Preview Review

Next Review

Empire Carpet Consumer Reviews

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Incompetent, Inconsiderate, Dishonest, Poor Workmanship
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

ORLANDO, FLORIDA -- Sales guy promised a start date (because we're already behind on our move due to a pest problem which we explained to him in detail along with the serious need to start right away). Promises a start date of 3/22 (our lease in our old house is up 4/1, again which he knew.) Part of the sales pitch that got us was that "they have such great prices because they have a warehouse full of their product waiting to be sold... blah, blah, blah... so they can start right away, and so on). Perfect for us, because we needed it ASAP.

Anyway, Thursday morning I receive a call that the ceramic tile (the one that is sitting in a warehouse in tons... just waiting to be sold and used...) is out of stock. So, now I tell them to cancel my $9000 purchase unless they can start something/anything ASAP (we bought carpet x3 rooms and tile). After multiple calls, and explaining the whole situation to everyone I got transferred to because they clearly don't communicate with each other, read their notes, or give a darn to make an effort to get thing right.

Finally I speak to another liar that promises that by Monday, they would have crews at our home (that has a garage packed with all our belongs because we can't move in until the flooring in complete) to start on BOTH. Monday rolls around and the carpeting crew calls ahead that they'll be at our home in 30 mins. Perfect and very considerate to call ahead. They install, letting me know how long it'll take. All is well with that so far, and that's the small glimpse of good that we saw from Empire Today, the three carpeting guys.

Also on Monday, I get an e-mail "confirming" that the tile installation will happen on Tuesday... um, okay. It's not like we're now five days behind from the original date the promised. Tuesday (not morning) afternoon they arrive at 2:30pm, no call ahead that they're on their way, just a call telling that they're at the property. They get there to unload their supplies... and that's it.

When I asked if they'll be ripping out the baseboard to lay the tile (at this point, I'm starting to read about the tile installation process and someone said that to install tile, baseboards will be ripped out. When I simply ask about this, one of the installation "crew" (two guys) guys tells me that to properly install tile, baseboards need to removed to lay the tile flush to the wall. My next question is "and those baseboard replacements are part of the installation, right?" To which he said no, not part of the contract. Mind you, the sales guy quoted me "with EVERYTHING INCLUDED it's $8919."

So, I now have to speak to the Empire customer (non) service, and I get Jeremy? In the customer retention department that gets the tile installation "manager?" to call me in about 15 minutes (and he keeps me on the phone while I wait for the call, because he doesn't want to lose my call in the queue. Although, I'm not sure why he couldn't just give me a call back or give me his direct line. Bill, the manager, tells me that no, baseboards don't need to be removed, but the quarter-round does, and of course I'm responsible for that, because it's not part of their installation process.

Again, how am I getting two different scenarios on tile installation from the same department??? Should've been yet another red flag! Call drops while talking to "Bill" and he calls me back. I ask him to please communicate with his crew to NOT rip out baseboards, to which he agrees to communicate to them. The "crew leaves at 4:30pm. And Bill apologizes that they ran behind on another job and couldn't get there sooner. Was there not another crew that they could contract to be there sooner???

Since this company has dropped the ball so many times with my contract? Moving along to the next day, the two tile guys (thank goodness I'm fluent in Spanish, because they have very limited English, so this wasn't an issue in our case.) get there at 9:30am, leave around 5:30pm stating that only one of them will be there for half the day as the other has a doctor appointment to get to... so now I got half a "crew."

Friday rolls around and they said they'd like to stay and work late to get work done... 4:30pm rolls around and they call to tell us that they're done for the day. I have yet to complain, because at this point you have your floors as a hostage. I don't want to complain so we can get this work done correctly and in the time frame. Later in the day, as I walked around, I noticed the foyer hallway had a row of tile (we had long tile installed, the wood-look tile installed) was made up if three pieces of a tile, instead of making it out of one long tile.

I later found out that my dad pointed it out to one of them, and they said that it was a closet so it didn't matter. So, of course I brought it up to them the next day when they arrived, Saturday. They arrived at 11:30am, we just waited around for them... because Empire figures we don't have anything else to do, like unpack, move furniture in, etc.

When I brought it up to the "lead" installer, the other guy was introduced as his assistant from the beginning, he again gave me that incompetent response by replying "Is that closet going to have a door?" (I guess he thought I was going to accept that response meaning that I just need to close the door and not look at it???) I told him that it wasn't going to stay like that and he politely said he'd fix it. He fixed it by making that last row out of two pieces now instead of three!! Wow!

Also, instead of continuing the pattern in the closets, they just put aligned rows in the closet, instead of continuing the pattern. When they left, 8pm-ish when I'm trying to get my kids ready for bed, they had me sign the form "that the job was complete."

Later, I actually looked at the form, they had re-filled the questionnaire that was meant for me, as the customer, to fill out. The one question they filled out for me, that irked me the most: Would you recommend Empire Today to friends/family? They marked "yes." Wow!!! I never got a warranty or care brochure. They did however, tell me I need to clean it in the morning with vinegar and water. So guess what I got to spend doing on Easter morning? Mopping, mopping and more mopping, doing research online on how to remove grout residue from my brand new tile and visiting Home Depot to buy products to remove this "soot" from my $9000 floors!!!

When I called them later in the afternoon, just utterly disappointed, they said they'd put a ticket in. When I inquired as to when I'd receive a response, they said it could take 2-3 days What??? I'm on a time crunch before this residue becomes permanent!!! Rep said she'd flag it as a priority call... so that's where we're at. I'm concerned that they know where I live, so my accurate review of them better be anonymous with Empire! And there's a LOT of miscellaneous, yet frustrating events that I left out for sake of time!

Company Response 04/04/2018:

Jenny, >, our goal is for our customers to have a great experience from start to finish - and we're sorry that didn't happen. Please send us your contact information to customersupport@empiretoday.com so we can help.

Replies
Advertisement
Installers Walk Off Job, Calls Go Unanswered, Promises Broken!
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

SPRING, TEXAS -- We signed a digital contract for Empire Today to install new carpet on 4-13-18. We received a system generated email regarding our scheduled install date of 4-25-18. It stated the install would take place between 8am-6pm. My husband and I did everything noted in the email by removing all small breakable items and really most heavy furniture. It was in our contract the install team would move the heaviest items. On the "date of install", 4-25-18, I began to call the company letting them know that I have not received a call from the installer and that it was getting progressively late in the day.

I had to call numerous times to get any information, even then, they refused to tell me what was going on and when to expect the installers to arrive. At 1:10pm 3 guys showed up at my home. The lead installer "Chino" told me that he was just to unload our carpet and he would be back at 4pm. I reminded him that I was told our install would be a FULL day and that it being so late, that would be impossible. I had emptied my 3 children's rooms and disassembled their beds. I had moved everything in preparation for them to finish carpet install. After arguing with "Chino" that I had no place to put my kids to bed this night, he agreed to stay and complete their 3 rooms.

As I normally would, I walked through as they performed the work. I noticed they had installed the basic carpet padding throughout the room when I had paid for the "upgraded" waterproof padding. I also saw they were leaving the 13 year old padding in the closets. "Chino" tried to tell me the waterproof membrane is "visible" on some padding and "invisible" on other! I insisted he pull it up and replace with what we had paid for. I also told him that leaving the old pad is NOT acceptable!

At that point he told me that he was not given enough waterproof padding from the Empire warehouse to even finish the 3 bedrooms. He cut and laid some carpet in 2 rooms. Tack strips and padding were still exposed in my 5 year old's bedroom entrance. He did not mend the seams or complete the closets or doorways. He promised my husband and myself that he would personally call me before 8am and be at my house working by 8am to finish the job the next day! We had to agree as we had our whole house turned upside down.

Next day, 4-26-18, 8am came and went without any word from "Chino". I began calling Empire and spoke with numerous different customer service reps. Finally I just wanted this entire nightmare to end. I was given a number to "Anthony" who would have the ability to cancel the contract/ job altogether. After speaking to him at length, he said that he couldn't cancel the contract/ install since work had begun. That would come from "George" the install manager.

During our conversation I had to take my daughter to school. He asked if there was any way I would let them complete the work if the guys came and finished up that day (4-26-18). He placed me on hold to call the "install manager". Within 10 minutes "Chino" was calling me saying he was at my house. I told him I was 10 minutes away and to please wait. He said he would. I switched the call back to Anthony and told him that "Chino" was at my house and he would wait for me there! Anthony said he relayed that to the "install manager".

When I arrived back home, "Chino" was gone. I reviewed my security footage and after he hung up with me, he walked to his car, got on the phone again, loaded his tools back in the car and drove off. I pulled in my driveway minutes after he left. I called Anthony back immediately and told him what happened. I was really hoping this company would make things right after all of the things they had put my family through. They did not. I was told that "Monica" would call me...I got a call from a "Diana".

She seemed like she would be helpful at first. I told her since we were on day 2 and our carpet was still laying in my garage, we just wanted to cancel. She said, “But what if I get them back to you by 1pm and they finish today.” I just was not hopeful as we have been lied to so much by these people. At 1pm, nobody came to my house, I called Diana. She said, “I thought you wanted to cancel...if they get there in 30 minutes can they finish?” I said, “Yes but I need them to finish today.” She said, “They would!”

I rushed to my daughter's school, picked her up and rushed home. The installers showed up at 1:50pm. They didn't speak to me at all. I had to ask what happened to him not calling or showing at 8am? He said since he has a newborn baby at home, he has to take his oldest daughter to school, then go back and take care of his 2.5 year old and 1 month old baby. He said he can't get out of the house much before 9am anyway. At this point, I have zero faith in these installers, so I am periodically walking through checking on the progress.

I noticed they were talking about a problem so I went into the 3rd bedroom and noticed he shortcut my son's room by 1 inch. He wanted to do a 1 inch seam on the tack strip. My husband and I said, “Absolutely not, you must recut this room and do it right.” He said "I am not recutting this piece and getting back charged". “I will leave before I do that.” He got his tools and told his guys to load up the truck and began yelling at me in my driveway in front of my neighbors. I got Diana on the phone and let her listen to his yelling. I told her this was Empire's last chance and this installer just blew it.

My husband got the sales representative on the phone, he was no help. He lied to cover himself, just like everyone else within this company. At this point, we wanted Empire to pick up their materials and part ways amicably. We cannot get anyone from this company to return phone calls or address this issue. Everyone blames another, then when pressed, they are blaming us, the customer.

My husband talked with Meygan today, 4-27-18 and was told the contract will be cancelled and a full refund will be issued. She told him that she would send an email stating that...we have not received anything from her. Not surprising! Oh and before you post to send this in an email to customersupport@empire-today.com, I already did including our contract number.

Replies
Hardwood Flooring
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

CALERA, ALABAMA -- I thought I was making an upgrade for my house which has became a nightmare. The installers were completely rude and didn't care if anything was broken. They were too lazy to pull up the vinyl in the kitchen so they just laid the hardwood floor on top of it. Then on top of that they couldn't cut a true 45 degree angle with corner round to save their lives. Worst decision ever. At this point pull up the hard wood and take it back. I'll be happy with my vinyl floors. Please research others before you choose Empire.

Replies
Horrible Quality
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

If there were an option for zero stars that's what I would give!!! I've used Empire in the past at two separate houses I've owned, this is the third time I'm using them. In the past the customer service was outstanding, the quality of the product I received was also outstanding. This time garbage and no one is willing to help fix the problem. I had carpet installed a week ago, and was going to have vinyl floors placed this week. The installer came. It was one man and an elderly woman. Neither spoke English. He installed the carpet and afterwards I walked around with him and tried to explain issues I had but he did not understand anything I was saying to him.

I called Empire Saturday to voice my concerns, I was told then that an inspector would contact me to come out and discuss all of my issues, my biggest issue was with the padding, it feels as if there is no padding under the carpet. To make a very long story short, after speaking to multiple people and then a second installer coming out whom which I thought was going to address my concerns...the second installer basically confirmed that the padding used was of poor quality and the installation was poorly done, and that I was way overcharged for what I received.

He asked why I didn't negotiate the price with the salesman! I didn't realize that this was a barter type purchase. I was told a price for what I thought was going to be a quality product!!! The installers exact words to me were, “That salesman hit a home run on you!”

PLEASE EVERYONE STAY AWAY FROM EMPIRE!!! I FEEL LIKE I WAS TAKEN! And the last representative I spoke to flat out said, “You got exactly what was in the contract” and that I was stuck with it. I got the 6lb pad that I ordered but it is of very very poor quality! I cancelled the credit card and am disputing! Oh annndd I paid for 47 yards of carpet, 33 yards were installed and the other has mysteriously disappeared!

Replies
Advertisement
Installers Never Showed up...
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

STATEN ISLAND, NEW YORK -- I am renting an apartment to a friend of mine and scheduled an Empire Today install 3 a 4 weeks ago with the sales agent. I have movers, furniture delivery and a move-in date occurring the day after the scheduled install date. Needless to say, the day that I took off of work for the rug install, installers never came. Not only is this unacceptable, but my Tenant is supposed to be moving in everything today, but there is no rug in a majority of the apartment, just an unfinished floor. As a repeat customer of Empire Today, I am speechless.

I called the customer service number for Empire at least 3 times yesterday, trying to get an estimated time for the installers to show up. The company had me waiting home all day, even after they told me to expect installers between 1pm & 3pm. That time came and went, along with another phone call to them.

About 6pm in the evening, after it turned dark outside, I called customer service again to see if they will be able to make it at least sometime early the next day so that my Tenant can move into her apartment, and possibly re-schedule new furniture delivery for later time in the day. The customer service agent didn't seem too convincing about the install happening today, and even said that he couldn't say whether the carpet would even be able to get installed until a future delivery date.

Installers never contacted me the day of the expected install date, and customer service stated that the installer attempted to call me once on the scheduled delivery date. I have no missed phone calls or messages from anyone. I would go as far as even acquiring phone records to prove the installer made that up to their boss.

Waiting around today for another 10 hours at home... hopefully my time is not wasted again. Meanwhile, how can this be allowed to happen? Shouldn't there be any compensation? I felt so bad even telling my Tennant that she has no rug installed, on top of the fact that she has new couches and furniture being delivered for those areas of the apartment that need the rugs. What do I say to that? Lost for words here.

Replies
VERY POOR SERVICE
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

VIRGINIA BEACH, VIRGINIA -- I am so upset that we decided to use this company to install our new floors. To start off, they only sent two guys to do the work, but whatever. One of the gentleman could not speak good English. I asked him a question and he just looked at me and smiled. They then wanted to tear up all of the old flooring and tell me they would have to leave and come back and finish tomorrow as it was getting late. I informed them that was not going to happen.

My house is torn up from this install and it will be done today or there is no need to come back. I had to call their supervisor which was a waste of my time. I ended up hanging up the phone on him. He called me back and stated we must have gotten disconnected. I informed him we did not as he was not able to help me so there is no need for us to speak any further. These businesses take customer's hard earned money and then give them bad service. I will never use this company again or recommend them to anyone. I would not even recommend them to a person I didn't like!

Replies
Home Fresh Carpet
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

READYVILLE, TENNESSEE -- We selected the Home Fresh carpet to be installed due to having a pet. We were very strongly told the carpet would eliminate pet smells. After only two months of having the carpet and only two small pet accidents our bedroom smells like urine. Unless the carpet is not doing its job with the scotch guard then two smalls accidents is all there has been.

I contacted Empire to complain and I was told they do not guarantee the elimination of odors with their Home Fresh carpet. That was the whole reason for getting it. They said they would check further but I have never heard back from them. Needless to say I paid a ton of money for this new spectacular carpet that they sold me and I am no better off than I was with the cheap stuff.

Replies
Appointments
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

INVERNESS, FLORIDA -- This is the 3rd time we've dealt with these people. Should have learned after the last time where we had issues. I filled out request for appt to get quote on flooring. 1st appt I had to call customer service after the 2 hr window had come and gone and no show. Was told he was ill and he tried to call with no answer and left message. Never happened but I rescheduled anyway.

2nd time same thing. They insisted someone tried to call both my phone numbers. These people are lying to someone! I checked both phones and voicemails. Work fine. Two days I wasted waiting on these idiots while they're lying to their bosses. Supposedly today is the day! Now they can make the trip out here, try and sell me and then I get to tell them to go away! I'll let a reliable company do it.

Replies
Advertisement
Horrible
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

NEW YORK -- They are a rip-offs. First they quickly merge you with their bank Wells Fargo to take your money and then someone goes to your house and decide your sub floor is good for wood flooring. Then after a few months my floor start squeaking but when we called them it was horrible. No one was able to help us. The manager left the secretary in charge because his wife was having a baby. So no one was at the store. Just the secretary who was giving us the runaround. Still these days no one has been able from Empire to contact us about the problem.

Replies
Horrible Service and Installation
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

INDIANAPOLIS, INDIANA -- We ordered carpet from Empire for our entire second floor and two stairways and a den. The installers came out day one and did a good job but left by 2 P.M. saying they were short of carpet and had to get more. Based upon the extra carpet they left in my garage I think it was a lie. They came back for day two to finish and installed carpet that was the wrong color and clearly stained with bleach and totally discolored.

They further destroyed a large amount of trim moving furniture. They took two doors off of my laundry room and broke both just to leave them sitting against the wall. They told my wife to sign and they just left without a walkthrough. They ran. The sales contractors will not return a call and the 800 service is friendly but not reliable. I hope to get the problems resolved. I will not recommend Empire to anyone.

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >

Empire Carpet Rating:
Star Half star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.3 out of 5, based on 55 ratings and
111 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
Empire Carpet
333 Northwest Ave
Northlake, IL 60164
1-800-588-2300 (ph)
www.empirecarpet-flooring.com
Compare Home Improvement Companies