Preview Review

Next Review

Health Insurance Innovations Consumer Reviews

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Wish I Could Give 0 Stars!
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

GREENSBORO, NORTH CAROLINA -- So I had quit my job to stay home with my daughter and that meant we were going to lose our insurance. I needed insurance for myself and my daughter. I went online like many of you looking for coverage quotes. A women called me from Health Insurance Innovations. She was very nice and personable. I explained that I needed coverage for myself and my then 4 year old so that we could go to the Dr. when we needed to and so that I would not get penalized by the gov at tax time for not having insurance.

She asked me what I could afford and I told her. She then went through a few general health questions but said I would not need to speak to an underwriter. I should have hung up there... I asked why I didn't need to have my medical records checked and she said that they didn't need to do that with their company, as long as nobody had cancer or HIV we would be covered. She went through this whole spiel about how she had gotten me a great rate on an incredible policy due to her connections with this company and that she could only offer the "special rate" right then!

So I being desperate to get coverage for my baby I paid out 563 bucks that day for an insurance plan though Humana. My payments would be 383.00 per month for the both of us! I was excited and thought YES we have coverage! so I wait a few and get my cards and welcome packet only to see in bold THIS IS NOT STANDARD INSURANCE BUT A SUPPLEMENT TO INSURANCE! Are you freaking kidding me! not only did this women tell me I was purchasing actual insurance real insurance that I could use but she also had me tell her where my daughter went to the ped, I told her and she says oh yea your covered there (I'll get to that in a bit).

So I immediately call Health Insurance Innovations and demand to know why I was mislead. They just kinda blew it off like I must have misunderstood the lady who sold it to me. I did not misunderstand, at NO POINT did she say that this was a supplement and we even spoke about how I didn't want to get penalized at tax time and she assured me I would not because I was getting insurance! They assured me on the phone that even though this was a supplement my child and I could still go to the Dr. and be covered so I just kept it.

At that point it was past the time I was allotted for a qualifying event so I would need to wait at least 8 months to get a new actual plan at open enrollment. So I felt I had no choice in the matter and my baby needed coverage! So I've been paying my premiums thinking she would be covered to go to the Dr. I take her in today for a nasty cold only to be told that not only do they NOT ACCEPT this particular policy but that they NEVER HAVE!! I am LIVID and have called and cancelled my account! I have asked for a refund and they said it will be 3 to 5 business days. Fine we will see but I've blocked them from taking ANYMORE of my money at the bank! Bunch of SCAM ARTISTS SHAME ON YOU!! I will tell everyone that will listen about you guys!

Replies
This Company Is a Total Scam
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

TAMPA, FLORIDA -- I went online looking for health insurance through the exchange. I made an inquiry and was called on the phone almost immediately. I didn't find out until well into the conversation that the insurance they were talking about wasn't through the exchange. I was told that I could go to the doctor of my choice and there was no huge deductible. And, for just a little bit more monthly premium, my husband and I could get life insurance. I was told that I didn't have to pay my full first month premium all at once. I could pay some now and the rest in about 6 weeks. I felt really good. I had secured health insurance in the enrollment window and promptly forgot about it.

After about a month I had received my life insurance packets and a card for supplemental accident insurance I waited for my health insurance cards and benefit/prescription drug info until after the holidays. When I still didn't receive anything, I called. I was told that my cards and benefits info had been mailed in Nov. I knew that was a lie because they had told me that I wouldn't get them until they withDrew the remaining premium amount in late Dec. They said they would re-send the cards/info by mail and send me digital insurance cards via email. When that didn't happen, I called back and was told more BS.

That is when I went to my bank statements and found that they had withdrawn more money than had been approved. I was told that they would be withdrawing $218.00 on Nov. 8th and $107.00 on Dec 23rd. Totaling $325.00. They actually withDrew $221.16 on Nov 25th and 221.16 on Dec 23rd. Totaling $442.32. They STOLE an extra $117.32 above the amounts I authorized! I contacted them back and demanded a refund. I will give them some time to send my refund. If they don't, I will be going after them through my bank. I also filed a complaint with the Better Business Bureau. I had to include their business address in the complaint, looked it up and guess what? It is a UPS STORE!

Replies
No Payment For Service
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

TAMPA, FLORIDA -- I started a policy with Hii.com in September 2017. This was for short term medical insurance. In November of 2017 I had to go to a hospital emergency room for treatment. HII (Health Insurance Innovations) has yet to pay for any service. HII takes my monthly payments automatically. There is no reason to deny the claims. Next, I saw a doctor in 2018 who said I have a deviated septum and needed surgery. He said he would have his secretary check with HII to make sure that the surgery would be covered. The surgery was scheduled for March 22, 2018. Prior to the surgery I was contacted by a person with HII to renew my policy. That was done early in March. Monthly payments were made for my policy from September 2017 to present without any skip of payment.

I went for the surgery and the billing department was getting "double talk" from HII about getting their payment. I called HII multiple times to check on getting payment for service. I was told "relax we are processing the claim..." Calls about my claim were from June 2018 through September 2018. In September 2018 I called to find out what was happening with my claim. After all these months and talking to people at HII I was now told my claim was denied because "there is a 5 day waiting period for new members and my policy started on March 21..."

I explained that I have been a policyholder since September of 2017 and my banking statements show that payments were made for my medical insurance policy monthly so there should be no skip in service and I wasn't a new policyholder in March 2018. So I have been payment for medical insurance since September 2017 through September 2018 but received no payment for claims. HII just took my monthly payments and denied everything. This is the most horrible company I have ever dealt with and I would recommended that NO ONE USE HII (Health Insurance Innovations) for medical insurance.

Replies
Scam Website - Bait - Fraud Alert!
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

WAYNE, COLORADO -- Please be careful of phishing websites that represent themselves very well as Legitimate Insurance using well known names, educated and informative 1st Call "agents". In my case her name was Jenny and she gave me her direct line and I have never been able to speak to her again. TOTAL FRAUD and MISREPRESENTATION by these 1st Contact "Agents".

Thereafter, I tried and it goes to a call center. This call center also sounds legitimate, taking your name, phone number and birthday, then asking how they can help. When trying to get more information, and starting to ask specific questions the lines would always either be put on hold then go dead, or just go dead. I would use another menu, same thing. Big Red Flags as I started looking further into the company.

PLEASE READ SPECIFICALLY ABOUT THIS TYPE OF FRAUD!!! They fraudulently represent themselves both on the internet and over the phone. I even told one person I was recording the conversation and asked to talk to her manager about refunding my money. I was sure to address the well documented notes I had taken and again the line went dead.

Now I am left knowing all my person information is out there, I was forced to call my bank and cancel the debit card for fraud and move forward. I am now going to put in a report for the INSURANCE INVESTIGATING UNIT IN TALLAHASSEE to look into this company that has set up these (hundreds) of fake sites, communication networks and false Medical, Dental and Even Life insurance policies.

I would encourage you to do the same if you have had this happen to you. It is not ok to believe you have insurance, pay for it and then when somethings happens, find out it does not exist or is no good. Please beware of Health Insurance Innovations and any of its "underwriting" companies.

Replies
Advertisement
Scam Fake Horrible
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

FLORIDA, ARIZONA -- I obtained Health Insurance and Prescription coverage from this company in Dec 2017. This company finally sent me a benefits package Aug 23, 2018 telling me this is the insurance coverage I was paying for. This package included different cards for a discount program and accident coverage with a discount insurance plan. This is in no way what we have been paying for. We have Aflac. Why would we ever of asked for the accident coverage.

They also sent us NCE Gap Afford Plus Discount Plan and American Financial Security Life Issuance Indemnity insurance. None of these were ever anything we wanted nor were quoted for. The quote and money paid was for the health insurance we enrolled for. Our Rep went into details on the coverage options, dr's in network and our medications to confirm the insurance was affordable and COVERED. This company has lied to me over the phone and either ignore the medical bills or state they are pre existing.

I need all my medical bills covered as promised. The quote and coverage we obtained include: 6 Free in network dr's visits (our doctor is in network). $50 Emergency deductible and $4 dollar prescription. This package they sent me is a joke. We would have never signed up for this insurance package. We have now requested they stop taking money out of our account. The amount we were paying monthly was $518. Since I have raising a stink they only took out $390 in Sept and sent me an inferior package. It has to be a SCAM. Now my Great Credit is going to **.

Replies
Con Artist Alert Not Real Insurance
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

ALEXANDRIA, VIRGINIA -- I really needed to get some insurance going until the next open enrollment as I changed jobs and did not want to be without insurance. The agent I spoke with JAZZMINE **, with Assurance HII (Health Insurance Innovations ) lied to me and said I had full coverage with PPO and a deductible for 30 dollars. State my rate would be $202 a month and that I would pay no more than $15 for generic medication and a cap at $50 otherwise.

I DID unfortunately need to use my insurance last month when I became ill only to find out that I did not have real insurance. I had a discount card. She played me and they have been taking out of my account directly for 6 months now. I would have never known had I not become ill so I guess everything happens for a reason.

Jazzmine ** you are scum. Trying to make a sale and being more than happy to con someone in order to get commission is beneath the standard of mankind. You're less than an animal. People's lives are important. You have a job that allows you to make a difference. Being transparent and honest should be your priority. And as I promised you. I WILL be letting as many people know what kind of people you are. JASMINE **. Associated with Assurance Hii (Health Insurance Innovations) Cardinal CHOICE.

Replies
Sales Agent Lied About Health Benefits
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

JOHNS CREEK, GEORGIA -- After browsing the internet for health coverage, I was contacted by a salesperson who verbally communicated that this plan was the same as a PPO. He assured me that the plan covered 3 doctor's visits per year and all I would have to pay was $25 out-of-pocket for each visit. He also said that it guarantees up to $2,000 for dental visits for the year. I paid $329 when I signed up and have been paying $204 for the past 7 months. I went to the doctor once and just found out that this Multi Benefit Limited Plan only covers $50 for each doctor's visit. So now I've paid over $1,500 to this company and I'm stuck with a bill for $292 from my doctor's office.

I tried to cancel coverage immediately and have been bounced around to various departments and put in hold for an hour! Lying to close a sale is fraudulent and someone will be held accountable. Their salesperson Daniel and supervisor Quentin ** both confirmed that I was getting an actual insurance policy and when I tried to obtain a breakdown of benefits online, it was not available.

Replies
Liars/Money Hungry
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

CONROE, TEXAS -- I got this insurance about 3 weeks ago, but they failed to mention that there are NO major coverages (maternity, dental, etc.) so once I realized that, I called to cancel my plan less than two weeks later. They assured me that my policy was cancelled and that my refund would be in my account 3-5 business days later. I called 7 business days later because my money still hasn't arrived, and they're now saying that there was no request for a refund as if I were just going to be giving away my money for free. They tried to wait until my 30 days were up so they would no longer have to send my refund.

Replies
Advertisement
Biggest Thiefs Online/Scammers
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

NEW JERSEY -- I was online shopping for health insurance. Called this company who told me they were able to provide coverage at a reasonable premium. After filling out the application and providing payment information, they sent some documents to be e-signed. After signing the documents the guy found out he had sent the wrong documents and proceeded to send some others.

Before signing the correct documents to authorize the transaction I had a change of heart and decided not to proceed. I told them I'm not going to proceed. As soon as I got off the phone with them they billed my account for the full amount. I called them back to ask them why were they billing my account. The guy I spoke to told me that he wasn't the account manager and he couldn't get in contact with the account manager. Long and short they stole my money. But I will tell you that you have messed with the wrong person. These people are thief!!! They belong in jail!! Why are they allowed scam people out of their hard earned money!!!

Replies
Misrepresentation/Fraud Alert
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

TAMPA, FLORIDA -- So angry I fell for this! I was researching insurance plans and, like another reviewer here, I also made the mistake of checking for healthcare quotes through a website I thought was the Affordable Healthcare Marketplace (BTW, that reviewer stated the Marketplace official website is: www.Healthcare.gov). I promptly received a call from "a licensed insurance agent" named Erica. Erica told me the plan, called "Simple Insurance" [except it didn't turn out to be "Simple Insurance"], was a PPO plan with approved providers nationwide. It was represented as a full health insurance plan, with Dental and Vision coverage included, for $222.80/month.

I forgot what visits were supposed to run, but cost was reasonable as long as you saw one of their preferred providers and I was reassured they had plenty of providers that would be accessible to me in my area. Medications were quoted to cost "$20-$50/month, per medication, depending on type and whether it was brand or generic. I was told that **, a costly medication, would cost me only $30/month with this plan. There was no deductible. The only things it would not cover would be maternity care, drug rehab, or hospitalization for a mental illness.

Never having had to shop around for insurance plans, I asked why this plan is being offered when the open season for plans doesn't start until Nov. 1st and she gave me some excuse about "other insurances not wanting you to know because.... yada yada yada." Whatever reason she gave, I fell for it. Another big red flag was that this offer was time limited and quoted prices were increasing, so there was pressure to hurry and sign up if you didn't want to miss out. I wanted something to read.... a brochure or something, but was not given that information until it came time to sign up via online.

When I decided to sign up, I was told I "would be transferred to the confirmation line," where someone would walk me through the documents and I could sign with my electronic signature. However, since the person signing me up would not be a licensed agent, I would not be able to ask that person questions about the plan, but would have to call the agent every time I was unsure about something I read [but it's not like you could print the info out and then call].

If I asked a question, they would have to start the process all over again. As typical, the pages went on and on. I had been reassured, however, that I had 30 days to try it out and, if I didn't want it, I could get "a full refund". So, I skimmed, signed, and figured I would print out the brochure and read it again, more carefully, as soon as I got the chance [another foolish mistake].

As I was going through it online, I saw they offered some "telehealth" services referred to as "4 Core Health" with "wellness specialists". I thought it was an added service. So, when I saw it described as a supplement to health insurance and not a substitute for major medical coverage, I thought that was just referring to that portion of the policy. There was also accidental death and dismemberment offered as part of the package. I didn't need that, but if it was part of the package, no extra cost, what the heck, I thought. So, I signed away. Afterwards, I got to thinking.... I never saw anything about "Simple Health Insurance" [?]. They kept calling it "Health Insurance Innovations".

I started reviewing the paperwork and I never found any piece of the plan offering major medical coverage. Instead, all that stood out was the big bold letters stating that this was “a supplement to health insurance and was not a substitute for major medical coverage.” [huh???]. Unfortunately, I already signed this crap, which "indicated I have read and understand and agree to be bound by these terms, whether or not I have access to policy documents." Great.... So, what about the full refund?

It did state, somewhere, that I could be refunded, but I would have to pay "a processing fee" [amount undisclosed, but I am guessing this is the $257.85 "one time enrollment fee" I paid for the combined medical and dental insurance misrepresented to me as a “full” insurance plan]. I will be calling as soon as they open, but they got me, as well as my credit card info. All I could do now is try to contest the charge with my credit card company. Corrupt!!!.... knowingly taking advantage of people.... makes me so angry!

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >

Health Insurance Innovations Rating:
Star Empty star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.1 out of 5, based on 40 ratings and
40 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
Health Insurance Innovations
218 E. Bearss Ave, Suite 325
Tampa, FL 33613
1-877-376-5831 (ph)
www.hiiquote.com
Compare Health Insurance Companies