Preview Review

Next Review

Doubletree Consumer Reviews

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Complaint regarding an incident that occurred on our wedding day that was at the DoubleTree Hotel
By -

SAN ANTONIO, TEXAS -- On April 9th 2011 my husband and I got married at the DoubleTree Hotel in San Antonio, Texas. What was meant to be the happiest day of our lives turned out to be a disaster. When I was looking for a vendor to have both our ceremony and our reception at, I quickly fell in love with the DoubleTree Hotel. Everything was coordinated well with the hotel all throughout our process until the day of the wedding. Our ceremony went beautifully; the reception I wish I could say the same.

About 30 minutes after arriving to our reception we had discovered that every card that our guests had put in a box for us was gone. We got to enjoy 30 minutes of our reception before the rest was just horrifying. Worrying about where our cards were, finding out that over $1200.00 dollars was in that box on top of gift cards and most importantly, the words that our family and friends had written in those cards that can never be replaced.

The day after our wedding I sent an e-mail out to all of our friends and families letting them know about what had occurred the evening before and shortly got a response from a very good friend of mine. She told me that she had given us a $50.00 gift card to Target in a card and called to find out if the card had been used. She found out that indeed the gift card was used the night of the wedding about 30 minutes after noticing all the cards were missing. We immediately called the Target to see if they had footage of the person who had taken our cards. We had to call the SAPD and the balconies heights police department and file a theft report.

The Balcones Heights police department was the district for the Target where the gift card had been used. They went and collected the video and took it to the DoubleTree Hotel confident it was one of the staff members because of what the man was wearing was exactly what the servers wear. The hotel declined knowing the individual and did not recognize him.

The night of the wedding the manager on duty told us that she would give us $700.00 after finding out how much was taken. We agreed to take that amount but only received $325.00. She said that she could not give us over that without doing an insurance claim. After filing an insurance claim, the insurance called us to ask us some questions and was going to investigate the incident.

After that we heard nothing from anyone. I am more or less writing this because of the things I think went wrong on the staffs behalf. The event coordinator was supposed to be at the event the entire night and kept disappearing, there was no security for about 115 people, and there was nothing done to help us out on a situation that should have never happened.

Because of this we were unable to enjoy our wedding to its fullest, we worried about it the entire night and even on our honeymoon and got no satisfaction out of it. That is our complaints/concerns about the Hilton Hotel we stayed at. We hope and pray no one EVER has to go through what we did on the most important day of their lives.

Horrible Experience at Willow Valley/DoubleTree Resort Lancaster
By -

LANCASTER, PENNSYLVANIA -- We booked a birthday party at the DoubleTree/Willow Valley Resort. It was the first and last time I will ever step foot in that place! First of all, the party room was actually in the locker room/bathroom area. It smelled like mold, dirty feet, and chlorine all combined. Our tables were in between the bathroom doors and the video games, so every time a pool guest had to use the bathroom or locker room, they walked through our party dripping wet.

Next, we ordered 5 pizzas and only received 4. The waitress argued with us and stated that we only paid for 4 pizzas. Thank goodness I had my receipt, which showed that we paid for 5 pizzas. We did get our 5th pizza...burnt!

The floor in our party room (locker room) was soaked from hotel guests walking through and we asked if someone could mop it. There were 13 five-year olds at the party and we were afraid someone would slip. After "eye rolling" by our waitress, housekeeping came to mop the floor. They were making rude comments the entire time they were mopping (which was about 2-3 minutes). The Jacuzzi was filthy! There were chunks of unidentified objects floating around and the bubbles were brown! When we got out, there was brown grime stuck to our bodies! EWE!

We were very upset about the accommodations that we had. We asked our waitress if there was a customer service representative that we could speak to. She told us since it was the weekend, there was no one that could help us, but feel free to contact the sales department on Monday. I called the sales department on Monday. She was very rude and informed me that there were more people at the party than what we paid her. I informed her that we paid for 15 kids and only 13 showed up, so I wasn't sure what she meant.

The only extra people that were there were the parents of all the five-year olds. We actually encouraged the parents to help watch the kids since they were all five-year olds! It's a good thing, because the lifeguards were actually standing in the hallway laughing and talking, not even watching the pool area! I would not recommend this place to ANYONE! Horrible and rude!

Company Response 02/08/2011:

Thank you for taking the time to post on about your recent pool party for your 5 year old. A hotel representative will be in touch with your shortly, if you haven't already spoken to the manager.

Regarding your issues with our facility – The party room you used was the same all of our Birthday parties use. We have found that guests prefer this location because of its convenience to the pool area. Our private room, Starfish Cove, is down the hall from the pool making it difficult to monitor all party attendees.

Our maintenance team is looking into the issues you had with our Jacuzzi. You mentioned on Trip Advisor that there was toilet paper floating in the Jacuzzi. We will further investigate what these "chunks" were that you mention in this review. I want to assure you our pools and Jacuzzis are extremely well maintained by constant computer monitoring as well as hand testing daily. We will certainly find out what the issue was and immediately correct it.

Our children's pool parties are extremely popular and we host many of them throughout the year! Our lifeguards are well trained to keep their eyes on the swimmers and I know the adults with your party were also watching your kids very closely. Our Recreation manager will be sure to review the security video footage to see if the guards were hanging around the video games and not paying attention to the kids swimming. She will take appropriate action as necessary.

Our pool floors can be slippery, however our housekeeping staff and our lifeguards are available to mop the areas quickly for your safety. I understand your party had close to 50 people, many more than we were expecting! As a team, we will discuss how to handle situations like yours in the future to ensure full safety of all guests at pool parties, and all guests staying overnight in our hotel.

Our Team Members are well known for their hospitality. I'm sure there was a misunderstanding when you overhead them discussing pool guests. Even if that is the case, our Team Leaders will be sure to review appropriate etiquette and how to serve our customers with the utmost respect. We pride ourselves on stellar service and will not tolerate disrespect.

If you have not heard from our manager, please contact me to further discuss your pool party.

Kristin Barnett
Guest Relations

Poor Management
By -

OMAHA, NEBRASKA -- 6/26-6/28 - My wife and I stayed at the DoubleTree Omaha, NE; Hilton-owned hotel. The first item we noticed was the lack of lighting. The bedroom had two lamps one on each side of the bed. They were very dim. My wife likes to read in bed and the lamp gave her very little light. The rest of the room had no lighting. I had to sew a button on my shirt. I had to go to the bedside lamp and try to sew. The bathroom has two small lamps one on each side of the vanity/sink. The one on the right side was burnt out.

I removed the lamp and took it to the desk. The desk clerk sent maintenance up to replace the lamp. He said he only had low wattage florescent-type lamps. This was very dim. My wife could not see to put her makeup on. She went to the front room and stood by the table lamp!!!

Saturday afternoon we returned to our room to change. We finished and went to the elevator (third floor) to leave. We waited over five min. for the elevator. The door finally opened only to be told that the elevators were closed due to a wedding party using them. (I am disabled and have a problem with stairs and walking long distance). The employee told us to use the elevators on the other side of the building.

This is approx. 300 to 500 feet around the balcony to the other elevator. Why block off both elevators at that location? No notice posted. If the wedding party had not been in the elevator and the elevator not stopping because we had pushed the call button how long would it have been until we found out the elevators were not in service.

This is poor management!!!!!! The number of trash containers - one in the bathroom (good), one in the kitchen area (good), in the sleeping area...what, NO trash container. For what WE paid I would expect better management and more consideration for your guest!!!

Do not stay here
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

PUNTERANUS -- I took my family to this resort and was very disappointed with the food and cleanliness. We were put in a room at Building 3 that was supposed to have been newly renovated. No chance, this place needs a lot of work and should not have the Hilton or DoubleTree name. The food was very poor quality and not very tasty, I ended up going out for dinner a couple of nights so that I could get some good food. Only bourbon is Jim Beam and it is watered down I suspect.

Chris Nassetta the CEO is moving forward with his plans to expand internationally but has lost focus on the standards of the existing hotels and resorts. The rooms are what you would expect from a motel. The resort at one time was most likely very nice, now it is old and run down. NOT worth the money and not to the standards of a Hilton.

It Was Wonderful, Efficient and Very Professional
StarStarStarStarStarBy -
Rating: 5/51

ORLANDO, FLORIDA -- I arrived at the DoubleTree at the entrance to Universal on June 12, 2014, after having a bad experience at another hotel the night before. I was greeted by ** at DoubleTree and I explained to him our bad experience the night before and that we did not have a reservation, but needed to get a room there and that we were there on vacation and celebrating our kid's 11th birthday. He immediately assisted us and insured us a room will be available soon. Within an hour's time a room was ready for me and my family. ** was so courteous and efficient, that made our stay all the better. He was wonderful.

The So-Called Customer Service Advance Reservation Department
By -

POST FALLS, IDAHO -- A few weeks ago I made a reservation with Hilton's DoubleTree hotel in Dana Point, CA., to visit our daughter and new granddaughter for the Christmas holidays. Unfortunately, we were notified by our daughter that she has a family issue with her significant other and will be in Boston for the holidays. I called the advance reservation department and spoke with a representative who informed me that this was a prepaid non-refundable reservation.

I informed her that I was a retired hotel general manager and was fully aware of the rules and regulations but it would seem to me that due to the situation, one could bend the rules and issue a refund. The only thing they could do would be to make another reservation at any hotel and then they could refund my money, less the one night stay and a $50 change fee. She then said she would transfer this information to her supervisor and we would hear from this person within 24 hours.

It has now been one week and nothing has happened. The keyword here is customer service, which obviously is not with this company. When I went to school it was known as HOSPITALITY, and you resolve the complaint to the customer's satisfaction.

Stupid registration policy
By -

COSTA RICA -- This Hotel Doubletree has a stupid registration policy, you CAN'T REGISTER BEFORE 4 PM, and if you do they will charge you a fee. You can't even go in for a drink. My niece and her husband were turn away because they got there for their honeymoon 2 hours before registration; they couldn't even go in to have a drink! It happened to me few years ago while on a trip back home to Costa Rica at the same place (it was a different name), couldn't go in for stupid is that? So travelers be aware of the DoubleTree Hotel Puntarenas in Costa Rica.

DoubleTree Omaha, NE downtown location
By -

OMAHA, NE DOWNTOWN -- Customer service was the worst I have ever encountered. I waited 15 minutes to check in. One lady was processing the check-ins and 2 others were working. I was not greeted or welcomed or even acknowledged. The personality was dry and lacking with the employees. I was given a parking pass and then found it was expired when I left the garage. When I went back inside, I waited another 10 minutes to explain the issue and again no apology or acknowledgment of the issue.

The room smelled stale but was clean. Water pressure was extremely low in the sink. I used the pool to find the water was uncomfortably warm and the area was dirty. Not worth complaining there since no one seemed to care that I was their customer. Before checking out I found that the shower not only had the same water pressure issues but also NO HOT WATER! That's insane.

I notified the front desk by phone, again NO apology, they said they would tell maintenance and thanks for letting them know (?). OVERALL, poor experience; wouldn't recommend to anyone and highly dissatisfied with the resolution of my complaints, and most importantly, I did not feel as a guest to this hotel. I have received better customer service and accommodations at Super8, where I felt like a valued guest to their establishment.

Very Disappointing Stay
By -

FARMERS BRANCH, TEXAS -- This Doubletree Club Hotel in Farmers Branch, Texas is very poorly run. I had reservation problems upon check-in. I had double billing charges on my credit card upon departure. I left several messages for management to contact me and they never did. I contacted Corporate Guest Services who just kept referring me back to the hotel manager. Finally, I was told to file a dispute charge with my credit card company, in which I did. Front desk clerk issued my daughter a replacement key card by just asking her room number. I vow to never return.

Top of Page | Next Page >

Doubletree Rating:
Star Star Star Empty star Empty star
3.0 out of 5, based on 2 ratings and
10 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
9336 Civic Center Drive
Beverly Hills, CA 90210
1-855-610-TREE (ph)
Compare Hotels/Motels