Preview Review

Next Review

EFO Furniture Consumer Reviews

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Buying New Furniture
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

WILKSBARRE, PENNSYLVANIA -- We purchased a living room set and the salesperson told us, "If you get a warranty and don't use it in 5 years you will get store credit." That was fine but she never told us or gave us any paperwork on warranty, and I found out that you had to spend $699 after the 5 years are up to get your $249 insurance credit. I asked for the $249 money back and she said no refunds. AND WE DIDNT EVEN GET THE FURNITURE YET.

And I know any contract you have 3 days to cancel it. So that would be 3 days after we received our furniture. And I found out the warranty company does not get back to you or repair anything. I couldn't find a review on warranty company over 1 star and some said it should be a 0 stars. MONTAGE FURNITURE SERVICES VERY BAD COMPANY. BUY FROM ANOTHER FURNITURE STORE.

Worst Customer Service
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

DUNMORE, PENNSYLVANIA -- Terrible terrible terrible service!! Customer service is worst and very unprofessional! I have been purchasing stuff for long time but I will totally stop! One of my order need to cancel and I cancel within 12 hour of purchase. I call them and they provide me store credit and they told me they will waive the restock fee and I said sure!

I went to store and tried to use my store credit. They told me I have way less than what I have! I spoke with manager and he told me they charge stock fee and other fee! I told him when I call! You told me you will waive fee so I took store credit! Manager told me I'm the boss and that's all you have! They cheat on people and steal money. They are real scammer! Don't purchase anything from that store! Big Lots, Walmart, Sam's club, and other local furniture store has deal same like them! Sales representative was fine but manager are rude, nasty, and jerk!

Bought a New Kitchen Table Set
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

WILKES-BARRE, PENNSYLVANIA -- I bought a kitchen set spending over $500.00 online sent to the Wilkes-Barre Store. Two of the table legs are scratched and all 4 chairs are missing hardware that keeps the chairs together. I have called several times which they had excuses as to WHY I have to wait until they can get someone to my house to see it. After almost 3 weeks someone comes and now said I have to wait 3 more weeks until the screws arrive.

This is unacceptable that I have a kitchen set for almost 2 months and still cannot have anyone sit at the table with the chairs missing screws. The store manager at Wilkes-Barre was NO help either. I will never buy anything from EFO again, if you choose to -- then I suggest you thoroughly inspect it because it may take a lot of aggravation to get it fix. REALLY NOT WORTH IT.

Company Response 04/26/2018:

The kitchen set was a special order. Since we don't carry the style, we couldn't just exchange the chairs. This consumer informed our Service Department that she works 2 jobs and had restricted availability.
Our consumer did contact the store on a Friday evening stating she had an appointment for inspection the next morning. Several of our service techs schedule their own appointments so the store manager could not confirm or find out more information that night, since our Service employees were gone for the day and would not return until Monday.
A few days later we got a service report that we needed to order new hardware and a leg for the table.
Once the hardware arrived, the service tech who inspected the set could not meet her scheduling needs for at least 2 weeks. Therefore we suggested that we bring the chairs back to our warehouse and return them a day or 2 later. Due to her work hours, she decided to schedule an upcoming Saturday morning appointment with our warehouse Technician to take care of it.

Horrible Service, Extremely Poor Communication
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

WILKES-BARRE, PENNSYLVANIA -- My wife and I have lost all faith in EFO Furniture service from the top Management to the bottom of Service team and delivery. Approximately November 2013 my fiancé (now wife) and I purchased a new 2 piece Couch with Lounger, plus add-on Montage Furniture insurance coverage. This couch was nothing fancy, normal stock inventory. The sales experience was good. Nothing to note, traditional transactional experience.

Approximately July of 2016 we contact EFO, regarding the add-on insurance. The couch has some in-coverage insurance claims to be handled. EFO referred us to their service team, which referred us to Montage Furniture insurance. After multiple calls, emails and created new cases over nearly 6 months. Final conclusion we're awarded a new couch. (A lot of details and complaints with Montage Furniture, for the sake of this post I'll leave those details for a separate review of Montage).

While waiting for Montage's verdict, I contacted the Wilkes-Barre EFO Furniture store regarding the couch we owned, if it was still in stock or discontinued. EFO confirmed the couch was a discontinued model. At this time my wife and I were anticipating a check or credit from Montage to order a new couch. Montage emailed and contacted EFO Furniture service dept. I was referred to contact EFO's service dept to work out the details. I spoke with “Pam”. After several calls I left multiple voicemails for Pam at EFO's service dept, I heard nothing, forcing me to keep calling and leaving messages. Eventually I finally spoke with “Pam".

“Pam” stated she had NOT received my order or heard anything from Montage regarding my claim. To remove any confusion, I read to Pam the email from Montage stating otherwise. Pam contested she had NOT heard from Montage, she then stated she would contact them and follow up with me. I as well emailed and called Montage to advise them.

Being patient and busy in life, over a WEEK went by, still no contact from Pam. I attempted contacting Pam, again I left multiple messages before I could get in touch with Pam. I was then informed EFO ordered a replacement couch and it will take 6 weeks or so before we receive it. Confused how EFO ordered a discontinued item, I inquired about possible options, which there were none. I am forced to wait. Approximately 6-8 weeks later Pam contacts me telling me the couch is in the warehouse and we schedule a delivery. The delivery had to be rescheduled due to a historic blizzard. Okay, understandable.

On the delivery date, I get a call from EFO Furniture Service dept (male voice, name unknown), the replacement couch was damaged on the delivery truck, they would need to re-order the couch again. In shock and frustrated I reach out to EFO Furniture store in Wilkes Barre, requesting to speak to a manager. No manager is available to talk on the phone. The pleasant young lady took down my information and handled a very escalated version of me. The next day or two I did get a call from EFO Furniture sales manager stating they contacted Pam in Service and she would be in touch with me.

Frustrated and drained of all faith in Pam's communication skills. I inquired about alternate solutions to acquire a couch. Willing to accept almost anything, prepared to compromise or make concessions for something. The manager wasn't interested in offering or considering any plausible solutions that didn't involve service dept. Eventually Pam and I spoke, AGAIN. Not without our typical phone tag tango. I'm told to wait another 6 weeks for the couch manufacture. That was nearly 8 weeks ago.

On Sunday May 14th I stopped in EFO Furniture in Wilkes Barre and requested a manager. 1 of the 3 gentlemen at the front desk claimed to be a manager. Listened to me explain my experience, while extremely frustrated, I believe I maintained my composure while communicating in a clear and professional manner. The manager promised to research the situation and follow up with me.

Monday May 15, the manager (which I can't remember his name, possibly Jeff or Mark) did call me and advised the replacement couch was received damaged and needed to be re-ordered. Not understanding what I was hearing, I clarified, and learned he was not referring to the damaged couch on the truck for delivery that I told him about. The replacement to that replacement was damaged upon delivery to EFO Service warehouse. Is it a surprise that I NEVER received a call from Pam? NO! Another excuse, another issue. Unbelievable that the item received, and received damaged.

Who suffers? Me and my family who are still waiting for a comfortable couch almost a year later. FYI: I've been sitting on the floor for nearly six month as the couch is so uncomfortable. Thanksgiving, Christmas, New Years, Birthdays and Easter. Humiliated and embarrassed we don't have comfortable couch for people to relax on. Completely disgusted with EFO Furniture.

Incorrect Pricing to Incorrect Order Timeline
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

WILKES BARRE, PENNSYLVANIA -- We went and purchased a sofa and loveseat from EFO Furniture and still have not received it. When we were in the store looking at furniture they had the prices listed for the sofa, loveseat, and if you got both. They didn't have the price for the sofa and loveseat if you got it in a sleeper so I asked the salesperson and he told me the price and we went to buy it and he wrote up the price and it was 80 more than he said. So I asked why the cost was different and he tried to act like it was the same price he told me 5 minutes before. Oh well he misquoted not a huge deal so we kept going with the sale at the higher price cause my wife liked the furniture.

When asking how long until we could get it delivered he said 1 to 2 weeks so gave him a credit card to take the downpayment and he came back after taking the money and said "oh I made a mistake it will be more like 2 to 4 weeks." Now 6 weeks later I called because we have not heard from them and was told the factory was having an issue and it put everything from them on a delay. I asked why we were not called and he said it wasn't our fault the factory is having issues. The next day I got a call and surprise it came in and then they said "we will deliver it in another 4 weeks" because they only deliver to my town every 2nd and 4th Tuesday.

So I asked what about the 4th Tuesday being next week and I was told that shouldn't be a problem. I got another call the next day saying no we have to wait 4 weeks. The lack of product knowledge, pricing, and customer service is amazingly bad.

Customer Service/Accuracy
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

DUNMORE -- Salesperson ordered incorrect pieces. I called three times to correct this custom order as well as correct the address and contact info the salesperson entered. Upon having custom pieces delivered they were incorrect. The store manager's response (After delaying delivery for a week - saying "Oh we did not call you for that." FYI I have the voice mail.) "Well you should not have prepaid for it. Nothing I can do." Wow, service industry - don't think so. Horrible service, noncustomer focused - ill-informed sales associates.

Oh yes, as a customer please prepare yourself should you be unfortunate to purchase an item to "know" the abbreviated terms of the pieces you order - even if you have the conversations of that's not correct because they are the "professional " and "know". $2,000 cash out the door? Let's hope the owner Joe can rectify this problem. If not this will be forwarded to BBB and other affiliated associates with all documents. Shame - maybe training in the world of service and KNOWLEDGE of your products are needed. Also smiles upon enters wouldn't hurt either.

Company Response 05/05/2016:

This order was a special order in that the fabric and specific sectional pieces were manufactured specifically to fulfill it. The sales order written included each component of the set desired including the manufacturer's model numbers and their description. Also included was a sketch of the layout of the sectional. The customer signed this sales order acknowledging it. The merchandise was delivered exactly as the sales order was written.
The customer claims it is reverse of what they wanted and that the salesperson explained the configuration incorrectly.
In the interest of good customer relations, we have agreed to re-order the sectional in the reverse configuration at no charge. The consumer has agreed to accept this as a resolution. We are awaiting the customer's signed acknowledgement of the revised configuration so that it can be ordered.

StarStarStarStarStarBy -
Rating: 5/51

WILKES BARRE, PENNSYLVANIA -- I purchased furniture and a mattress and found their outlet prices to be significantly better than the competition's sale prices. And I shopped everyone! They were very helpful and friendly. I did have one problem on the delivery with a stripped leg. They took care of it that same day! No one was rude like other reviews say.

Then again, I'm in business and understand how unreasonable some customers are today with crazy demands. I chock it up to this "entitlement" society. I for one, will continue to send my friends and family to EFO. All that I sent have been really happy. So buyer beware of miserable crybabies! They're the ones usually writing all the bad reviews from hotels to restaurants and furniture stores.

Received Broken Furniture-Won't Replace it- Rude/Terrible Customer. Service.
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

WILKES BARRA, PENNSYLVANIA -- Don't buy from this company!!! They don't deal in a trustworthy manner! We just purchased a bedroom set for around $1400.00. When their guy loaded it into our truck, I asked if I should check it for damage before I take it. He said that it's OK & if there is damage when I get home to simply call. Sounds good.

Well, when we got home & finally we're able to open the boxes, 2 out of the 3 pieces were damaged (see photo below- not sure how many pictures I can post here, but at least there will be one). The nightstand drawer had a crack on the face running half way across it. The chest of drawers had a large crack & dents on the back top corner & the frame structure had gaps in it. I called & was asked to send pictures of the damage.

I got a call from the service manager (very rude woman) who told me they would give me a new drawer for the nightstand, which I said would be fine. Then she said they would "repair" the damaged chest. I told her I paid for a "new" chest of drawers, not a damaged & "refurbished" chest. The frame structure had been compromised & that is unacceptable. What's more is that she said I would either have to bring it back, which is an hour from where we live or pay $80.00 to have them pick it up. Then we would have to live without a dresser for whom knows how many weeks while they "fix it".

When I said, "no, no, no, no, no", she cut me of and said, "don't you say no, no, no to me"! Now get this.... then she said to me, "well, you dropped it!" First off, we had not dropped it, but the sheer audacity to make a comment like that is incredible to me! Since the fact is that we assuredly did not drop it, it was obviously dropped by the carriers or warehouse guys that sent it.

We are small business owners ourselves & would never treat a customer in this way. We give our customers the benefit of the doubt, but not EFO! This is their way out so they don't have to go through the trouble.... just accuse the customer. I said we will keep this one until they order & receive a new chest & then we will bring this one back & they can send it to claims as a damaged item.

Well.... I was told they don't provide that service & that I should have read the "fine print" on the back of the paper I signed at the dock (even though the man who helped me said not to worry about it when I asked). After arguing with the service manager to no avail, she said, "when you're ready to talk, call me back" & hung up on me. Really? I'm glad for those folks who had no problems & love their furniture from this company.... they were fortunate, but I pity the ones who do have a problem.

This company has the rudest staff & doesn't care about you.... just about taking your money. I even left a voice message for the owner, thinking he would care about the way his employees are treating their customers.... no return call.

Plaza house in Bloomsburg has much better service. One time I picked up a similar set from them & there was damage on a corner of an item & they most graciously let me keep it until they ordered a new piece. Also, try Gray Furniture & Sons in Berwick. They offered to let me use a dining room set for an event I was having until the new one came in. Don't waste your time and money at EFO. If you have a problem, it will be your loss!

Poor Service
By -

WILKES-BARRE, PENNSYLVANIA -- I purchased a sectional couch and pillows on 110509 from the store manager. Of course she was pleasant and helpful and looking for a sale for a commission. I was not doing any financing so I was told I had to pay off the couch before delivery. I went to the store on 120709 and paid off the couch in cash for the couch to be delivered the next day. The couch arrived on 120809 with no pillows. The delivery people informed me the pillows will be delivered separately on 121309.

After no delivery of the pillows were made the next week, I attempted to call the manager who sold me the couch several times for over 2 weeks. I was continually told she was busy with other customers. Finally I called first thing in the morning 15 min before the store opened and actually talked to the store manager because she picked up the phone. I asked her where the pillows were. She informed me that after the sales is done the order goes to the factory and she no longer is responsible for the items and sale.

I informed her that she made the sale but that the sale was incomplete and that I expected her to FINISH her job that she received the complete commission on because I paid cash. She said to me very cocky "Well Heather, what would you like me to do about it!!" I said I want answers and if she could not give them to me that I wanted to talk to her supervisor. She said she would call me back in 15 min, and she called me back in 10 min and told me the pillows were never made. I asked her why she could not find this out over 2 weeks ago when I first called, and why the pillows were never made. She said that it is a factory problem.

After also speaking to several other useless people in this company and trying to e-mail the owner who claims to care so much about their customers I was finally told, also after I informed them that I reported them to the Better Business Bureau, that the fabric was out of stock and they are not required to be informed about out of stock items to inform their customers. I said this is a very poor way to run a business. It is now 010810, I still do not have my pillows and I am officially out of patience.

Now, had I been notified that the pillows were out of stock, I would have understood these thing do happen. But it took a lot of calls and e-mails and reporting them to the BBB to find out what happened. They were very rude, degrading and insulting telling be it is over pillows. They need to change their policies to better serve their customers. If you are going to buy a large purchase like furniture and you expect what they promise and expect answers and communication with the company, do not go to EFO!

By -

WILKES-BARRE, PENNSYLVANIA -- We went to EFO Furniture in W-B because they really did give us the best price. The store manager was very pleasant while we were at the store. The problem started about three months after we got our new furniture home. We bought an England furniture set, which we have had before and it lasted over fifteen years without a problem. The furniture was delivered in November, 2009. In February, 2010, I noticed a small tear in the fabric on the sofa, but being very busy with a family and a full time job, I didn't call about the problem until March, 2010.

The store manager, Tracy, said I had to contact the company they use for their fabric repair. So, I told them about it, they said it would take about six weeks and that the fabric would be sent to my home, to call them when I get it then they would send someone to fix the problem. Months went by, I called again, they never had it in their system about the problem, so I had to start all over from the beginning!

Finally, by August, 2010, a repairman came to my house, after many, many phone calls to three different managers, all who would not call me back! He told me he would have to take it to his shop to fix the sofa, but in the meantime, the leg fell off of the ottoman! He repaired that right on the spot, which made me happy. Two days later they came for my sofa, they had it for about one week and returned it.

As soon as I saw the shoddy job done on the sewing I called service again and told them about it. "what's wrong this time?" is what I was asked. As if all of this was my fault in the first place! I told her I wanted the repairman back to re-sew the sofa. She told me that they don't sew the fabric, they staple it, without her even knowing what was done to begin with.

I told her that it was sewed and that the material was all bunched up and pulling apart. She said they couldn't send someone until about the second week of September. September!! So, okay, now I am still waiting! This was one of the worst experiences with a furniture store in my whole life! I would tell everyone to shop somewhere else - anywhere else! They, the store managers, are all very unprofessional!

Top of Page | Next Page >

EFO Furniture Rating:
Star Half star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.4 out of 5, based on 9 ratings and
11 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
EFO Furniture
101 Monahan Avenue
Dunmore, PA 18512
570-961-5424 (ph)
Compare Furniture Stores