Preview Review

Next Review

eCampus.com Consumer Reviews

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Says Items Are in Stock, When They Are Not.
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

LEXINGTON, KENTUCKY -- Tried to order a book that they seemingly had in stock, only to call them and learn that they didn't have it in stock to begin with. I asked to cancel the order and get a refund. They cancelled the order, but my Paypal account doesn't show the amount I paid has been refunded. eCampus says it takes 3-5 business days to show up, however Paypal says it should have showed up right away. Paypal suggested filing a dispute, but when I told them about other people who've had similar problems with eCampus, they immediately elevated it to a claim.

Now I have to possibly wait until November 26th to see my refund. Also customer service didn't seem to know how Paypal works, since an agent said they'll deny the claim because they said they issued the refund and thought that would be it. Even though I told them that a Paypal agent assured me that they didn't issue a refund in the first place, hence why the claim was started. I guess my next call will be to the Better Business Bureau since it seems like they're scamming me and others out of money.

Replies
Suspect
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

MISSOURI -- This is an automated email sent from the Moxie Software(TM) Customer Spaces Channels Server. The following information is a log of your session. Please save the log for your records.
Your session ID for this incident is
Time Details
04/20/2015 11:03:24AM Workflow sent message: "Welcome to eCampus.com"
04/20/2015 11:03:31AM Session Started with Agent (Cassandra)
04/20/2015 11:03:31AM " Does it seriously take up to 3weeks to receive a direct deposit?"
04/20/2015 11:03:34AM Agent (Cassandra): "Thank you for contacting A Book Company, LLC."
04/20/2015 11:03:41AM Agent (Cassandra): "Buyback processing can take 2-3 weeks from the time your books are checked in. After processing a check will be mailed to you."
04/20/2015 11:04:02AM "DIRECT DEPOSIT- NOT CHECK!"
04/20/2015 11:04:26AM Agent (Cassandra): "Payment takes 2-3 weeks from the date the item checks in. Check or Direct deposit."
04/20/2015 11:05:28AM : "so what is THE PURPOSE OF RELEASING MY PERSONAL BANKING INFORMATION IF TIT DOES NOT SPEED UP THE PAYMENT PROCESS? IT SEEMS THAT IN THE AGE OF TECHNOLOGY WITH ELECTRONIC TRANSFER INFO IT WOULD BE LOTS FASTER."
04/20/2015 11:06:10AM Agent (Cassandra): "Had you chosen a check, it would take an additional 30 days for your check to reach you via mail."
04/20/2015 11:08:08AM cardell: "Will you check on how long I have to wait at this point."
04/20/2015 11:08:12AM Agent (Cassandra): "I would be happy to assist you. May I have the order number or email address associated with this order, please?"
04/20/2015 11:08:48AM "I entered that at the beginning of this conversation. Did you not get it / or have access to it?"
04/20/2015 11:09:19AM Agent (Cassandra): "I just need to confirm you identity. So if you would be more comfortable, I can also use your full name and billing address."
04/20/2015 11:10:56AM l: "This seems so weird, after all I contacted you. the order number is "
04/20/2015 11:11:00AM Agent (Cassandra): "Your items were checked in on 4/14. Please allow 2-3 weeks from that date for your direct deposit to be issued."
04/20/2015 11:11:49AM cardell: "This is my first time using your service and rest assured it will be my last. I AM ALSO VERY CONCERNED BECAUSE YOUR PRACTICE SEEMS QUITE ABNORMAL AND SUSPICIOUS. My review and comments concerning your company will not be favorable. "
04/20/2015 11:12:31AM Agent (Cassandra): "I'm sorry you are not happy with our processing time. if you are concerned about the practice, you will be happy to know we are accredited."
04/20/2015 11:12:56AM "You just lost a customer.My thoughts will put this on open web, as well as my school wide email, and Facebook,"
04/20/2015 11:13:26AM Agent (Cassandra): "I'm sorry to hear that."
04/20/2015 11:14:01AM Agent (Cassandra): "But our payment policy was available for you to view before your submitted your order."
04/20/2015 11:14:14AM Agent (Cassandra): "We will work as quickly as we can to get your payment issued to you."
04/20/2015 11:14:40AM My fault for not doing my homework, had I noticed the 343 complaints against you with the BBB I would have never tried your service. Also I believe it would be much more customer friendly if you had the 3-4 week information on your site."
04/20/2015 11:15:00AM cardell: "Tell me where the payment policy said 2-3 weeks."
04/20/2015 11:15:50AM Agent (Cassandra): "http://www.ecampus.com/help/faq/why-does-it-take-so-long-to-get-paid-for-my-buyback-order/97"
04/20/2015 11:16:56AM "This is not what is supplied when you sell a book- this is what you can find if you search your website- DECEPTIVE BUSINESS PRACTICE!"
04/20/2015 11:17:24AM Agent (Cassandra): "I'm sorry that you feel that way. I will forward your feedback to the appropriate department."
04/20/2015 11:18:07AM : "I WILL CONTACT THE BBB- I AM LOOKING FOR MY PAYMENT."
04/20/2015 11:18:26AM Agent (Cassandra): "And payment will be issued in 2-3 weeks from 4/14"
04/20/2015 11:18:59AM "AND IF I HAVE DECEPTION WITH MY BANK ACCOUNT YOU WILL DEFINITELY BE THE FIRST PEOPLE I WILL IDENTIFY."
04/20/2015 11:19:27AM Agent (Cassandra): "I completely understand."
04/20/2015 11:19:29AM Agent (Cassandra): "Is there anything else I can assist you with today?"
04/20/2015 11:20:08AM cardell: "BE BETTER OPEN AND HONEST WITH YOUR BUSINESS PRACTICES!"
04/20/2015 11:20:17AM Agent (Cassandra): "Thank you for choosing A Book Company, LLC. We greatly appreciate your business. Feel free to contact us again if you have any further questions or concerns. Have a great day!"
04/20/2015 11:20:53AM : "FYI- THIS CONVERSATION WILL BE FORWARDED TO OPEN MEDIA AND THE BBB."
04/20/2015 11:21:12AM Agent (Cassandra): "As is your right as a consumer."
04/20/2015 11:21:17AM Session Ended

Replies
Cancelled My Order Without Telling Me
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

They had a book up for rental that was at a price too good to be true (a textbook for $5!) so I jumped on it, ignoring my past awful experiences with shady online bookstores. A week later I checked to see what was taking so long, and I found that they had cancelled the order a day later and fixed what clearly must have been a pricing error. I have a receipt for a product they refuse to give to me, and they think refunding me washes their hands of it. I'm now high and dry having to shell out hundreds of dollars to Amazon to have the book in time for class.

Replies
Charged for Non Returned Rental
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

LEXINGTON, KENTUCKY -- I rented a book for a summer study abroad program in May. Received the book in a decent time frame, however it was the wrong book. The isbn sticker/barcode was placed over the original isbn/barcode and did not match the original which I found for myself on the publisher page (at this point I have no time to order a new book and had to leave without it).

They refunded my rental fee, I printed the return label, and dropped the book off at the UPS store I always use, down the street from my house. I left for my program and didn't think about it again. In August (THREE MONTHS LATER!) I got a notice they never received the book and ecampus took 132 dollars out of my account while I was disputing the issue with them. Honestly, I'm not even sure which book they charged me for, the one they actually sent or the one they were SUPPOSED to send in the first place. Pretty terrible experience, not even my bank was able to successfully get my money back.

Replies
Advertisement
Avoid. Pay more if you have to, but just don't buy from ecampus.com
StarStarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 2/51

LEXINGTON, COLORADO -- Ecampus.com claimed they had an item in stock on the web site. They did not have the item in stock. When you need books for a course, this matters. Ecampus.com claims they ship in "24-48 hours." Let's begin by noting that a significant percentage of online retailers ship your order then same or very next day. It's 2014, for the love of all things sacred. That said, if you're lucky, they'll *process* your order in that time... which doesn't equal shipping. Then, if your item is out of stock, expect to wait another 24-48 hours for them to tell you they don't have it in stock and provide no ETA.

I'd rather purchase my product for the hyper-inflated prices at the school's book store than use this completely incompetent company. If you need support, good luck. If they have a phone number, it's hidden quite well. Luckily, I purchase online with American Express. Ecampus.com may be anti-consumer, but AmEx most certainly is not.

Replies
Frauds and Thieves!
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

I got informed that I got in the program on Friday really late and had orientation at my law school on Monday..Panic mode activated!

Law School bookstore closed for the weekend so I ordered 3 books from eCampus with Next-day Shipping on a Friday. Cost of books +$60 dollars for the shipping.

Got the first book on Tuesday evening - Already got yelled at by the professor. I understand, it happens with online shopping - you come across dishonest vendors all the time. I deserved it!

When did not get the other two books by Wednesday, went and bought them through the Law School bookstore.

Got the second book delivered on Thursday.
Got the third book delivered TWO WEEKS LATER!!

Tried contacting eCampus. No response. Contacted PayPal, no help.
eCampus is a fraud. Don't buy or rent books from them.

Replies
Fast & Cheap
StarStarStarStarStarBy -
Rating: 5/51

LEXINGTON -- I ordered a couple books through eCampus.com. Their website was easy to use and the order process was simple. 1 book shipped right away, and the other shipped in the advertised 3-day availability period. I called Customer Service on the 3rd day to double-check the 2nd book would ship when they said since the 1st was already on its way and it was the final day of processing for the other. They were able to see the book was loaded on the truck and later that night I received a tracking number for it. They came in as advertised and the whole thing was a pleasant experience. Will be ordering my books from here again!

Replies
Bad Company to order Books
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

I ordered books for 2 students and checked back a week later and the site said refund. Now I had received the confirmation orders but no one contacted me saying the orders never went out. So, called and hung on for over 1/2 hour hearing how important I was to them. Had to reorder through Amazon and pay expedited fees. Bad Company.

Replies
Advertisement
Horrible Experience
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

LEXINGTON, KENTUCKY -- DO NOT ORDER BOOKS FROM THIS COMPANY!!! I am a 21 year old college student currently being charged $400 for 2 late books that I returned over a month early! After going back and forth with this company for days now, they STILL will not refund my money or even make the attempt to LOOK for my "missing" books. I will never give Ecampus business again and advise everyone else not to as well. What a horrible experience!

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >

eCampus.com Rating:
Star Half star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.4 out of 5, based on 16 ratings and
19 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
eCampus.com
2415 Palumbo Drive
Lexington, KY 40509
888-388-9909 (ph)
859-299-7776 (fax)
www.ecampus.com
Compare Online Consumer Services