Preview Review

Next Review

Greyhound Bus Co. Consumer Reviews

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Horrendous Transportation and Customer Service
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

DALLAS, TEXAS -- On 02.20.18 I Purchased (2) One-Way tickets by phone with GH customer Service- one Adult and one Senior tickets departing from Orlando, FL on 03/01/18 @ 11:45 A.M. (ET) and arriving in Dallas, TX on 03/02/18 @ approx. 3:40 PM (CT) The trip was to be 28 hours but instead turned out to be instead 34 hours because Bus #7226 had a breakdown 9 hours into the trip in Panama City, FL due to poor maintenance of bus. Passengers were stranded along a dark area of US Hwy 98 and Harrison Ave for some 4 hours without access to restrooms, food or water until a replacement bus arrived 12:40 A.M. of 03/02/18.

And even then that replacement bus wasn't much better. It too was poorly maintained cause passengers experienced extreme vibrated and shaking during acceleration and when braking. The restroom on both buses were filthy, poop and tissue sprawled on the floor of restroom. Trash in the isle of bus as well as stains on a number of seats.

Greyhound made NO offer of compensation for the extended travel time and hardships experienced by the passengers because of the break down. Rather each passenger had to call C/S once passenger reach their destination to advise them as to situation that occurred and it would be strictly up to that C/S Rep as to whether the passengers would be granted compensation or a refund.

I had previously contacted C/S on 02/28/18 that the passenger for Adult ticket had been hospitalized for several days and had just been released a day prior to the travel date of 03/01/18 and due to her medical condition was unable to make the trip thus I was requesting a refund due to the circumstance and since the ticket was never issued still in WillCall status (faxed C/S the documents from Hospital and medical doctor to substantiate) yet the only thing C/S said was the ticket I ordered was non-refundable and nothing they could do.

I explained to this C/S Rep frat I was never informed of this by the phone representative that placed my ticket order and absolutely nothing in the confirmation email as to the type of tickets ordered. The C/S Rep I spoke with about the refund of this unissued ticket kept saying the ticket says non-refundable but I in turn told her there was nothing in the email stating these were non-refundable tickets and besides the adult ticket was never issued or printed off so there was no way to know it was a non-refundable ticket until the confirmation email was presented to the ticket agent at the bus station and then the ticket is printed.

Greyhound only made the process of trying to get compensation or refund extremely difficult these people gave NO common sense or display any reasonableness of this extenuating circumstance regarding the hospitalization that prevented this passenger from traveling. I was thus forced to dispute this charge with my credit card company for poor service and breach of contract by GH bus Lines.

All I can say is I will never ever again use GH bus service nor recommend this form of travel by Greyhound to anyone. GH's C/S reps are unreasonable and hard to deal with and less to be desired. Greyhound is the lousiest transportation company around and needs to be shut down.

In addition I'm filing a complaint with the BBB against Greyhound Lines for providing poor, unclean and unsafe transportation service. I too intend on forwarding this matter to the Attorney General. I just don't understand how this transportation company is allowed to operate with some many NEGATIVE complaints. These buses are unclean and Unsafe so stay as far away from this company as possible.

Replies
Advertisement
No Accommodation for Family Emergency. Company Needs Improvements and Updates
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

My most recent experience with Greyhound is an unfortunately and absolutely avoidable one. Since purchasing a non-refundable ticket to meet my family at a destination for Thanksgiving, the quality of life of a family member fighting cancer has rapidly deteriorated to the point of being bedridden with excruciating pain, even after multiple treatments and surgeries. My heartfelt and loving family collectively decided to go visit him instead of the destination, as he can't travel and this may be the last time many of us sees him alive.

I contacted Greyhound and the automated phone system said to go to my local station for fastest service, or mail in my ticket in asking for a refund. At the local station they said I had to call a different number, and mail my ticket. The phone representatives said the only thing I can do with my non-refundable ticket is pay $20 to change the time. After much explanation and speaking with her supervisor, the same thing was reiterated to me: that that is my only option. My significant other tried on two other occasions and was given the same info.

I am distraught and disgusted that in a time of emotional upset from unforeseen family circumstances of the worst variety (family member dying of cancer), Greyhound is doing absolutely NOTHING to help me out, other than say I can PAY THEM more money to change the time of a trip that has dissolved into nothing. And just to get to the point of speaking on the phone with a representative was difficult and not straightforward. The folks at my local station seemed to think I could get a refund, given my circumstances. No customer should have to work so hard to contact the service department. I am incredibly disappointed.

When I've taken Greyhound in the past, my experience has been 'ok', 2 to 3 star ok. I felt safe and the buses were decently clean. I arrived at my destinations. The drivers were mostly friendly. On the negative side, all the buses were late. I understand traffic and station dealings, however the company gives you no indication of updated departure times. At anytime, anywhere. It is a disorganized affair during transfers. With the signage and info I had at hand, I still had to ask multiple people where to sit and wait to catch the appropriate buses. The use of paper tickets, which you can only print on one side, is dated and inconvenient for most passengers.

The company could do A LOT to increase ease of transport and customer service. Such things would include, easier ways to contact live customer service, being empathetic and accommodating to family emergencies, use of electronic ticketing, and creating a Greyhound bus application for real time tracking, time estimates, and clear directions on how to locate each of your transfers.

After my latest dealings with Greyhound, I plan to seek out any and all other means of travel. The cheaper price is just not worth the extended travel times, lack of present day conveniences (time updates and information), and inflexibility when extenuating family circumstances arise (which, dear God I hope aren't often for anybody).

Replies
Horror Show
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

A lot of ground to cover so I'll keep it short. I've traveled the buses for nearly two decades and invested a lot in the company. The one thing they do as advertised is go from one location to another. End. Rather than treat you like a customer you're treated like an inmate who is in debt to the staff and company. You can store bags and now use it for delivery but I would not suggest that as the drivers will throw your bags like a football onto the bus. If they break your stuff tough luck.

The stations themselves tend to be the hangouts of the local dealers and addicts who run the place and are given favor by the staff. You're secondary in this and meant to appeal to their clubhouse. The buses themselves probably won't be on time but that's your fault somehow as is all else. And if you don't get there at all you won't receive a refund regardless. If they're a layover in any odd city for say an entire night due to a blizzard you're on your own in this strange city. Your fault again.

Once I took a trip and the toilet was broke and leaking all over the bus. The driver informed of this waving a loaded gun saying that if we had a problem with it we could get off or answer to said gun. Leaving the service you pay for itself.

Currently new buses with comfy seats, wifi, plugins, all the fixins, right? Wrong. You won't be on that bus in the picture. You'll be on it as an advert in the city and transferred off straight away to an old bus without these things that is patched up and probably going to break down... despite your bill being more now to reflect the wifi and such you paid for.

Then if long trip transferred to any other vehicle that isn't a bus at all, once it was the back of a pick-up truck even. If you're disabled you're screwed because, your fault. Best not ask for help lest your threatened to wheel your butt to the state you're going. There was student once with no legs that the driver left behind simply because he decided it was not his job to assist getting the person on the bus, even with several of us offering to do it in his place.

In short there are a lot of 1 stars here. We are in an era where giants fall overnight. Get your act together before someone comes in and takes your place. Given most cities won't even deal with the company should be a statement unto itself. And if not despite the way your staff presents believe me when I say the last responsible party for that is your clients. It's your own negligence.

Replies
Non-Refunded Tickets
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

KANSAS CITY, INDIANA -- On Thursday, Feb.15, 2018, our Southwest Airlines flight was diverted to Kansas City, MO due to Fog at our destination in Chicago, IL. At the time of arrival, we were told by Southwest that there were no available flights till the evening of Friday, Feb.16 (which we would have to miss work on Fri. which is loss income). We were a party of five (5). No rent cars large enough to get us home, plus we were in no condition to make the nine (9) hour car trip. We also looked in to the Amtrak Train, etc.

We came up with Greyhound Bus, I booked five (5) tickets at $120 a ticket. Within the hour of booking the tickets, Southwest airlines, add a plane and called in a flight crew to accommodate the disaster travel situation. I called Greyhound to cancel our tickets, I mean it's a no brainer, a 10h bus ride or an hour flight!? Greyhound DID NOT issue a refund, wanted more money to change the ticket, and I spoke to a supervisor, several CSRs and no one was of any help...

I think it's bad business for such a large company and bad Customer Service. You should receive a refund on anything you purchase. I am now disputing these charges with my credit card/bank. And they are more helpful and understanding to the above situation. My Bank agrees with me and says they are 90% sure payment will be stopped. I have wrote several reviews about Greyhound and this incident to travel Magazines. Meanwhile Southwest has not only accommodated us on that same day but has also giving us Love Bucks...

Replies
Advertisement
Selma Al
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

NEW JERSEY -- They have a new scam going on. Okay my husband used his bank card to pay for his cousin's ticket, lo and behold these bastards charged him an extra fee called "GIFT FEE" 20.00 extra dollars which he was unaware of until he read the confirmation email.

We called immediately to ask for a refund because this was absurd and the dumbest representative answered the phone and we got into a confrontation with this non English speaking woman and then asked to speak to her supervisor. And after waiting for 15 minutes he get on the line and he was inconsiderate and rude. So my husband hung up. SMDH. These folks need to be investigated and policies need to be reviewed and revised.

Replies
I Would Not Recommend This Means of Travel.
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

MINNEAPOLIS, MINNESOTA -- I travel back and forth from Minnesota to Texas often. I have had nothing but horrible experiences with this means of travel. It seems like the drivers could care less that you have paid for your fare and treat riders like they are dirt. In addition to the awful conditions of the buses. Smells so bad it makes you ill. Talk to you like you are nothing. I am done with this means of travel and would not recommend this to anyone else. I am not one to complain about things but I have had several horrible experiences with this bus line. I will fly from now on regardless of cost. They have lost a valued customer.

Replies
Extremely Late Connection
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

NEW HAVEN, CONNECTICUT -- On Nov. 28, 2107, I booked a Greyhound Bus ticket from New Haven, CT to Boston South Station in order to catch a plane. I left myself enough time to get to the airport if the bus arrived on time. When I arrived to catch the bus in New Haven, I learned that it was running two hours late -- too late for my plane connection. I tried to get a refund but I was given a number instead. I called the number numerous times with no answer. I never could reach customer service. I also tried via email and by their website but I couldn't get through to customer service.

I had to scramble to find an alternate way to getting to Boston, at considerable expense and stress. Conclusions: Greyhound Bus is not reliable in terms of its service, and its customer service communication is terrible. I doubt I will get a refund for a ticket that I couldn't use because of their incompetence! This business is not well run. Don't count on arriving on time if you are trying to make a deadline or other travel connections!

Replies
Bad Service
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

BOSTON, MASSACHUSETTS -- Bus was late by an hour and a half... I know that can happen, but staff handled customers irresponsibly and didn't make any announcements on the delays. Everyone felt very confused and frustrated. This happened twice in a row this weekend. Greyhound, I have been an old customer and your service has incrementally gotten worst. Train YOUR staff properly so they can treat YOUR customers a little more humanely. Thank you.

Replies
Advertisement
Horrible
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

NORFOLK, VIRGINIA -- Horrible. This statement is to state my concerns about the treatment of passengers on March 3rd, 2016. I booked a ticket from Norfolk, Virginia to Springfield, Virginia. My bus left from Norfolk, Virginia at 8pm and made a stop in Hampton, Virginia to pick up more passengers. It was strange that we stopped because our bus was already full.

Once we got to Hampton I noticed other passengers getting on the bus even though there were no seats left. With the bus being full at least 6 passengers got on the bus anyway. They all complained about the seating to themselves and other passengers. The bus driver was on and off the bus at the time. Seeing the other passengers get on the bus and there were no seats, I was under the impression that maybe the bus driver would try to find them another bus or come up with some alternatives and unfortunately that was not the case.

As the bus driver got back on the bus, he had no words for the passengers standing up, he just proceeded to take off and continue to Richmond, Virginia which is about 75 miles away from where we were. From Hampton to Richmond that's at least a one hour and 20 minute drive. One gentleman on the bus was getting off the bus and the driver was pulling off, yelling "hey stop before you pull off, I'm going to get off". The bus driver stopped and asked if he had things underneath the bus and the passenger said no.

The driver then made an announcement to the other passengers standing on the bus and let them know that if they wanted to get off the bus due to it being overcrowded then he was not getting off the bus to grab their things from underneath and that if they wanted their belongings that they would have to meet him in Richmond to get them. Everyone was in shock that he would make such an announcement.

What bothered me the most is that the bus driver which is a clear representation of the Greyhound bus company being that he is an employee had no remorse for the people that had to stand for an hour and 30 minutes as if it was ok. How can you be ok with telling people that. These people paid for seats, not to stand up. Nowhere on the site does it say that there is a chance that you may have to stand on the bus. These people paid for seats, not to stand, point, blank, period.

There was nothing safe about that drive at all. Granted we made it safe with no issues but what if we got into an accident and something serious happened to the people standing up? Then what? This was completely unexceptionable. I called every customer service number I could to file a complaint and even the people that work in the customer service could careless about this situation and provide no solutions whatsoever. It's almost like Greyhound could careless about the people at all. As long as you all get their money.

Once we stopped, I asked the bus driver for his name and he refused to give me his name. I asked him why he couldn't give me his name and he told me that I didn't need it. No respect whatsoever and extremely rude. I then told him that I didn't like the way he treated the passengers and did not like the fact that he allowed these people to stand up for an hour and a half with no remorse. He told me "oh well, go complain." He didn't care at all. I told him that if I was one of the passengers on the bus that needed to get my belongings that he would have definitely got my things for me and he told me that he would have whopped me.

I didn't not appreciate how he spoke with me and treated the other passengers and it bothers me even more that a company that's been around as long as yours have would allow this type of behavior. I went into the bus station and asked at least 3 employees about speaking to someone about a complaint and they all replied letting me know that I was wasting my time because you all don't do anything about this type of thing and that people complain all time and Greyhound doesn't do anything about it.

I then spoke to a bus supervisor who offered me free breakfast for my troubles. I let her know that I don't want a free breakfast, what I need is for this matter to receive some attention. You can't try to give me some food and think that will make up for the disrespect, lack of concern for passengers, and the treatment that your bus drivers give to its customers. Everyone that got on bus SC86578 on March 3rd, 2017 from Hampton to Richmond needs a refund, not only for paying for a seat and having to stand for an hour and a half but also for the treatment for the bus driver.

Replies
Nastiest Customer Service Ever Beware
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

CHARELSTON, SOUTH CAROLINA -- Do not EVER and I repeat EVER take a Greyhound bus ride. They are nothing less short of the nastiest people I have ever had customer service with. I took a trip from Charleston SC to El Paso Texas. The ride started out fine until I got to Atlanta GA. At 11:30 we were supposed to have left at 11:35. When I got on the bus with my carry on bag that I was told by the check-in lady it was ok, the bus driver told me to put it under the bus. I did not have Greyhound insurance on that bag because it was never supposed to leave my hands. That bag has a $699 Camera in it, a $399 50mm Lens, and a $160 70-200MM Sigma Lens in it.

Then when I went to check the bag in and get back on the bus the bus driver shut the door on me and would not let me in and just stared at me for four minutes. I proceed to sit down two seats behind him the backup driver who was sick at the time was spraying Lysol on her seats and sprayed me in the mouth. After that she said "sorry" sarcastically.

As the bus started moving in motion the bus driver started with the rules and stated that there will be no use of foul language on the bus. The passenger next to me then stated, "What would be the punishment for using foul language?" The bus driver then replied, "You know what the punishment would be young man," in reference to me. I stated to him that that was not me who said that and the lady next to me said that it was her. The bus driver then proceeded to say, "Well ma'am if you are using foul language it must be because of the young man next to you and we would have to kick him off the bus."

After all that and finally arriving in Dallas a day later I watched them throw my bag on its side as they unloaded the carriage. They broke the focusing mechanisms on my 50mm, and on my 70-200mm where now you can hear springs popping loose and it sticks. They would only refund me $250.

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >

Greyhound Bus Co. Rating:
Star Empty star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.1 out of 5, based on 31 ratings and
46 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
Greyhound Bus Co.
PO Box 660362
Dallas, TX 75266
214-849-8966 (ph)
www.greyhound.com
Compare Travel Services