Preview Review

Next Review

Electrolux Consumer Reviews

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Bad Durability, Worse Customer Service
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

We have had this refrigerator for 2 years. We initially bought this $3500 product and it was replaced after 1 year for a broken ice maker. The replacement refrigerator has lasted 2 years and now is beyond repair according to the master technician recommended by Electrolux. We have now been without a refrigerator for almost 3 weeks and there is no response from Electrolux regarding replacement of this defective product. The customer service representatives have been responsive but have yet to resolve this problem and seem satisfied that "the ball is rolling" as they've said. This is a premium product in price and looks only. The company provides below average customer service and way below average durability of their "luxury" product.

Replies
Advertisement
Induction Cooktop Defective
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

LITTLE RIVER, SOUTH CAROLINA -- Purchased the $1,700 induction cooktop in June, 2015. Since that time there have been three service calls for inability for sensor to properly read cookware. The lock mechanism periodically does not unlock resulting in the appliance not being usable for days at a time. I discovered that I needed special cookware for induction, which was not properly spelled out in appliance description. So that is my bad.

I went to Costco and bought their cookware for induction cooktop. The serviceman came back and stated that I should get another set of induction cookware as the sensors are not reading. Thank heaven Costco has a first rate customer service and allowed me to replace it with a different cookware. No questions asked and I did not even have the original box. You gotta love Costco.

Electrolux still will not replace the cooktop even though the problems persist. They extended the warranty 90 days and will not replace the unit. They are the worst customer service department and they also have issues with their induction cookware. Ironically they also start the warranty from the date they ship it and not when a customer receives it.

Replies
Purchased a Defective Product With Extended Warranty
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

MERIDIAN, MISSISSIPPI -- We purchased a beautiful Electrolux EI28BS56IS stainless steel refrigerator from Lowe's in Meridian Mississippi 11-30-10. We had a Sears Kenmore refrigerator that was approximately 16-19 years old. It was still working well but was stained and had cracks in the plastic where someone has dropped a heavy jar. While shopping at Lowe's, we were mesmerized by the beauty and BRAND NAME of this refrigerator. My husband is retired navy and lives on Social Security and I work part time since my cancer treatment. This was a luxury but we were planning on this lasting a long time, maybe for our lifetime.

We moved it in, but kept the old refrigerator pushed against another wall to make it easy to transfer items after the new Electrolux cooled. Thank goodness we did that. We had trouble with the ice maker right away, but curiously, even though the new one was 'bigger' than my old fridge, it would not hold everything that was in the old one.

What? How is that possible? Oh well, it is a good time to clean out items. Now I have less but the shelves won't adjust to really be useful. You would have to take out a couple of shelves to fit in milk and soda. That leaves even less room. You have to sacrifice sometimes to get something else, right? But what have I gotten - a really expensive albeit pretty refrigerator that takes up more room but actually holds less. Why does the ice machine make that knocking sound but doesn't make ice?

Purchased 11-30-10; first repair 12-15-10. I asked the repairman his opinion about the refrigerator - I won't quote him, but he mentioned he wouldn't take it if I gave it to him free. I was concerned, but what choice did I have? Keep my fingers crossed and pray.

I came to despise that refrigerator. Every time I walked into my kitchen, there it was, sitting there like a big stainless steel lemon, reminding me it was a time bomb waiting to go off - reminding me of my mistake. Calls to Lowe's and Electrolux - too numerous to count. Next repair 03-22-11. Next repair 04-01-11. Although I believe there was at least one more visit from the repairman, I can't find documentation, so I won't count it.

August 2013 - a strange but somehow familiar knocking sound is coming from the kitchen. I sense a sick feeling beginning in the pit of my stomach. My husband checks the ice maker - there are a couple of pieces of ice in the bin with some odd black color. Check the filter (we have also dealt with 2 cracked filters that caused water leaking onto the floor). Change filter just in case. Nope - still doesn't work, but I am getting used to the knocking noise.

I called Lowe's service company - they can't find the record of our previous visits (surprised?), wait, hold on, and on, and on... I finally hung up while on hold and called Electrolux directly. I explained what I was dealing with (again), and they do have the record of all 3 previous repair visits, but since I purchased the warranty from Lowe's, I need to call them back. OK, thanks. I called back to Lowe's Service Company.

A Lowe's manager at the local store told us to ask for an RA number from the service company. (After 3 repairs you can ask for replacement?) The rep at Lowe's Service Company said we needed 2 more repairs under the extended warranty because the first 2 repairs were under manufacturer's warranty and they DON'T COUNT!

WHAT? Don't count as what? They were repairs that were needed. That doesn't make any sense. By reading reports online about this model, the company knows the problems it has had. They have to know it's not reliable. Are they just hoping I will give up? I don't have any money, but I do have lots and lots of time to send my review of Electrolux and Lowe's and Lowe's Service Company everyday and tell everyone who will listen.

When we remodeled our home, we purchased all appliances, hardware, lumber, bath fixtures, and remodeling items from Lowe's. I am very disappointed in the way they are taking care of this. I am very disappointed in the brand Electrolux. Read more than just this review - check all the other unhappy customers. Electrolux should be ashamed for having their name on this POS (excuse my language). I can guarantee I will never knowingly purchase any item made by this company. I wish I could go somewhere besides Lowe's but our town doesn't have a big choice. I will avoid Lowe's wherever I can if they don't find a way to make this right.

Since the refrigerator is still covered under the extended warranty that WE PURCHASED, Lowe's has set up a service call for 18 days from now. My concern is what happens after our warranty runs out? We know, and they know, this appliance is a lemon or just a defective design since many of these don't work properly. Are they just hoping it will make it until the warranty has ended, and we are on our own? This doesn't seem like an honest way to do business. If you buy an Electrolux appliance, BUYER BEWARE!!!

Replies
BEYOND DONE* Where should I go now?
By -

Where do I begin? One year ago, I completely remodeled my kitchen and designed it around the Icon Series line from Electrolux. I purchased a 48" gas range, dishwasher, hood, fridge and freezer. In all, I spent over $19,000 just in appliances. Additionally, I remodeled the kitchen to accommodate the new 4' range and the new fridge/freezer which recesses into its own wall with a surround that gives the look of a SubZero.

Within three weeks of owning these new units, the refrigerator starting warming up. Parts were ordered. The fridge continued to not keep temperature and to freeze over. All said and done, one year later, I am now on my fourth unit from Electrolux. It, too, has the same warming issues. I have thrown thousands of dollars of food away, as the fridge will not stay below 48* F.

Although I'm not necessarily angry at Electrolux for their lack of support, because they have been very prompt about responding to the issues each time, I have grown increasingly tired of the bi-monthly appointments to defrost a fridge, the continued inconvenience of having to monitor the fridge temperature, and the continued loss of food due to spoilage.

Historically, Electrolux has given me two options when they determine that the unit is beyond repairing: 1) A full refund on the unit, or 2) a replacement unit. Once again, I am at the point where our local dealer is saying that they are only authorized to perform one defrost per month from Electrolux. After five subsequent visits, they are compelled to deem the unit "un-fixable" and proceed with Customer Service to determine a game plan. I am beyond this point. Now I'm faced with the SAME options, no doubt. But here's my frustration:

I could accept another fridge, in hopes of this being the one that works. However, industry wide, it has been demonstrated that this product has issues. Do I really want to go through this timely process again? OR, do I accept the refund of monies? Sounds great, until you realize that the opening that was specifically designed for this unit (and companion freezer), does not accommodate anything else. To do most anything will require that I once again pay to have my kitchen remodeled! And what do I do with its companion freezer (which also has had warm-up issues!)?

We purchased the fridge/freezer for the look. We designed/remodeled our entire kitchen around "the look." And now we are one-year into our "look" and don't know what to do. All I want is a fridge/freezer that works! I don't want to create waves...... but I believe that my husband and I are now BEYOND DONE!

We want something with dependability - like the old fridges that a person can still find running in people's garages. You know, the 1950's - 1970's fridge in multiple colors? They are still running. They are still dependable! Maybe I should just remove the doors off these units, install piano hinges on them, mount them to my wall for a facade and put one of those old dependable 'garage fridges' in behind!

Where should I go now? Should I pursue legal attempts to force them to pay the contractors to remodel the kitchen so I can put something else? Should I pursue them for the substantial loss of foods? Should I bill them for my time spent twice-monthly? Do I continue allowing them to give me a new unit every couple months, performing bi-monthly visits between each replacement defrosting the unit and replacing supposed defective parts? How many years do I keep playing this?

My last fridge was purchased in 1990...... it's STILL running strong with NO PROBLEMS. My expectation of how long a unit should perform is pretty high. Maybe it would be in the best interest of Electrolux to just buy me the SubZero that they're modeling after and save themselves thousands more dollars!

Replies
Advertisement
Electrolux/Frigidaire front load washing machine
By -

Two years ago I purchased a Frigidaire Electrolux Galaxy Series Front Load washing machine. As of a week ago, my washer stopped working due to what the error code read as a broken door lock. Upon notifying the company, I was informed that because the part I needed was on back order I had two choices. First, sit back and wait for the part or, accept a 60% rebate check to go purchase a new machine.

After thinking this over, I decided that 60% was unacceptable as I bought this washer in good faith that it would work for some time. I called the company back and after explaining my stance on the situation I was put on hold. Shortly after the operator came back on and said the part was there and I would receive it in three days. Monday I received the part and it had nothing to do with my washing machine or its problem.

When I called the company for the third time, I was told the part I needed would not become available until February 6th. I was then offered another rebate for 70%. Again I explained to the person on the other end that I do not feel I should have to spend 30% on a washing machine that I just bought 2 years ago. How is this fair? He put me on hold for a while and returned with a list of three local handymen and told me I could try to get one of them to come over at my expense. However Electrolux would purchase the part if one of these men had it.

Later in the day, I called the company a fourth time. This time I was calling to find out how to override the test mode because I was told by a couple of other unsatisfied consumers that it may get the washer going. Please understand, I have an 8 year old daughter and an 11 month old baby. Going to the laundromat with two children in tow is horrifying especially in the winter which is why I bought a washing machine 2 years ago.

After asking for the override information, I was put on hold and passed around 7 times until I finally insisted on speaking with a manager. That is when a lovely gal named ** came on the line. She offered me a $200 refund check for my laundromat troubles which I thought to be fair. She then said she had found the part and was going to overnight it to me. She had to double check for this and later in the evening she called me back to say she was successful in getting the part I needed. Easy to say I was thrilled.

Today the part arrived. When I opened the box, there sat a large black oven door handle. Am I to assume I was being asked to beat my washing machine with it until it worked? I called ** and left her a message. I also called the company again and found myself back at square one, being told I am expected to wait what in the end will be a total month to fix a simple door lock issue on my washing machine. $200 does not even come close to the costs this will incur. ** never returned my call.

I am going to summons whomever I have to in order to force the company to recall this product. After all, if this door lock is on such a long back order due to high demand, wouldn't that be a red flag insinuation that perhaps there is a serious problem here?

Replies
Manufacturer's warranty only lasts one year. Problems "fixed" within warranty continued after warranty ran out.
StarStarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 2/51

AUGUSTA, GEORGIA -- In April 2010, my husband and I bought an Electrolux oven with all the bells and whistles for around $2500. Within the first year, we had problems with the keypad that operates the oven. Upon calling Electrolux, a service tech that we thought was from Electrolux was sent out to fix the problem. It turns out Electrolux uses subcontracted companies, so they have no log of repairs or service done. This lack of data causes problems down the road.

Upon fixing one keypad problem, we discovered after the repairman was gone that he had disconnected another wire, so another keypad problem ensued. A second and then a third service call followed. Each time, Electrolux had no record of the problem, so getting the proper repairman with the proper equipment or parts out was very inefficient and difficult. After the third service, we thought the problem was fixed. This occurred in early 2011.

Shortly after the one year warranty expired, we tried the self clean option, only to find it did not work. Because no "error code" appeared on the keypad, Electrolux service support could not help us. Clearly, there was no error code, because something was unplugged. There was no message at all. It appeared that yet another component had been unplugged when the previous repair was done.

At this point, we were referred to the same subcontractor that had likely created the problem in the first place, and the service was not covered by the warranty. We hired a third party to fix the problem, because we were tired of the run around. I will probably not buy an Electrolux in the future, even though I like a lot of the options on the oven, for two reasons:

  1. A $2500 oven should not require repairs in the first year, and it should have a manufacturer's warranty longer than a year. Back your product.
  2. Electrolux does not use its own service techs to fix oven problems. Therefore, there is no accountability with the service, and from our experience, the technicians simply replaced one problem with another, creating the need for additional servicing time after time until the warranty ended. Each time they visited and fixed one thing, they messed up something else. This is convenient for them, because after the first year's warranty ends, the repair techs charge mightily for service.

In the meantime, Electrolux takes no responsibility for the malfunctions or inadequate repair service, nor do they keep any type of log of malfunctions that would help solve issues down the road. You are on your own. Additionally, Electrolux did not inform us that we were dealing with subcontractors the first two services. It felt misleading. If I'm paying for an Electrolux, I want an Electrolux employee working on the Electrolux product, and again, I'd like Electrolux to back their product. Not worth the cost of the oven.

Replies
Electrolux - the Sorriest Appliances Ever Made
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

I purchased several Electrolux appliances when we remodeled our kitchen in March of 2009, including the fridge EI26SS55GSO, wall oven and dishwasher. Have had problems with all of them. The fridge freezes all my veggies in the veggie tray even when the temp is set on 37 degrees as recommended. Now my Main Power Board relay switch has gone bad and causing power failure to the Circuit Interface board.

I called Electrolux and they gave me a number for a service dealer who came to my house and gave me the bad news. He also told me that Electrolux had several problems with the first year of manufacture and had replace several units because of the food freezing problems. He said it was a design flaw of air flow. He said it will cost $600 - $700 to replace both board and panel. I called Electrolux and they refuse to pay any on the repair bill even though my unit is only 4 years old.

My $1800 (2009 price) wall oven is a piece of junk. It takes 30-40 minutes to bake a small pan of biscuits - like I said a piece of junk. The lower heating element is buried in the bottom panel and it has to heat the entire bottom section before any heat ever reaches the oven space much less the biscuits. The stupid engineer that designed this unit should be hung by the 'you know what' til he or she gets some common sense. Too stupid to get in out of the rain.

Thirdly, my dishwasher stinks to high heavens apparently from food not being properly flushed out of the unit, however the smell is more like a plastic foul odor. Not sure and I'm sure the tech reps that answer the phone for Electrolux don't have a clue as to how to correct the problem and if they did it would be your fault and your expense. Like one other customer said, Electrolux considers themselves above the LEMON LAW!!!

Replies
Think Twice
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

ATLANTA, GEORGIA -- I take great exception to your company's quality control and product engineering. I write you in sheer disgust for having been had for the purchase I made of kitchen appliances for a newly renovated kitchen. The standing range is an abomination and a physical hazard. I had two services calls since the installation in July. The first call was for the physical hazard of the vent lip protruding under the control window. It was sharp enough to cut my hand. While cleaning a spill it gets hot enough to burn my hand. This is a class action suit waiting to be engaged.

The surface is made of a very poor quality stainless that has scratched from the moment it was removed from the box. The grates scratch the product consistently. The only acceptable cleaning sponge must be soft without any option to adequately clean baked or burned on spillage.

The oven cabin measurements are incorrect. The bottom shelf is correct, but the two pull out shelves cannot hold the same measured trays, because of the convection fan. The pull out racks does not function well for bakers, as there is not enough clearance. I have had the two motherboards replaced. It seems there were issues with steam and heat.

The refrigerator is a feat of stupidity. A refrigerator by its function is to keep food and beverages cold. This refrigerator dispenses room temperature water. This is a design failure for the usage purpose of the consumer. The ice dispenser splatters ice and ice chips over the floor. The chute is not properly designed. The microwave panel has a very light print. It makes it unreadable in certain light dynamics. The dishwasher is adequate. It is only adequate.

I have had a sales representative from Electrolux look at the range with the salesperson from the store the appliances were purchased. He noted the range should not have the concerns I have defined. I have had the owner look at the appliances and saw firsthand what my concerns are and he was very concerned. He confirmed for himself all of the issues stated. I have spoken to a staff person in your office. She has told me nothing more can be done.

I will tell you what you need to know. These products are a horrible waste of money. They are of poor quality, dangerous and do not function as they should. You are the person who is leading a product and sales team that has failed. You have put out a product that is inadequate. The answers I am given by your company are not acceptable. I have no other recourse, but to engage you in this conversation. It is time for you to prove your stand and the personal integrity of your position. I want a full refund and removal of the appliances that are unacceptable at any price point.

Replies
Advertisement
Worst Appliances on the Market
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

LANCASTER, OHIO -- We purchased $12,000 worth of poorly engineered, poorly manufactured scrap and want to make sure others do not make the same mistake. Built a new home and bought Electrolux appliances, big mistake. The double oven immediately failed. Service was through a third party vender, and was four days away. When they showed, they would not remove the oven from the wall - too much liability they said. So I removed my new oven, and diagnosed a burnt element. Appeared to be a manufacturing defect as the insulation around it had been disturbed and the element burnt in half. They shipped the part (another 3 days) and I replaced it.

Four months later the control panel in the front burnt out. LED lights were not lit properly. By now we were wise to the "service" program, so I asked that they ship the control panel, and I installed that. 2 months later the control panel in the refrigerator died. They shipped, I installed.

Another 5 months passed and the dishwasher would not pump down. This time I tried to hold their feet to the fire. The "service" group pulled the dishwasher, diagnosed a faulty float switch, and left. 3 days later, they sent another "repair" man who disagreed with the first diagnosis, and tried to half-ass manufacture a piece to operate the switch, with no success. A few days later the first "repair" man returned, replaced the part, and so far things have continued to operate.

The wife managed to pull an extended warranty from the manufacture after hours of phone calls and complaints as to their products and service. They reluctantly agreed to extend the warranty in exchange for our misfortune and not having use of the products for several days while waiting on repairs.

Fast forward to this summer. The refrigerator control panel is on the fritz again, and this time the unit quit running. "Service" group number three (because the last group no longer works with Electrojunk) replaces a main board in the bottom which allows the unit to run, but cannot order the front control panel because the part is no longer available. The cooktop flashes "e" across all burner controls at times, and sometimes will not recover without a hard power reset.

Honestly, in all my years of working with manufactures, electronics, and equipment in general, I have never experienced problems like these. I have never dealt with a service entity that mishandles or has no knowledge of the product, and can't find or maintain repair groups to work with, and when questioned, customer service personnel are rude and snippy.

DO NOT PURCHASE ELECTROJUNK APPLIANCES, even if Kelly Ripa still makes you believe in the product - unless you are very handy at repairs, have hours of free time, enjoy re-designing, and are prepared to sacrifice your home life in order to keep this worthless junk operational.

Replies
Entire Electrolux Kitchen Broken Junk After 3 Months of Use
By -

Bought my appliances in 1/10 on sale, store insisted on delivering in 8/10, I installed end of 5/11. French door refrigerator was installed in 8/10 and was replaced 4 times between 8/10 and 5/11. Same problem each time. Water leaking, ice maker not working properly, frost in freezer section, food in refrigerator freezing. Dishwasher leaked on my new hardwood floors for 4 months before G.E. extended warranty sent techs to fix it. Electrolux repair service told me nothing was wrong with it, next time told me they had to order a door seal, then told me for weeks the part was on backorder.

Same story for all parts for all appliances they were sent out to service. Induction cooktop worked sporadically for a couple months then went out completely. Electrolux service stated first time nothing was wrong, next time had to order parts and weeks of parts on backorder. Under counter fridge was freezing drinks, again Electrolux repair said they had to order parts, on backorder and I should not put the front panel on the bottom of fridge as it restricted air flow and was causing compressor to run too much.

I told repair service I was feed up and was contacting an attorney, they then wrote "will no longer service due to customer talking to his lawyer" on my repair tickets and faxed them to me. 5 open repair tickets. I contacted a ** at Electrolux, who ignored my first email, and then told me the repair service informed him there was nothing wrong with my appliances, and since I had contacted an attorney I needed to take any issues up with Electrolux legal dept. This is Electrolux idea of quality products and customer service?

Within 1 week of Electrolux refusing to fix their products I called my G.E. extended warranty who has had A&E factory service to my home over 20 times in the past 6 weeks attempting to complete repairs and the parts from Electrolux are wrong, damaged, or defective each time. My home looks like an Electrolux parts warehouse.

Just this week my double wall oven will not turn off. Extended warranty is trying to fix that as well now. If you are not an attorney and do not have months to play with this company I would warn everyone to steer clear of this manufacturer. Anyone with questions is welcome to contact me and I will provide any proof they wish in the interest of helping others avoid the same scenario I have gone through. If you have been swindled by Electrolux the only way to cover your costs of attorney fees is to file it as consumer fraud, that way you at least have a chance of recovering attorney's fees.

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >

Electrolux Rating:
Star Empty star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.1 out of 5, based on 32 ratings and
54 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
Electrolux
10200 David Taylor Drive
Charlotte, NC 28262
706-651-1751 (ph)
www.electrolux.com
Product/Services
Compare Appliance Companies