and they will provide a full refund. I sent in an email requesting a refund and explained the reason for the request. Today, I got a response that was rather rude stating that I had not used the product for very long (they could see that I had little activity on my account) and that they had not billed me yet. They also asked if I required an uninstall code for my computer. I was not threatening or rigid on my email, but they were acting as though I was trying to get something for free.

I sent a follow-up email explaining that I did a system restore to remove the software from my computer because I didn't have time to talk to them over the phone to get information on how to uninstall. I also requested a second time that they not charge my credit card for the billing fee since I was no longer using the product.

I think companies who claim a 90 day UNCONDITIONAL guarantee should not ask questions for the reason behind the request from the customer to receive a refund if they are not happy. Unconditional means not imposing or not depending on or containing a condition. So their request for me to use the product longer than I desire to is unwarranted and ridiculous.

EDITED TO ADD: I received a response from the customer service department arguing with me stating that I did not request the unblock on both YouTube and Facebook. I opened the emails I received from the unblock form both times and put in my password after clicking the enclosed links. ETA (2nd time): I received 2 other emails arguing that I had not opened the subsequent emails. I just sent a "stop email" request. The customer service representative seems intent on harassing me about this situation.

Top of Page | Next Page >

Clean Internet Rating:
Star Star Star Half star Empty star
3.6 out of 5, based on 5 ratings and
6 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
Clean Internet
PO Box 964
Chesterton, IN 46304
219-728-5030 (ph)
Compare General Network Services