Preview Review

Next Review

JD Byrider Consumer Reviews

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
DO NOT BUY FROM HERE! THEY SELL LEMONS
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

PITTSBURGH -- Let's get to the POINT. DO NOT BUY A CAR FROM THEM! JD Byrider sold me a LEMON. The car has died multiple times since I purchased it, but now it has been dead for 3 months. CNAC is the company that finances the cars, and I refused to pay another cent for this LEMON. JD/CNAC wants the car back so they can attempt to resell it to another unfortunate person. READ BELOW FOR DETAILS.
JD byrider location: 7200 McKnight Rd, Pittsburgh PA 15237
Agent: Lana Smithbower
Car: Ford Taurus/ 2005
Total paid: $9897.36
Remaining balance: $5233.45

Current Value (KBB): $535- $2,006
Or $1,271 if sold to a private vendor
I REPEAT, THE CAR IS DEAD SO IT'S NOT EVEN WORTH $1,271

I purchased this car late November 2015 (within the last few days of the month). I left the JD Byrider around 7 pm and the first thing I noticed was how dimmed the lights were. I could barely see in front of the car. THAT SHOULD HAVE BEEN A RED FLAG but I was 22 years old and it was my first car. The next morning the car would not start. I guess it was a battery problem. I should've returned it, but my coworker gave me a jump so I just wrote it off. 2 MONTHS LATER Jan 2016 the car started randomly shutting off (Especially when I stopped at red lights). Since I bought this car I've had it jumped multiple times, 5 times (that I remember).

Issues
During the 1st and 2nd winters (12/2015-3/2016 & 11/2016-3/2017).
1. The rear defroster didn't work, and I barely could see out the back window
2. There was a gasket leak in the front driver foot well
o Causing the driver's side floor to be wet (also wet when it rains during the spring)
o The moisture from the gasket leak would cause ALL the windows to randomly fog while driving (NOT SAFE/ AND VERY SCARY)
May 1st 2017 I finally replaced the exhaust pipe- (car was making a crazy sound when I pressed the gas)
3. Apparently this pipe was cracked and developed to a hole by the time I noticed it
o Piped would have ripped off while driving if NOT TREATED
o It was the Cat back exhaust
July 31 2017 the transmission went-
4. The first shop I had it towed to said “it would be a waste of his time to work on, b/c it wasn't worth it”
5. I paid to get it towed elsewhere and had it replaced there

These are some of the MAJOR problems I had with this LEMON. But there are more OOP cost not listed.

Total OOP COST: $2,737.15 (WHICH IS MORE THAN THE CAR IS WORTH!)

I HAVE RECEIPTS OF ALL THE OOP COST AND WILL GLADLY SHARE WITH JD/CNAC if they would like. DO NOT BUY FROM THEM. This was my first car, and that is the only reason I worked so hard at maintaining it. I worked 4 different jobs (at the same time) during the time I've had this car. So arguing with CNAC/JD was not my mindset. But IM OVER THIS CAR. AND I REFUSE TO PAY THEM ANOTHER DIME!

Replies
Horrible Service, Crap/croken Cars, Refusal to Fix, Etc Etc Etc
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

SLC, UTAH -- I've been asked several times to submit a review on JD Byrider's performance and my experiences, so here goes. Literally from the moment I walked in the door, zero effort was made to make my experience enjoyable in any way, in fact it seemed quite the opposite. I was told right up front by Marcus that I'd be out in an hour, it took 4 1/2. He would talk for a minute or two, then disappear for 20 min. At first he was quite friendly and upbeat, but in short order it seemed like I was the least important thing in his world, even a little irritated with me for some reason.

There were several things wrong with the car, the AC and display were the most obvious and they said they'd fix it and that I had 60 days to bring it back into the shop and get it fixed. I work a lot and their shop isn't open but from 9-6, but if you don't have your car in there by 430, they won't work on you as they are now cleaning up. So, really, 9-430. I work during those hours, so it was hard for me to get in.

I brought the car in before the 60 day mark and Marcus tried denying me, blatantly lying to my face, saying that he "wouldn't give his own brother 60 days", and the copy of the contract that he kept didn't have the revision on it. My bad for not demanding they change the contract, but I didn't catch it. It'd been almost 5 hours, which I'm sure is why they do that, so they can slip little clever cons like this past you. Most dealerships do this though.

7 days later, a coolant connector broke and the car started overheating. I pulled over, called TC (one of the managers with CNAC, JD Byrider's "bank") he came and picked me up and had a tow truck come pick up my car. It was then fixed by the time I got off work Monday. This was awesome. I am quite happy with the service in this instance.

One week later (not making this up) the radiator springs a leak and drains in between drives. Ok, not a huge deal, I just gotta keep coolant in it. A radiator isn't covered under warranty but as it was only two weeks in (and I kinda threw a mini fit over this, not freaking out but I was a little assertive in expressing my displeasure after the first response I got basically telling me, "Tough **, not covered under warranty, sorry TC") TC and Tom agreed to change it free of charge. phew.

The AC... I brought it in within the first couple days to have it fixed, which when I got it back the AC was blowing cold air. Then it went completely out again within 2 months. I brought it into another mechanic (which btw, gave me a whole laundry list of other ** wrong with the car which Tom, the manager of the service department, proceeded to systematically dispute and/or just tell me that it wasn't part of the warranty because it wasn't safety related basically) and told me that my AC wasn't leaking, even going so far as to show me something under the front passenger tire and basically saying, "See? that's your ac and there's no leak."

Now I know that freon isn't going to leave residue but I know very little about cars, I'm no mechanic (which, btw, I should've brought it into one but I didn't have spare cash to put up for a run-down of the vehicle. I've since found a place that will inspect new cars for free, they're awesome! Big Priority Auto), but I didn't want to argue with him. A few weeks ago, surprise surprise, AC's starting to go out. I brought it back in to get my center console display installed, which they had to order and took some time but that went great, and I told Tom about it. He took a thermometer to my ac and tested it, it was blowing like 50* air or something, at that moment inside his shop.

Now a few weeks later the AC is almost completely gone again and I really don't want to have to go and argue with Tom again about why he should just do his job and fix the damned AC instead of recharging a leaking and failed AC unit every 6-8 weeks like was stipulated, in writing, before I bought the car. That's not fixing anything, that's putting a band-aid on the problem and spewing CFC's into the environment (you know, the stuff that ate the FREAKING OZONE LAYER!). REALLY not happy with that.

Then there was my tire and CV axle... I started hearing some clicking a few weeks ago when I turned, so I figured it was CV axle. It got progressively worse fairly quickly, so I got it into the shop within about a week and a half of it starting (I was sure a CV wasn't going to be covered under warranty, but it was thank God). Apparently on top of the CV the wheel was about to come off. It had shorn some of the bolts off the hub and the hub needed to be replaced.

I have not once touched the lug nuts on any of the tires, I haven't even removed the hub caps. Now, it's not impossible someone, somewhere loosened some of my lug nuts for some reason. I don't think that happened. I think whoever last changed the tire was in a hurry or got distracted or something and forgot a couple lugs or didn't tighten down enough, or something. I don't know. I'm not a mechanic and it doesn't really matter.

I brought it in and within like 4 hours I had it back, running great. Completely paid for by them (the CV was under warranty but the bolts and hub weren't) and this decision was come to jointly by TC and Tom. I'm not happy that this happened obviously but it got fixed quickly and painlessly.

One last problem, the vacuum hose on my car is in two pieces. It had electrical tape wrapping it, keeping the vacuum, but that failed (obviously) so I had to wrap it with duct tape as I couldn't afford the $90 hose. When I showed this to Tom he wasn't surprised at all and actually complimented me on my duct-tape wrap job. Said that's exactly what he does (though apparently he uses electrical tape so you can't see it on the black hose). I'll leave opinion out of this. All of this happened, exactly as I tell it. I've not embellished anything. For the most part, I'm not happy with JD Byrider but it's been a mixed bag.

Replies
Deceptive Clunker Salesmen
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

AKRON, OHIO -- This dealership is very deceptive. I purchased a car on a Saturday night from the dealership. The very next Friday the car is broken and in for service. After talking to several of the people I lost faith in the company as I could tell they were lying. I have audio recordings with stories changing and outright lies. They do not do anything but detail these cars using way to much polish inside the car. I found parts for the car in the glovebox within an hour of leaving the dealership. Today is Thursday. As of today I have yet to hear from them this week. Tomorrow makes 1 full week I haven't had the car. Which will be longer then how long I had the car.

I was told they go over their cars with a fine tooth comb and that they do everything they can to get people into a reliable car... I was sold on reliable transportation to and from work. Something I didn't receive. $1000 my downpayment could have gotten me a car off CL that would make it to and from work for longer than this car did. Shoot 1000 would get me a ride to and from work 6 days a week for 2months+. Again more than this car. I asked if they could switch me into a car of equal value... no we can't do that.

This was a lie, this place is staffed by morally corrupt individuals. They will lie to you, and tell you anything you want to hear for you to purchase a vehicle from them. They claim no one else will finance you, and all this program **. Then you find out that 512 credit score while not great is enough to get you financed just about anywhere. I paid my downpayment in good faith, I have to pay more Saturday even though I haven't really gotten to use the car.

JD Byrider did not sell me a car in good faith, when the car is finally returned assuming there is no more BS which I'm sure there will be I'll be taking it to 2 different mechanics I know who I trust as JDB doesn't have my trust on anything. I was sold the car at 9 pm at night after I was in the dealership for almost 4.5 hours and they made me sign that they gave me the opportunity to take it to a mechanic which what mechanic is opened that time of night on a Saturday. I certainly should have gone elsewhere, hindsight is 20/20. But dealerships like this should be shut down for ripping off honest hard working people.

Replies
They do not inform you of all the details
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

MISHAWAKA, INDIANA -- I purchased a car from this dealership 10/2016. I put a $500 down payment and was told if I put some of my tax refund down as a deffered payment, it could lower my overall amount owed. I signed up to put $1500 of my tax refund after I filed the following year. I wound up getting my taxes offset for a previous debt owed. I spoke with the finance company, CNAC, and explained the situation. Intially, I was told it wasn't an issue and that they would hold my account until I received proof from the IRS that it was being taken. I am a customer that makes my payments on time, always answers or returns the calls, and kept this company informed every step of what was happening with my taxes. About 1.5 weeks after I notified the finance company of the tax situation, I received a call from "Miss Archie" (she called herself) saying that I have had the car since October and they need their $1500 from my taxes. I explained to her that they were being offset and per the other agents I spoke with I just needed to wait for the IRS to send me something. She told me they couldn't wait and I needed to go the the dealership so they could rewrite the loan without my taxes being included. I agreed but explained that since I work and my husband went to school, it would be difficult to get us both at the dealership at the same time for long. She told me she would see if we could come in separate times and call me back. She called back and said that the Mishawaka Indiana location I would be going to said no we had to be there at the same time. I got frustrated and asked to speak with a supervisor at CNAC. I spoke with a lady named Beth. She assured me that the process would only take 1 hour and to keep in contact with her with any issues. When we get to the dealership we were told that they had to completely redo the contract, including checking my credit again. This is where my problem is. I was never told I needed to have my credit rechecked. As a consumer trying to get my credit repaired, which is originally why we ended up at this dealership at the first place, I am upset my credit needed to get an inquiry hit for something I already purchased. After 3 hours, not 1 hour as promised, we finally left. I just think everything should be explained up front, especially since the company "prides" itself on helping peoples credit.

Replies
Advertisement
JD Byrider Sucks
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

ORANGE PARK, FLORIDA -- I am so sick of these bastards! For those who think that they can judge others without knowing the full stories of people's personal situations, please be advised that you can promptly go to straight to hell. You truly have to walk in someone else's shoes before you can totally understand what they're going through. I absolutely hate people who sit on their high horses thinking that they know every little detail about someone else's situation. JD Byrider is a slimy car business that rips poor people off. They know it and so does everyone else. Anyone who supports this company is a piece of ** and should be ashamed of yourself for saying anything positive about what it represents.

Yeah people knew about their interest rate and signed the contract, blah, blah, blah, just like JD knows that they are taking risks giving people cars who have horrible credit so I don't want to hear any bull about folks being dumb enough to do business with them in the first place. Listen, everyone goes through hard times from time to time, it happens. And yeah putting money aside for a rainy is ideal... IF you have it of course.

JD takes advantage of people who had no choice but to come to them for help and it's a shame that this business is allowed by law to trap people into disgusting contracts that they know is deceitful. These lowlifes will get what's coming to them, make no mistake about that.

Replies
Not a good place to buy a car
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

GLENDALE HEIGHTS, ILLINOIS -- If you haven't signed your name yet.

!!!!!GET OUT!!!!!

LIES THEY TOLD ME⬇️

Effort: I'll do everything in my power to get you the vehicle and financing you need and a payment you can afford. And, I'll work with you to show you how YOU can get on the road to improving YOUR credit.
Courtesy: I will do everything I can to make your buying experience as pleasant and positive as possible.
Respect: No matter what your credit situation, you deserve to be treated with the utmost respect!
Discretion: Your private financial situation will be kept confidential

After you sign your name they turn into devils (DECEIVERS) I would say more, but if you read any bad comment on here, ITS TRUE!! and don't fall for the, please give us call we can work it out!! they only going to be nasty to you!! it was only one person at the company that tried to help me. but the people over them stop them from doing so!!

Replies
Never Buy Here
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

SAINT CLAIRSVILLE, OHIO -- My car broke down in May of 2018 and I had no choice but to get a new vehicle. Within the first month the thermostat needed replaced for it said my engine was overheating. In July I have to get new rotors and now I'm being told I need new shocks and tires. This car has been nickel and diming me and I don't feel I should have to do repairs on a car I just got in May. I pay my bill on time yet for 6 months now and yet my amount on my credit has not budged. The place is a joke and I'm seriously considering just taking the hit on my credit for 5 years and give the car back.

Replies
Scammed by Company
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

BALTIMORE, MARYLAND -- I was given free GAP insurance through JD Byrider at sign of contract. This was in July 2016. In December 2016 my car was totaled. I contacted them to file a GAP insurance claim and first I was told they don't offer GAP. I told the person I was speaking to that they put it in my contract and I had a certificate with mine and their names on it in my hand from my contract given by them. They then said they stopped offering it in March 2016 and I told them that was a lie because I didn't get my car until July 2016. They then said they cancelled it and no longer offer it. I was told I didn't have to pay out right but it would be written and included in the final cost when I brought the car.

When it was time to use it I was given 3 different lies about why I did not have GAP insurance. Then I was offered the option to finance another vehicle from them and put the balance I owed from the first car into my new loan. I declined and I was then sued in court and now owe them over $5000 for the balance of the car my insurance didn't pay. I am starting a class action lawsuit against them and anyone that would like to be a part and get fair compensation for JD Byrider can contact me. They scam hundreds and thousands of hard working people with bad credit a month.

Replies
Advertisement
After Paying Off Two Care My Third Car Is Worth Keeping.
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

SAN ANTONIO, ALASKA -- I truly hate CNAC. They are the worst ever. They purposely taken four payments without my consent different times after I paid my bill; they also trump up charges on my bills by saying that I did not have full covered insurance when I did. They also harass you. Also contact and family members. They also come to your house and threaten you that they are going to take your car that it's your only transportation...

I will never recommend anyone to come here to buy a car at all. They are the worst I have ever been with. It was so bad that I had to cancel my bank card and just pay by a money order and just drop it in the drop box. So people do not buy any cars from here or you will be disappointed.

Replies
Totally 100% Screwed Over. Never Buy From Here Ever!
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

FORT WORTH, TEXAS -- I went in and got a car from a sales person. The sales guys were great. Oh boy I didn't realize what I was going to get myself into. So it takes 5 hours to do all this stuff. They had me sign a bunch of paperwork hurriedly and it was really confusing, as I am a young inexperienced guy. I later found out how much I got screwed when I realized what exactly 24.5% APR was.

I've never been late except for 1 day one week then one day on another. They will call your work and everyone you know to hunt you down. They also increased my payments by almost $130 a month because I was 'late'. So now I will barely be able to afford it. They make money by screwing you over. The finance company they use preys on poor people and they are very rude.

Pro tip: DO NOT USE A CAR TO INCREASE CREDIT! They will tell you it's the best way but it's not! Get a secure credit card (I recommend $200 deposit) and spend about $60 a month on gas. Responsible credit card utilization makes up over 30% of your credit scores, don't listen to JD Byrider, they don't care about your credit or anything about you. It's all about the bottom line with them.

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >

JD Byrider Rating:
Star Empty star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.0 out of 5, based on 12 ratings and
15 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
JD Byrider
12802 Hamilton Crossing Blvd.
Carmel, IN 46032
1-888-240-3595 (ph)
www.jdbyrider.com
Compare Auto Dealerships