Preview Review

Next Review

Freedom Mortgage Consumer Reviews

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Horrible Online System and Communication
StarStarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 2/51

STAFFORD, VIRGINIA -- Was recently transferred to Freedom Mortgage from a servicing company that I loved. They had an online payment system, I had auto withdrawal and never had to worry. So when I moved to Freedom Mortgage I was a bit sad but whatever, I'll just set up autopay again and "set it and forget it", right? Wrong! I have been trying to set up auto pay since I've been a client with them (going on 3 months).

Called to pay the first month and my account wasn't over to their offices so told me to call back towards middle of month (and I did, paid over the phone and got my new account number). Immediately went online afterwards and set up an auto withdrawal. The website is incredibly useless and CHEAP. They are running on some very basic model that has no real interactivity (no chat, no help, no easy way to set up anything or get a quick answer). So I set up the auto withdrawal online after looking around trying to figure out the site.

Next month comes, no money withdrawn. I go into the website and it isn't showing paid for the pending auto withdrawal... it's gibberish, dates that say (01/01/0000). When is it active? What is the holdup? So I email about the auto withdrawal. I get a message that I will receive a LETTER in the mail in response to my question? Not an email... an actual snail mail letter! Then I get the letter a week later that says give them up to 30 DAYS to respond to my question? RIDICULOUS!

But during this time I get 3 calls from Freedom saying they've reviewed my account and I can refinance! They've left messages, sent letters, etc. I can't imagine how much they are spending on mail if this is how they do business! Everything is run by technology, phones and apps. This is very inconvenient for homeowners that have grown accustomed to not having to call in for simple questions or account updates, or can check their payments via app or online easily.

So I guess I'll need to call in and see about the auto withdrawal for next month because by the time I get a response to my email on what's going on with my auto draft... the next payment will be due. I've never been with a mortgage company this backwards. This is not a good sign. I wonder how I can get my account transferred to another company???

Replies
Advertisement
Pay Your Mortgage Until the Day You Close
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

MT LAUREL, NEW JERSEY -- I sold my home 7/3/18. They received their full payment on that date. 7/13/18 I receive a message from TransUnion, Experian, and Equifax that I have a delinquent payment on my report. I take a look and my scores dropped 100 points. Freedom mortgage reported I was 30 days late for the month of June. My original closing date was 6/27/18 but because the escrow/title company we used was horrible at their job, a cash deal was pushed to 7/3/18.

When I called to get a payoff it was good through 6/30 and I asked if I needed to make my June payment or will it be included in the payoff. The representative told me it is included in the payoff with a late fee and I didn't have to make the payment. Great news to me, got a little extra money in my pocket. When the closing date got pushed out a few extra days I called back to get an updated payoff that would is good through 7/3/18. I then asked, since this is going into July do I need to make my June payment? Again I was told no the payment with a late fee will be in the payoff.

Now there is a delinquent payment on my credit reports and my scores have dropped 100 points. I try to dispute it with the company and tell them everything and I was told the will not change it on my reports. They said nothing I can do about it now. How are you going to put a bad mark on someone's credit but can't update it to show it's paid in full.

Replies
Customer Service Couldn't Be Worse
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

NEW JERSEY -- The customer service couldn't be worse! They've been holding onto money paid by my insurance company for storm damage repairs that were completed weeks ago and have been inspected and passed. I keep submitting what I'm told is all the required documentation and that the funds they're holding hostage will be released in "4-5 business days," then every few days I get another email or phone call that they need something else or that something they previously said was acceptable is NOT acceptable and needs to be re-done and re-submitted.

My contractors and I are going insane and we feel like they're running a racket to deliberately hold onto money as long as possible so they can gain interest on it, with zero regard for hard-working individuals who paid out-of-pocket for the materials and labor for loss repairs that are paid for by a separate insurance company, so it isn't even Freedom's money they're withholding.

It's gotten to the point where I have nightmares because I've been led to believe so many times that everything is a go, only to be stopped again and again and again that the stress levels of not trusting them or knowing if it's really true this time are very upsetting. I'm contacting my realtor and mortgage broker to make sure they steer clear of Freedom Mortgage from now on! They're making people miserable!

Replies
Escrow Balance
StarStarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 2/51

INDIANAPOLIS, INDIANA -- To make a long story short, I prepaid first two quarters of taxes in December 2017 directly to the town I live in. They performed an escrow analysis in February 2018. Continued to bill for the taxes each month after December and now sit on over 7000.00 of my money. Next tax bill due in November. I nicely asked to have my excess money returned to me. Did not get me anywhere. Balance on my mortgage is approx. 23000.00. After numerous calls and getting a different story every time I have given up.

The last call was to get a payoff statement, the CSR I spoke with finally agreed to send a payoff statement for the principal less the escrow they are holding. Sorry, payoff statement came saying pay the 23000.00 and then they will send me the escrow. Called again and they now tell me, “Sorry we cannot do that. You have pay the entire principal and then we refund the escrow.”

I would never review a service or business since I am a business owner myself. But seriously expect the runaround because I believe they just want to sit on those funds as long as possible. Some CSR's were sympathetic to my plight but in the end I have to believe they can't do anything other than what comes from the top. Amazing all the different stories you get from one company.

Replies
Advertisement
Continues to Overcharge Escrow Account Saying There Is a Shortage
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

MT. LAUREL, NEW JERSEY -- Been in the house for 2 1/2 years. When we closed we paid 1-year insurance and 2 months. We received credit for taxes until July from seller which went into Escrow and we added another 2 months' worth. Each month we pay 1/12 of the taxes and insurance into the Escrow. In 2 1/2 years the taxes went up $200. But insurance went down $300. They are saying we are $1300 short in Escrow.

How can that be? It is the mathematical way they compute the future Escrow. In reality they want a year's worth of padding not the required 2 months. They said the first year we were $1000 short. This is not a big Escrow. 455.87 How did we get that short - nobody can explain it. I have been in real estate and insurance for years and I am aware of how clever and deceitful some lenders are. And you have no say in who buys your loan, there gotta be a law!!

Replies
They Do Not Care About Their Consumers
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

MT. LAUREL, VIRGINIA -- My grandfather is a veteran. He is 72 years old and my grandmother is 74 years old. Their loan advisor was Brian and I work in the lending field and I am not understanding why he would even think that it would be beneficial for my grandparents at their age to refinance their home. He was trying to have them cash out all of the equity in their home to consolidate their credit cards which is not even a necessity at this time and that's not what they were asking for. Tried to add an additional $2,000 for them to have when again that's not what they asked for and tried to extend their mortgage out for 30 years!!!

That doesn't even make sense at their age. My grandma would have to live to 104 to pay her home off!! What sense does that make? He was only in it for the money obviously and two different people called my grandparents to try to see if they wanted to process with the loan and I advised my grandparents not to!!

When my grandpa said that he didn't want to proceed with it they were very rude about it. Terrible customer service and a completely shady company and I will be reporting them to the cfpb as well! If you need a really good trustworthy company try LenderSelect!!!

Replies
Worst Company Ever! Veterans Beware!!!
StarStarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 2/51

WAYNESBORO, VIRGINIA -- This company is run by incompetent people and rude CSRs. I used my bank's bill pay to pay my mortgage and was told after the fact they would be sent a paper check. Long story short my January "check" got sent to the wrong address and by the time I found out about it I had to put a stop payment on the check and call them with my bank routing number and checking account number.

I had complained to the (CFPB) Consumer Financial Protection Bureau about this and I heard back today. They are waiving my late fee but reported me to the Credit Bureau for being late. I was told this would not happen if I paid over the phone. They lied!!! Their customer service is a freaking nightmare. Besides being rude when I asked to speak to a manager I was told she is busy with other things. Really??? My advice is to stay away unless you want to keep headaches because of serious incompetence.

Replies
Mortgage
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

Veterans beware of this company. I was mailed a statement that gave my new monthly impound as being a little lower. I paid this amount without noticing it was next month. Freedom counts this 3 percent difference as a missed payment and lowered my credit by 100 points. When I called to explain what happened they wouldn't let me speak to a supervisor. Veterans don't make a one cent mistake on your payment with this company - they don't care about you or your ability to get another loan.

Replies
Advertisement
The Company Made a Mistake, but Didnt Fix It.
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

DALLAS, TEXAS -- I was given misinformation about how to submit a payment. I was misinformed so I called to get the situation handled. When I called the representative told me she apologized, but could not refund to my account, instead she could only apply to the principal. What kind of mess is that? You take it out of my account, but can't put it back. All other mortgage companies are able to simply credit your bank account. I'm looking to find another mortgage co. Asap. If they lack in that capacity, then what else are they behind on??? No, thanks.

Replies
Worked Out Wonderfully After a Slow Start
StarStarStarStarStarBy -
Rating: 5/51

COCOA, FLORIDA -- Gave Freedom Mortgage a bad review, on my part, in error. I acted a little too hasty And was more or less made to eat crow, so to speak. I found out that it was an error On my part, by lack of communication. So sorry Freedom. The refi turned out as It should have and went smoothly, even following by mistake. Would highly recommend Freedom Mortgage.

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >

Freedom Mortgage Rating:
Star Star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.8 out of 5, based on 32 ratings and
36 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
Freedom Mortgage
907 Pleasant Valley Avenue, Suite 3
Mount Laurel, NJ 08054
800-847-9937 (ph)
www.freedommortgage.com
Compare General Finance Companies