Preview Review

Next Review

First American Home Warranty Consumer Reviews

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Bad Service
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

On May 6, I put a claim in. Unit not blow cold air. Contractor Lumart Air Condition came out replace compressor. I had to pay $600 out of pocket cost. Unit was doing the same thing after repairs the next day. Lumart was reassigned to come back out. Lumart came out, deem my entire unit, bad attic and outside. I filed complaint with BBB because First American told me there was an out of pocket cost $1450 and my $600 was gone with 1st repairs which was flaw. I was contact by a claim representative I won't say her name cause she currently working on my claim and I am given her a chance to make this right before I seek counsel on this matter.

Back to nightmare my claim assigned to the rep, and she subtract the $600 I paid earlier within this claim. Which about my out of cost back down to $850 for replacement cost. Lumart came off. Replace unit. 2 days later I had a major leakage to a.c. drain being clogged which parts to out of pocket $850 was to cost a 2nd drain pan and flow switch. The leakage damages my ceiling, my mattress, bed spring, comfort set, sheets, and carpet. It leaked down in my master bedroom damage the ceiling and carpet also.

I recorded and took pictures. I send it to the Contactor and First American. The contractor came out, repaired PVC piping clogged, but before this leakage I informed the Lumart and First American that unit blow heat on cool mode when it reach set point. As Lumart was repairing the leakage, I reminded them about the unit blow heat. Lumart confirmed the issues and stated they will have to replace the thermostat but they contact me when they are back on my side on town (Wow) right. I emailed First American representative and request another company come out and check my unit.

Bless Air was that contactor. They came out and check and determine the Lumart installment was flawed. Lumart didn't vacuum the a.c. line which now has plenty oil which is prevent unit from supply 58*. Currently the unit is supply 68* with different at return like 28*. I reach out the Claim Rep via email and informed her the contractor confirmed my complaint that Lumart did a very bad job from the beginning. She told get her est cost for damages and repairs and she will reach out to Bless Air to get report. I sent her all est. and damages as if was occur from leakage.

Blessing Air came out July 14 2018. Today July 21, 2018. It's been a 103+ - 110* here in Texas the last 2 week. I have 6 children that suffering because this. I am out of $1450 on flaw repairs. The only reason I had not file a lawsuit is because First American has been fair to me in the past outside of the claim and I am giving this Claim Rep a opportunity to make this matter right, but I will seek counsel if I need too.

Replies
Advertisement
Crappy Customer Service, Poor Availability of Qualified Contractors, Unresolved Issues but They Close the Claim Ontheir Side
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

VIRGINIA -- We have put claim since Dec 18th for refrigerator not working. This is less than 3 years old LG Refrigerator. First of all, no contractors available to come look at it. At this point FAHW should have reimbursed for whoever we get to come and fix the problem if they failed to get contractors in 48 hrs. They didn't offer that. After that, someone finally comes after 2 weeks, said compressor was not working so ordered parts to repair that. We were okay with that knowing at least someone will be there to fix it. They told us it is under warranty, so compressor was free. Then parts arrived after 8-10 days and technician not available.

After several phone calls, they sent some other technician. He was supposed to come between 8 and 12 noon. We didn't hear anything from them until I made several calls to company. They would say, he is on the way, should be there in 10-20 min. Well, he didn't come until 4 PM. No phone call about when he will come. That was least of the problem.

When he came, he told us the parts were ordered wrong. So now he is ordering new parts. After 3 weeks, still no fix, after several frustrated phone calls, someone at FAHW finally decided to help us. This was shortlived. They claim that they got involved and shipped the parts. No technician available to do repairs. Then they sent another tech from another company. He comes, tells us he will send report to FAHW. They have to handle but maybe not repairable.

FAHW calls, tells us but refuses to give written report. And denies that they will replace the appliance since it is LG 's mistake to have a bad refrigerator and appliance has 7 more years of manufacturer warranty. Tat is fine but in order to get Lg to work with us, they need written report from the technician. FAHW customer representative denies to give that to us. We were told it is companys policy not to send report!!! On top of that, they closed my claim. I can't see the representative that was handling my claim or phone number.

Looks like they scammed me big time. Refrigerator is an essential appliance. If they can't send a contractor in 48 hours, they should have let us find someone on our own and reimbursed the service fees. They didn't offer that. Also, how did they derive that appliance is unrepairable. They must have got something in report. Why can't they forward to LG or sent to us. Very fishy and looks like big scam.

Avoid this company. Not worth your time and money. Our refrigerator has manufacturer warranty left. FAHW told us about it last week so they could have told us in December itself 3 months ago instead of putting us through this agony. We are still without refrigerator and no word from them or LG. LG waiting for the technicians report and we don't have it since FAHW will not provide it.

I can't understand why they would not forward the much needed report to LG? Not to mention, going to grocery store every other day and can't buy items in bulk. Also, every time to stay home for tech to come, lost time and money from work. FAHW didn't care for inconvenience, my time and frustration. They added to my pain by really crappy customer service. Stay away from this suffering and don't buy the warranty from them.

Replies
Crazy Company
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

SANTA ROSA, CALIFORNIA -- I carried a home warranty through this company for about 5 years. Initially, I was quite satisfied. About 2 years ago I had a repair and experienced my first difficulty getting the item fixed. I thought it was a fluke. Last year my dryer overheated. I called in the claim I was scheduled out 2 weeks. The technician called in sick to his company who then stated I had to wait another 2 weeks for repair through them. Long story short -- I went through so many crazy phone calls etc; trying to get approval to use another service provider that I nearly cancelled my policy out of hand.

I should have. When I was approved to use a 2nd appliance repair service center. I found out that First American had arbitrarily scheduled an appointment without letting me know with not one but two businesses. I found out about one appointment because the business contacted me to confirm. Being scheduled to work that day - I called First American for clarification and what ensued was the craziest conversation.

They called the appliance guy I was supposed to working with to ask if him if I scheduled the appointment and he stated that he met me face to face when we scheduled the appointment to just look at my dryer. He lives 90 minutes from my home. He had dropped by my house unannounced on a different day and just slipped his card under my door with a note to contact to schedule an appointment. It got stuck and I didn't see it for a few days. Then the First American employee admitted to me that their dispatch had scheduled the appointments. Seriously.

Ok, this 2nd appliance guy and I finally set up an appointment to just look at the dryer not fix because after a month of waiting it still hasn't been looked at. I put my dog in daycare, leave the garage side door-unlocked so he can enter while I am at work. I call at 7 am and leave a message letting him know all is well. I called again around 2 to see how things are going and leave a message. At 4pm he leaves a voicemail stating that he didn't bother to keep the appointment. He didn't come to town. He would now see my dryer on Tuesday.

I was done. I cancelled my policy and called a private company who fixed the dryer within a week. 6 months later I received a bill from First American stating that I owed them $65 for the original date that they scheduled without my permission and that I rescheduled. I called and reminded them that I had rescheduled that appointment because I had never agreed to it and the guy then didn't show to the rescheduled date. There was no service to pay for. I never heard back until about another six months passed and they've sent me to collections because I won't pay for a service I didn't receive. This company is insane, and they will make you nuts. Stay away.

Replies
No Truth and Honor in Their Business Dealings
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

VAN NUYS, CALIFORNIA -- I gave them a 1 but wanted to give them a big fat 0. Unfortunately, this site requires something in the rating. I closed on my new home on 17 OCT. 2016. The seller purchased a home warranty from First American Home Buyers Protection Corporation (FAHW) to transfer to me at closing. After moving into the home that day, I noticed the master bathroom toilet leaking so I turned off the water cutoff for that toilet.

On Sunday, 23 OCT. 2016, I went to check about the leak with the toilet tank. I turned on the valve and the CPVC line snapped behind the wall at the toilet. I looked inside the house for the house cutoff and went under the crawlspace to find it. In the dark, I lightly touched the line at a second expansion tank and that water line snapped also. I had to turn the water off at the street.

The bathroom upstairs and carpeting in the bedroom got wet as well as the ceiling downstairs, light fixtures, and fan downstairs in the foyer area. I called the FAHW to file a claim due to the brochure I was given at closing because it clearly states on the front bottom of the cover that "COVERAGE OF UNKNOWN CONDITIONS which can include rust, corrosion, sediment, and problems due to lack of maintenance" as well as "Plumbing System includes polybutylene piping" but was told then I could not file a claim since payment hadn't been received from my closing attorney.

My agent contacted my closing attorney and their office contacted FAHW, and only then was I able to get online to file a claim. The site info said that "Coverages Ordered, Eagle Premier + Sellers Coverage -- Your contract includes coverage for the following items: Seller/Buyer Plumbing System." A plumber was sent from FAHW and the plumber assessed and submitted to them photos as well as info about the state of the CPVC and water damage.

My claim was denied 25 OCT. 2016 because it was stated by FAHW that this was not usual wear and tear, and that I broke the water line, and therefore it wouldn't be covered in my contract. I told them that the two pieces of information I had says that it is covered. Then I was told that the service contract that they had (which I couldn't get access to due to the "awaiting funds" situation) says that in a certain section that it wouldn't be covered. I felt that this company had misrepresented themselves in what they say they cover and has used information to deny my claim that I am not privy to have.

I filed a complaint with the NCDOJ on 01 NOV. 2016. Dawn ** (800.992.3400, Ext. **) at FAHW contacted me via their website and by phone 02 NOV. 2016. She informed me that they had reopened the claim and wanted the following information from me:

"First American, Wednesday, Nov. 2, 2016 at 9:13 AM. Good morning: You will need to fax in a written report from a licensed contractor that states that this is normal wear and tear, and/or proof that this PVC piping is defective. Then it will be reviewed by my supervisor before a decision is made. You can fax that information to 800-700-4457 and reference your claim number **. Thank you for choosing First American. Have a good day."

I received the information they wanted 07 NOV. 2016 from a licensed contractor. It said: "We recently visited the address to handle misc. plumbing issues for the owner. Two of the issues we addressed were cracked CPVC fittings, both caused leaks, one in the wall on the 2nd floor and the other in the crawlspace. The leaks were from the normal wear and tear of CPVC and its nature to become brittle over time. This is very common of CPVC, so much that we have a waiver that we require our customers to sign before we will work on a plumbing system containing the material. CPVC is not deemed a defective material, but has a history of causing issues where it has been plumbed."

On 16 NOV. 2016, I happened to see on FAHW's site that my claim was denied again. I talked with Alexandria ** (800.992.3400, Ext. **) and she told me so many conflicting reasons as to why my claim was denied again. Not only does FAHW give misinformation, but found every loophole they could to keep from honoring their warranty and fixing my plumbing system issue in my newly acquired home. I feel that this is a flagrant abuse of truth in advertising and that every homeowner should be aware of FAHW's "scamtastic" ways as well as with other home warranty companies out there.

Replies
Advertisement
Hole in Ceiling Left From Poor Installation
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

KNOXVILLE, TENNESSEE -- First American Home Warranty sent Ridge Electric out to assess a heater/vent/fan not working in my master bath. They confirmed it needing replacing and assessed it. They ordered part. After a three hour installation they showed me I had a 2" gap in my ceiling because they installed the wrong size part. They assured me First American would send a sheetrock contractor out to repair the hole in ceiling. Ridge Electric never sent a picture of installation of which I asked them to. First American sends out a sheetrock contractor who said they just installed the wrong size fan.

They called First American while here and indicated they would send Ridge Electric back out to install right size. After numerous emails and lots of phone calls (trying to get through without getting disconnected is impossible). The answer from First American was that my warranty didn't cover "size" - only function and capacity. Therefore they did NOT have to come back out and repair. So I am left with a 2" hole in my ceiling around the heater/vent/fan because Ridge Electric did NOT order the right part to install.

Sad thing is I totally got ripped off because First American confirmed it was a NEW part. They took no responsibility of installing the right size and will not come back out and replace it. I'm stuck with a 2" hole in ceiling and now paying repair and parts costs to start all over. Being a single elderly who thought a Home Warranty would help First American is NOT someone I would recommend using.

Replies
FAHW Closing Tickets Without Fixing the Problem
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

SANTA ROSA, CALIFORNIA -- I have FAHW for almost a year now and have made 2 claims. Both claims were closed by the FAHW representative without actually fixing the problem. 1st claim was December of 2017 for my washer that moves around and sounds like a jet engine during spin cycle. They sent a tech who first said that it was just a screw. He replaced the screw, collected the co-pay and left. When I used the washer the problem remains so I re-opened the ticket. They sent the same guy and he replaced the shocks.

Still the same problem. The FAHW representative told me it is normal for a washer to move around and makes loud sound during spin cycle. I have used other washer before and this one does not make the sound and dance around before so I forced him to send for second opinion. They sent the second opinion and explained to me that shocks should be hard to push in when new.

I saw the previous tech just pushing the new shocks in and out without any problem so he said that he will recommend an OEM brand. Well, FAHW closed the ticket saying there is nothing that can fix the problem as it is working as it should. When I talked to the rep, I was told to call back when the washer dies and stop working altogether.

2nd and the latest claim I made is for the Rinnai Tankless water heater. The problem is that it will just stopped producing Hot Water. I have to unplug and plug to produce hot water again. The technician seem to know what he is talking about, when I describe the problem to him he immediately say that the problem is with one of the sensor.

He said that he will contact the manufacturer for parts and call me back when they receive it. 2 weeks passed and manufacturer never called back. I was told by the lady who answered the phone that the tech will contact FAHW to see what they say. Well today, I got a voicemail from FAHW representative saying that he is closing the ticket because the tech cannot duplicate the problem.

Well duh, the tech already identified what the problem is and why a reset fix the issue temporarily, Since the issue re-occurs after few days, tech cannot live in my house and wait for the problem to re-occur. If they can come by right away when I call then that is fine else, I have to reset it as we need hot water. I cannot wait days for the tech to come and inspect after the problem re-occurs.

Replies
Worst Customer Service Ever
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

CALIFORNIA -- First American Home Warranty (FAHW). Do not trust this company! Bad business practices! Reputable companies don't contract with FAHW so you'll be stuck dealing with the worst contractors in your area. This company continues to raise their prices and deductibles while lowering their coverage & reducing quality of service, which includes the companies they carry contacts with. They are scraping the bottom of the barrel when it comes to employees & contractors.

I guess it's my mistake for staying with a company for over 11 years expecting things to get better only to be treated like garbage when we do need to place a claim. The automated system is a ridiculous joke! I pay a bloated premium every month to get screwed around by a machine, hung up on by unprofessional ignorant phone agents, and ignored by incompetent companies they contract with.

Today (07.31.18) I was left waiting on hold for over 30 minutes just to get hung up on TWICE! I placed a claim for my broken central air conditioner last week & still no service & no call! They (FAHW) continues to tell me that they can't find a company in our area with an available appointment. So I called 8 companies in my area, ALL had appointments for same day service - none would contract with FAHW. Going on day 7 with no air conditioning in 90+ degree weather, with children and animals. Looks like I'll be looking for a new warranty company.

I've only had a few (7) claims in 11 years and everyone has been extremely difficult to resolve & a couple (2) never were. After 11 years & all the hell they have put me through this review is extremely sugar coated & much nicer than they deserve.

Replies
HORRIBLE HORRIBLE COMPANY
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

RALEIGH, NORTH CAROLINA -- We stupidly renewed this warranty - they have had to fix the same issue 3 times in the last year, specifically twice in the last 2 months. Beyond the fact that they failed to get someone out to us in a timely matter during the hottest months of the year, they wanted to charge us for something that wasn't fixed properly the first time! Needless to say, we canceled our warranty with them and went with Choice Home Warranty. Now FAHW wants to charge us for services and a $50 cancellation fee.

Do NOT purchase a warranty with this company. They have horrible customer service, horrible technicians (except for a rare few) and will try to charge you for everything! Don't bother talking to the regular agents, just ask for a supervisor and they will sometimes get things done for you.

Replies
Advertisement
Don't Waste Your Money
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

CALIFORNIA -- I live in a house built in the 70s. Outside drain caps were not installed then. You have to go through pipe on roof. OK so I developed a blockage in kitchen sink and the only fix is to go through the pipe on roof. First American covers blockages alright but, they only cover going through drain cap on outside which older homes don't have. I asked them to make an exception because this is the only fix and they cited the fine print in the contract that states they cover blockages and cover going from outside drain cap, but don't cover getting on the roof.

So now I had to pay First American a 75 service fee for diagnosing a stoppage which I already knew I had (they won't refund by the way) and the plumbing company 300.00 to go through the roof pipe. I pay all this money to a warranty company just to get denied service. Don't waste your money with this company. You will be sorry.

Replies
Horrible Service All the Way From Start to Finish
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

WEST VIRGINIA -- My breaker system went completely bad to the point where I had to have it repaired within a day because it was a fire hazard. Breaker would trip and smoke would go everywhere. I called American Home Warranty FIVE times. First time...on hold 1 hour and 45 minutes to speak to someone about the urgency of my issue. Second time 51 minutes to see IF they found someone to fix it 24 hours later. The answer was no, but, "We will let you know in ANOTHER 24 hours." Well, my house could have burned down by then? They called me. OF COURSE I missed the call and had to call back...another hour wait.

I'm wise this time I get online. They give me a document the size of the declaration of independence and whoever I get to fix it, has to have about 6 restrictions on him. Ok...but wait it gets better. I find a person who will fix it on a Saturday night in an emergency situation, call the power company to cut off the power so the box can be repaired. AND GUESS WHAT? On hold again for an HOUR AND A HALF...to get my electrician authorization to actually DO the work so the house won't burn down. This is the worst company ever. NEVER Pay them $400 a year for them to not do their job. Will Cancel the service. It's worst than the worst ever.

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >

First American Home Warranty Rating:
Star Empty star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.0 out of 5, based on 22 ratings and
39 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
First American Home Warranty
P.O. Box 10180
Van Nuys, CA 91410-0180
800-992-3400 (ph)
www.homewarranty.firstam.com
Compare Warranty Services