Home BudgetingCable-Satellite

Dish Network: Home Satellite TV Service

, Editor | Updated October 30, 2018

Consumer Reviews - Page 2

Posted on 06/16/2018

MCPHERSON, KANSAS -- Their Wally box that Dish supplies is junk, to begin with as it has a bad habit of resetting itself at random times that is Not programmed into it. The programming Dish pumps out is the Worst I have ever seen in my entire life, which is the most annoying feature Dish possesses. We pay good money for programming and Dish puts out more advertising channels than they do movie channels or others that are worth watching. And, their customer service personnel speak with an accent which makes it somewhat difficult to understand what they are saying. The one I spoke with sounded like he was from an Asian country.

Another annoying factor was that he tried to make me the cause of the problem I had with their box, (Wally). After going back and forth for about 45 minutes or more, he finally gave into the fact that the problem was on them and Not me. Also, he wanted me to upgrade to all of the movie channels and pay a much higher price which was his ultimate goal. I told him that it wasn't going to happen which I sensed frustration in his voice as I concluded our conversation, stopping his sales pitch. Dish Network IS GARBAGE!!!

Posted on 06/03/2018

LOGANVILLE, GEORGIA -- These people are horrible! When they did not provide a service they promised, I called to cancel my service. They promised me if I signed a contract they would provide that service. Turned out they still could not provide that service. After hours on the phone with them, they forced (stole) $250 from me to cancel. They are unethical lying thieves.

Posted on 06/03/2018

COLLINSVILLE, ILLINOIS -- I called Dish to get a new cable service because DirecTV is now charging too much. The guy I talked to was extra nice and funny. When he proceeded to tell me about the disclosure he asked if I wanted read to me fast or slow I said slow because they will throw extra stuff in there.

He still decided to read it fast but I was catching on to every word but since service was cheaper I still was going to get the service. He answered all my concerns and he was just really charming and I wanted to give him a great review but he was scared of what I might say so he pretended that he was his own supervisor but failed to realize that his voice was exactly the same... at first I wanted to give an excellent review but he ruined it and missed out on his commission and if he continues to be childish he will miss out on more.

Posted on 05/30/2018

WACO, TEXAS -- I have been a Dish Network customer since 2012 and am wanting to cancel my service. Now I can do anything online I need to with their company and if I don't pay my bill they can cut off my service automatically but if I want to cancel my service on my own I can only do it by talking to someone on the phone. I'm 32 minutes into an estimated 26 minute wait time just to talk to someone. So I have decided since they want to waste my time I'm going to spend it writing negative reviews about my experience.

Posted on 04/13/2018

VALLEY CENTER, CALIFORNIA -- The Dish Network has extremely poor communication skill and system both within their organization and with their customers. I was paying extra $25 for a TV Japan channel. Dish Network did not renew their contract with TV Japan and promised that they have new Japanese channel. Well, this so called “New Japanese Channel” played several Japanese shows (same episode of each) continuously (over & over) 24 hours a day, so far for 12 days.

I called and talk to 3 different customer service reps and chatted with 2 different customer service reps in different days. 3 out of 5 representatives insisted that they are NOT having any technical problems with the new Japanese channel and they were simply providing the customer what's being sent by the Japanese TV company. They gave me two different payment credits to my account throughout the course of me trying to get some informations regards to this problem. None of the customer reps even tried to understand my frustration and seemed to think that I will shut up if they gave me some money credit.

I just simply needed some connection to Japan and the Japanese TV shows were a big part of my sanity and mental happiness, for I've lived in outside of Japan for 40 years and have been forever homesick. They have no compassion and don't care about their customers. I will never use their service even if they are the only option to receive TV signals. I recommend strongly NOT to sign up with their service.

Posted on 04/05/2018

NEW JERSEY -- Dish is an absolute JOKE. They're liars and scam artists. They signed me up KNOWING I wouldn't get hockey games because they would be blacked out and then tried to force me to purchase the NHL Network for additional costs. The account executives are complete jerkoffs and only want to push you through the process of charging your account more without listening to you and trying to help fix the issue.

I will NEVER use Dish ever again and I will tell anyone that will listen what a GARBAGE company they are and the service they provide. Spend the extra money and go with an actual cable company or try DirecTV before going with Dish. You'll thank me for helping you Dodge a bullet.

Posted on 03/19/2018

LEESBURG, GEORGIA -- The installation went fair. The first tech was lost in what he was doing. The second tech knew his job. Got installed and signed contract. Ask about $100 gift card promise. Tech said office will contact me by e-mail about 3 weeks. 3 weeks passed and no contact. Telephone Dish customer service and said 3rd party would contact me about the card. No contact after two months. Contact Dish customer service said contact Infinity Sales Group, made the offer for the card.

I contacted them and they said the time to apply for the card had expired, also said they sent an e-mail to me two weeks after the install. One didn't get an e-mail. Two I feel that Dish should credit my account or give me the gift card. Dish hired the sales group and the chain goes back to them. BEWARE OF PROMISES NOT KEPT BY D-I-S-H or INFINITY. This scam is a disgrace to the business world. What has this country come to. Poor business practices!!! I served my country to let people like this take advantage of good Americans.

Posted on 02/21/2018

SALT LAKE CITY, UTAH -- THE WORST... DO NOT DO BUSINESS WITH THIS COMPANY!!! I was a TV customer for 8 years. Paid my bill on time. 6 years into my contract, I added internet. It DID NOT WORK. I called to complain several times. They ultimately admitted that their service in my area wasn't as good as they thought it would be. When I canceled, they charged me $184.00 for 'early cancellation fee'... I had been with them for 8 years!!! I ended up switching to Comcast, and their Xfinity system is WAAAAAAAY better, and their internet speeds blow Dish away! Don't say you weren't warned.

Posted on 02/02/2018

LAREDO, TEXAS -- I hate using services with contracts and try to avoid them, but against my better judgment my husband and I went ahead and signed a 2 year contract with Dish in Sept/Oct of 2015. After a few months I started receiving multiple phone calls a week from a Dish representative letting me know that I was having issues with my receiver. I wasn't, so I ignored all those calls and never called back. I actually liked the product and we rarely had issues with it. I didn't see any sense in having a technician come out to fix something that wasn't broke - you know the saying "if it ain't broke don't fix it".

I had read multiple times on review sites that unbeknownst to the consumer, Dish would issue a new contract every time they sent someone out to fix an issue. In December of 2016 we ran into real signal issues and had to have someone come out to fix it. I was very wary and warned my husband not to enter into any contract and to be very specific with the Dish representative. The receiver needed fixing though, so they came out and did their thing. My husband was very adamant that we were NOT entering into a new contract and he was assured that indeed we were not.

He even had the technician sign on the form that we were not entering into a new contract, that we were simply having our satellite issues fixed. Some equipment was changed out, our satellite was working again and that was that. Until now. In October of 2017 our bill jumped $40 in one month, which made sense since that was at the end of our initial 2 year "special price" contract. We had a lot of personal things we were dealing with at that time, so didn't really deal with that price issue until things kind of settled down in January, and then I received a notice that there would be another price increase starting in February.

We said "that's it". We've decided to go back to streaming and Netflix/Hulu, etc. We called to cancel Dish and after getting the normal runaround that all these companies do, they gave us our final total, which - Guess what? Included a cancellation fee because we were "under contract" for another 9 months. Sure enough, when we had the service done they tacked another contract onto the one we already had, even though they said they wouldn't. My husband even has it in writing. They said it's because we have the Hopper 3 and we used to have the Hopper 2.

Well, so what? We NEVER asked for the 3, we have what the technician swapped out for so that our receiver would work again. Sneaky Sneaky, and it's just like what I read in other reviews. Lesson learned. Of course they tried to get us to stay until the end so we wouldn't lose money, but we said no way. We'll just pay the penalty and be done with it.

It's still a LOT cheaper than paying for almost another year, and who knows what shenanigans they'll pull by then. They also require a 30 day notice, so we have to pay for one more month as well. No more satellite companies for us. They're all crooks. Oh, and I gave 2 stars only because we did like the product. The service is always good until you have an issue, and then that is when a company shows their true colors.

Advertiser Disclosure:

The information we provide and the analysis we share is always free. So, how do we survive? We get compensated by our partners, which may sometimes influence the products or services we review and the order in which they appear. Our suggestions and guidance are unbiased and are based only on our thorough research.