Preview Review

Next Review

Geico Corporation Claims Consumer Reviews

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Every representative gives different answer
StarStarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 2/51

NATIONAL, NORTH CAROLINA -- I cannot believe the mess that is Geico Insurance. In a dozen phone calls, literally every representative has told me the other reps you spoke to either told you wrong or did the wrong thing, and the adjuster did the wrong thing. So if my experience is correct and this last representative was right, 11 out of 12 Geico reps and/or adjusters do not know what they're doing. It isn't me saying it- it is their own reps.

My car was hit by a runaway tire when the car was parked outside of a garage. The owner of the vehicle that lost a wheel (he had rotated his tires the day before and apparently forgot to tighten at least one wheel down), was insured with Geico. Since I have had Geico for at least 13 years, I thought it would be easy to get this settled. WRONG!!! It is now about 3 weeks since they assured me the money would be deposited into my account and there's no money.

Every single time I have spoken with Geico, I have been told something different. The first call, they told me they would email me a link before I saw the adjuster so I could give them the information to deposit funds as soon as the claim was settled. They didn't send an email. I called back. That representative told me I was told wrong by the representative I spoke to previously and that the adjuster would take care of that, and gave me the adjuster's name and contact info. I was told he would arrange to see the car within 72 hours, and would call me within 24 to schedule a time.
I didn't hear from him, so I messaged him. He didn't reply so I called a day or two later. No response. So a couple more days go by, I call again and this time get a voicemail saying he is now on vacation. He was not when I first contacted him, but now he is, for a week.
Back on the phone with Geico Claims. They get a supervisor and assign a different adjuster. He is easy to work with, looks at my car, tells me he will have an amount in a while and I will have the funds in my account by the end of the week.
I ask him about the email and told him I never gave Geico my account information. He assures me they have it and I am good to go. Because I pay electronically, I say okay, if you're sure. He says he is.
Weekend comes, no payment. Monday, no payment. So I contact him, he contacts corporate and gets back to me to tell me he has checked and double checked, payment has been sent and he has no idea why I don't have it. This really freaks me out. If they sent payment, where did it go? Did it go to someone else's account? Do I have to prove I never got it and will this take a long time?

Back on the phone with Geico yet again. They tell me they sent an email with a link for me to follow to give my account info and that it is probably in my SPAM folder. I look, sure enough. It is in my SPAM folder. So I click on the link and it is no good. Back on the phone with Geico. She tells me someone should have told me to look for the link because it is time sensitive and has now expired. She has to cancel it and resend a current, working link. I get it within a few minutes, enter my information and see that it can take 3 days for the money to show up. So I patiently wait 3 days. Since a holiday was in those days, I give it 5 days. No money.

So I call Geico again. This representative tells me she is sorry, but the email was not ever sent. I say yes it was, as I followed the link and I still have the email. She says it could not have been sent because there is no record. I tell her I can send her both emails if she wants, but no matter. She tells me she has authorized the payment and I will get the email, but it could take up to 3 hours for me to get it. After 5+ hours, I call Geico again. This time, a man looks in my file, says the payment was authorized and the email will be there but could take 24 hours. That is not what happened before and goes against the 3 hours I was previously told, but no two reps have EVER said the same thing, so what the heck. I wait 24 hours. Then 48 hours. No email, no payment.

Back on the @#&%!! phone with $@@%#! Geico. This time the representative tells me the payment was NEVER authorized because the adjuster did not complete all the steps. I tell her all about the emails saying "Geico has sent a payment" and she says no, payment couldn't be sent because "John" never completed the process.

So now, despite the two emails I got (one expired and one that just didn't work), despite my numerous conversations with John, the adjuster and his calls with the total loss team (and I heard him speaking with them), I am told I must wait for a couple more days for them to get in touch with John and for him to complete the steps, then allow a few more days for payment to be authorized and an email sent, then up to 3 more days for them to complete the transfer once I get the email.

The thing is, if this is the case, how come nobody called me to say "I see you were waiting on payment, but we hit a snag. It will be a couple more days and we're sorry"? Why did anything only happen when I called them???? Why did they only assign an adjuster who would answer my calls when I complained???

I suspect the answer is simple: their "simple and quick" claims-handling process is neither simple nor quick and nobody has responsibility for staying with a claim from beginning to end like a local agent would.

I originally told them I didn't want a rental car. I wish I hadn't. I believe if they had been paying for a rental car this whole time, they may have had some motivation to make things right. I was trying to be easy to work with, hoping they would appreciate that and turn around and treat me right. Instead, I lost money on the car and missed 3 opportunities to purchase a similar car because Geico made promises to send the money but never did.

Never, ever, have I dealt with a company where literally every single representative tells you that every other representative has told you the wrong thing. Seriously, in a dozen phone calls, each representative has said, basically, "the other representative didn't know what he/she was doing but I do and this is what is going on."

DOES ANYONE WITH GEICO KNOW WHAT THEY'RE DOING???

Replies
Shut Geico Down
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

MACON, ARKANSAS -- Back on December 21, 2012, I was rear ended by a driver insured by Geico. The police charged the person that hit me with Reckless Prohibited Driving. The office that handles my area is in Macon Georgia and ** my adjuster. Between ** and Geico given the runaround, and trying to choose which medical bills and/or prescriptions they are going to cover, ** also lied me to on several occasions.

Around 4:00 pm on Friday December 21, 2012 the traffic in front of me had started to back up. To keep a safe following distance and keep from hitting the car in front of me I had to reduce my speed to 20-25 MPH. Shortly after reducing my speed I found myself looking up at the roof of my car with my world spinning wondering what happened. Once I gathered my thoughts, I realized I was rear ended so hard that it broke my seat and I was laying flat on my back.

When trying to get my 2009 Chevy Impala from the center lane of a 6-lane highway to the shoulder I noticed an awful noise coming from the back of my car. The collision was so hard that one of my rear tires was pinned by the fender well keeping it from freely spinning. My car had to be towed from the scene of the accident. Somehow, Geico lost my car for nearly two weeks after it left the tow yard and arrived at their repair center. Once they found my car and did an estimate, the adjuster told me that they stopped doing the estimate once it got near $8,000.00 worth of damage.

Going back to the evening of the wreck, I went to the ER and was diagnosed with whiplash, after about a month of no relief my doctor had me go to physical therapy for nine treatments, which did not produce the results they had hoped to receive. Therefore, my physical therapist contacted my doctor and he scheduled an MRI. The MRI results showed a posterior labral tear of my right shoulder caused by the wreck.

Once ** found out about the internal injury, she told me that will automatically trigger policy limit. I asked ** how much is that she replied it is the state minimum which I expected her to say even if they had a million dollar policy. I asked is that $25,000.00, knowing that Arkansas minimum is $25,000.00 just to see what she would say. ** said, "€œYes $25,000.00."€ Seeing how ** told me $25,000.00, I was fully expecting that I would receive what was left after the medical bills were covered.

About two weeks later ** called me offering $5000.00, which was very different from the $25,000.00 she told me just two weeks prior. When I asked her about her statement, she denied she ever said $25,000.00 and tried to justify her statement with more lies. Just my lost wages, mileage, and over the counter expenses are nearly the $5000.00 they offered and that is before my medical and prescriptions are covered. My current medical expenses counting prescriptions is nearly $18,000.00 and I still may require surgery to fix the tear.

After I refused their 1st offer I also requested a different adjuster because I no longer trusted ** after her multiple attempts to lie to me and play me for a fool. Geico has refused to let another adjuster handle my claim and Geico came back with another offer of $6000.00 that is before medical bills are paid. If I accepted their insulting offer of $6,000.00, I would still be out nearly $12,000.00. I do have Uninsured/Underinsured and Personal Injury Protection on my policy.

However, I do not feel like my insurance should kick in until Geico pays at least $18,000.00 to cover all my current medical expenses. If Geico would just cover all my current medical expenses to include prescriptions and offer 2 years of coverage on my shoulder that was damaged in the wreck I would not even ask for anything for pain and suffering. An auto insurance company specially one like Geico should not be allowed to pick and choose which medical bills they are going to pay. I have a feeling that my doctor and orthopedic surgeon knows a lot more about my medical needs than a low budget car insurance company. Please do not allow Geico make you a victim.

Replies
Geico Insured Driver Rear - Ended Wife's Car and You Won't Believe the Rest
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

NASHVILLE, TENNESSEE -- On a clear, dry, sunny day, my wife was exiting a 4 lane to join another 4 lane. The 3rd vehicle in front of her started swerving, the 2nd vehicle took evasive action, the work truck in front of her stopped and she stopped. An Impala behind her hit her and pushed her into the work truck. She bounced back and the Impala hit her again and she hit the truck again.

The driver of the Impala rushed up, apologized, and showed her and her passenger a cell phone with broken glass with a comment, "The phone hit the windshield so hard, it broke the glass." It took 58 days to finally decide the car was totalled. I called Geico on the fifth day to ask for a rental car.

The adjuster said that they would not provide a rental as they would only accept 100% of the damage to the rear and 50% of the damage to the front. She said she had a recorded conversation with the truck driver who said she hit him first and then was pushed into him. The truck driver told the investigating officer, who was on the scene within 5 minutes of the crash, "I heard an impact and then I was hit twice."

Over a year later, a supervisor at Geico Atlanta later on told the Agent from TN Insurance Dept while responding to my complaint that he talked with an HR guy from the truck owner's business that "The driver was told not to talk to anyone about the crash and that all calls were to be referred to this HR guy." Does that mean that the adjuster LIED about the "evidence" she had? That would be insurance fraud. The driver of the Impala also had changed his story to say he SAW her hit the truck first.

At first my insurance company bought the lies and was about to accept the liability that Geico stated. I hit the ceiling. I went to my agent and she called in some favors and got them to fight the liability. I had to hire a crash re-construction engineer for $1500 to read the "module." A module is a computer attached to the airbag system that records lots of data about the impact. Since I paid only for the data, I got a 25 page data description. I talked to the engineer who explained some of the data. I asked him what was the easiest way to explain to my insurance company what happened.

He said, "That's easy! The accident happened as THE OFFICER reported." On the 58th day the decision was made to total the car. It wasn't till the 253rd day that Geico LOST an arbitration with my insurance and had to accept full responsibility. In TN you can collect from the offending insurance company a reasonable amount for "loss of use" of your car even if you did not rent one. That took another six months and all they would pay was $32 a day which is THEIR rental cost when the average rental for a larger SUV was $60. Screwed me out of the difference.

Through a chain of "supervisors" I found that everyone I spoke to lies at some point. They also respond to everything you say with the same phrase over and over. They would not pay for pain and suffering as my wife and her passenger did not run to a doctor even though the literature says that a double crash at the speed of 45 to 50 MPH (data report) can create a whiplash that might not show up for two years. They did not settle with payment until the 253rd day.

The car my wife was driving was purchased 4 months before the accident. We were able to replace the exact car and had to pay another $1900 for sales tax on the second car with no reimbursement for that or for the crash reconstruction.

I gave all this info to the District Attorney in the county where the crash occurred seeking reckless driving, lying to an officer writing a report (phone being able to hit the windshield was probably being used and the DA's office can get that info from phone company as a citizen cannot), and attempted insurance fraud. I also asked that first adjuster be cited for insurance fraud. Haven't heard anything. The guy that hit my wife's car at this point got off with no punishment for his part in this event.

Update 05/18/2018:

My suggestion out of all this: If you are hit by a Geico Insured obtain competent legal counsel immediately especially if there is extensive car damage or any injury. Be proactive from day one.

Replies
GEICO Is a Fraudulent Company -- 12 Year Customer; Canceled Policy Effective at 12:01 AM, 11/5/2016
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

FREDERICKSBURG, VIRGINIA -- I have had GEICO for 12 years and this year (2016) I have had 2 total loss vehicles in 2 month due to other driver in each accident being under the influence. GEICO mislead me throughout the process, low-balled me in every way possible, and lied about the vehicle replacement program known as "GEICO's Car Buying Service." This ISN'T a vehicle replacement services!!!

Once I found this out I called my claims adjuster W. ** who said he would put a hold on everything as requested, call the total loss adjuster, and put a hold on any further action until I was given a chance to review things. I was the owner of each brand new car not the driver.

When I met with the adjuster in person to sign the title I told him I just buried my kid brother and I was on sedatives, and to please explain things over and over. He knew I was in mourning and on nerve medications because I had to ID my dead brother's body after he was already decomposing. Right there by law he should have rescheduled to meet again when I was not on medications.

Furthermore he had me sign the name for my daughter on the title and she is over 18. Another reason things should have been placed on hold! I beg everyone to take the time and read your policies, and reconsider your relationship with GEICO to keep from going through the stress and financial loss due to their lies, poor internal communication, etc.

Replies
Advertisement
Fraud
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

LA MESA,CA, CALIFORNIA -- On 1-2-13 I had picked my girlfriend up from a Crisis House. A couple blocks from our destination we were hit dead on by a Geico Insured driver as he ran a red light. My car was totaled and had to be towed. At the scene of the accident not only did the driver admit fault but they promised their insurance would cover all the costs and repairs and even encouraged me to ask for a rental.

The next day the driver now claims he passed the light through a yellow. I wonder how that is possible when I had a solid green arrow. The Geico Agent working on my claim wrongly and confusingly questioned my passenger that has a history of mental health issues. The Geico Agent then began to use false statements from the driver and insured, twist my passenger's and my statements and use all the hearsay in the investigation as just cause to fraudulently deny fault for the accident.

There was no proper investigation done. I know that because if there had been, the truth would have been found. I believe Geico insurance has made a terrible name for themselves by allowing their agents to make such bogus decisions along with the nasty way the agent treated my passenger and myself. Because of this I had to hire an attorney to fight for me.

I am 23 and I go to school full time. This accident not only took me out of school for over a week but totaled my car and left me stranded in the city of the accident. I have never experienced such bad service in my life and I am determined to show the truth of how these people operate their fraudulent business. Thank you for reading.

Replies
Con-Artists
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

BRAINTREE, MASSACHUSETTS -- Geico Insurance Company is the most slimy, false company I have ever had the displeasure to do business with. One of their employees (I still know her name, to this day) falsely informed me of procedures that go along with cancelling an insurance policy that ended up costing me over $100. When I spoke to a supervisor and told her the girl's name who fed me the wrong information, she sarcastically said "Yeah let me go ask her what really happened", left me on hold for ten minutes, and then came back on to (predictably) tell me "She says that's not what happened."

How convenient for you and your multi-million dollar corporation that your employee is refusing to own up to her mistake! When I contacted the BBB about the matter, I was fed the same bologna by a representative from their executive office. They are now demanding that I pay for their employee's mistake with my money. I am thoroughly disgusted and disappointed with how I was treated and spoken to as a customer. Worst insurance company ever.

Replies
Loss & Wages - Geico don't pay you back as long you did acting in-front of doctor/hospital
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

NJ/NY, NEW JERSEY -- Recently I have involved in accident (both have Geico insurance). But myself and my son didn't hurt badly (by luckily) and also we didn't go to hospital as we don't want to act in front of doctor and waste of time (to be frank). But the fact was missed two days of works. When dealt with Geico they didn't pay for loss of two days work and they are not willing to discuss also as I suggested to change the policy. Lesson learned - even if you didn't hurt badly also you need to go hospital and do acting in front of the doctor. Then only you get paid for missing work.

Replies
Great while you pay, Terrible when you need help
By -

We were rear-ended July 3rd 2009. It is now Aug.52009. Money for totaled vehicle not in my hand yet, rental due on the 8 of Aug. I had to use my own Geico insurance because the lady whom rear ended us (reckless driving) lied about it twice therefore extending the time for us to get a rental while the wife goes to therapy.

I am allowed only 30 days rental on my own policy Geico doesn't want to extend even though they feel for me due to their very late provision of the money for our 2005 Scion which they gave me way below their market value. Now we have 3 days to find a vehicle, oh and we were told we should have been shopping already, really? How do you shop without knowing what your limit on spending is? We just found out the amount 24 hours ago. As a victim (police report and witnesses testimony) we are being treated by our own insurance company as if we were the ones who rear ended ourselves.

The ones at fault have full coverage insurance but Geico took over the case and is hanging on to it until all is settled, but according to their rep, they were to switch all over to the responsible party as soon as they admitted guilt. They admitted guilt and Geico did not do any switching. They refuse to talk to me about the low amount for our totaled vehicle. The wife is going to therapy can't raise her arms above shoulders, sleeps on sofa due to our bed being to low for her to get up. Is in constant pain, but this is non of Geico's concern, their hands are tied (according to them) it is like they are defending the lady who totaled our vehicle.

We have an attorney thank God. He already pre-warned us about Geico's practices because he used to work for them, so we will soon have all that under control. Geico's people make changes to your policy and situation when you have an accident and never inform you. They are your best friend and very understanding as long as you don't ask for help when you are clearly a victim. Good luck getting a return call from any of their reps or their supervisors.

One of my best friends is an adjuster for an insurance company I shall refrain from mentioning so he doesn't lose his job, and he told me exactly how they were going to play it all out step by step. He was right on as if the whole thing was played out per a script. I would never recommend them nor use them at all again. Here is some good advice, should someone hit you and you find out they have Geico insurance: don't bother calling them, turn the matter over to a good attorney and save yourself the trouble. When explaining something to you they use a lot of fancy words to tell you, you are ** out of luck. Geico employees would make great filibusters.

Replies
Advertisement
Claims Dept. Is Very Unprofessional
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

UTAH -- After submitting a claim against an insured driver of theirs, who was 100% responsible for damage to my car, they denied any compensation for repairs. My car was not legal to operate afterwards. My mistake was not to call the HP and file a report, but Geico told me any post police report wouldn't change their decision of denying the claim. I want some justice is all. Geico's actions left me with a very bad sentiment for any future business.

Replies
Rear ended by GEICO policyholder, her policy lapsed after the claim, no $$
By -

On Sept. 29, 2009, I was hit in the rear end by a woman driving a 2008 Nissan Versa. She was going approximately 25 mph when she hit me, I was at a complete stop. She pushed me into the car in front of me. Fortunately, no one was seriously hurt, though I did end up with whiplash. I called GEICO the day after the accident (9/20/2009) to start the claims process. I was given the name of an adjuster (a/k/a adjuster #1), along with her extension. I called and left a detailed message with my cell number to call me back on. I didn't hear from anyone for over a week but received a letter in the mail from adjuster #1, stating that she had been trying to get into contact with me.

I called again several times, rather than leaving a message until she finally answered, on 10/9/2009 and I finally was able to get an appointment with the GEICO adjuster to get an estimate done on my vehicle, scheduled for almost a week later (10/14/2009), 15 days after the accident. The day before I was to go have my car estimated, I received a message from the man I hit. His message was that he was supposed to go that day to pick up his check to pay for his vehicle and was told there was a problem with the policy, and it was being reviewed and until resolved, there would be no payment.

I went to my appointment the next day and was told by the estimator that he wasn't authorized to make payment at that time. He indicated that there was possibly a problem with the property damage coverage, that perhaps the policyholder only had $10,000 property damage coverage, and since there were multiple vehicles, we may not get full payment, depending on both our estimates. My estimate ended up being $6,700. After I left the estimator, I called the person that I hit after being hit, and he said his estimate was for $5,200, thereby putting us roughly $2,000 over what was possibly her coverage limit.

At that time, I tried to contact adjuster #1, but as usual, got only her voicemail. Her voicemail gave an alternative extension to try if she was unavailable. I then called that person, a/k/a adjuster #2, and was told by him that upon his review of the file, he didn't see any problems and would send the estimator an email and payment should be available within 30 minutes.

I called the estimator, who said he would be in touch shortly, hopefully with a check. 10 minutes later, the estimator called me to let me know that upon talking to adjuster #2, there was still issues on paying the claim, and there would be no payment yet. I called adjuster #2 again, and he said there should be a decision by the end of the week. I called adjuster #2 that Friday 10/16/2009, he still didn't have any information.

At that time, I called the person I hit, and he said he had tried calling adjuster #1 the day before, and since it was after hours, had reached someone else, who told him that it appeared that perhaps the policy had lapsed the day of the accident and that they were reviewing the circumstances. I attempted to contact both adjuster #1 and #2 repeatedly for nearly a week, and finally called after hours that next Thursday 10/22/2009, and talked to a woman who, upon reviewing the file, said she didn't see any reason that they weren't paying the claims, according to the notes she had.

She gave me the extension for the direct supervisor of adjuster #1 to call the next day, a/k/a adjuster #3. I called adjuster #3 on Friday, 10/23/2009, didn't reach him and left a message pretty much begging him to call me back. He didn't, so on Saturday, 10/24/2009 I called and reached another after hours person, who also reviewed the file, and said the only problem she could see was the property damage limits. I told her at that time that I, as well as the guy I had hit, were both aware that this may happen and wanted at least something, even if not full payment. She took the information, gave me adjuster #3s direct supervisor, a/k/a adjuster/supervisor #4s extension to call on Monday 10/26/2009 if I still didn't hear from anyone.

Today, the 26th, I was still waiting to hear from someone when the guy I hit called me to tell me he heard from adjuster #1 (shocker!) and they were denying the claim, with no further explanation to him at the time. I called adjuster/supervisor #4, whose voicemail indicated she was out of town for this week, and left adjuster #5s extension if there were problems. I actually got in touch with adjuster #5, who initially said he saw that payments had already been made to the policyholder on her claim and he didn't see any reason we weren't being paid.

However, as he kept reading the file he came to the part where they were denying the claim. Apparently, on September 25th, the policyholder received notice that her policy was going to lapse if payment wasn't made within 15 days. According to adjuster #5, the policyholder sent in the premium within the 15 days in the form of a check. After the accident, and apparently after GEICO paid her $13,000 for her vehicle, the check she sent in was returned. According to him, the policy than was considered lapsed as of Sept. 25, 4 days prior to the accident. Now neither of us are getting paid; however, the person that caused the accident has had her vehicle repaired.

Is it legal for GEICO to go back and back lapse a policy because of a bounced check on a premium? Is there any recourse for us, other than taking the owner/driver to court? It seems that if the policy was reinstated when she paid the premium, even if after the accident, a check was returned by the bank, the policy should have been in force at the time. Does anyone have any suggestions? We do live in Florida, and neither of us had collision coverage on our policies.

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >

Geico Corporation Claims Rating:
Star Empty star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.1 out of 5, based on 9 ratings and
22 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
Geico Corporation
One Geico Plaza
Washington, DC 20076-0001
301-986-3000 (ph)
301-986-2068 (fax)
www.geico.com
Product/Services
Compare Auto Insurance Companies