Preview Review

Next Review

Humana Consumer Reviews - Page 2

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Dishonest Regarding Coverage
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

SPRING HILL, FLORIDA -- I turned 65 in Apr 2014 and made the mistake of signing up for the Humana Advantage Plan. For the past few months I have been treated by one of their PCP. He diagnosed the pain in my hip as arthritis. I keep telling the PCP that the pain was excruciating and that I could not put any weight on it. When I went for my appointments they would come outside to the vehicle and bring me into the office in a wheelchair. His answer to my pain was "We will up the Meds". Was taking Hydrocodone 10-325 for the pain. The pills did nothing for me as the pain persisted.

I finally had enough of the pain and called the nurse at Humana. After explaining my situation she told me to get to an Emergency Room within the next 4 hours. (The only intelligent person I talked to at Humana). After having blood work, x-rays, and scans done at the ER, they recommended I see an Orthopedic Surgeon with 2-3 days. They didn't tell me what was wrong other than I needed surgery to correct my problem. I called my PCP as soon as I got home. Was told that they would have to get records from ER before they could do anything. Left message to have PCP call me.

A week and 1/2 went by, no call from PCP. I called PCP and he stated he didn't have any records from my visit to the ER. I looked up the surgeon that the ER recommended and called him. He is in the network but needed a referral from PCP. Called PCP and they refused to refer me to surgeon. They would only refer me to a surgeon of their choosing, another doctor in their group.

Now the problem, do you really think I would want a doctor in this group of doctors to perform major surgery on me? They misdiagnosed my problem as arthritis when in reality the top of my femur bone was collapsing, thus the severe pain. For 2 months I endured this horrific pain and now I have to have a total hip replacement… a major surgery. I do not trust any of these doctors in this so called group.

I called Humana and was told I have to do want the PCP says even though my surgeon is in the network. The office girl at my surgeons office got the records from the ER and called Humana arguing that they were in the network why couldn't they see me. Humana would not allow it.

When I signed up for Humana back in March I was told that I could go to any doctor I wanted as long as they were in the network. I was never told about PCP's with their own group of doctors. So I am unable to walk. Can only sit or lay down. I do have a walker and a scooter (which I paid for out of my own pocket $1200) so I can get around my house as I live alone.

Instead of getting this operation done and over with before Christmas I now have to suffer and wait until January when my new Insurance and PCP go into effect. And yes my new PCP will refer me to my surgeon. As far as Humana is concerned they lied to me when I signed up with them and their PCP should be kicked to the curb. Stay away from HUMANA!!!

Replies
Eleven Months of Battling an Incompetent Company
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

MEDFORD, OREGON -- I spent several days going over my prescription list with a representative to ensure Humana had all the information they needed to price my first Medicare approved Prescription Drugs or Part D insurance plan. I accepted the plan and terms and it went into effect January 1, 2012.

The first time I went to the pharmacy to pick up my medicine for Parkinson's disease, the prescription was filled for 24 days when it should have been for 30 days. The pharmacist told me it was Humana's decision to restrict their coverage to 8 pills per day and not the 10 pills per day as prescribed by my doctor. I went around and around with Humana and finally a representative told me she put an override order on the restriction and assured me the problem was fixed.

Next month the same thing happened. I asked about the override placed the previous month and was told it was a one time only override. The representative I was talking to told me to take the prescribed amount and come back for a ten day supply to carry me into the third month and everything would be resolved by then. It was not. In fact Humana informed me they were no longer covering the medicine in my plan - we are talking about the number one medicine prescribed to Parkinson's disease patients. I gave a copy of the letter to my neurologist and he managed to convince Humana to reverse their decision.

I also have diabetes and early in the year, my doctor gave me a prescription for insulin prefilled cartridges or "Pen injection system". I could not afford even my copay so I asked for an alternative lower cost system and was prescribed for the same medicine in viles that would load into syringe needle for my injections. My copay for this system was a third of the cost of the pen system.

Last month a new prescription was written by a different doctor who mistakenly wrote it for the pen injection. The amount Humana quoted the pharmacy was much lower than the previous quote. My wife was picking up the prescription. She was unaware of the mistake. I was out of insulin and used the pen system since my wife paid for it.

Now we are in the eleventh month of the plan and I have just entered the gap coverage or "doughnut hole" and now I pay full price for all of my medicine. The prescription cost in the pen system for one month is more than $275.00. I called my doctor and asked to have my prescription modified to the vile and syringe method. The pharmacist told me the injection method was changed but the price remained the same.

I called Humana and this time had two reps and a supervisor involved. They reminded me I was in the donut hole and expected to pay the full amount which by the way was over five hundred for a month. I asked why was the price quoted 275.00? From that point on all they were focusing on was why their own company quoted a discounted price and told me the only price they had on my insulin was the vile and syringe system. Well this is open enrollment time and as of January 1, 2013, I will have a new plan in place. I only hope I can make it that far without my medicine. No change, not resolved. :(

Replies
Humana
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

LEXINGTON, KENTUCKY -- Humana often (though not always) is able to fill tablet medications without delay, but they almost never send my 90-day insulin supply without some kind of hang up. I call several times and each time get different explanation for why the medicine hasn't shipped and a new date to expect shipping. The date passes with no shipment and the whole process starts over again. Nearly ran out of insulin completely last time, before I contacted the Board. They triggered some kind of crisis management response; nonetheless it took a few days to get pharmacy action.

Replies
Sales Agent Insulting
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

Humana Medicare agent came to my home to drop off some booklets, which Humana refused to mail to me and insisted one of the high-pressure sales agents come into my house to hard-sell their worthless policies. The agent became insulting and told me I'm not her client and to find another agent. I didn't ask for her to come to my house, they insisted, to send her to drop off a booklet which they REFUSED to send me in the mail. Their agents are low paid trash and sleazeballs, she told me I'm nothing but trouble and drove off.

Replies
Advertisement
Humana Part D
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

NEWBURGH, INDIANA -- The worst insurance company I have experience. They want to charge me $387 for one month supply or $880 for three month supply and it generic. This is only one medicine, I take seven medicine. My monthly medicine cost is $1860. I try to call Medicare but they couldn't help me. I have written to my congress and the President. Never never never to Humana. Why the government is not doing something to this companies. I can wait until October to change it.

Replies
Worse than awful
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

I switched from CVS to Humana. What a huge mistake. They constantly claimed my doctor wasn't responding - my doctor claims he was. They would cancel orders without notification. They had my doctor's fax number wrong on numerous occasions. When I asked to escalate a call I was told "management" or "leadership" would get back to me - they never did. Avoid Humana's on-line pharmacy like the plague!

Replies
Humana Is an Insurance Company Straight From Hell!
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

MONETT, MISSOURI -- My wife had an accident 14 months ago where she broke off her good teeth from her gum studs from a serious fall. She suffered in excruciating pain for many months while we submitted numerous appeals because Humana said "dental" was not covered (all initial appeals are ruled upon by Humana paid people). Humana continuously blocked us from receiving medical attention on every point!

Finally we got to the Federal Court of Appeals. The judge ruled fully and completely in our favor, stating that if an accident caused the damage to her teeth it cannot be considered routine dental, and also that we had an Advantage Plan (Humana Gold) with expanded coverage. The judge proceeded to outline to Humana why they never should have denied us medical coverage in the first place!

Our doctor said Humana always refuses coverage in an array of medical claims routinely in an effort to not pay out money for necessary medical claims. My doctor said after some people filed appeals and got turned down they gave up before making it to the Federal Courts, which he said eliminates 95% or more of the appeals! (It takes up to a year or more to make it to the Federal Courts).

The Federal judge instructed Humana to pay for our medical treatment 5 months ago. So far Humana refused to arrange or pay one penny. I called the judge's clerk and asked how do I enforce the judgment? I was told they didn't know of any way to enforce said judgment. While my wife continues to suffer we will have to dig up the money to pay for a private attorney to sue in civil court.

Note: You cannot sue Humana for pain and suffering, punitive damages or even attorney fees because the Government gave them immunity. So what do they have to lose by not paying?! Humana is an example of a company that will let you die for the sake of pure greed (their stocks have reached all-time highs on the NYSE)!

Replies
They Are Terrible You Call Humana and Get Different Stories Every Time You Call as to What to Do
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

TEMPLE, TEXAS -- They are a nightmare... First I called after my surgery to see if I could get some hand therapy... Duh they did not have a list of therapists online in my area. I asked to go to such and such place to see if they would cover and they had no idea. They told me to ask the hand therapy clinic if they take my insurance. The place said they did. Then I went to the hand therapist and about 10 visits in I call my insurance company to see how the bills were being paid. Guess what? Now they said I have to go back to my regular doctor to get an ok to see my hand therapist. I went back to my Dr who approved my hand therapy and started therapy and Humana paid all the visits.

Then I found out I had to go back to my regular doctor and get an ok again because it had been a couple of months. My doctor approved 60 visits which should be covered. I called Humana again to make sure everything was ok and they told me my visit would not be covered, but then assured me they would get on phone and try and get it covered. I went back to my surgeon who wanted me to continue therapy and again called Humana and they referred me to another company who makes the decisions.

This company I never had a contract with by the way and they told me I would have to get the Dr notes faxed over to them to have my visit today covered. I called the OT clinic and they had no clue so I recalled Humana who called my OT clinic or so they said and they told me that the OT clinic agreed to call me when they faxed over the notes.

Three days later no phone call so I called Humana who told me to call this other company because they did not give ok just this company. The company told me that I would not need to fax over the notes even though someone else in the company told me to fax it over... So today I have an appointment and I have no clue if it is covered... Get rid of Humana. It sucks... Oh by the way the last person I talked to stated they probably said all this to get me off the phone Thanks a lot...

Replies
Advertisement
Poor Customer Service, Violation of HIPAA Regulations
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

I was enrolled in a Humana Supplement beginning 01/01/14. On 10/15/14 I received a notice from Humana, raising my rates for 2015. At that point, Humana had paid $20 in costs for me during 2014. I located other insurance, equally good, for much less money. It was secured on 10/27/14. I contacted Humana to dis-enroll as of 12/31/14.

For the next 3 1/2 months I have been arguing with Humana. On January 3, they drafted the money for January from my account. I complained. Three weeks of daily calls and arguing passed before a check was finally issued on 01/28/14 to reimburse me for the money they had drafted. However, by the time the check reached me, I also received a call from Humana accusing me of inappropriately getting a check from Humana for money I actually owed them. The call was accusatory and threatening.

On 02/06/15 I received a letter from Humana stating that my application for supplemental insurance was being denied. It went on to say that, in my application (that I had never submitted) I had agreed for them to use my PHI to complete and underwriter review. That was a lie and a HIPAA violation. Finally I sent out letters to the Ethics board, the insurance commission, and the Board of Directors at Humana as I have all of the communications as evidence of this fiasco.

Sure enough, I received a letter dated 02/10/15 saying that they were disenrolling me, effective 12/31/14, followed by a second letter, dated 02/11/15, saying that my application for supplemental insurance had been denied, based on the fact that I had provided them with permission to access and use my PHI to facilitate underwriting review and based on the information they received, I was being denied coverage.

At this point, it is clear to me that the denial letters are punitive, a way to punish people who disenroll from their coverage. They are clearly violated HIPAA regulations and should be prosecuted for those violations. Further, the company functions in an atmosphere of the most uncaring, ignorant, disrespectful, dishonest employees imaginable. I will not be satisfied until Humana is publicly prosecuted for HIPAA violations and publicly humiliated for the way they do business.

Replies
Keep Away! Humana Disrespects Its Clients With Worthless Service
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

INDIANAPOLIS, INDIANA -- HUMANA insurance company a cesspool of lousy customer service, disrespectful reps and supervisors who are poorly trained and give you any answer off the top of their heads, right or wrong. Appeals department is the slickest, most sleazy part of the whole latrine. Is Humana Insurance a paragon of honesty?

Had all medical tests done by my 'network' surgeon then met with an insurance agent who changed me to Humana. I made sure my surgeon was also a 'Network' surgeon with Humana (specialty: cataract surgery). Guess WHAT? When I attempted to schedule surgery, I was told by his office manager that my HUMANA NETWORK surgeon has no place where HUMANA has certified my NETWORK surgeon to do surgery under NETWORK PRICES!!!

I wrote letters to them, made 20+ hours of phone calls in 2 weeks to poorly trained HUMANA reps who crudely & rudely gave misinformation! (Meanwhile my right eye has deteriorated more!) I spent hours typing an appeal letter to HUMANA with a painfully broken finger that required complicated surgery. HUMANA had DENIED the routine pain RX written by my highly trained hand surgeon, the senior partner at the biggest hand clinic in the US!

The appeals woman called me much later and started loudly speaking over me (she WON the trophy for rudeness in my 63 years), then told me if I said another word, she would hang up on me—which she did anyway. (I was tempted to go ahead and hang up on her, but then realized if I did so, she would note it as my fault.)

Another representative told me that my doctor is NOT a surgeon. I said "What? His specialty is CATARACT SURGERY!" He told me authoritatively several times my doctor is not a surgeon,( which would surprise the med school where he teaches surgery!) (So TIRED of their games after spending 20 plus hours on the phone the first two weeks, with both true and false answers about a network site for my actual cataract SURGERY!)

Got a letter back from HUMANA saying they would explore the matters from 'within' but could in no way ever let me know the outcome. In other words, again I got an UP YOURS from Humana! (They even had a doctor listed in their book as a network doctor, but she left family practice to do research 23 months prior!)

They blame the doctors for HUMANA's mistakes in Humana provider directories that they have printed! Anyone surprised? I consider having a NETWORK surgeon with no NETWORK place to get surgery done, to be deceptive advertising! Before switching to Humana, I even asked my agent if I would have any problem getting the surgery done with my network doctor (since I did not trust insurance companies) & she said no one she knew ever had a problem. (SURE, NOT IF YOU WANT TO PAY OUT-OF-NETWORK PRICES FOR A NETWORK SURGEON TO DO HIS WORK!!!)

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >

Humana Rating:
Star Empty star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.1 out of 5, based on 85 ratings and
122 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
Humana
500 W. Main Street
Louisville, KY 40202
1-800-4-Humana (ph)
www.humana.com
Compare Health Insurance Companies